Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 78 days, 3 hours, 14 minutes, 51 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 30

    Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Whiteout - primaerfunktion - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You're on an antarctic expedition and your partner disappeared. Explore the environment and find him without getting lost yourself.

    Notes

    You die at 20ðC.

    Don't get discouraged too quickly. There are multiple things to find including your lost partner. And if you find something it may give you a hint on where to go.

    You should consider to download a standalone build and play the game in fullscreen with headphones, get comfortable and take your time.

    View primaerfunktion's journal. | View all entries by primaerfunktion

    Ratings

    Mood4.56
    Coolness65%
    #9Graphics4.56
    #37Audio3.89
    #80Overall3.82
    #259Innovation3.55
    #595Humor2.26
    #791Fun2.78
    #1023Theme2.42

    Comments

    Slooowpoke says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:03am

    Got very confused. Very lost. I'm sure it's great but I don't have a clue what I'm doing.

    Pat AfterMoon says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:10pm

    Impressive visuals, sound and overall ambience for a 48 h entry!
    I'm lost too, haven't currently see anything except snow, wind, my fading footsteps and my temperature drop. But I want to see more, I return to it, will rate later.
    @primaerfunktion: you could maybe add a small teaser, even a comment in the description, else I'm afraid some people won't take the time to go farther...

    Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:00pm

    @Pat: Thanks and you're probably right. And there definitely is quite some stuff to find...

    tchem says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55pm

    Fantastic!!!!!!!! this game is so unique and atmospheric. The gameplay is fluid. It´s strange mode to navigate in this world. thanks man...

    capsizedmoose says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:13pm

    other than the wonky camera, this was really good! i found really wierd thing xD

    StrideWide says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:25pm

    This was very well done, the 3d models and animations were amazing. I only found the killer whales, but still really cool.

    Pat AfterMoon says ...
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:26pm

    Great! I've found ... (no, I won't spoil)
    Very nice atmosphere like I've already said.
    Little remark : camera movement could be easily improved, and it needs some information when temperature loss become critical (many "Brrrrrrrrr" sound until ...)

    Andre Blyth says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:21am

    I've haven't found the partner yet but I've found some other things. Really atmospheric and quite sad (in a good way). And wow on the animations done in 48 hours.

    dustyroom says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:32am

    Great atmosphere. So cold. Five is not enough for graphics.

    CaptainNakou says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:50am

    Oh my god... What have you done in 48 hour, it's just amazing. The graphics, the ambiance, the atmosphere.
    As the others said, the camera is a little unnatural.
    But wow, great work. Just one question, did you inspiration came from the Gerudo desert from Zelda - Ocarina of Time? =D

    Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:00am

    @Captain: It indeed crossed my mind. Yes. :D

    nonetheless says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:18am

    So climatic, can't play longer right now but will get back to it at night, with headphones, all alone.... :)

    MerlijnVH says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:18am

    Beautiful! I love the atmosphere, very impressive work within the short time span. Good job!

    panurge says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:47am

    Certainly the best-looking and most atmospheric entry I've played so far. Really immersive. Great attention to detail as well. I'll be playing this again later and trying to find out a little more of the story...

    camlang says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:09am

    Well-maintained atmosphere. And the graphics are up to par. Very cool game.

    Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:35am

    This is a very pretty and atmospheric game. But the gameplay is very bland. I must come back when I have more time and discover more of what there is.

    Hypnohustla says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:03pm

    Best looking game I've played. It was fun to explore and find strange things to look at. Like the frozen whales. So cool.

    Nylonica says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:05pm

    Those graphics are insane!

    RHY3756547 says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:19pm

    Incredible graphics and presentation! The mood in the game is set perfectly, however gameplay is really slow and I was only able to find orcas and a huge ice wall with weird collision (i got through it at some weird point, then walked far enough for the shadow to fall off. initially i thought i was in a cave!). Overall very well done though!

    liquidminduk says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:22pm

    ok, gorgeous visually, really great art style, and the bleak contrast is great

    there are a couple of clipping issues around the tent, but apart from that I'm shocked at the amount of effort you put in to the world, with nice wind physics too!

    Gameplay.. as others have mentioned, it's a little unclear of what to do (i guess that encourages the exploration though!)

