Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 23 hours, 1 minute, 30 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) ]


    Ludum Dare 29

    Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

    Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Beachcomber - Mase - Jam Entry

    Use your detector to find things under the sand.
    -------
    Controls: Arrow keys, Spacebar, & Mouse. Use the space bar to interact with objects or begin digging. Use the mouse to control hands.
    -------
    This game has three endings.
    -------
    masonlindroth.tumblr.com
    -------
    "Sea Waves" recording by Eelke Dekker. https://www.freesound.org/people/Eelke/sounds/144827/

    View Mase's journal. | View all entries by Mase

    Ratings

    Coolness75%
    #7Mood(Jam)4.44
    #15Theme(Jam)4.10
    #25Graphics(Jam)4.54
    #27Innovation(Jam)3.98
    #31Overall(Jam)4.02
    #99Audio(Jam)3.73
    #106Humor(Jam)3.45
    #122Fun(Jam)3.48

    Comments

    xensky says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:10am

    a very brief but intense experience. well done.

    Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:28am

    Wow, wow, wow. Wonderful.

    Are those treated photos of modelling clay?

    Helopol says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06pm

    Woah this is so lovely. The visuals, the atmosphere, everything..!
    <3

    pereubu says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:17pm

    gorgeous \(°0°)/

    DanielSnd says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:21pm

    Got the ending with the coins XD really nice art, loved the digging part

    kbm says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:23pm

    Absolutely wonderful, peaceful, interesting experience. Thank you so much for making this!

    Ragzouken says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:27pm

    lovely style as usual. loved digging the clay with my hand

    abrie says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:17pm

    A deeper game than a quick glance reveals.

    KayZ says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:26pm

    A very unique experience... I think I destroyed everything. But I don't know why^^.

    Pierrec says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:57pm

    At last! I can grab your graphics with my own hand! Feels so good. Thanks.

    samooJAM says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:50pm

    Your art style is incredibly awesome. I wish it was longer.

    tchem says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:16am

    My God,,, your artwork is so awesome,,,, i loved all in this little game....

    RARoadkill says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:59am

    Love the graphics, very interesting game.

    kevinAlbs says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:07am

    Breathtaking artwork and lovely theme. Bravo.

    pancakecity says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:09am

    I thoroughly enjoyed those endings

    mneubrand says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:09am

    Well done. Quirky in a good way, not what I originally expected.

    Fasox says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:13am

    Woderful art, i didnt expect such enfding

    Nizar89 says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:40pm

    Very nice and original graphics!
    It was a great experience.

    copain says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:30pm

    wow

    TeamEagle says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:10pm

    art is great

    Chaoseed says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:19pm

    I definitely like the clay graphics, it make for a kind of strange, yet cheerful sort of mood. The gameplay was all right. It was a pleasant surprise to get the raft and find out there was more to the game than is first apparent! Three endings, huh? There is definitely potential for a lot of stuff here...

    HybridMind says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 3:07am

    What a really unique looking game! I love the style! I don't think I've ever played anything quite like this before. Very cool. I found one ending. I want to see a whole adventure game in this style now. :D

    SonnyBone says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 8:26am

    I love the innovative look and artistic approach to game design. Very refreshing. :D

    tenpn says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 1:05pm

    really liked the aesthetic. minor quibble but would have liked cursor controls on WASD if you're going to force mouse sometimes.

    Mase says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 4:07pm

    @tenpn: I wanted to differentiate the walking and digging parts... and make the digging parts feel more visceral. I mean, there was some logic behind the control scheme. Though I would normally find inconsistent controls to be a pain... and I'd understand if anyone felt that way about this game.

    @everybody: Thanks y'all. <3

    conormn says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 5:44pm

    Incredibly well done. Tip of the hat to you :)

    May 1, 2014 @ 7:28pm

    lol, trippy. Well done bro

    moonmagic says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 6:09am

    I danced along with Beachcomber, together we danced, enjoying the activities we had undertaken and thinking about them all. Dancing together, holding each step in my hand next to the Coin that paid for it, dancing, falling in between Sand Plants and listening to the waves.

    lowcade says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 4:51pm

    Wow... Amazing!
    Really different... Good use of theme
    The final is fun!

    Lokarunith says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 11:42pm

    Really nice aesthetic, I love the atmospheere of your games.

    Draknek says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 10:35pm

    Well that was... err... something.

    DustyStylus says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 2:34pm

    Haha, I knew I was missing an LD favourite from my list. You didn't disappoint, sir! The jukebox made me jiggle my bits as well.

    hyouko says ...
    May 5, 2014 @ 12:20am

    The 1-bit visuals remind me of old Mac OS shareware games that I used to play over at a friend's house. Very well done!

    XenosNS says ...
    May 5, 2014 @ 1:23am

    Wow, beautiful

    BadgerPriest says ...
    May 6, 2014 @ 3:29am

    My god. Simply spectacular. Never stop doing what you're doing.

    lekochen says ...
    May 7, 2014 @ 12:59pm

    Wow this is beautiful.

    Pitoum says ...
    May 10, 2014 @ 6:35am

    As usual, art is just perfect.
    Thanks for that experience!

    glbs says ...
    May 12, 2014 @ 12:46am

    Amazing art and mood! Your game really stands out of a lot of what I've seen. Your simple yet profound visuals are really inspirationnal.

    May 12, 2014 @ 2:00am

    It's the most beautiful game of this Ludum dare. You created an atmosphere and a world, it is really great! REALLY.

    Marcellus says ...
    May 12, 2014 @ 5:33am

    An UFO in the mole-something / mine-blahblah galaxy of this ludumdare. Sounds made the atmosphere really deep and those graphics are truly an art. It doesn't feel like a videogame, more like an interractive piece of art you could find in a museum. Congratulations for this entry.

    Simon says ...
    May 12, 2014 @ 8:28am

    You had me dream and travel for a little while, thank you and great job!

    Anoarith says ...
    May 14, 2014 @ 5:19am

    I think I had the best ending. Ever.

    Striwx says ...
    May 14, 2014 @ 3:39pm

    Love the mood !

    May 18, 2014 @ 9:35am

    Thanks. I like this. I especially like the digging scenes. he contrast between the far view and the close view helped me feel like I was really on my knees, trying to look carefully into the ground. Though I think having each dig action being tied to 1 mouse click made those scenes go too fast. Maybe 1 dig per second or half second would be better.

    You must sign in to comment.

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]