Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 30 days, 13 hours, 52 minutes, 54 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 65 days, 14 hours, 40 minutes, 54 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 30

    Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Waterfly Octus - gillenew - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Octus is an octopus who has discovered the ability to swim out of the water. Now he will live many adventures in and out of water, and do what no octopus has ever done.

    My face page, for game updates(yes, a lot of this :D ) - https://www.facebook.com/gillenew?ref=bookmarks

    Tools used:
    Construct 2
    Photoshop
    Audacity
    Sfxr
    Otomata

    View gillenew's journal. | View all entries by gillenew

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #26Graphics4.37
    #296Mood3.30
    #372Overall3.39
    #394Audio2.98
    #464Fun3.14
    #493Humor2.42
    #1083Theme2.25
    #1087Innovation2.30

    Comments

    akios says ...
    Aug 23, 2014 @ 5:44pm

    no way to die, but great work with the art 08/10

    gillenew says ...
    Aug 23, 2014 @ 5:46pm

    than you akios, I was rushed to submit, but I'm still programming the game :D

    Indiestry says ...
    Aug 23, 2014 @ 7:01pm

    Game mechanics works flawless (besides some misplaced hitboxes) good job. But I dont see how this matches the theme?

    gillenew says ...
    Aug 23, 2014 @ 7:05pm

    Thank you Indiestry, on the theme I thought about doing two different worlds connected, the aquatic world and the earthly world. I hope it's allowed cause I don't quite understand what is "connected worlds"

    BoskoSokolov says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 12:01am

    Nice game, the artwork is amazing, maybe it needs a little balancing, but the art is awesome 9/10.

    eShofe says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 5:07am

    I understood how you implemented the theme. I like it! :D

    gillenew says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 5:19am

    Thank you BoskoSokolov and eShofe!
    I hope my game is accepted for the theme :)

    BlueSama says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:45am

    Really. You made this game in 48 hours
    AMAZING

    BloodJohn says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:19am

    Nice graphics! Please add sound. :)

    c4chaos says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 4:49pm

    Nice job

    Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:19pm

    Fun but way too hard

    BluMist says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:38am

    I am impressed by your game.

    gillenew says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:51am

    hey thank you guys!
    I worked hard in this game, even for fun, and I'm immensely happy to know that someone liked :D

    mcapraro says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58am

    nicely done! hard first level!

    vividhelix says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:32am

    Loved the art, music was kinda repetitive, would be great to be able to turn it off. Solid entry, good job!

    renatopp says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:35am

    I was impressed by the art work, nice polished work. I also like the hard gameplay but the repeatability is pretty bad.

    The stars are important for something? You could remove them completely and focus on the survivability, which I think is the must interesting mechanics in your game.

    Nice job!

    Shmackson says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:01am

    Its amazing what some people can do with 48 hours. You are a great animator/artist!

    Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02am

    I really liked how you made different sealife represent different obstacles like spikes. I'm always a sucker for good pixelart, in general :P. I found movement a bit slow, but everything else was awesome

    hephaestus_rg says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03am

    really nicely polished. I died on level 2.

    OnlySlightly says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03am

    Beautiful artwork. Great retro vibe. Excellent work!

    cobrajs says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05am

    Excellent work on the pixel art and level design. Music needs some work... just needs to be able to loop better or something. Controls well, and definitely a little challenging. Nice work!

    Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:07am

    Great game! Good artwork and challenging!

    capsizedmoose says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:07am

    this is great! really hard´but I like it! :D

    Vavassor says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:07am

    Really loved the sprites and art in this! Nice and challenging , too. Though I had the game freeze once at the end of level 4, sound stopped playing and I couldn't move but everything was still animating?

    haveric says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:21am

    The art is very well done, but why oh why can I not mute that music while keeping the other sounds? I was sick of it by loop 2 and it just kept on going.

    The gameplay took a little while getting used to, but overall was pretty fun, even though I kept dying.

    gillenew says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:30am

    hey, thank you so much guys!

