Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 25 days, 16 hours, 42 minutes, 24 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 29

    Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

    Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Wormhunter - Thorig - Jam Entry

    Go hunt the great desert worm! Be warned, do not become the hunted.
    The worm is attracted to movement and sound, use your beacons to track and distract it and strike when it is vulnerable. Do not lose your head!

    Controls:
    Move: arrow keys / WASD
    Attack: C / M
    Throw beacon: X / N
    Dodge: dubble click one of the 4 directions

    You have 3 beacons in total. The worm will attack at the position of the beacons or the players position.


    Made by @SmallGaming (code) & @dickpoelen (graphics/music)

    Updated the builds. Fix the worm will not show up and beacons out of the playing field so the game always has a win - and losing condition.

    View Thorig's journal. | View all entries by Thorig

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #107Graphics(Jam)4.16
    #129Theme(Jam)3.66
    #175Mood(Jam)3.52
    #202Overall(Jam)3.46
    #225Audio(Jam)3.39
    #260Fun(Jam)3.19
    #283Innovation(Jam)3.21
    #389Humor(Jam)2.52

    Comments

    SunShiranui says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:31pm

    Web link downloads Windows version :(

    Phyyl says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:11pm

    Very short (I think i got to the end?) but well done, nice style and graphics!

    ehtd says ...
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:37pm

    Great graphics, I think it has a lot of potential

    nicotoni says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:40am

    Yeah great potential, good graphics, but the gameplay was too simple for me.

    MarsBar says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:58am

    Definitely great potential, good art and fun game play, I would love to see more of this!

    Thorig says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:43am

    Thank you all for the kind replies.
    @SunShiranui I added the webplayer version. It is not as good as the stand alone versions of the game.
    @nicotoni you are a born worn slayer! I know what you mean.

    nerdybirdy346 says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:55am

    Oh dear, it ate me in no time lol! That was a bit of fun!

    DesignerNap says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:58am

    Short but sweet :) fun little game here!

    gnerkus says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:05am

    I would really love to see more of this in the future. I couldn't find any fault with the game.

    orangepascal says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:34am

    Fun and interesting concept. I do feel the worm is a bit unfair in collision detection, I'm 100% sure I was safe! ;)

    TheGrieve says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:42am

    Enjoyed it, would love to see some progression, more abilites, hunting infamous worms, maybe some worm personality, doesn't surface unless X, safe ground to trick them etc etc. Lots of potential.

    SoupWithBits says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:34am

    Finally killed the bastard on the 3rd try! Really enjoyed it! And loved the art!

    anbreizh says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:15am

    Nice use of the theme. I had trouble using default keys (mouse buttons, default attacks didn't work) and remapping some didn't work as well (linux x86_64).

    A bit short though :(

    Team-KwaKwa says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:45am

    Beautiful pixel art, great music with the worm coming! And it makes me think about Dune!

    Thorig says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:00am

    Thank you for the kind reactions!

    @anbreizh Sorry, but the mouse buttons are not supported at all. It is a keyboard only game. Also I am not able to test play it on Linux.

    bombjack says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:29am

    I lovvvved the graphics!

    Moebius says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:40pm

    The artwork is great, but I got some flickering sprites in fullscreen (small black line appears under some of the enviroment sprites, depends on the camera position). Also sometimes the worm just wouldn't show up at all - sometimes it just ate me directly after the start ;) Still a very clever idea and (when the worm appears) a fun game!

    Thorig says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31pm

    @Moebius, I know about the black lines and I know what to do about them. Within Unity I did not have these ugly lines. The worm not showing up is new for me. There is always a worm.

    davidllanos22 says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:26pm

    Overall pretty good! I missed being able to dodge in diagonal. Music and art were amazing. Good job guys!

    InfectionTeam says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50pm

    Took a while to find the worm on the first try, lost one of my beacons, it could explain things better XD I only figure out because you helped me on the stream.

    EpiphanyG says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:08pm

    I love this game. The art and animation are beautiful and the control system feels very slick.

    I didn't manage to kill any but I did give one some war wounds to show off!

    I definitely play to return to it after I've rated a few other games. I really want to see what happens when I finally kill one!

