Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 18 days, 21 hours, 55 minutes, 13 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 29

    Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

    Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Shadows Below - HeroesGrave - Jam Entry

    Controls:

    Arrow Keys to move, interact, and attack.
    Comma to wait.
    Escape to close messages.
    ==========
    Windows and Mac builds coming as soon as I figure out how to cross-compile.
    ==========
    The game begins and ends at your home. Remember that.
    Talk to all the npcs you can.

    Have fun.
    ==========

    View HeroesGrave's journal. | View all entries by HeroesGrave

    Ratings

    #150Overall(Jam)3.56
    #175Mood(Jam)3.52
    #210Fun(Jam)3.27
    #320Humor(Jam)2.70
    #321Graphics(Jam)3.52
    #351Theme(Jam)3.20
    #356Innovation(Jam)3.04
    #1314Coolness49%

    Comments

    Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:32am

    times like these, i wish i had a linux box... your style looks cool though.

    Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:55pm

    I do have a linux box, and tots want to play.

    ./Shadows Below: error while loading shared libraries: libfreeimage.so.3: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

    Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:58pm

    Also, after installing libfreeimage-dev:

    ./Shadows Below: error while loading shared libraries: libglfw.so.3: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

    SK16Games says ...
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:38pm

    Don't have Linux D': it just looks so cool, I want to play it :D

    HeroesGrave says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 6:02am

    arrogant.gamer: Try installing GLFW3

    pyrogames says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 11:38pm

    I like this game. Good story, nice dialogue, cool graphics. When I first saw it I thought that it was zoomed too much, but it turned out to be okay. It's a bit annoying how fast the screen scrolls when he moves and how I can't keyboard repeat the arrow keys, but all in all a really good game

    Dreii says ...
    May 2, 2014 @ 11:40pm

    Looks really pretty, wish there was a windows version :(

    pvwradtke says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 12:04am

    Nice action RPG, the control scheme reminds me of the original Y's game. Had some trouble to install all required libs, but once that was fine, I could run with no problem. I'm used to cross compile my games to Windows, but that's with C/C++. What did you use to make yours? Maybe i can lend a hand.

    HeroesGrave says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 12:47am

    pvwradtke: I'm using Rust (rust-lang.org), which due to being in-development, is quite tricky to get working.

    I've tried both cross compiling from Linux with Mingw-gcc (which failed because Rust itself doesn't cross-compile correctly between some platforms yet), and building on Windows with MSYS, which failed because it doesn't pick up some libraries.

    Next up I'm going to try building an SDL backend to the library I used and hopefully that'll work.

    mjau says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 1:03am

    You should include libfreeimage.so.3 and libglfw.so.3 in the download to make it easier for people to play your game =P (and maybe some of the things they depend on, too, if it's anything nonstandard. objdump -x file | grep NEEDED to check deps. don't include system stuff like glibc)

    You can get the runtime linker to look for libraries in the executable's location by setting the executable's rpath to $ORIGIN when linking it*. Or if you can't set an rpath, provide a wrapper script that people run instead of the executable that sets LD_LIBRARY_PATH**

    It's better that you fix that once for everyone than everyone having to hunt down dependencies before they can play your game

    (I didn't try your game yet because Ubuntu doesn't have glfw3 in the default repos and i didn't feel like downloading and compiling that from source right now. Might try again later.)

    * with gcc, you do that by passing -Wl,-rpath,$ORIGIN when linking, but you'll have to escape "$ORIGIN" from the shell and maybe your build system too depending on what you use. you can check if you got it right with ldd. in a makefile, you'd write -Wl,-rpath,'$$ORIGIN'

    ** here (if the executable's called "Shadows Below.bin"):
    #!/bin/sh
    cd "$(dirname "$(readlink -e "$0")")"
    env LD_LIBRARY_PATH=".:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH" "./Shadows Below.bin" "$@"

    João Kucera says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 1:58am

    Plase, build to win or mac

    HeroesGrave says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 3:31am

    mjau: That's strange. freeimage and glfw aren't that uncommon libraries.

    I'll look into it once I get the Windows build working.

    HeroesGrave says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 5:23am

    Okay, updated the GLFW build to include GLFW and freeimage, and uploaded a SDL version that can hopefully be ported to windows.

    Unfortunately, I can't access my windows box right now so the wait will be a bit longer.

    byExclusive says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 5:47am

    good

    zorfmorf says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 10:14am

    Ran the gflw version without a problem. Cool game! Played through until the end. Works very well and it's good to see a ludum dare entry with a little bit more content that still seems finished.

