Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 79 days, 5 hours, 21 minutes, 4 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 30

    Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Ice Box - 2HitMatt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This game sums up the last 8 months of work for me. Isolated in my office, freezing to death to try and earn enough money to get my family by. Spending time with them whenever possible or going to the beach to stay sane.

    Now it can be your struggle too!

    How To Play
    ===========
    Spacebar - interact
    Arrows - move around

    Aim: Earn a lot of money, by working at the computer.
    Catch: Your office is freezing to work in!

    Press space to interact with things in each room. Talking to family will increase your interest, going to beach will increase heat, eating will increase hunger which staves off heat loss. Drinking? You find out.

    Let your heat drop to zero and you die. Try to do as much work as possible at the computer before the time runs out, earn them cash dollars!


    Let me know how much money you make! :D @2HitMatt

    View 2HitMatt's journal. | View all entries by 2HitMatt

    Ratings

    #62Graphics4.15
    #90Humor3.40
    #124Mood3.61
    #310Theme3.58
    #327Fun3.31
    #337Innovation3.44
    #363Overall3.40
    #401Audio2.96
    #1426Coolness45%

    Comments

    DrHahn says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:19am

    Nice little life-sim. I liked how I only left my room for food and sunlight.

    bladderbloat says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44am

    Awesome feel!

    EMAK says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:20am

    Nice approach! I really like

    capsizedmoose says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:05pm

    haha this was pretty fun :D

    MerlijnVH says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:28pm

    I love how this looks, and the sim aspect approach of moving to the different rooms is very original, too!

    jackyjjc says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:24am

    What a nice little game! The concept is simple but the execution is great, music and graphics are very nice. It seems after going to the beach my interest is just fixed at 100 and I only need to eat and work. Quite scary if it is in real life :p. One thing though, since I kept on pressing the space key till the end, I accidentally skipped the ending multiple times so I didn't know if I won or lost, would be nice if it is a different key to skip the ending screen. Overall it is pretty fun, Nice work!

    AndyBrown says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:51am

    That was quite amusing. Loved your art, very charming. Sorry man, you made $-8701.44! That's some serious debt. Why did you get so wasted and complete three times the required work? Must have caused a catastrophic failure when it was implemented.

    Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:26am

    This turned out really cool. Especially the art.

    KevinZuhn says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:24pm

    508$

    Rage Paint says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:41am

    I got $998.40 on my third try. Nice graphics, the sound fit, and liked the lighting effect when walking on the tiles.

    Tanser says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:08am

    Interesting concept. Lots of done for 48h, good job.

    OrangeeZ says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:15am

    >Workworkworkwork
    >Bourbonbbourbon
    >Workworkwork
    >You froze to death
    Just like IRL. :(
    Great entry.

    Nooner Bear says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:24am

    I'm liking the art!

    GreyShock says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:02pm

    Great art, interesting idea and pretty fun! My best try was $721.44 :D

    Pierrec says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:29pm

    A neat little games. I especially like the graphics and how the "worlds" are connected. It could be harder though. Getting work to 100 was piece of cake

    Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:39pm

    Fun entry. I liked how it was I bet there will be lots of people that identify with your sim. Good work.

    Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:39pm

    cool game. liked the art and concept. plus i got to freeze to death, which was cool as well.

    abeing says ...
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:39pm

    super game! awesome idea. :) got 60$ i think

    Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:09pm

    I liked your game, the story behind it adds a lot to it. The visuals are great and you used the theme in an interesting way, very good job sir ! (just one thing though, I didn't understand the winning condition, I thought I would have to complete my work but I won just by making enough money)

    alvivar says ...
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:11am

    :)

    Rehacked says ...
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:13am

    Very good game. Really liked the concept.I hope you a lot of 5 star rates! (I left you an answer on my games page.)

    Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:33pm

    Made me laugh. Cool game.

    01101101 says ...
    Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:49pm

    really pleasant game! It was a good idea to "connect" different parts of somebody's life :)up for the graphics!

    sP0CkEr2 says ...
    Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:56pm

    $501.60

    I love everything about this game. Awesome use of theme, great graphics and interacting with the environment. Nice job.

    2HitMatt says ...
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:40am

    Sorry for the lack of response. LD happened a week before I quit my job in the Ice Box (in real life) and have since moved into a teaching role :D

    I'd like to thank everyone whose played and rated the game. It means a lot to me to see people enjoying something I built, especially something that's based on a mindset I was in for the last 8 months.

    I didn't consider it, but its interesting to see how many other people relate to this type of scenario. We all live in our little worlds, one of them an Ice Box.

    So what's the deal with the 100% work completed thing? Well its not stated anywhere, but basically as long as you don't freeze to death, you win. That's because you're still alive technically to work another day. The work completed is used to calculate how much you earned that day and comes from the notion of 'I plan to get X Y and Z done today', which doesn't always pan out. I didn't mean for it to be so easy to get ahead on your work, but it happens haha.

    So winning is not freezing to death, with the money earned more or less to work out your score. I'd like to see a super low negative number come up soon haha (hint; much bourbon, much negligent work)

    Lokarunith says ...
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:50pm

    Very cool idea, The concept of the game is what makes it such a moving piece.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]