    I want to apologize, I did the final compiled version for submit and just forgot to check if all levels were working. After testing saw this going up to level 4. So if you got to the end of level 4 and the music stopped, is bug :(

    I wanted to have done much more to this game, but unfortunately I was a good time trying to make music and ended up losing this time, since the music was crap.

    pa3kc says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:34am

    I like the graphics. I find it a bit hard.

    Jaloko says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:34am

    The music was a bit loud but awesome game!

    ENDESGA says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:44am

    The art.
    My god the art.
    I love it :'D hahaha

    eatsleepindie says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:52am

    This made me wish I was playing on an old box TV with an NES controller. All around awesome game. Feels incredibly polished.

    MrTedders says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:16am

    Not quite sure how it matches the theme, solid game otherwise!

    stimpact says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:20am

    Reminds me of the old underwater levels in TMNT on the NES. Music suited the style of game, spritework excellent, and colour contrast good. Loved the attention to detail, like the octopus eyes moving up when I was traveling in that direction. Amazing job.

    iSamurai says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32am

    The game is more difficult than Flappy Birds in my point of view... But nice graphics and details :)

    Techblogogy says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:40am

    Cool art. Nice game

    ChuiGum says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:47am

    Love the graphics, music, and gameplay!

    Cad says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:02am

    Pros:
    -Very well done art, everything fits together and really contributes to the atmosphere you were trying to capture.
    -Solid Mechanics

    Cons:
    -The Audio, or specifically your music began to hurt my ears after a while. Not very enjoyable to listen to.
    -The game does not a good job of matching the theme

    JRPGKING says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:04am

    that little dude is so cute

    LaFleur says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:13am

    Great job!

    IgIzzy says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:14am

    I am envious of what some people can finish in such a short period of time! The only feedback I would give is the goal to complete a level isn't as obvious as it could be. The star count in the HUD makes the goal know, but once all are collected the player is left wondering what next to do. I also feel that perhaps that starting the collection process over on death as early on as you did is a bit harsh. At this point the players just getting comfortable with the controls and navigation. Perhaps add that negative reinforcement in later on in the game, and let the player just focus on getting a feel for the controls.

    juakob says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:17am

    Nice! excellent graphics

    Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:46am

    Great art style ! But it was so hard, I couldn't get past second level, these little spikes on the wall are so hardcore... Good job !

    orukinawa says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:27am

    Awesome game! Really impressive considering this was done within 48h :)

    jsmars says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:27am

    Really nice graphics and style! I really like the overall feel of the world :) A bit slughish movement made dying really annoying since, especially since you have to retake the same stars again.

    vinhuman says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:43am

    Great graphics, nice polish. I agree with the other comments for the most part. Really impressive for the time frame.

    Kinta says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:25am

    I liked the graphics, but it was very hard to navigate and I died a lot. (in the first level)

    EMAK says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:26am

    Great art! a little bit hard but really nice game!

    Tanner says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:37am

    Nice music, great graphics.

    nonetheless says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:42am

    Great presentation :)

    ahmedmohi says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:48am

    Nice game , I really like the art . so sound isn't bad but it getting boring fast :D also alittle bit hard .

    hazzahazzam says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:56am

    Love the art, you haven't submitted source, please do.

    43iscoding says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:13am

    The game is plain and simple. Lovely artwork. Gameplay is pretty boring tho

    Druid says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:16am

    Pretty neat game! I like graphic a lot!

    buckslice says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:19am

    The art is phenomenal, movement and gameplay are super smooth as well. Excellent!

    SnoutUp says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:00am

    Amazing work, I can't believe it was made for a jam! So polished...

    c023-dev says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:02am

    Liked the visuals! Good work on that!

    eastes says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:18am

    Fun. Music. Graphics. Good pacing.