    Great stuff. :)

    Thorig says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:15pm

    @EpiphanyG You can do it!!

    bazld says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:38pm

    Fantastic design and atmosphere. I'd like to see the idea expanded, with more things to collect and fight. Very impressive.

    xerohuang says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:21pm

    Nice art. :)

    TomBoogaart says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:01pm

    i really like how the sword always stays in the "right" right hand

    xdegtyarev says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:10pm

    Like that dune-ish mood!

    dickpoelen says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:16pm

    Thanks everyone!
    @TomBoogaart probably wasn't the smartest decision in a limited time jam to add 33% more animations, but I'd like to think it was worth it :)

    theengineers says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:21pm

    Short, but BEAUTIFUL.

    Thorig says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:29pm

    Thank you all for the kind comments. I will play, rate and give comments on your games tomorrow.

    jujule says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:06pm

    Yeah! I liked everything about this game, especially that my wife also liked it! This kind of experience is why I enjoy participating in Ludum Dare.

    stoo says ...
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:06pm

    The music, graphics and overall mood of the game are fantastic and really work well. But I spent ages running around unable to find a worm. Am I missing something? I also managed to throw a beacon off the edge of the map.

    Crazi456 says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:34am

    Very fun little game. Absolutely loved the visuals! Great work!

    Reinkout says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:10am

    I felt like a black Kevin Bacon in tremors! Thanks for the game!

    Crooksister says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:15am

    Loved the art style and animation. The general aesthetic was good. Game-play was lacking unfortunately.

    v_n_j says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:25am

    Windows version doesn't run at all for me :( Did you build it x86_64?

    Thorig says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:29am

    @v_n_j Yes, I did. Does that not work for you?

    Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:06am

    Impressive pixel art, animation and ambiance. That's the pixel art I like!
    A bit short though but worth the experience!!

    v_n_j says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:11am

    I'm still using WinXP :) Maybe you'll make a web version?

    Thorig says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:14am

    v_n_j, too bad. The web version is broken. I took it down, because it is not doing the hard work justice.

    ruerob says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:15am

    Great graphics and mood. Maybe this could get some sort of action adventure with a big story. There is potential. Thank you for that nice game.

    Diamond Crow says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:16am

    This game is great, simple concept that works well. Good style and graphics, audio works well to build suspense.

    wicht says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:16am

    Awesome graphics, cool minimalistic gameplay. Almost perfect entry. Thanks for that experience!

    raulincze says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:06pm

    Awesome graphics and sound which create an amazing mood altogether. Unfortunately I was playing for a while but couldn't find any worm (Or better said, not a single worm has found me). Also the beacons seem to me a little modern/sci-fi, maybe because of the fact that they are emitting light in such a "flashy" way. I find them a little bit immersion breaking.

    kyyrma says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:47pm

    Fantastic art style, I really liked the atmosphere. The only thing that felt inconsistent was the actual beacon. Why would a tribal looking fellow have what appear to be small radios or something? Maybe it could have been some sort of organic bait instead. But its a minor complaint!

    I did manage to get the worm AI stuck on my first playthrough. I couldn't reproduce the effect, but what I did is I tossed an beacon to which the worm become attracted, then tossed another upwards along exactly the same line as the previous one. The worm moved to the second beacon and just kept on burying itself and coming back up again.

    Despite these small nags, this was one of the strongest entries I've seen so far. Great work!

    Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:17pm

    Nice. Add some gimmick and it'll be a great game. :)

    ccglp says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:45pm

    My god, the graphics style is veeeeeery good

    wdebowicz says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:03pm

    Very good game! I like the art style and animations. Sometimes I find warm in 5 seconds, sometimes I can't find him in few minutes, some hints would be nice :-)

    BenTurbine says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:46pm

    My kind of game. Love the art and mood, I like how it's short and focused on a single experience.

    Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:23pm

    Awesome game ! I love it :D The music is in perfect harmony with the game and the beat changing when the worm is near, that's great ! I felt like a real fremen ;)

    Sparrow says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:43pm

    Wow awesome game, go sandworm go! Nice graphics, great atmosphere. My only problem is that worm sometimes doesn't go for me at all and end up running around the map for a couple of minutes. Also the sandstorm doesn't fill my whole screen at 1600x900 fullscreen.

    Detocroix says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:11pm

    Very pleasing and pretty. I got some Dune vibes which is always a good thing! :D

    nonentheless says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:34pm

    Graphic are amazing here, love it

    local minimum says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:53pm

    The sound and sprite animations as well as sand-winds were really nice.

