Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 31 days, 6 hours, 18 minutes, 22 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 66 days, 7 hours, 6 minutes, 22 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 29

    Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

    Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Jungle Noir - vinull - Jam Entry

    #TeamNeel is myself (Michael Neel), Rachel Neel, Hannah Neel, and Cicelie Neel.

    We took the theme "Beneath the Surface" as a reference to hidden or double meanings, which lead to the noir setting.

    Interact with the mouse and left mouse button.

    View vinull's journal. | View all entries by vinull

    Ratings

    #5Audio(Jam)4.42
    #8Humor(Jam)4.27
    #90Fun(Jam)3.56
    #118Mood(Jam)3.69
    #174Overall(Jam)3.52
    #356Innovation(Jam)3.04
    #373Theme(Jam)3.15
    #582Graphics(Jam)2.81
    #1746Coolness37%

    Comments

    dylanwolf says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03am

    The humor, voice acting, and credits screen are great. It's a novel interpretation of the theme.

    Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59am

    Really nice, very impressed. :)

    Korwegian says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48pm

    So. Many. Similes. O_O Not bad though.

    miwuc says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56pm

    That was awesome! Even if the gameplay is pretty limited, I loved the dialogues, music and voice acting. Good job team :)

    recursor says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:41pm

    This made me laugh. Great dialogue!

    javifugitivo says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 10:54pm

    So easy! Buts made me laugh! Nice voice acting!

    littleball says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 10:57pm

    I liked the story, made me smile :) Some feedback on what I picked up might be nice. Well done

    Marcellus says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 10:59pm

    that voice is hot, made me play it til the end

    mrbungle says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 10:59pm

    Ha, really cool writing and voice acting shot through with a nice line in humour - made me happy.

    King_Mew says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 11:03pm

    This was an interesting game! Although it didn't really feel that interactive, it was pretty good. I loved the dialogue, I laughed multiple times.

    mark.goetz says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 11:16pm

    Love the humor and soundtrack!

    May 3, 2014 @ 12:36am

    Well I think this is the best story I've come across in the jam well done. Also I also kinda liked the graphics.

    ViKing Games says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 12:41am

    Really funny, and the music fit perfectly. I would've liked more interactivity, though. Good job!

    May 3, 2014 @ 1:52am

    The voices in general were weak. Litterally weak. Be more confident, and put some power behind them. You can definitely do it.

    The overall game was fine. Simple, but enjoyable and humorous.

    Good work.

    Thorig says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 1:33pm

    Fun little game. Enjoyed it.

    dj_pale says ...
    May 5, 2014 @ 5:12pm

    Very nice storytelling - would have loved more puzzles. But looks like the start of some adventure-games ;)

    conormn says ...
    May 8, 2014 @ 3:13pm

    Loved the story, characters and that you went with a voice driven game. One of the only ones I've seen this jam. And great music and atmosphere too. Well done :)

    Teesquared says ...
    May 11, 2014 @ 6:49pm

    Nice story and music. The point and click until you win gameplay element is simple but lets the story unfold.

    You must sign in to comment.

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]