    DustyStylus says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:18am

    My favourite animal! :D Reminded me a wee bit of Fire & Ice, (the water levels). Rather than looping the same bit of music, perhaps some ambient ocean sounds would have been better. Controls are great. Great artwork.

    yodamaster says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:16pm

    Very cool graphics! A bit hard to control, maybe you could make the collission detection a bit more friendly (forgiving some pixels).

    Doubstract says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:31pm

    Love art style

    midgard says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:35pm

    Nice controls, graphics and all, but where's the relation with the theme? :(

    Majko says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:37pm

    Beautiful game! Only the short background loop is annoying.

    gwa says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:39pm

    wow great leveldesign and controls and it is fun :)

    francoisvn says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:56pm

    Nice game, but no source?

    ViliX says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:59pm

    The art is amazing, but apparently I suck at gaming.

    pxlcoder says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:01pm

    Amazing artwork and fun, challenging gameplay! Don't know what else I could ask for.

    Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:02pm

    Nice game with a sweet pixel art. The game is very unforgiving though, I think the collisions should be readjusted, it's way too easy to die at the moment. And there should be a way to mute the music.

    Robinerd says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:04pm

    It's sick to see how well polished this is! Well done and nice game.

    cmayhem says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:24pm

    Very well done, great graphics!

    gillenew says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:28pm

    thanks for the comments guys, this information is precious for me. I just put the source of the project, it has the code, sounds and art :)

    mess110 says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:28pm

    took me back to diving. nice game

    chriskdev says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:37pm

    Beautiful aesthetics!

    JetL33t says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:38pm

    Art reminds me of super marios underwater worlds, which is a big plus for this :P
    Balance needs some kind of work though. I died at the start of level 2 with no way of seeing that thing coming.

    ittlebit says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:50pm

    Great art, Love those Octopi!

    MerlijnVH says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:07pm

    So charming! I love the style and characters. I don't see the connection to the theme, but it's still nice.

    S0rax says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:10pm

    no end, i'm sad ;(

    sP0CkEr2 says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34pm

    Really nice job. Artwork was great. Sooo many ways to die.

    diamondgfx says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:44pm

    Reminds me a lot of the underwater levels in Donkey Kong Country. Music was really neat and the graphics are fantastic!

    CryoGenesis says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09pm

    Love the art style. Great retro-looking game. Great job!

    andrewkennedy says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22pm

    Really solid artwork! Also fantastic music - it really fit the underwater theme!

    Appocket says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22pm

    Nice work, it begins a bit to heavy a little introduction would be nice to train some control skills at the beginning...

    cacciatc says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:24pm

    Great details with the animations.

    bobrocks says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:00pm

    A bit off theme, but I really like this game! Great work!

    JaJ says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09pm

    This looks great. Nice use of color. It's kind of disturbing how the octopus pops like a balloon upon death.

    sez says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:17pm

    Nice game. It was a bit on the hard side, but overall I liked it. Great graphics and attention to detail!

    Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35pm

    Super nice graphics! Well done. I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/ydSxZiryhsI

    Berail says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:51pm

    Yeah good game but nothing connect ( you know what i did there XD) it with theme

    NnelGdaBandit says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07pm

    Sweet game man, graphics and controls are tight!

    Glint Games says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25pm

    Awesome Game 5/5 :D

    kdunee says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:55pm

    Solid game, nice visuals, classic gameplay. A bit difficult, but overall well done :)

    lkr says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:57pm

    Great artwork, and interesting and challenging controls.

    The hitboxes felt a bit too unforgiving, but I enjoyed the game a lot.

    PriorBlue says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:37pm

    Very nice pixelart!

    Ditto says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:40pm

    The hitboxes seriously needs tweaking.. Lots of annoying deaths.. The graphics are marvelous though, very solid work there! The music gets very repetitive after a while also.. Really good job overall!

    0x0961h says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:47pm

    Graphics are awesome!

    Split82 says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:58pm

    Excellent mood and graphics. The controls are little bit too sensitive for me. Or it's just a hard game :)

    Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:45pm

    VERY COOL!