    It was a bit hard to figure out exact tactics with the beacons and the worms. In that regard some very fast adjustments would be to have a rest option while playing if the beacons all failed. You could also simply add 3 beacons at the top-left corner and hide one for each thrown. It wasn't clear that they were limited or how many they were.

    Nor how many worms there are.

    I don't know if it was for me changing the preferred graphics settings, but there were some glitches between the tiles, showing black bars and to the left of the world there was a black area.

    I got lost running a while with little worm action so what if worms were a little hotter on the beacons and on you as well (especially when you still have beacons on you)?

    Interesting start for a game.

    (Also I would like to ride a worm...)

    FatJoe says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:22pm

    I really like the artwork, good job on it! Interesting and fun little game, brings back memories of Tremors and Dune!

    Great Job! :)

    reidrac says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:23pm

    Very nice graphics, congratulations. The gameplay feels like a boss battle, perhaps the game needs something else to complement the worm fight. Nevertheless a great entry to the jam, well done!

    dickpoelen says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:01pm

    Check out this video @smallGaming made with 3 worms: http://youtu.be/VitwQ6ePtB4

    gre says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:11pm

    Awesome graphics and animation. There is also a very good immersion with the music.

    Also the take on the theme is brillant, instead of most of games here, you actually took a reverse way of implementing that theme: the ennemy is beneath the surface, not your player. Very smart.

    However, I'm a bit blocked because I don't know how to make the monster come. I've used the beacon, without so much success. I was only able to make it come once, but is kill me instantly.

    So maybe the difficulty need some polish, otherwise very good job.

    terraco says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:06pm

    So simple. So pretty.

    Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:10pm

    Loved this simple game! I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/as-BlCZWXm0

    May 1, 2014 @ 1:28am

    Very fun. I love the animation and your very minimalist approach.

    May 1, 2014 @ 3:49am

    Absolutely loved the art and music here. Very well done. I killed the worm.

    SteveSalmond says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 5:29am

    Love the mood you've created here. Jealous of your pixel-pushing wizardry! :)

    petey123567 says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 7:31am

    Gorgeous!

    eldog says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 9:22am

    Excellent use of colour and a nice art style in general.

    Plus the sandstorm is a really nice touch that is done well.

    ioboi says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 10:39am

    I like the graphics and the animations are really smooth :)

    ricklesauceur says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 11:48am

    The concept is simple but awesome, need moar .

    May 1, 2014 @ 12:13pm

    Nice graphical style! It's pretty short and simple at the moment, but what's there works great! I think this has a lot of potential, could be really cool with some more work post-compo :)

    2HitAdam says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 3:07pm

    Really cool stuff, the pixel art was great and the music and atmosphere were really nice as well. The worm was pretty epic but I didn't feel like the hitboxes were that spot on though -- it seems like if you run down from the circle you'll always be same, if you run up you'll pretty much always die? Was pretty easy after I realised that. Still, loads of potential here, please expand it to a huge desert beast hunting game a la Shadow of the Colossus!

    TeamFlare says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 3:42pm

    Simple, but effective :) Great graphics!

    finefin says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 4:08pm

    the look and feel of this game is great! very beautyful pixel graphics! could work as a multiplayer game, too ;)

    TheGreenTie says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 4:08pm

    Nice idea! The gameplay was simple and straight to the point.
    I liked it. It's like a 1v1 boss fight :)

    alvarop says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 6:20pm

    Wow, I can't wait until this is made into a bigger game.

    ninjacharlie says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 6:29pm

    Nice graphics and controls, but the game was way to easy for me. It was really easy to predict where the worm was going to be and all I had to do was run away from the circle, then run forward and slice. I like the idea, and hope you make it a full fledged game :)

    solkar says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 8:26pm

    I like it. Sometime is hard to find the worm.

    Harsay says ...
    May 1, 2014 @ 9:05pm

    Nice game! I love the graphics, details (sand wind) and music (especially when changes when worm is going to appear). It took a little bit too long to catch the worm. I'm waiting for next version!

    Garris says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 4:26am

    Worm only showed up once in four plays, BUT killing the worm was a blast! I'd love to see a full release of this. Good job.

    Hypnohustla says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 8:36am

    Beautiful little game! The choices on the limited color palette were really good. The worm was a bit easy to spot, fortunately the sandstorm fixed that issue for a moment. :) Nicely designed game!

    01101101 says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 9:30am

    One of my favorites so far: the idea is original and pretty well done, although I had the impression that beacons don't really do anything. If they do, maybe some feedback is missing. Other than that, I love the art. The mood is perfectly set by the music and sounds. Nice job!

