Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 75 days, 22 hours, 56 minutes, 55 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 30

    Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Zanlings Match - Connected Worlds - Franklins Ghost - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You are on a Universal Dating Show called "Zanlings Match" trying to find a Connection with another being in this crazy World.

    Instructions:
    You just need to click through the screens and select the Questions you want to ask and then which Answer you like the most out of the three. At the end one of the Contestants is chosen as your connection.

    Second Ludum Dare attempt and this time I really struggled coming up with an idea. Wasted the first day just brainstorming. Wish I'd come up with the idea earlier so I could have added alot more depth and variety and made it a bit clearer what was needed. More alternate endings would have been fun and I wish I had actually had time to write more in depth dialogue and sounds.

    Software used:
    Flash
    Photoshop
    Audacity

    Update:
    Have decided I'll be expanding upon this game and doing an extended, polished version. Just started a twitter account I'll be updating with progress as I go.
    Twitter:@FranklinsGhost

    View Franklins Ghost's journal. | View all entries by Franklins Ghost

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #40Humor3.76
    #277Graphics3.56
    #364Mood3.22
    #534Theme3.29
    #569Innovation3.14
    #592Audio2.66
    #730Fun2.85
    #780Overall2.99

    Comments

    jas7229 says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:11am

    Though I wasn't a huge fan of the audio/sound, it seems like a neat little quiz game. Cute take on "connection" (:

    mrexcessive says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:22am

    Hi. I like your art style and the humour is also great. Good to see a novel approach.

    Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38am

    Thanks jas7229 & mrexcessive.

    Definitely find audio my weakness and wish I'd had time to do voiceovers for the characters and a proper theme.

    Tanner says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:44am

    Great audio, it makes very mystery mood.

    INC$D021 says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:46am

    Love the humor :)

    cmayhem says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:22am

    Very cool graphics and great humor.

    Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:31am

    Glad you liked the audio Tanner and thanks INC$D021 & cmayhem, tried to make it humorous so nice to know I got that across.

    DustyStylus says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:25am

    Fantastic humour, went back to check all the responses. :) I actually really liked the audio! Thought it fit very well.

    Zoomyzoom says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:26am

    Wow man, I hope I was supposed to find this really creepy XD I is however really well made :D

    Hypnohustla says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:15pm

    Such a weird game! The audio added a really creepy mood to it. I also liked your color choices! :)

    LaFleur says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:31pm

    Great art style! Fun little game!

    Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:23pm

    Cheers everyone, glad some people are liking the audio and that some of the humour and creepy weirdness is getting across.

    panurge says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:02pm

    The audio is so at odds with the dating show vibe that it gives the whole thing a weird otherworldly feel which is really nice. Quirky, funny and nicely stylised, I checked all three endings and would love to see this expanded.

    GAFBlizzard says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:21am

    Great drawings! The background sounds were scary. ;_;

    I also ended up marrying a giant blob monster and I'm not sure how to feel about this.

    Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:36am

    Thanks panurge the more time that passes since I completed it and the more I'm liking the idea. Have been thinking of expanding it later on. Want to add more characters, dialogue and voiceovers.

    GAFBlizzard if only you knew what he was actually saying you might be more worried :)

    Snoother says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18pm

    I'm loving the style and use of theme! As another guy said, the ethereal audio set against the dating show mechanic produces something really unique. The graphics and colour scheme are fabulous too. I'm stumped trying to think of criticisms -- well, besides the obvious desire for the game to be expanded. I think these kind of peculiar, creative games are the reason LD is so much fun.

    Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:55pm

    Thanks Snoother and definitely agree with you about LD helping with these types of games. Can't actually imagine having come up with this game and making it if it wasn't for LD.

    Fumiko says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:34pm

    Sweet game. And the most creative and fitting idea for the theme. i like it pretty much. The soundeffects in the beginning were disturbing and weird gave of the vibe of a saladfingers episode. Actually sounds and music for the mainpart of the game would have come a long way to making it more enjoyable. I didnt quite got to the characters though - guess that's why i ended up with froopal. But hey - good food is always nice. :)
    Oh yeah and nice art also.