    Definitely worthy of a full game, great work

    Ditto says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:24pm

    Wow, this is beautiful! Damn! And the feeling of loneliness is crazy! Others have said it, but the camera, you know.. I found some whales, but no partner yet! Will have to come back and find him! :D

    rogueNoodle says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:37pm

    Top marks for mood and visuals, for sure. Loved the use of flags to avoid getting lost as well. Despite how well the character was done, I'd love to try this first person with an oculus rift ;)

    JetL33t says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:42pm

    I really like this. Spent quite some time searching this dude, haven't found him yet but I really like the atmosphere this entry has.
    The whales made this just more interesting to explore. But not sure if I found anything that indicates a connected world or something.
    Anyways, I rated this pretty high :P

    RFMTeam says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:55pm

    found a few orcas, the a ship and then I died alone in the snow, I will try again

    arhpositive says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:05pm

    Went two different directions in two plays and found a bunch of stuff.

    It's a minor issue but as a player I found going as far as I can and dying to restart the game more practical than having to find your way back to the tent. So, the game can be exploited in this way.

    The atmosphere, the graphics and sound effects are simply amazing and among the best I've seen so far. Great job.

    dook says ...
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:30pm

    The graphics, sound and everything is simply top notch :) The controls were a little off, though. I often found myself trying to look behind me to see if I was heading the right direction, but I just ended up more confused. Perhaps I just didn't get far enough, but I didn't really get the connection with the theme either. But it's an awesome looking game.

    alvivar says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:53am

    Beautiful graphics.

    Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:27am

    I like the game in general, but throughout the game I had no idea what I was doing or where I had to go. Give us some objective so we can understand the story.
    The connection to the theme was missing. I'm not sure if it is only me, but you should work on that.
    However, the mood was exelent!

    dickpoelen says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:30am

    Amazing atmosphere! Love the simpel but various ways of finding your way

    recursor says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:46am

    Source code is required for 48h compo entries, and I don't see a link to it anywhere. That being said I think you did a great job on the graphics and mood here. There is no music, but none is needed. Just the sound of the wind adds to the feeling of isolation.

    DrCicero says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:43am

    Could you explain the theme or is that a spoiler - would i understand it, if i actually found my partner?

    Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:03pm

    Thanks and omg, your right. I forgot about the source. Will upload it asap... And the connection to the reveals itself if you're able to find your partner. It's a little bit X-Filesy.

    pLaw says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:17pm

    Really nice work. You improve with each game :)
    Nice idea, using the flags for orientation. Quite good mood and relaxig concept.

    simplesmiler says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:44pm

    You already know about the camera. Game pace is very slow, it definitely adds to the atmosphere but takes from the engagement.
    I love the mysterious vibe, and graphics, and sound. I feel like it may be a good tech demo for something astonishing.

    BeardoGames says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:30pm

    Wow. Strangely moving, and from the first moment beautiful in its starkness. You've nailed the atmosphere perfectly, it seems to me. I got lost, was surprisingly terrified at being lost, died, and then instantly went back for more. Awesome work!

    elliottd says ...
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:47pm

    Wow, fantastic. Great to see 3d, animated games. I love the player holding their hand up when walking into the sun. Also like the flags for an exploration mechanic. better camera control would be nice, also there is a bit of competition between picking up a flag and accidentally placing a second one, not a big deal though. Great work

    ExtreLime says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:02am

    Wow, it was pretty intense. I was dying in a snowy desert, completely alone! The game is really moody.
    Also there's something in this campfire and these red flags.
    Great! =)

    Simon says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:40am

    Really cool experience, great mood and great art. I found Fox very quickly though, maybe it spoiled the game a bit for me I wish I could explore a little longer :)

    2HitMatt says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:17pm

    I gotta keep at it, but I really dig this game.

    0x0961h says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:51pm

    Amazing visuals. I'm absolutely amazed by footsteps. Details level are oh so high. Great job. :)

    jsspiegel says ...
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:53pm

    Really love the aesthetics and style, and finding something was both satisfying or mysterious (although the things I found didn't help me find my partner :P )

    noffle says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:57am

    A really great atmospheric experience. The camera took a bit of getting used to. I *think* the controls are shown on startup, but on Linux at least the game stutters when it starts and they vanish too fast to see. I was able to find one landmark object, but eventually died after wandering in an arbitrary direction. Very well polished. :)

    nesis says ...
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:46am

    Really nice atmosphere to this game. Good job balancing between getting good sounds, animation, modelling, and colour palette use. Camera control was a little frustrating, but I got used to it... And anyway it fits the kind of struggle I suppose you're wanting the player to be immersed in. Good work!

    Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:42am

    I wasnt really sure what to do, but I really like the graphics. I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if youâd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/NXgeb3Jk3nI

    Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:07am

    Beautiful looking game and the experience of exploring was a peaceful one. Liked the way the audio and environment helped set the mood.

    Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:45pm

    Impressive work, incredible atmosphere.

    howkj1 says ...
    Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:49pm

    I played through a couple times trying to find my way. That being said... I'm now shivering and don't want to leave the house. Great job on engaging sound and visuals to give the player a sense of loneliness and cold. ;)

    YukonW says ...
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:42am

    This game nailed an atmospheric feel, If I wasn't busy, I would have sat in my room for hours looking for my partner. The graphics are pretty nice, and I like the sounds. The only thing I'm not a fan of is the camera, but still, good job! :D

    mrexcessive says ...
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:35pm

    Hi there. Great atmosphere/mood especially with those sounds and the cloth movement of various things. Died first time. Bookmarked and will come back and try again sometime. Good job!

    Lokarunith says ...
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:22pm

    This was the entry I spent more time laying, around 2 hours probably. The atmoshpere is so excellent that I really could feel the cold and the comfort of the fire. I found Fox but not many other relevant things, whales, some submarines, a place with a lot of sharp rocks and a giant wall. The ending is quite unexpected, which makes the game even more incredible.

    hadesfury says ...
    Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:52am

    Great game ... I wonder how I find Fox during the first playthrough but the mood is great

    stvr says ...
    Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:47pm

    moar plz. Would love to see a massive exploration game like this with different bases to explore, etc.

    ClownAround says ...
    Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:03am

    The graphics are great. love the idea. It all comes together to set the perfect atmosphere. Great game.

    Pierrec says ...
    Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:30am

    I played twice. Foud whales, iceshards and walls, but nothing that could warm me or help me find my partner. Sounds/Graphics/Mood was great but I really wish the game was a bit easier, Allowing us to set beacon for example. I might try it again later because I really frustrated! :)

    Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:19pm

    Still no source code? People should take this into account when voting?

    Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:02am

    Did you look on the games site? It's right there.

    hb3p8 says ...
    Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:59pm

    Nice entry. Great Job!

    Tesrym says ...
    Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:12am

    Interesting :)

    Sep 10, 2014 @ 4:01pm

    psssst... you are in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SDBSLwhAohI

    MaesK says ...
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:33pm

    Great atmosphere! Sounds and visuals are great, inmersion is excellent. Nice work, I did not expected a game like this with this theme.

    lotusgame says ...
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:44pm

    Fantastic atmosphere ! An incredible work for a 48h entry ! Needs to be continued (with more clues, interactions, speed...) ;)

    brookman says ...
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:55pm

    This feels like piece of art. Congratulations!

    sephyka says ...
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 5:36pm

    I wasn't able to find my lost partner. :'( I will retry later.
    This is an incredible game : gameplay, mood, idea are perfect.
    I'm captivated by the atmosphere.

    The rhythm is slow but it is very appropriate. The sound of wind is very immersive. This is a very good and innovating entry. Congratulations. 5 stars overall for me!!

    runvs says ...
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:14pm

    Well Executed!

    Moosefly says ...
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:30pm

    Gave it a couple of tries (maybe half an hour or so) but was unable to find my partner.

    It is really moody, but I think the realism makes it somewhat dull to play. Maybe the player could've had an emergency warming solution or something and a jog-button they could've used for a limited time. I didn't usually bother trying to go back to the tent, because that felt like a huge waste of time and made my potential area of exploration pretty small. Would've loved to see the ending, but I don't think I'll come back to it.

    Anssi@MooseflyGames

    apiotrw says ...
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:20pm

    Great atmosphere

    Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:59pm

    Powerful experience, if a little monotonous - but that might be the point? I walked for a long time in several directions, but never managed to find anything but killer whales and ice walls. But it was awesome nonetheless, at least in the beginning.
    Don't see the theme very much though..

    egor-idiot says ...
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:16am

    Very good mood. But I definitely didn't get what to do. Completely lost and hate dead orcas. Also I found a cave, but it was broken.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: using cached page]