Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 77 days, 13 hours, 8 minutes, 23 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 30

    Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Cablage - Allchimik - Jam Entry

    [ABOUT]
    Explore a forgotten ruin and reactivate ancient mechanisms to find the exit.

    [CONTROLS]
    > Arrow keys/WASD: Move
    > Spacebar/mouse right: Jump
    > Shift/mouse left: Run

    View Allchimik's journal. | View all entries by Allchimik

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #21Mood(Jam)4.12
    #133Audio(Jam)3.61
    #139Graphics(Jam)4.03
    #287Overall(Jam)3.36
    #415Fun(Jam)2.98
    #541Humor(Jam)1.97
    #572Innovation(Jam)2.70
    #617Theme(Jam)2.49

    Comments

    Andrew Adams says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:30pm

    Why you no mac?

    mechabit says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:37pm

    Amazing amount of work for a jam game

    Ossi says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:41pm

    Great atmosphere and really eerie sound effects, it really set the mood. Good use of lighting with the very flat colors of the environment made the environment feel very ancient. I did however get stuck for some time on the second portal, I couldn't find where to go to make it to the next orb activation thing. Well done!

    Miziziziz says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:44pm

    this looks really cool, but chrome is saying the file is malicious

    Allchimik says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:52pm

    Adrew Adams:
    Mac version added.

    Miziziziz:
    It's seems to be a problem between dropbox and Chrome, try with Firefox or Explorer or this link (http://www.emedion.com/downloads/Cablage.zip)

    dkkarate says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:53pm

    Very good looking game but very un-optomized. I was left wanting more at the end and it ended so abruptly. I thought I was going to learn something about why I was there and what those pulsing black balls were but was dissapointed.

    Allchimik says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:55pm

    Ossi:
    Observing and listening can help, as well as the symmetry

    r0x0r says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:56pm

    i see it's an unity game, can you make a linux build?

    Allchimik says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:00am

    dkkarate:
    The project was a little too ambitious for a jam, it's just the first hall, and 1/4 of the original concept. I wanted to have a dozen teleporters in the ruins, a desert and a huge tower. But time has allowed me only to make the introduction...

    Snoother says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:04am

    As people have said, it sets a fantastic mood. Eerie sound effects that sound like digitalised gregorian chant in slow motion. Plus the stylised graphics and lighting, which are quite impressive I imagine for a mere three days work.

    I don't confess to really get its purpose, and more would be better, but it is really immersive regardless and certainly gets top marks for mood.

    someone says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:07am

    Great atmosphere. Love the architecture.

    JM-DG says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:41am

    Wow! Great atmosphere superb graphic.
    Really like exploring and contemplating the complex structures. 10/10

    Miziziziz says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:56am

    @Allchimik, I donwloaded the zip from that other link you gave, and winrar is giving me an "unexpected end of archive" error

    jayhof says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:16am

    Amazing models, the eerie music fits perfectly. Great work!

    Allchimik says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:10am

    All:
    Thanks for your comments :-)

    Miziziziz:
    Another & last link (http://dl.free.fr/lXH8pfwNl), if it don't work remove Chrome & try Firefox...

    nerd burglars says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40am

    Very fun!

    Rock48 says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40am

    Pretty neat, but I fail to see how it ties into the theme

    Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:43am

    Excellent looks and played!
    The only bad thing that it lagging on may macbook pro 2013. Looks like my laptop is outdated for 3d games=)

    ShadowStryker says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:44am

    Definitely set an eerie mood for the game. Slightly laggy at the beginning when looking down the hallway but it clears up afterwards. Game definitely has potential with the storyline you could plan out.

    sigfig says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:52am

    Very moody, great work on the vertex lighting

    willza99 says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:19am

    This looks literally just like Naissancee a french indie game.

    Allchimik says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:49am

    Willza:
    Yes, NaissanceE is my main source of inspiration for the visual and ambiance.

    dickpoelen says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:42pm

    That looks amazing!

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:59pm

    Wow! It's fanatasctic atmosphere. Very scary and thrill =)
    It might be good exploaration 3D game.

    Techblogogy says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:09pm

    This is really good game

    kyyrma says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:12pm

    This is one of the most visually interesting games I've played this year, including both indies and AAA titles. This also made me want to look up Naissancee to see the source of inspiration.

    You've done a great job building this gorgeous geometry in just 72 hours, I guess the trick was reusing objects like the pillars etc.?

    Frump says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:48pm

    Really effective use of primitive shapes and lighting to make an interesting space. I enjoyed exploring it.

    Hyoga-3D says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:57am

    The art is not finished, but reminds me of Bioshock.

    Simplexcity says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:18am

    awesome brutal. reminded me heaps of NaissanceE

    mtrc says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:52pm

    Very atmospheric - a little laggy on my machine, could be the lighting not being optimised, I don't know? I enjoyed running around and poking at things. I didn't manage to finish it but the atmosphere was very nice to immerse in.

    arzi says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:00pm

    Reminds me of Moria in the LoTR movies. Nice work on the level design (though it was a big laggy on my Mac Book Pro, in 1024x768 windowed).

    MechanicMoon says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:05pm

    The scenarios and graphics I liked a lot, but it have little fps

    yodamaster says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:37pm

    Great atmosfear!

    KevinZuhn says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:42pm

    Wow, that atmosphere really worked on me, I felt like I had to finish it even when I was lost and confused. I feel like the method I used to win (falling off an edge and trying to catch a certain hole) was not the correct way to do it. If it was indeed the correct way, then it was kind of frustrating since it took quite a while to get back up and try again. But that's alright, Cablage drew me in way too much to care.

    Andro Dars says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:47pm

    Hellooooo NaissanceE!

    sP0CkEr2 says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:04am

    Amazing graphics and atmosphere. I could not figure out what to do but I have added to my play again list.

    Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:33am

    Liked the audio and mood. The framerate was pretty poor in the main room though. I powered the 1st teleporter but could never figure out the second. Heard a beating heart through a wall and saw a gap in the wall I could never reach. Spent a fair big of time looking for it as I wanted to see it all.

    Allchimik says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:09pm

    The solution is a bit difficult. You have to jump over the edge, falling against the wall and run+jump into the hole from the relief on the right.
    http://www.emedion.com/downloads/Cablage_help.png

    Otrora Games says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:58am

    Excellent job on setting the mood. Graphics are great. Maybe it was too much for 3 days, left the game feeling incomplete. Overall great job

    Tom 7 says ...
    Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:12am

    I liked this! The architecture is beautiful, the sound unsettling, and there's something to do. I'm not positive I did it the right way, but I beat it, and it was fun to sneak into the second mechanism the way I did, so, yay. It's super painful to play these mouselook games without being able to invert the y-axis though! I wish that were an option!

    Also, you can get into the pillars immediately above where you start. There should be an easter egg in there. :)

    Dans17 says ...
    Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:46pm

    Very visually impressive! I would like to see a finished version with everything you had originally planned.

    H1S2 says ...
    Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:18pm

    very cool architecutre. i got stuck at the first pulsing sphere. a little bit more gameplay would have been nice.

    Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:06pm

    Impressive jam entry with one of the best immersive moods I've played this LD, the sounds and visuals worked really well together. Did get a bit lost at times while exploring but enjoyed the architecture of the place.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]