Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 29 days, 9 hours, 42 minutes, 7 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 64 days, 10 hours, 30 minutes, 7 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 30

    Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Present & Future world builder. - spitfire87 - Jam Entry

    Build your own tiny world and discover how climate change could affect it

    This is a game about time and consequences. The only world truly connected to ours, is our own future world. Take care of it.

    Done by Guillermo Muntaner (1st time using 3D btw :D)


    PD: The game is done using Unity. The planet is a spheric mesh i deform modifying the vertex position & color. Used a vertex color shader.

    View spitfire87's journal. | View all entries by spitfire87

    Ratings

    #71Innovation(Jam)3.76
    #75Graphics(Jam)4.26
    #224Humor(Jam)2.82
    #303Overall(Jam)3.33
    #343Mood(Jam)3.15
    #354Fun(Jam)3.09
    #544Theme(Jam)2.76
    #629Audio(Jam)1.83
    #1570Coolness40%

    Comments

    LuisDC says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:22am

    Interesting simulator. Good graphics and terrain maker. I made a planet with the shape of a face :D

    mclewis says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34am

    Very cool game. The graphics look fantastic, really like the geometric look.

    MechanicMoon says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:54am

    Very complete simulator. It reminds me to "Mountain" but with more possibilities. A god game with this, would be so awesome.

    The Lag Pack says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:45am

    Very interesting. Really enjoyed it

    Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:00pm

    could you write down whise tool you used to make this.

    runvs says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:03pm

    Great Idea! The terrain generation works well and the graphics for the planet are very nice. As you mentioned in your Postmorem, for a game some more features & actual gameplay would have been nice, but as a simulator this looks really great.

    I tryed some procedural terrain generation myself some months ago (2d though, search "intelligent design gamejolt" if you are interested ).
    This is an interesting and still emerging field with lots of possibilities for good games and even better tech demos. ;)

    Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:10pm

    I like your approach but I did not really have the feeling that I could influence the results of these simulations by the way I shape my world.

    egos says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:14pm

    No gameplay
    its a simulator but an Interesting simulator

    Perjoka says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:35pm

    Well done Simulator with great graphics :)

    Kojan says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18pm

    I really enjoyed this game (because I like simulators ^^) and really laught when the houses spawned on the water :)

    Hairein says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:12pm

    Interesting idea and well executed. Nice simulation and controls were great to achieve the interactions easily. Wasn't what I expected as a game in the traditional sense.

    Frankus says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:06pm

    Interesting simulator. The graphics are simple, but nice and easy to look at. Great work!

    EMAK says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:16pm

    great realisation!

    Manou says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:57pm

    Very good idea and execution, needs some polish and sounds. LD30 :P

    spolsh says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:45am

    Nice one. Liked water graphics.

    nonetheless says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:06pm

    Nice entry, I love the fact that sun is going around, looks so nice :)

    insane66 says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:45pm

    awsome

    Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:52pm

    its interesting, i only had problems with zooming, but this would be very cool simulator with more detail.

    Encofrado says ...
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:45pm

    Great game, it reminds me Black and White Series and Simcity god mode Create, with a bit more of features and a tracklist can be the new "Black and White" (again xD)

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]