Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 74 days, 16 hours, 46 minutes, 53 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 30

    Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Wheel of Life - Sverik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Spring, summer, autumn, winter. Seasons change and so does gameplay. Move from season to season to find your way to temporal singularity. Or is it nirvana? Who knows.

    How to run: java -jar wol.jar

    Controls: left-right arrow keys to move, up arrow to jump.

    Implemented features:
    * Platform challenge, find your way to the centre
    * Seasons affect gameplay
    * Radial movement in four directions
    * Gravity
    * Jumping
    * Imperfect collision detection (buggy and slow, but gets the job done)
    * Colourful background
    * Colourful character

    Would be nice to have, but time seems to be running out:
    * Extending gameplay, branching maze, essentially more platforms to jump on
    * Optimising collision detection (walls shouldn't be sticky or penetrable)

    Goals too far to reach:
    * Moving platforms
    * Textures, sprites etc
    * Sounds
    * Environmental particle effects
    * NPCs
    * Smooth gameplay

    Sourcecode is included in the jar file.

    -=-=-=-=-

    A post-competition port to Android is now also available. The port was not done solo, so that's why it does not comply with competition rules.

    View Sverik's journal. | View all entries by Sverik

    Ratings

    #315Innovation3.47
    #657Graphics2.95
    #689Fun2.89
    #751Overall3.00
    #1111Theme2.16
    #1796Coolness30%

    Comments

    CrazyDog says ...
    Aug 23, 2014 @ 11:33am

    Collision ? :D

    Sverik says ...
    Aug 23, 2014 @ 5:34pm

    Next up - collision detection :)

    Sverik says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 1:55am

    There you go, now it's playable.

    wolfmother says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:00am

    Half maze, half platformer - and simple but classy graphics.
    Really looking forward to seeing where this ends up going :3

    Croze says ...
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 5:48pm

    Quick bug mention: If you fall before you jump, you can jump in the air. Nice game though, pretty cool for how early you released it

    Hyoga-3D says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:37pm

    Good game, but maybe next time try to make a web version, so it's easy to play.

    Sverik says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:29pm

    Web version is a good idea, also I suggest using an existing framework and not spending time on writing collision detection ;) So next time I think I'll go for Dart and Phaser.

    MrSylar59 says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:51am

    Good job but collisions are a bit glitched so if you are next to a plateform you can't get on it.

    Quetzakol says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:55am

    I liked the idea, but I couldn't finish the game because of collision problems.

    Literal Games says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:59am

    Nice game that could be so much fun if the collision detection was that little bit better and the seasonal effects were slightly more pronounced. Cool level design though.

    43iscoding says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:03am

    About frameworks/collision detection - you should probably make a fully functional simple engine from scratch once, so you could easily do the same if you'll need in future. Then, you're free to use any framework you prefer, without even thinking about those low-level gears, that keep game running :)

    Retl says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:16pm

    Yeah, I see what you mean about the collision detection. I fell through floors two or three times, but not usually during the big important jumps. Overall it was easy to figure out how to play the game, through it took me until Winter until I noticed the effects of each world at all. I think out of all of them, I liked Autumn the most.

    I had fun with it. : )

    Pierrec says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:18am

    I played on Android. It took me some time to figure out how to jump correctly, but once I got that, I had a lot of fun (and frustration)

    Vytheros says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:04pm

    I love this game, if only because it works so well and annoys the hell out of me when I miss a jump. It's really cool and hope it can be expanded later

    yodamaster says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:01pm

    Circular plattformer. Interesting.

    madmaw says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:31am

    The controls work well on Android once you work them out

    Sunflower says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:18pm

    Nice little platformer, though from the mention about different seasons I expected a bit more variety. ^^"
    I wonder, will the world be much larger in the Post-Compo version? You mentioned NPCs, too...

    Sverik says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:56pm

    Thank you all for your nice comments! At nights I'm now seeing dreams about collision detection, huge rotating worlds, snowmen, butterflies, pixel art, smooth curves, rings, circles, polar coordinates, Xbox controllers, Steam controllers, Android gamepads, HTML 5, achievements, storyline that really has an impact, believable female characters and online gameplay.
    Or perhaps just a bit bigger world.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]