Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 15 hours, 44 minutes, 39 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 29

    Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

    Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Surface Invaders - Wave Propagation - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Shoot all surface invaders to get to the next round. If you hit, you will earn time. But if you miss, you will lose time. The more rounds you play without losing, the faster they will run. If your time runs out, you will lose.

    To walk, use your WASD-keys and mouse. To shoot, press your left mouse button. You need to press once per shot.

    You will require Java 7 or later to run it.

    Note: The game has sound, but keep it low and increase over time. It might be too loud. I couldn't control that, for some reason.

    View Wave Propagation's journal. | View all entries by Wave Propagation

    Ratings

    #531Fun3.05
    #665Audio2.56
    #748Mood2.78
    #859Graphics2.68
    #969Innovation2.50
    #1042Theme2.50
    #1048Overall2.65
    #1651Coolness42%

    Comments

    IcyLava says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:21pm

    I couldn't play it very well because it was lagging and the audio was choppy (but that's not your fault, this computer is like 10 years old). Anyway, it's pretty interesting, nice job :)

    SoupWithBits says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:06am

    At times the enemies would just disappear and then I would just lose when the time ran out? But first FPS I've played here! So awesome for trying something different!

    Dietrich Epp says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:11am

    Love the software 3D graphics. Can't seem to beat level 3.

    voidqk says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:12am

    I would recommend using sfxr instead for sound effects... fun start to a game, nice animation of the corpses coming up from the ground

    dsoft20 says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:16am

    Not bad, it is not simple to program an fps (even simple) in 48h without a tool like unity .
    The only problem I had is that the enemy disappears when you walk past them.

    GreatBigJerk says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 12:08pm

    I couldn't move the camera around on OSX. I could see the feet of zombies at times...

    Fritzendugan says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 1:35pm

    If you get behind the enemies it seems like they don't render, likely because you're doing ccw vertex culling or something. If the idea is you don't want people shooting the zombies from behind, then I feel like you should've just locked the player position to the wall and only given them left-right freedom of movement (but still let them look in any direction).

    The sound effects were cool, I like the pitch changes. not sure why some people are telling you to use sfxr, don't see how that's relevant at all. Some music would've been nice though. Particle effects were neat.

    Nice frantic little shoot 'em up. It was fun for a couple rounds, so not bad given what you had to work with. Good job

    Lafie says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 2:48pm

    The graphics are functional, and the blood effects are a nice touch, although the enemy sprites don't turn to the camera, so walking past them turns the enemies invisible.

    The enemies move very erratic, which makes it really difficult to shoot the last few enemies. Other than that, the round-based gameplay with the timer offers a clear objective and challenge.

    jellyfishlion says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 3:11pm

    Overall, it's a fun little game and I enjoyed playing it. As others have said, you can't see the enemies from behind, and once I got to round 4 they were going so fast I could hardly shoot half of them before they'd get past me (but that may have just been my terrible aim). I think you did a great job though! :)

    Waterman7 says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 9:50pm

    Love the colors and the guitar sounds playing when shooting a zombie. Gives it a strange surreal atmosphere.
    You might want to fix that you can only see the zombies from one side and they turn invisible as soon as you pass them...

    jtpup0 says ...
    May 8, 2014 @ 3:31am

    Enjoyable and different

    May 16, 2014 @ 3:07pm

    It looks pretty creepy :D

    You must sign in to comment.

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]