Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 29 days, 16 hours, 34 minutes, 2 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 29

    Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

    Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Cave Runner - A multi monitor game - DazKins - Jam Entry

    Cave Runner is a single player co op game designed to run on two monitors (the game can still be played on one monitor however). Control one character in each screen, open doors, trigger levers for each other to get to the end of the level.

    RESTART BUTTON IS R (forgot to put this in the instructions menu)

    So after the first few tests, it seems that this game doesn't run all to well if one of your monitors doesn't have a 16:9 aspect ratio. If you plan to run the game on one monitor you should be able to play it fine. It's a real shame that it didn't port to well to other systems but I guess it was an ambitious idea anyway!

    View DazKins's journal. | View all entries by DazKins

    Ratings

    #117Innovation(Jam)3.62
    #337Fun(Jam)3.05
    #344Overall(Jam)3.26
    #444Theme(Jam)3.00
    #517Mood(Jam)2.81
    #578Graphics(Jam)2.82
    #1692Coolness40%

    Comments

    schnüt says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:23am

    I tried it, but it didn't run. I opened the jar, but all I got was a white screen where nothing happened.
    Damn. Sounded interesting, though.

    DazKins says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:07pm

    Sorry, this is fixed now

    Gravity Games says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:25pm

    It was a nice concept, but clearly needed more play testing. The character select was non-functional, and I was always the default player on both screens. On top of that, I fell into the hole under the moving platform and couldn't get out. The controls generally felt clunky and unresponsive, and control is very important in a platformer.

    DazKins says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:27pm

    Yes, this game was very rushed at the end so many bugs like the character selection did pop up and controls were horrible I admit. Thanks for the feedback!

    thx4nothing says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:28pm

    I like the idea of the two screens. If there would be some sound it would be better.

    DazKins says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:30pm

    There was sound, that bugged in the export unforunately :(. Thanks for the feedback!

    metjm says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:33pm

    Woah what a cool idea! And it works great. I would give you way more than 5 on innovation if i could.

    Cirrial says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:35pm

    Displays terribly on my different resolution monitors, well enough to be played up to a point where I then can't see because part of the window is below the display. Could really do with a restart button, seeing as there's a fair few unwinnable scenarios you can get into (right off the bat, falling into the pit with the moving platform on player 1's screen. I like the general idea of single-player co-op here, though.

    Also, it doesn't seem like the character select actually works?

    DazKins says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:38pm

    Yes again character selection was bugged, and there is a restart button it is R. My fault, I forgot to add this to the instructions menu, my bad. Thanks for the feedback!

    Stepperz says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:26pm

    Downloaded, it ran but i cannot see screen 2 at all. It appears on the task bar along with screen 1 but i can't view it :(

    DazKins says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28pm

    Damn, its a real shame that the 2 monitors didn't work out for everyone :(. It is optimised for 16:9 aspect ratios. I guess we should have done a bit more research before hand to test this. It is quite hard to debug all the display issues when there are only 2 PCs to test the game on! Thanks for the feedback!

    Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:41pm

    Haha this is cute :] I like the way you approached split-screen. I got stuck in the wall from the jump pad, and the moving platform slipped out from under me. But I appreciate the simplicity, you can go right in and instantly understand what's going on.

    Thorig says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:51pm

    The main menu was a bit unclear. The shadow was not really enough to show what was selected. Still a nice game.

    DazKins says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:53pm

    Ok, will note that down for next time. Thanks for the feedback!

    Jools64 says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:09pm

    This is a really cool idea but the implementation is a little sketchy. I managed to immediately get my self stuck in the ceiling at the start by engaging the jump pad while standing under the wall. I also found falling in holes to be a bit odd considering you do not die, you are able to just keep moving.

    Everything else was great though. The level design seemed quite clever and the graphics were nice. Good work!

    DazKins says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:13pm

    I'm glad you enjoyed the level design (I didn't!). There were MANY physics bugs that were unfortunately never fixed due to the ambition and complexity of the project being on 2 screens. Thanks for the feedback!

    Diamond Crow says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:25am

    Nice idea, feels like it works just as well in single player. Unfortunate with all the bugs.

    Idkfawin32 says ...
    May 5, 2014 @ 3:45pm

    This was excellent, god such a great idea

    fermenter says ...
    May 8, 2014 @ 7:44pm

    Loving that it's two player on two screens, and I love when you step on the little switch and catapult your friend up. Puzzles could be better, and I'm pretty sure, but not 100% because I couldn't remember if there were more controls, but I'm pretty sure I got stuck in a pit that I couldn't get out of.

    You must sign in to comment.

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]