Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 80 days, 13 hours, 30 minutes, 44 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 30

    Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Social Network - Silveryard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Every have been on Facebook? Ever asked yourself how it is to manage one of the biggest services in history?

    Try it out!

    Help people around the whole world to be connected with each other. Help them to share interests and ethnics. Help them to send messages from home, take pictures on the way.
    The more users you have the more features they will request.
    But whatch out! Running a service costs money and with money there always comes stress...




    There are no specific controls. Everything can (has to be) be done with mouse.

    Instructions are avaliable ingame but skippable.

    Music can be turned of in options.

    There is a Highscore list at the end.


    Good look and enjoy gaming :)



    Changelog:

    Version LD30.1
    --Added
    -A way to die *yay*
    -A menu
    -Instructions
    -Background music

    Version LD30.2
    --Added
    -New Instructions page (a short one i promise)
    -2 New Features

    --Fixed
    -Some Bugs
    -Balancing

    Version LD30.3
    --Added
    -Realtime Income Update

    --Fixed
    -Number of users in game over screen
    -Removed scroll view in feature list
    -Cleanup on replay
    -Some Bugs
    -Balancing

    Version LD30.4
    --Added
    -Highscores

    --Fixed
    -Server Capacity label
    -Stopp gameloop at game over

    Version LD30.5
    --Added
    -5 New Features
    -Scrollbar for features (again)

    --Fixed
    -A float->int cast for satisfaction (to get gameover)
    -Some Bugs
    -Lots of balancing

    View Silveryard's journal. | View all entries by Silveryard

    Ratings

    #139Overall3.70
    #215Innovation3.62
    #316Theme3.57
    #366Fun3.26
    #451Mood3.11
    #491Audio2.80
    #505Humor2.40
    #839Graphics2.66
    #1204Coolness49%

    Comments

    Aug 23, 2014 @ 6:11pm

    cool game dude

    anvarch says ...
    Aug 23, 2014 @ 8:02pm

    great soundtrack, for real

    Zer0 says ...
    Aug 23, 2014 @ 8:09pm

    This is kinda like Plague.Inc but with a sozial network. Great Game tho :D

    MegaMasterX says ...
    Aug 23, 2014 @ 8:15pm

    Absolutely stressful, but well done.

    Geckoo1337 says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 12:51am

    Cool game with original concept, but it seems to me it bugged. In example I can't buy a server when I restart a game. Strange. Thank you ++

    Silveryard says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 1:20am

    @Geckoo1337 I upload while developing. The new version has some cleanup und restart and I don´t have any problems with buying anymore :)

    xWarZonex says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 1:30am

    This is amazing! How did you do this so quick?

    breskin2000 says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:35am

    I don't know how do you did that, but game is awesome.

    ViliX says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:41am

    Nice idea :)

    rd127p77 says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 12:06pm

    It's Original, Love It!

    Sacha862 says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 1:43pm

    A really cool game! Stressful and difficult at times for well done!

    Geckoo1337 says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 3:34pm

    This game is really original. I love this new gameplay. You are one of my favorites. Thank you for your contribution ++

    xbmdavross says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 3:39pm

    the problem is more people doesnt - more income, so it gets hard to keep people / servers happy when you buy everything and then it starts going down

    Silveryard says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 4:12pm

    @xbmdavross: Currently I'm working on some new Features you can buy but you're right at some point there is an end as you can' t buy infinite Features. But my goal is to see you loosing before you've bought the last ;)

    vogon101 says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 4:49pm

    Good game, why did I die?

    Silveryard says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 4:50pm

    @vogon101: If your money or your users satisfaction becomes 0 the game is over :)

    Roknsk says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 5:06pm

    This is cool. Simple and clever.

    maxkm5st1 says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 6:40pm

    really cool but i had all of the features and a few servers in minutes

    sylarisbest says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:30pm

    cool game.

    Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53am

    Really awesome concept. I included it in my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if youâd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/CHUuhEZvNWU

    nonetheless says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:57am

    That's a nice game. Would like some more colours :)... and I feel music doesn't fit (although big thunmbs up for making the music :) ) All in all quite enjoyable!

    badlydrawnrod says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:02am

    Nice to see something on theme that didn't involve planets.

    ViliX says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:32pm

    One of my favourites. You should do some post-compo version.

    Slooowpoke says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:36pm

    Was having great fun, then I bought servers all around the world and something must have gone wrong like my server costs exceeding my income. It would be nice to have some kind of game over message telling me how I lost because I felt a bit cheated. Game is quite easy, but I really liked the features that you can add to the servers. I think more of those and some way of servers crashing if you exceed users(might already happen and I didn't realise). I'd like to see more from this game, nice one!

    DrMelon says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:38pm

    Good take on the theme! Interesting little management game.

    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:40pm

    Epic game! It's lacking a bit of clarity on the graphics though. I'd love to play it again. 9/10

    ZirconCode says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:41pm

    Interesting/awesome idea, also reminded me of Plague.inc (and friends). Liked the homemade music.

    Think the gameplay could be a bit better balanced. Graphics were a bit too bland for my taste.

    Flyinpig5 says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:42pm

    Fun little game c:

    clofresh says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:46pm

    Interesting board game-y game. Felt like I was watching a real analytics dashboard

    Robinerd says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:50pm

    Cool concept. Thought at first it would go on to infinite, but then I realized the troubles of gaining a larger user base. Well done and very interesting! Creds for the instructions and the ability to turn of the music. Great learning curve.

    McFood says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:51pm

    Really enjoyable social network clicker/sim type thing =)
    I'm glad noone is dissatisfied by all the servers being full all the time, that might make it even harder.
    Great Work!

    hoyt hoy says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:52pm

    Intriguing
    A lot of thing to understand to can play.
    De sounds is a little repetitive, but is a good sound.
    Gameplay interesting.
    A little more feedback about the actions of player would be nice.

    sapermysz says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:19pm

    Very good idea and game.

    Geckoo1337 says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:25am

    One of my favorites for this LD32. Well done ++

    EnigmAraigne says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:52am

    Nice idea, but i hate the music. It's so annoying!

    But overall gameplay is nice. I like it!

    Hyoga-3D says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:42pm

    Nice game, very good concept and pretty complex too, well done.

    gmfk07 says ...
    Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:20pm

    Awesome game, especially in such a short timeframe!

    psychomonster says ...
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:38am

    Great concept, fast-paced gameplay. Love it

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]