Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 76 days, 4 hours, 57 minutes, 15 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 30

    Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Dominions'n'dominoes - Benjamin - Jam Entry

    I had no time to finish for the 48h compo so I entered the 72h

    RULES :
    - On each round place your two diplomats token on free action spaces.
    - Play new word on the map from your hand or the neutral space
    - Connect your worlds by using trade, alliance or even tourism !
    - At the end of each turn you score one prestige for each world connected on your longest chain.
    - After 9 rounds the player with the highest prestige win the game.

    ACTION SPACES :
    Federate : Play a world.
    Influence : Look at the first 3 events card, discad one and put the two next in the order you want
    Explore : Draw 1 world cards.
    Rule : Draw 1$ law card or Play a law card.
    Presidate : Gain immediately 1 prestige point(s). Become the first player at the end of the phase.
    Research : Draw 1 card
    Colonize : Colonize every empty world of your board ||Play a world from your hand.
    Trade : Draw 2 cards then discard 2 cards || Discard all your cards to gain 1 prestige for each.

    View Benjamin's journal. | View all entries by Benjamin

    Ratings

    Overall(Jam)4.52
    Coolness80%
    #5Fun(Jam)4.28
    #9Innovation(Jam)4.33
    #15Theme(Jam)4.20
    #21Graphics(Jam)4.52
    #56Mood(Jam)3.90
    #151Humor(Jam)3.12
    #321Audio(Jam)3.20

    Comments

    Sestren says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:35am

    I love games like this. It's taking me awhile to understand it, but each time I play it, I get it more and more. Really great entry, I can tell this is the kind of game I'll be coming back to time and again throughout the rating, much like when I got hooked on Super Strict Farmer.

    becker929 says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:17am

    This is really really really awesome! Complex and with a fine attention to art and design, this is just downright fun that, like Sestren, I'll be coming back to! Hell I am going to play this with my friends. You rock, don't stop making games like this <3<3<3

    JonathanG says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:55am

    This is brilliant! Reminds me a lot of Agricola, Race for the Galaxy and Twilight Imperium ;) Very fun to play, and very polished appearance!

    A few bugs:
    - Sometimes the view is stuck on a board which is not the current player's - e.g. P2's turn but P1's board appears. In this case you need to mouseover the player icon in the top left until the right one appears.
    - When this happens, the planet overlay icons and trade animations will often disappear too
    - When choosing cards to discard when trading, the animated arrows get stuck on the screen
    - When using the influence action, the two cards put on the top of the deck were never actually drawn afterwards.
    - Scoring is confusing, we tried to figure out how the board related to the +X next to the player score, but couldn't. Sometimes the +X changes at the end of the round; is it not calculated until then? Does it include points from laws?
    - On the victory screen the players are counted from P0, but in the rest of the game they count from P1

    Bobzombi says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:01am

    Thanks for this very good game. I thinks he deserve an full version :)

    ncannasse says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:14pm

    Quite... complex :) But very interesting at the same. The UI is very good and helpful, but sometimes anoying (for instance no preview of resources I/O when you want to place a world). I also find Events/Laws to much disruptive especially since there's only one single Rule action allowed per round.

    Ah, and the theme is well respected :)

    ncannasse says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:16pm

    PS: too bad there's not a good music or even sounds ;)

    bussiere says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:30pm

    nice one and gg but a tutorial could be nice ... it deserves a longer and better version

    Benjamin says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:55pm

    @JonathanG : scoring ( should be ) the number of planet linked in your longest chain.
    @ncannasse : The game have no music, but you should have some sfx... Nobody can hear sounds ? For the disruptive aspect of law / events, I totally agree. The game is rather unfinished and it lacks some action spots. Terraforming would have help you to change a planet landtype & build was previously designed to modify your planet production. Its seems that 72h was not enough to add them all :D

    Benjamin says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:22pm

    @JonathanG : I made a quick fix for the influence & the trade bug thx for the report

    dickpoelen says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:59pm

    Man that's complex! But very well made. I gotta dive deeper in to it later

    deepnight says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:02pm

    This is simply the best game you ever made *_*
    Totally awesome and quite well balanced! You HAVE to release this on mobile!

    BadgerPriest says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:56pm

    I can't stop playing this game.

    pLaw says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:05pm

    I really dig this game! Gorgeous graphics and very fun board game mechanics. Exellent work!

    markusfisch says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:41pm

    Wow, that's a really complex, yet well balanced and very beautiful game! Very impressing!

    nonetheless says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:16pm

    Hell, this is amazing

    YopSolo says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:04pm

    amazing job !

    Artamus says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:59pm

    Amazing game! I need to play this with friends!