    Tomker says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:02pm

    Awesome game :) Nice graphics

    Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:09pm

    Lovely graphics, but the difficulty is very high! Great job, especially for your first Dare.

    sharpcoder says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:55pm

    Great game! Quite challenging... I didn't have the patience to get too far, but the art is amazing and it's beautifully well done. I'm impressed with how much it looks like you got in here in such a short time!

    esayitch says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:24pm

    Liked the graphics the most here :) Controls were pretty floaty (I'm assuming on purpose) which made it challenging and more fun to dodge things. However,I got a feeling sometimes that the hit boxes should have been made smaller.

    Overall a great entry. Good luck!

    mrbungle says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:28pm

    Great graphics, nice little, challenging game.

    MaesK says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33pm

    Hey, fantastic graphics! Reminds me of a fishing game from last Ludum Dare, with lots of oranges and purples :D

    Difficult but nicely executed. Music could be longer, but it is relaxing anyway. Good work

    John Drury says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:55pm

    LOVE THE ART! collision boxes seem a little too big !

    jas7229 says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:44pm

    Great artwork, loved playing as an octopus! Loved how completed and polished it felt.

    FXCesinha says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:52pm

    Awesome

    Lycaon says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:15pm

    This game is adorable. A bit difficult to figure out where to go, and the controls were a bit clunky, but I like it a great deal.

    idovingx says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:08am

    Cool. Reminds me of Echo the Dolphin.

    ClownAround says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:06am

    Awesome graphics. It was a bit too hard, but very nice over all.

    H1S2 says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:12am

    very nice oldscool graphics. hard enougth ;)

    Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:15am

    The game is quite good but the misplaced hitboxes really annoyed me and I didn't see the link with the theme. The graphics are amazing and the audio is OK. This game is actually quite good for a first Ludum Dare, but of course, there is place for amelioration.

    MJamesShort says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:43am

    Music and art were great!

    Stepwise says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:57am

    Great art here, it looked absolutely awesome. Like the others have mentioned though, game is a bit tough! IMO the checkpoints were a little too far apart as there was a lot of waiting here. But maybe that was your ploy to let us drool over the art a little more. ;)

    creative630 says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18am

    Lovely looking game! 5 star graphics for sure!

    KunoNoOni says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18am

    cool idea for an interesting game.

    jsspiegel says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30am

    Quite difficult and the music sounds a bit buggy, but I really enjoyed the art!

    PixelOaks says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:35am

    Very Cute, I like it. Good job!

    saampahlavan says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:13am

    Has a great look.

    BrainSlugs83 says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:10am

    Game is pretty darn hard/frustrating. Sometimes you die even if the guys aren't really touching you (are the collision rectangles too big?) -- also was hard to control it with just up/down/left/right -- would be cooler if it had support for analog joysticks (like the 360 controller, etc.)

    Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:14am

    Your graphics are very smooth, we had some problems with the controls, we get the idea of moving into water but it's a little bit too hard and punitive for us.

    C_Walden says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:47am

    That was a lot of fun, but goodness the difficulty of some of those obstacles was a little harsh! I did make it all the way through the end of Level 4 though.
    I loved the sprite work and your palettes for the most part, but Level 4's stage colors were a bit hard on the eyes.
    The music was obviously rushed, but what short amount there was sounded pretty good. Nice sound effects.
    I understood collecting the stars, and I instinctively did so, but they don't appear to do anything. Kind of odd. Then again, 48 Hour Compo!

    Piat says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:56am

    Get graphics, but a bit frustrating.

    KevinZuhn says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:12am

    The look and atmosphere is really nice, though I felt the controls were too imprecise for the tight spike-filled corridors. The urchins felt a little unfair since their puffing animation disguised their collision boundary. Otherwise, it's quite nice.

