Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 12 days, 22 hours, 49 minutes, 31 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 29

    Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

    Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Mission "Tank" - Doubstract - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    It's my second LD, i hope you all will enjoy Mission"Tank".

    View Doubstract's journal. | View all entries by Doubstract

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #153Mood3.60
    #170Humor3.23
    #318Audio3.14
    #390Fun3.21
    #495Overall3.24
    #526Innovation3.10
    #551Graphics3.17
    #1118Theme2.31

    Comments

    Empyrealhell says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:06am

    That was bizarre and disturbing, and it had nothing to do with the zombies. Creepy music, strange art, and a man shooting bullets out of his neck whilst holding his own head in his hands. I have no idea what I just played, but it was kinda awesome.

    whalebot says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:10am

    Dat music tho... Seriously. the mood was with this one. Zombie sprites were great. I can't say I was a huge fan of the "fight scenes", but it worked. Not sure where I got my $2 from to revive myself ;) The shooting king zombies put me in a situation I couldn't get out of... And I guess my head is a shotgun... Pretty sweet dude. Good work.

    Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:13am

    Interesting close-combat mechanic, though the "PERFECT" after each one slows it down quite a bit. I got a kick out of the intro.

    Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:18am

    I like the fighting mechanic a lot, but sometimes all the skulls that you have to click were aligned in a diagonal, so it was rather easy to kill the zombie.

    If you move to the lower left corner of the level, you can see that the wall is not connected to the floor and you can see the background in the corner.

    rincewind_cz says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29am

    Awesome - fantastic art, sound and mood overall!

    erdos says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:15pm

    This is a very cool little game! The sounds effects when he's walking are hilarious, it sounds like his bones are creaking! I loved the animation when your player moves and the fight mechanic was interesting/original/fun! I kind of wanted something to happen when I in the tank though!

    ccglp says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:47pm

    Combat mechanic perfect, and It's so creepy

    mess110 says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:54pm

    surprised me several times. gg

    elfeck says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:56pm

    I really like the combat mechanic and how the zombies get killed.
    The audio is very well done!
    As others have mentioned the "Perfect" should be much faster. As is it makes the game feel a little slow

    JangoBrick says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:59pm

    I do like this game.
    The combat mechanic is interesting and innovative, and the music as well as graphics got you into a more or less scared mood.

    tchem says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:05pm

    Strange and unique. The art is awesome,,,, you create an amazing atmosphere. A little confuse but it´s perfect to me.

    Druid says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:07pm

    This game absolutely does not give any sense.... Great work!

    Slin says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:04pm

    It is fun, it looks great, feels polished and wow, I am just really amazed what you did in such a short time.

    kbm says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:13pm

    Really bizarre and unusual art-style. I like it! Good job!

    b222ster says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29pm

    This was hilarious!! Awesomesauce :D

    Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34pm

    haha.. i like it.. especially the mood/music

    Havacore says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36pm

    What the actual fuck? Uhh... great game, creepy as shit though, good work.

    jaxonf92 says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:09pm

    Loved it :)

    Techblogogy says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27pm

    I'm going WTF? now. That was an experience

    Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:39pm

    Really... odd. But really fun!

    I've seen in the comments people clicking the skulls - but I could just mouse over them. Not sure if that's a bug?

    Great intro, really fun!

    Doubstract says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50pm

    Thanks for feedback to everyone!
    And you dont need to click skulls, you just need to touch it with your mouse :)

    ioboi says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:53pm

    Awesome surreal style and fun gameplay.
    And I burned 150 calories while playing :'D

    terraco says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:39pm

    Great effort

    Aomeas says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:46am

    Well, that was kinda ... strange ...

    SirJson says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:09pm

    This game is so weird but sooo awesome!

    Jeremias says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:15pm

    Thank you for the 470 cal! Very disturbing in a funny way :D I think you accomplished what you wanted to accomplish...

    conormn says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:16pm

    Really great style here. Didn't think I'd be able to play a game with a headless neck gun in my lifetime, so thanks for that :)

    nonentheless says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:15pm

    Daaaaaaamn, neat!

    tomvert says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 8:36am

    Interesting combat mechanic.

    May 1, 2014 @ 12:16pm

    One of the weirdest entry but strangely really addictive!

    mortus says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 3:03pm

    Wow. That was... as experience indeed! Impossible to explain, the one you have to live through yourself. And a fascinating one too! That ending is rocket-boosting your humor rating.

    pansapiens says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 10:11am

    Love the crunchy organic graphics - quite unique & really sets the mood. Why do you need to fight zombies to claim your prize ? Why can you only shoot with your head detached ? The answers to these question do not matter, since it's a fun crazy romp :) I never quite figured out if you could die in the melee battles though. I recorded my playthrough mumbling away on Twitch if you are curious: http://www.twitch.tv/omgwtfgames/c/4177965

    You must sign in to comment.

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]