    May 2, 2014 @ 9:35am

    Very beautiful visuals and a super strong mood. I had to restart a couple of times before a worm even showed up, and when it did it pretty much came out at the same spot all the time and I killed it really easily. So gameplay wise I'm not really convinced, but visuals, animation and audio is really high quality.

    Nezzhil says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 9:43am

    Like a fan of the original Tremors film, I think that your game has a cool concept and great graphics (and animations too), but I think that the gameplay suffers for be too simple. If you add some obstacles for the player (big rocks, cactus, holes, etc...) and some obstacles for the worm (hard ground, holes) this game could be awesome.

    Good job!

    BasselGaming says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 10:10am

    Pretty cool game, smooth game-play, nice graphics, and cool music.

    Suyo says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 1:27pm

    I love the graphics! For the gameplay, I always had two outcomes - either I was surprised by the worm finally appearing after 3 minutes of running around and instantly dieing, or I dodged to first attack and then it became very simple to take him down. I'd have loved to see more strategy in the fight, like the worm trying to fake you out or retreating and surprising you when low on health.

    jhrrsn says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 2:01pm

    This is awesome! Very pretty and mechanically solid game. Sometimes it felt a little unfair, but that's life in the desert sands I suppose.

    Caridorc says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 3:23pm

    Full review of Wormhunter https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rbwp3Lcbk-Q&feature=youtu.be

    Bekokstover says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 4:55pm

    What a great looking and playing game, awesome! The animations are great, and the touches like the sand storm coming in. It's not very hard to kill the worm, but it's a great game!

    Artless says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 6:11pm

    This game is perfect! I don't know how you could expand it upon what it is. I feel like I could only like it less if it were longer.

    gabbsson says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 6:20pm

    Really solid!

    conormn says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 6:26pm

    Incredibly well done game. Loved it!

    garygreen says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 7:22pm

    Nice graphics and music and very atmospheric too.

    MrShoestore says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 11:30pm

    Short and sweet. Nice graphics and sound. Really enjoyed it!

    dector says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 2:57am

    Very nice art style. Nice idea and created mood.

    jacklehamster says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 4:53am

    The web version is glitchy for me. The game doesn't start, just keep refreshing. I'm on a mac

    MidCry says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 5:02am

    Worm came out late and in a non logical manner but it's fun and worth playing ... nice work in graphics ...

    IAmSpencer says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 6:14am

    Very fun game, wished the worm would show up a little more but really that's my only critique. I love the pixel art, the worm looks sweet, and the animations for everything are awesome, clean and very well done. Overall very good job! :)

    jacklehamster says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 6:20am

    I ended up downloading the windows version. I like the atmosphere, reminiscent of Dune. I expected the worm to be a bit more of a challenge though. It wasn't very smart and simple to beat.

    tomvert says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 6:23am

    Is this a windows x64 game ? I can't run it :(

    spotco says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 9:32am

    Nice concept, though really short (even for a jam game)!

    Catman says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 11:57am

    Well done and polished, nice graphics, animations and music!

    SecularBaron says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 1:07pm

    Super fun. Awesome looking art.

    Pete_H says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 1:40pm

    Great game, very Dune! Loved the art, took me a few seconds to figure out the buttons (my fault for not reading!)

    Wertle says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 3:57pm

    It might be helpful to add a little more feedback on the beacons to convey what they are doing (do they have range, etc). Occasionally I thought I was out of range of the worm because I wasn't on his shadow, but he still chomped me. Nice job making it feel very desolate with the small characters on screen and big open space (sandstorms are a nice touch)

    HybridMind says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 4:32pm

    Really dig this! I'd love to see this expanded for sure. Different worm types, attacks, equipment. Having to handle more than one worm. It's a good prototype/mechanic test at this point. The graphics and mood are really solid too.

    mortus says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 6:07pm

    I like the graphics style. Worm animation is just great. I too felt that collision detection might be a little off, but overall it feels nice.

    Raiyumi says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 6:59pm

    That was very short. I'd love to see an expanded version of this.

    May 3, 2014 @ 7:37pm

    Excellent visual design and audio. It could have been a little more challenging though.

    Make A Game says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 10:26pm

    Yeah! I control the spice now!

    praporomsk says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 11:20pm

    Dune ^_^
    All good, but it is VERY short... I wish this game had more levels.