    TijmenTio says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:59pm

    Holy fucking shit dude, how in the world did you do this in 72 hours. Played two games and the second time I understood what I was doing. Your games are always awesome and this is no exception. I am still flabbergasted...

    Carduus says ...
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:29pm

    Absolutely outsanding game 0O, my favourite entry so far, i spend about 3 games to understand by reading tolltips, and hahem yes! it's awesome!
    Tou made the best pixel art i've seen in this jam, the cover and colours are stellars ;)
    Keep it up!

    SiMouth says ...
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:14pm

    It should definitely become a "real" game, I'd buy it with a few more competition features (i.e. with laws / events active only for 1 player)

    GFM says ...
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:22pm

    Woooow! Amazing game! I would really like to see this on an actual board and to play it with friends.

    The game is really polished! Having sfx, flashed and animations for every action is great. Also, the UI is great at explaining what can be done at the current turn (and what is happening). Also, the graphics are amazing!

    Congrats!! =D

    On another note... seems like I found a bug... On the last round, I chose "colonize" to put a new world, but I only had one not colonized. The game, then, wouldn't allow me to take any action... (and thus, I wasn't able to finish my turn).

    sP0CkEr2 says ...
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:52pm

    This game looks very well polished. I want to play it some more but what I saw so far was great. Nice job!

    RodRoy1 says ...
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:48am

    Amazing game, I am truly impressed about how polished it looks after such a short amount time. Also thanks again for what you did for my submission.

    andrewkennedy says ...
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:50am

    I can tell you've seen your fair share of deck building games :) Good graphics and a really well thought out game!

    lekochen says ...
    Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:11am

    Win the game with score of 76. This is really fun. Absolutely amazing.

    SteveSalmond says ...
    Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:30am

    Seems like an extremely well thought out design. Played the single player and had really enjoyed it; have to try multiplayer with some buds later!

    dancingmad says ...
    Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:08am

    Excellent jeu pas forcément évident à prendre en main au premier abord.
    Les graphismes sont magnifiques et le style très original.

    Un grand bravo !

    PS: à quand la version avec tutoriel et localisée en français?

    elefantopia says ...
    Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:54pm

    Very polished, well thought out. Enjoyed playing it.

    Silii says ...
    Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:40pm

    Same as always, i love your game Benjamin. Really nice.
    Lose my first game, but win ( http://puu.sh/bijsg/a3f61efa3d.png) the second !

    Good game for this theme !

    Digiraze says ...
    Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:18pm

    Complex and engaging experience. Great game!

    xRubbermaid says ...
    Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:29pm

    Took me a while to figure certain things out, but once I got it I was completely hooked. I was going to use this break to play through a few games, changed my mind when this came first. Really well done, would love to see this as a board game.

    lkr says ...
    Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:39pm

    That was amazing. Easily my favorite entry so far. Would have loved to play a physical version with friends also.

    The first game was confusing, but I had a blast playing the second one. I love board- and card games, and the system where you pick an action for the round, and it can't be picked again until the next round.
    Gorgeous visuals definitely don't hurt either :) Impressive how you got all this done - this polished - in such a short time.

    I'd buy the full version of this game.

    mildmojo says ...
    Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:58pm

    This is really great. I love board games, and this feels like a well-planned game. It took me a while to realize that what a world "wants" is not what it needs to operate; just needs to be colonized.

    This would probably be more competitive if I tried it with friends. Like other role-taking games (San Juan, Puerto Rico, Race for the Galaxy), a lot of the strategy is in taking roles to deny other players the benefit they most need, and the AI doesn't seem to do that.

    This is a great example of a computer board game. IRL, those directed graphs of trades would be difficult to score every round, but the computer makes short work of it.

    There were a few UI issues that I think others have mentioned:
    - When other players are taking their turns, you can hover over their cards to get descriptions. Not a huge deal.
    - Each planet's production/consumption should always be visible, IMHO. Hovering is kinda sorta okay, but there are times when hovering *doesn't* show planet info (like when placing a new planet), and that's frustrating.

    Nicely done, overall. Hard to believe you made it in such a short time. =)

    mechabit says ...
    Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:59pm

    this game is awesome, good combination of worker placement and event cards, very deep gameplay and tactics!

    Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:40pm

    It was difficult to understand, so a tutorial or help section would have been useful. Other than that, it was amazing. You did a lot in 72 hours.

    lotusgame says ...
    Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:13am

    What a game ! So complex, deep, interesting, challenging, polished... A must see ! Huge !

    Pierrec says ...
    Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:58am

    Woaaaah...
    I can't believe you made this in 72h! This is AMAZING! (well, I do believe you since I watched the timelapse, but I'm so impressed)
    Agricola, Cuba, Megablast linked together in a rich and balanced game?! I never thought this could be done that fast. I REALLY want to play a boardgame version of this, because the computer AI isn't really smart (I won 63 to 30 & 26) and playing with humans on the same computer isn't the funniest.