    Lissar says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:51am

    First dating game I've been creeped out by!

    jomomomo says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:59am

    Dude that's hilarious...

    Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:30am

    Really happy people are enjoying it and been great to get such positive feedback. Definitely makes me want to expand on the idea and already have lots of ideas I wanted to include and improve.

    ponk says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:19pm

    Superb graphics and animations
    Funny game !

    BinaryPie says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:04pm

    Cool interpretation of 'connected'.

    Josh H says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:19pm

    Haha, I enjoyed this. The audio got to be a little much, but other than that, well done. Very interesting take on the theme.

    Aaants says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:36pm

    Freaky... in a good way :)

    tbamberg says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:02pm

    Hilarious, great to look at, and fun to play. I had to get all the endings!

    Miziziziz says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:02pm

    Hahaha! I loved this!
    The dialogue was so good; top notch humor here.
    I want to see more!

    KigurumiDevs says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:29pm

    lol, awesome, funny idea. i like the style and the music. i am just missing a little bit more gameplay.

    Mase says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:34pm

    The setting is appealing but needs more detail.

    zillix says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:44am

    so weird. that's a fantastic. I love to see wacky ideas in LD!

    Oxeren says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

    Nice atmosphere.

    jukimv1986 says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:32pm

    Great take on the theme, though I could only make a connection with the human girl hahaha

    saguaro says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:58am

    I like the way you think.

    Rage Paint says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:32am

    Liked the artwork and your take on the theme. Good humor

    Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:30pm

    Nice idea, like the way you approch the theme :) Like the strange sounds at start

    Artamus says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:42pm

    Nice and funny game, congrats!

    Jod says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:53pm

    That made me laugh quite a bit! Loved Tranzion so much!

    AlexDJones says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:49pm

    One of my fav games of LD so far - Unfortunately though the audio didnt seem to work for me. Still, great work!

    CatOnMars says ...
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:39am

    This is so funny lol
    Well done!

    Pierrec says ...
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:12pm

    I think it's an AWESOME idea, but I really really regret we actually knew who was answering (even if the colors weren't here, it would have been easy to know who had answered what) isn't the goal of these dating game to NOT know who answered?

    I really would like to play the exact same games with more bachelors and without guessing their answers.

    Graphics and Sounds are great

    GrooveMan says ...
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:18pm

    Dating shoes are already kinda creepy, so having ethereal music laid on top was wonderfully appropriate. In a way, it'd be good if you didn't know which response belonged to whom until the ending; but considering the, um, disparate speech styles, there's not much can be done about that.

    Went with Tranzton, tho. Fuck yeah Tranzton.

    Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:07pm

    Thanks everyone, nice to see more people are playing.

    And thanks Pierrec and GrooveMan for pointing out that maybe you shouldn't know who's answering. Been coming up with some possibilities for this feature today and have also started to plan some other contests. I want the expanded version to have about 100 characters and each to feel unique with their own style. Got some new ones I'm happy with and can't wait to start filling in their personalities.

    Found this article which mentioned Zanlings Match so that was a nice surprise. http://www.joystiq.com/2014/08/26/play-all-of-the-connected-world-ludum-dare-30-games/?ncid=rss_truncated

    kaa says ...
    Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:07pm

    In my opinion, this is a good example of art in game design. Impressive sound!

    Lokarunith says ...
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 3:17pm

    Great Humour, really fun concept and all the characters are well modeled. My favourit is the giant xD
    Great entry, i really liked it a lot!

    Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:14pm

    Really funny, cool game! I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if youâd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/KSNN8ZCA9kQ

    sephyka says ...
    Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:20am

    Interesting and crazy entry. I love the strange mood, the efficient graphics and the absurd world you've created.

    commodoreKid says ...
    Sep 14, 2014 @ 2:27pm

    As you wrote above, there is not much content right now but the idea is really good :) I wished to have more control. Good luck if you want to develop it further.

    davisan says ...
    Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:01pm

    Funny and crazy. xD
    Very nice art style!

    psychonull says ...
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:20am

    I would definitely marry Froopal. I'm amazed by the aesthetics and how the sounds fit perfectly. Loved this entry.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]