    DrPrettyPatty says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 2:06am

    Cool! I liked the attention to detail, like the sand blowing and exploding when the worm popped up. Also, the whole feel of the game was great. A bit short, but it was satisfying when I beat the worm :)

    May 4, 2014 @ 5:01am

    Nice little game with lots of style. Really liked the visuals and the characters design.

    kristof says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 7:49am

    Beautiful animations! Great music and sounds. The gameplay didn't have much to it though.

    JaJ says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 12:43pm

    Great mood with the large empty space and the single enemy. Nice art and sound too!

    Ditto says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 3:12pm

    The atmosphere was very intense while looking for the worm! Love the empty desert with sandstorms and stuff, of course the very pretty pixels helps with the mood! Gameplay was a bit simple, the controls where tight and felt really good, so kudos!
    also, heheh, that worm kinda looks like a penis^^

    TomboFry says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 4:22pm

    A little bit short, but I really liked the graphics and the simple, yet effective use of audio.

    flavio says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 5:57pm

    Really amazing art work. You need to develop this game ! There should be more worms, more landscapes, more levels ! Beautiful work, lot of potential.

    PaperBlurt says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 6:09pm

    DUNE and Beetlejuice saw this coming!
    Nice pixel work!

    May 4, 2014 @ 8:31pm

    Awesome graphics and animation. Love the game overall

    hbocao says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 9:21pm

    Awesome art and animation. Very well presented too. Nice job!

    Cake&Code says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 9:35pm

    It was fun to hunt the worm but it was too simplistic AI and was very easy to beat. Do the sandstorms do anything? I alway just continued to fight as usual and it just went away when I killed the worm.

    The graphics and controls were spot on though, very nice job :)

    hyouko says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 11:21pm

    Neat proof-of-concept, and I love the way the character animates / controls. Once I figured out how to lay the beacons, though, the worm virtually never went for me. Maybe a setup with obstacles or other hazards would be good? The sandstorm/wind is a good first step.

    XenosNS says ...
    May 5, 2014 @ 1:07am

    Love the art and game play. Game a tad buggy. Good job.

    May 5, 2014 @ 2:38am

    Cool looking game. I was bad at it though.

    ChuiGum says ...
    May 5, 2014 @ 3:52am

    Love the art style! Very fun too

    cr2crstudios says ...
    May 5, 2014 @ 4:59am

    Art is good.

    AlbertoSM says ...
    May 5, 2014 @ 2:18pm

    Interesting and simple idea. Music is repetitive though.

    soy_yuma says ...
    May 5, 2014 @ 4:42pm

    Nice aesthetics and mood. I would've like it to be longer!

    lightsoda says ...
    May 5, 2014 @ 4:47pm

    Loved the design, the music fit really well with the whole theme. I especially enjoyed the player character and his animation, felt really nice to just run around.

    Logun says ...
    May 5, 2014 @ 9:00pm

    Nice and clean ! Sadly a bit short.

    atomic_swerve says ...
    May 6, 2014 @ 12:59am

    I liked it! Very foreboding, but after the initial scare quite easy even without the flares. Good animations.

    Kara Jayde says ...
    May 6, 2014 @ 4:50am

    The art style in this is fantastic. I love it so much. The controls are smooth and well designed. Game has a clear objective, but mechanically it could use more strategy. You don't really need the beacons at all, as the worm always gets into a position in which you can kill it. Minor graphical issues in full screen with the sand/static overlay (didn't full screen). Loved how you made the map endless.

    Cambrian_Man says ...
    May 6, 2014 @ 5:24am

    Lovely graphics. Nice spin on the sandworm idea.

    rojo says ...
    May 6, 2014 @ 5:43am

    Really nice looking game. Seems short, but the gameplay that is there is solid. Would definitely be interested in seeing a bigger version of this.

    cageinabird says ...
    May 6, 2014 @ 9:53am

    I love the design of the character and the small details you added, like when you get eaten. The controls are tight too.

    My only criticism is that it was a bit on the easy side, even without using the beacons.

    It has a lot of potential for expansion though - you could give the worm more attacks, add different monsters, more player abilities, etc. if you wanted. Heck, I could even see it working with multiplayer where you have to use teamwork to bring it down.

