Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 16 days, 0 hours, 42 minutes, 15 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 29

    Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

    Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Dweller - MiscEtc - Jam Entry

    *game instructions in description*
    My first Ludum Dare didn't go as planned, but I was able to turn one of my ideas into a working game, so, I suppose that's something the celebrate. Whoo!

    The game is really short and sparce on mechanics, but hopefully its fun... or, at least not terrible...

    The premise is that a group of archaeologists and explorers discover the subterranean caverns of an ancient tribe, guarded by an ancient earth demon. So what's the catch? You are that demon.
    However, your are bound to earth, and can only move within the ground and rocks.

    I'm too tired to put in a tutorial right now, so here are the instructions. They're pretty simple.

    1 The game is controled with the mouse
    2At the begining of each stage click somewhere in the ground to spawn
    3The earth spirit will follow your cursor
    4click on nearby rocks to enter them, click on nearby tiles to exit
    5Devour all the the Intruders!
    R- reset level
    M-mute sounds

    View MiscEtc's journal. | View all entries by MiscEtc

    Ratings

    Coolness51%
    #34Theme(Jam)3.93
    #54Mood(Jam)3.96
    #80Audio(Jam)3.81
    #89Innovation(Jam)3.71
    #166Fun(Jam)3.36
    #179Humor(Jam)3.11
    #202Overall(Jam)3.46
    #440Graphics(Jam)3.21

    Comments

    ceosol says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:37am

    Nice strategy game. Those poor archaeologists don't see the giant earth squid popping its head up :)

    LandoSystems says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14am

    Great mood, nice art and sounds. Clever puzzle mechanic, good take on the theme.

    NoorStudios says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14am

    Cool idea! Eating archeologists is fun

    atlantian says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14am

    Great mood with the audio

    kmakai says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:28am

    Interesting concept, definitely a cool interpretation of the theme. Good job!

    hyouko says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:29am

    Indiana Jones and his Indiana Clones are having a *really* bad day.

    bugninja says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:36am

    This is fun, unique, dark-yet-funny (scream). I like it a lot, good work.

    Frump says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:38am

    Really cool! I love the premise of being the earth demon and killing the intruders. Well made.

    mclewis says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:41am

    Interesting game mechanic. I really enjoyed hearing the poor explorers scream.

    Loneshark says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:42am

    Fun! I want to play more levels...

    IAmSpencer says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:26pm

    It can be a little hard to control, but that was a really creative idea and good take on the theme. Well done :)

    TheColorMan says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:13pm

    The music is good makes me feel like the predator

    CoderMusgrove says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 8:47pm

    Really fun, very scary. o_o

    mrbungle says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 10:43pm

    Cool idea and absolutely great sound music, really generates a foreboding atmosphere. Unfortunately I was able to fall off the edge of a level :-S

    zeal says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 10:54pm

    Cool game concept and the mood just grabs you by the hand. Thumbs up!

    May 1, 2014 @ 11:15pm

    Awesome mood! Who doesn't want to be an underground demon that moves stealthily through rock?

    The controls are a bit difficult. I often had to click a few times for the game to react, and the inertia can be somewhat annoying at times.

    But definitely one of my favourites in this LD.

    MunkeeBacon says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 3:31pm

    The atmosphere of the game was set very well by the music!

    GreatBigJerk says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 3:36pm

    Couldn't load, kept timing out :(

    MintArcade says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 4:36pm

    Cool idea. Eating some funny men which scream like girls when I eat them is funny :)

    You must sign in to comment.

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]