    I think this is my new favorite

    Pierrec says ...
    Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:17am

    I played another time. Maybe the AI isn't that dumb, I won, but only 44 to 43/23.The civil war harmed me a lot!
    I though about how converting this into a boardgame but it might not be that easy eventually, because counting points (without forgetting any of the rules/event applied might be very tedious...
    Maybe, like in Cuba or Agricola, the whole game should be divided in 3 counting phases but then Events and Rules would be REALLY powerful...

    Zerkruemler says ...
    Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:30pm

    Very polished and complex game. Well done.

    tbam says ...
    Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:34pm

    Really great game. Complex, but not overly so. Add online multiplayer and I'd pay for the game.

    PapyGaragos says ...
    Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:50pm

    Won my first game while I was still working out how this works... lost every games after that :(

    Really good job

    alpha_rat says ...
    Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:25pm

    Very well done in 48 hours!
    The game feels very neat and polished.

    NicePenguins says ...
    Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:18pm

    Awesome boardgame-like game :D ! I just find the trade action too OP : I won by drawing a huge amount of cards and trading them for prestige points. Great game anyway :) !

    DrCicero says ...
    Sep 8, 2014 @ 1:01am

    I had to read the instructions 3 times, and play the game twice, before i understood what to do xD Then i won 2 times in a row!

    At first i was confused about what you can actually click, then you notice that despite the pointer changing above all cards only the left ones are clickable.

    "Each turn you win prestige equal to your longest chain."
    This was kind of ambiguous: Does a chain have to be in one direction? Are two way tradings actually counted twice?
    Also the number of points i will get at the end of the turn in the top left corner seemed strange. Does this number include the event/law cards, and when is it updated?

    The most confusing part (and it got me even in the fourth play) is which of down and up corresponds to source and sink. I guess a circle with four arrows pointing inside and a circle with four arrows pointing outside would be more intuitive.

    It was a bit surprising that a turn is actually two turns :)

    BUG:
    * During enemies turns you can read their cards by hovering! But the time span is so short that its no use.
    * When placing a card)you cannot get hover information. That was surprising and unfair.

    All in all i enjoyed the game very much!

    dunin says ...
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:58pm

    I see you entry because you made a web version for RodRoy1's game, and I understand why. Congratulations for this generous action and for your game. I like the board game style and the deep of the gameplay.

    mcapraro says ...
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:47pm

    wow, very complex game. i dont know if i fully got it, it felt like it need a walkthrough to really get the gist, but a lot of amazing work for 72h!

    X-0r says ...
    Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:54pm

    Cool game mechanics and design!

    I must admit that I haven't played many games of that genre so far. It was a bit hard to get into but became "easier", once I started planning ahead.

    I didn't beat the AI yet, but victory will be mine soon!

    TobiasW says ...
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:44am

    Damn, I'm really impressed. You wrote that you entered the jam because you were missing time - so you still did all of this alone? Everything looks gorgeous, and as a fan of board games I can say: This is fun and works really well! It obviously doesn't feel the same when you're playing alone like I'm doing right now, but I can still appreciate and enjoy the mechanics. I think I played for nearly an hour :)

    There's only one thing I don't like: That I have to point at planets to see what they produce/need. That's such a vital information, there's really no need to hide it.

    PixelFeet says ...
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:52am

    nice Job! its a really fun game to play.

    Lianne Booton says ...
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:49am

    This is really awesome, love the audio and graphics. Really well polished entry!

    Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:21pm

    BEst game ever. Not even kidding. Please turn it into an iPad game1 I want to buy it so bad! O_O

    Frankus says ...
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:25pm

    Wow, fantastic game. Would make a great board game. A manual on how to play would be great also. Amazing job!

    Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:36pm

    Amazing, I'm still playing after 3 games. There's a lot of depth and a lot to learn but it comes pretty quick.

    Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:38pm

    Maybe you could add a cancel button for certain actions, when it's possible...

    klianc09 says ...
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:35pm

    Really awesome board/strategy game. My weapon trade ring was going really well, with all those grants on weapon trading ;). I like the depth it has, while staying rather simple. I could play it without reading any instructions, just with the ingame tooltips. (Only rarely something was unclear.)
    I could see me playing this a lot, after some more balancing (law cards are pretty strong, and can only be changed 9 times per game).

    Morusque says ...
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:32pm

    impressive

    Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:44pm

    Gorgeous!

    silentlamb says ...
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:39pm

    I really wish you port your game to Android. It's hard, but awesome!

    RookMage says ...
    Sep 16, 2014 @ 4:34am

    A mobile version would be amazing. AI is great to play against. Awesome, wish I had rated this before the contest was over

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]