    GAFBlizzard says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:23am

    Nice pixel art, but super frustrating gameplay:

    1. No WASD, only arrow keys
    2. Movement in different directions does not seem the same, so you might move slowly up, but suddenly dart sideways.
    3. Holding two directions may make you move extra fast. I'm not sure if I imagined this.
    4. There are a great many difficult obstacles and instakills, which are made more frustrating by the lack of checkpoints, slow animation, and rather stressful music loop.

    arttut02 says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:46am

    Loved the pixel art. The blue things killed you kinda far. Sometimes I didn't even touch them (or so it seemed). Over all enjoyable experience.

    puppetmaster says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:32am

    cute graphics

    rnlf says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:34am

    The game looks and sounds really cool. I found it a bit hard to control precisely enough to avoid getting pierced in tight areas, could not get past level 2 after trying several times.

    But really nice looks!

    Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:43am

    Amazing art as all have said, and great job for 48 hours. I was a little bothered by the difficulty/waiting to get past enemies. Wanted to go-go-go more and not dodge so many obstacles. Nice game. Would work on it more.

    Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:53am

    just a simple machenic and lovly art and long gameplay.
    I Love It

    fallingBear says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:10am

    Damn the game is harder than I expected. The mechanics are simple yet fun. I love the eerie music and the octopus looks super cute. I also the the oversaturated color palette. Overall is a very good game :))

    Sestren says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:30am

    Very challenging, but a lot of fun to play, particularly once you start to get a feel for how the octopus moves. The graphics are awesome, as well. Great entry!

    Otrora says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:34pm

    Like it! Nice graphics. You did the underwater movement really well. It will be nice if the player had some hearts, so it can survive more than one hit. I din't get to the earth part because I got tired of dying. But, I enjoy my time with it. Good work.

    BadgerPriest says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:56pm

    Great graphics and music, but the sea urchin guys are pretty difficult and it gets frustrating have to restart the level each time you hit one.

    Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:04pm

    Beautiful graphics! Difficult gameplay, but fun.
    ~funkeh

    markusfisch says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:59pm

    Very nice game! Enjoyed playing it very much. Very good graphics and good music. Well done!

    mramaizng says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:31pm

    Artwork and game play is real nice. Music was very loud, and I had to turn down my speakers, as there was no in game way to disable. Overall enjoyable.

    RawboSaurX says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:01pm

    All the artwork here is really good, man! The gameplay too is tight, no complaints. But the music loop of something like 6 seconds, with a half a second silence between, really puts a damper on the mood. It's a shame, but it's still pretty fun.

    DrMelon says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:55pm

    Cute and fun game. Nice use of theme!

    MechanicMoon says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:03pm

    Wow! The animation of the octopus is awsome and the level design its great! Very funny!

    ramoncb says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:31pm

    Hard for me (I'm not good with precision movements xD) but yet very fun!

    Maybe the hitboxes should be a little smaller? Or some places at the beginning levels should have some 'safe areas' ;-)

    I like the music (was made with Otomata?), but it need a proper loop ;-)

    Ah, and beautiful pixel-art! Really good!

    stasss says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:50pm

    Perfect rendition! Bravo

    gillenew says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:21am

    you gus are awesome!!

    I'm preparing an update of improvement for a version for kongregate, I will add new music, enemies, challenges, improve the gameplay and fix some bugs like collision box issue :)

    please, I will feed my face page with information about the game, feel free to like: https://www.facebook.com/gillenew?ref=bookmarks

    Eduardo says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:35am

    Really frustrating game play, i think it's because of the player movement. Didn't understand how matches with the theme. Really nicely done art!

    mactinite says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:51am

    The art is really great, and the game has a certain difficulty to it. I like it. :)

    Colapsydo says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:30am

    I like the graphics.
    I found that the collisions were maybe to large, in respect with the sensibility of control we have on the octopus.

    mechabit says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:19pm

    Nice art and movement but having to recollect all the stars for every single mistake is a bit harsh. Maybe add a check pointing system.