    FuzzyWuzzie says ...
    May 6, 2014 @ 3:23pm

    Great art, just wish there was a bit more to it. I can certainly see this being developed much further!

    poxpoxpox says ...
    May 6, 2014 @ 7:03pm

    Wow!

    recursor says ...
    May 7, 2014 @ 12:09am

    Except for the music this reminds me of Dune. Nice job.

    mustaine says ...
    May 7, 2014 @ 5:28am

    Fun fun! The beeping sound is ear piercing though. Turn that down!

    shadow64 says ...
    May 7, 2014 @ 5:46am

    I thought it was fun, but as others have noted, a little too easy and a little too short. I'm excited to see if you expand it though. I agree with everyone who says there's a lot of potential here.

    I like the use of theme and I think the graphics worked out well for you. I also like the music. The sound effects need some work, they're pretty basic and both sort of hurt my ears.

    Overall a fun game and a promising idea. Nicely done! :)

    Thanks for sharing, and thank you for commenting/rating my game!

    jsmars says ...
    May 7, 2014 @ 8:26am

    Great style and graphics! Lovely game!

    matt_j says ...
    May 8, 2014 @ 12:45am

    Great art, simple to play. Has potential!

    sP0CkEr2 says ...
    May 8, 2014 @ 2:59am

    nice job - get repetitive - maybe more worms as you progress

    JavadocMD says ...
    May 8, 2014 @ 5:02am

    This is a fantastic entry. Lot of potential here for more, and its brevity is the only part I dislike. The art is beautiful, and the sandstorms are a great touch. Really cool!

    romandtom says ...
    May 8, 2014 @ 6:02am

    Liked the idea, original :0
    Killed that worm in the first game :)

    mollymus says ...
    May 8, 2014 @ 7:37am

    Does th egame end after killing the first worm? I ran around for a while but couldnt find another:(

    It seemed quite easy, I wouldve liked an increasing difficulty with harder, bigger and badder worms spawning for a while!

    NightShadow0 says ...
    May 8, 2014 @ 4:21pm

    Got one on my second try pretty easily by throwing the beacons around me in a triangle. Fun game, if a bit too short, would love to see more content. Props for the Dune theme.

    dcolgan says ...
    May 8, 2014 @ 9:21pm

    Pretty cool little game here. Graphics are excellent, and very atmospheric. The controls are solid and the engine seems like it could be taken further. Nicely done!

    Gwinnell says ...
    May 8, 2014 @ 10:20pm

    YEAH. Killed that worm... TWICE! Took me about 4 tries of restarting the same to get the worm near me though - couldn't seem to tempt the bugger with my beacons!

    fallingBear says ...
    May 9, 2014 @ 12:07am

    Although it is quite short and simple, This game has great atmosphere and beautiful graphics.

    robcozzens says ...
    May 9, 2014 @ 1:57am

    Really cool!

    ghostmaple says ...
    May 9, 2014 @ 3:48am

    I appreciate the clean pixel art and the straightforward presentation. (It seemed my worm went vegetarian for a while and ran away, but I got him finally.)

    Penguincat says ...
    May 9, 2014 @ 6:04am

    Pretty cool, love the art! Gameplay is a bit simplistic though, I didn't really feel like the worm was a serious threat.

    mrbungle says ...
    May 9, 2014 @ 2:00pm

    I am in love with these graphics, could definitely see this game going somewhere. Awesome effort.

    alvivar says ...
    May 9, 2014 @ 7:58pm

    Sexy graphics (the killing, yeah!), nice mood. I like the concept. It has potential.

    I recommend:

    + More worms! :D One after another, every time harder.
    + Consider using the mouse as source for the attack/roll.

    BadPaul34 says ...
    May 10, 2014 @ 11:42am

    Excellent pixel art game! Simple, fun and good implementations. A little more complexity and a story would have been great :)

    AlexFili says ...
    May 10, 2014 @ 6:40pm

    Very fun. It reminds me of tremors. Remember players: If you walk without rhythm you won't attract the worm!

    JoshOS says ...
    May 10, 2014 @ 7:22pm

    Very fun game! I liked a lot the graphics specially those smooth animations. The music and sounds are cool too. Would have been nice more types of worms.

    woodenrabbit says ...
    May 11, 2014 @ 12:28am

    The art was great and I enjoyed the way the player moves and attacks. I totally dug the aesthetics and setting of the game.