    lowcade says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:32pm

    The art is so beautiful. Gameplay is good but he music was a bit annoying. I hope you continue developing the game. Congratulations =)

    hbocao says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:23am

    nice art! the music is a bit annoying though... cool game overall! =D

    _Rilem says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:32pm

    Lovely graphics. Fun game, even though I couldn't manage any level without dying :P

    zatyka says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:26am

    Absolutely lovely visuals. Solid controls and movement. I thought it started off a little too hard, and I had to mute the music, but otherwise, it was quite enjoyable.

    jjhaggar says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:03pm

    Quite hard, but that's not a bad thing :)

    liquidminduk says ...
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:11pm

    Very polished entry, everything worked really well together visually and gameplay wise
    Sometimes the controls were a little finicky but I got used to it after a while.
    Great!

    jukimv1986 says ...
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:59am

    Too hard for me but great graphics, nice audio and very good work! Awesome results for 48 hours!!

    Manou says ...
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:00pm

    Nice, kudos for the graphics, five stars. Going to have a look at your sources :D

    Sunflower says ...
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:03pm

    Decent entry, nice audiovisuals (but the soundtrack *does* get repetitive after a while) and somewhat unforgiving gameplay; plus, I still have no idea what stars are for. The game stopped after level 4, does it mean I completed the last level?

    bytegrove says ...
    Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:11pm

    This game is so pretty!! :D Really nice work! Controlling was a little finicky in some places, like the little dude accelerated too quickly. The music loop is a tad too short as well. Other than that, a nice solid entry with super cute graphics! :)

    HayManMarc says ...
    Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:56pm

    Moving around wasn't consistent -- seemed to hang on walls. Graphics were great!

    Kyatric says ...
    Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:31am

    Nice graphics, aquatic controls are a bit weird even if it makes sense, the momentum under water is tricky to handle.

    The music was too repetitive, too fast, too loud and was quickly annoying. Adding frustration over the unfair death count.

    I did not take the time to make it past the first level because of unfair hitboxes of enemies which pattern it is impossible to know before having died several times on.

    Not my kind of level design it feels too unfair.

    Congratulations nonetheless on making a game during the compo.

    SteveSalmond says ...
    Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:16am

    Tasty tasty sprites - nice work!

    tbam says ...
    Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:27pm

    Solid game, was a bit difficult to get the controls at first, but overall it was great!

    skiddings says ...
    Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:42pm

    Lovely art but in need of a checkpointing system!

    Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:04pm

    Woah pretty hardcore! I would have liked some checkpoints - I didn't mind the difficulty so much, but it was not so great having to start the whole level again. The artwork was really top quality, full marks on that

    local minimum says ...
    Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:43pm

    The controls had an interesting floaty feeling, which also made it really hard to be precise. It took me 5 - 10 times before I managed to collect all stars on the first level, but getting the the end of the level... not a chance. So the game is really quite a bit too hard in the beginning if you ask me. It was very fun playing, but the instant death and the complexity of the moving enemies patterns on the first level... hope you make a more forgiving version in the future.

    Snicklodocus says ...
    Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:16pm

    Great art! Very difficult but in a good way. Controls were interesting - really felt like you're in the water. The music could use some work, but it's better than nothing! Good job.

    Sep 10, 2014 @ 4:02pm

    psssst... you are in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SDBSLwhAohI

    Jod says ...
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:40pm

    Awesome graphics, made me smile!

    Will Edwards says ...
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:08am

    Crikey Octus is *sooo* vulnerable! Really needs a hitpoint system ;)

    Nice little platform puzzle game. Really fun to be floating.

    Tommislav says ...
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 10:44am

    The graphics looks great, but that sound-loop starts to get to you quite fast... Also the controls are a bit hard. But a very good entry for 48 hours! Well done!

    NicePenguins says ...
    Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:05pm

    Nice graphics and gameplay ! The music is maybe too repetitive :D

    gillenew says ...
    Sep 16, 2014 @ 10:48am

    Thank you all, I'm very excited about this game and the feedback that you all gave me, the version that I'm finishing will honor the many points of improvement that were pointed out.
    Check out the official website of the game: www.waterflyoctus.com
    and the facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Waterfly-Octus/1479921232271343

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]