    Good job mate!

    littleball says ...
    May 11, 2014 @ 4:48pm

    Great little game. I love the graphics

    FrameMatt says ...
    May 12, 2014 @ 4:22am

    I love it, awesome graphics and animations. Plus, so fun~

    madflame991 says ...
    May 13, 2014 @ 8:29am

    The art style is nice and polished and the animations are very good. The sandstorm adds to the mood of the game. The only downside is that your game is too short and it's fairly easy to kill the creature. More levels and increasing difficulty would definitely help.

    DaanVanYperen says ...
    May 13, 2014 @ 8:43pm

    Very nice art style!

    misterwalter says ...
    May 14, 2014 @ 2:12am

    Short and sweet for sure. Wonderful pixels. The worm was far too easy though.

    aelita1992 says ...
    May 14, 2014 @ 7:46am

    Dune inspired :D But I like the idea, I hope you'll develop it :)

    IL_yoshioka says ...
    May 14, 2014 @ 8:52am

    Cool! I enjoyed:)

    Simon says ...
    May 14, 2014 @ 12:38pm

    Love the graphics. Too bad there's nothing beside killing the worm!

    ohsqueezy says ...
    May 14, 2014 @ 3:23pm

    Awesome animations!! The worm looks so flaccid and exhausted when it collapses

    May 14, 2014 @ 4:06pm

    You have been featured in todays episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=co5k5Gvj8rI

    Pitoum says ...
    May 15, 2014 @ 9:16am

    Great graphism and nice concept proof!
    Artworks and animations are five stars <3

    badlydrawnrod says ...
    May 15, 2014 @ 8:09pm

    Clever idea. I liked the fact that the player could roll, and the sand storms were good too.

    May 16, 2014 @ 2:54pm

    Uhm, not sure but I think I finished it first try.. Seeing there was only one worm? And then it just restarts? Really short, which is quite a bummer seeing the art is really cool and the game has a lot of potential! Keep up the good work though!

    oxysoft says ...
    May 17, 2014 @ 1:42am

    Very cool game, it's a shame there isn't more gameplay to it. The graphics are awesome and the ambiance is just as good.

    May 17, 2014 @ 9:27am

    Got it! Nice graphics and music! The only thing I think needs tweaking is the area around the worm where it eats you when it shows up. Sometimes it ate me when I was clearly not there. Other than that, good game!

    May 17, 2014 @ 9:45am

    Really like the design of the character. The controls were a bit weird, but it didn't impact the experience too much.

    Elforama says ...
    May 17, 2014 @ 7:16pm

    The music and graphics are great. I enjoyed this.

    wademcgillis says ...
    May 17, 2014 @ 7:58pm

    It's a difficult game, I died several times until the worm got stuck traveling vertically with the thumpers.

    CMaster says ...
    May 17, 2014 @ 8:34pm

    I have defeated Shai-hulud and taken the tooth of the maker!

    Jeremias says ...
    May 17, 2014 @ 9:15pm

    The atmosphere given the music and the visual style are great. I'm not sure if the beacon mechanic works out like you wanted it (if I play, I just can run around and kill the worm).

    eskivor says ...
    May 18, 2014 @ 11:15pm

    Pretty animations. Nice job !

    pixelpun says ...
    May 19, 2014 @ 1:55am

    Cool game, was over a bit too quick though... you should flesh this out more cause you have something neat here.

    TheSheep says ...
    May 19, 2014 @ 3:12pm

    Please don't mark Unity 3D games as "Web" -- it's not a web game, and the Unity Web Player is not available on all platforms.

    Sheepolution says ...
    May 19, 2014 @ 7:49pm

    I like the graphics and audio, the gameplay on the other hand, needs some work. I place my 3 beacons close to each other, wait for the sand worm to attack, and beat his ass. Beating the game didn't take very long nor was it very challenging. The problem is that the worms feels like a simple enemy while it should feel like a final boss.

    wilbefast says ...
    May 19, 2014 @ 8:39pm

    My favourite game so far this LD: the mood and feel is just great, you really few threatened :D The art is also just fabulous. Great job guys, really great ^^

    Gaeel says ...
    May 19, 2014 @ 9:13pm

    Yea n.n

    Mase says ...
    May 19, 2014 @ 10:08pm

    Nice sprites. I found the gameplay fairly intuitive and enjoyable. The game looks pretty polished but it's short so a few more details would be nice, such as more visual feedback for hits on the worm.

    ErikU says ...
    May 20, 2014 @ 12:25am

    Very nice visuals that set a great tone. Simple but fun.

    You must sign in to comment.

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]