    Fritzendugan says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 1:23pm

    Looked at the source to try and compile on windows, but it looks very incomplete. Where's all your hgutils stuff? Would be nice also if you included the libraries needed and such

    x1212 says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 8:00pm

    hmm ... tried both SDL and GLFW version ... but sadly the distro I'm using seems not to provide the necessary libs (SDL but no SDL2 and GLFW2 but not GLFW3) ... this looks really interesting, too bad I can't get my Linux to run it :(

    x1212 says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 8:11pm

    ok, renaming the libglfw.so provided into libglfw.so.3 did the trick.
    nice game (as far as I played), especially a very consistent graphicsstyle

    Dreii says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 9:23pm

    :( program cant start because libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll is missing.

    we just cant play each others games can we? lol

    v3games says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 9:55pm

    I want to play your game but I'm missing the DLL mentioned above. I'll check back in a few days. Looks cool from screenshot.

    HeroesGrave says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 10:08pm

    Damn. I didn't know it was going to require that.

    I'll package it in as soon as I can.

    Konrad Zegis says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 10:37pm

    Woah, real roguelike in 72h, that's something!

    Writings on tombstones were funny :)

    But I found quite annoying those log messages. I have feeling like they hid something useful from me. Cleaning option, or making them fade away after some time would be great.

    Dietrich Epp says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 10:52pm

    "The program can't start because libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll is missing from your computer..." I had the same kind of problems when porting my Linux game to Windows :-)

    Cosine says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 11:00pm

    Same DLL error. Sorry!

    someone says ...
    May 3, 2014 @ 11:27pm

    That was great.
    Interesting disparity between the stepped movement and smooth camera.
    Pressing escape to close dialog was an odd choice. Closing it when you move would make more sense.
    The SDL version looks for libfreeimage.so.3 and your included lib is libfreeimage.so, renaming it works.

    HeroesGrave says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 12:08am

    Okay, I've fixed up the windows build (or at least I hope I have)

    Dreii says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 2:08am

    Nice little game! finally got to play it lol, Liked the old school style and the sword mechanic was sweet :)

    btw my games web link is up...again! I promise this time lol

    SK16Games says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 2:20pm

    Thanks for letting me know about that it was for windows now, but I can't get it to work, it just opens up very quick a command prompt window and closes again, and nothing happens :(

    HybridMind says ...
    May 4, 2014 @ 3:45pm

    I really enjoyed playing this through to the end. The NPCs helping out during battles were a nice touch. I also found the health/energy balancing mechanic interesting. Nice work!

    Fritzendugan says ...
    May 5, 2014 @ 5:57am

    Debating about the genre of a game is kind of asinine, but to those calling this a roguelike I couldn't resist but say it hardly qualifies as one. The term is over-used anyway.

    But anyway! Onto the game itself. Moving around feels very tedious, especially to start over again, partly because the content is all the same (so I'm not exploring anything new), but mostly because I don't know why there's that delay when I try to move. Basically, as soon as I tap the key I should move instantly, and if I hit it again I should move as soon as I hit it. If I hold in a move key, then you can introduce a small delay, but it should be smaller than it is.

    Lots of areas to explore and a fair amount of text to read, which is fun. I like exploring and reading all the little messages and such. Combat however was severely lacking. There are basically no choices to make, I'm kind of just sitting watching a random number generator. The hp or damage mechanic is hardly interesting, because I basically just hold onto energy until my HP is low, and rinse-repeat, but it's a start. Even something as simple as choosing what equipment to wear at least gives me the opportunity to game the stats. Or if I could spend the power on different types of damage and different kinds of defenses (dodge-rate, armor, attack accuracy, minimum damage, maximum damage, crit chance, etc.)

    Graphics were cool, reminded me of "Realm of the Mad God." Has that pseudo-retro feel. Really wish there were some music or sounds though. Not really seeing how the theme fits here? I guess because at some points you go underground, but it's not the strongest entry in terms of theme.

    Parting words I'll just say that in order for this to really be fun there's definitely something missing, you need more interesting character development at the least. As it stands, it's pretty impressive in terms of content for 72-hours but the mechanics are simply lacking. Something to think about for next LD, I suppose.


    Oh, and btw, if you're gonna plug your game on my page, the least you could do is give me a little more meaningful feedback than "interesting and fun mechanic." What that said to me was "yeah, I kinda played your game for a bit, but really I just want you to come back and play mine." Doesn't exactly give me a whole lot to work with in terms of trying to improve, ya know? ;) Anyway, thanks for playing

    May 9, 2014 @ 6:06pm

    I loved the graphics and all the text and stuff. the controls were unique but a little bit weird and a little too simplistic maybe.

    main thing i didn't like was dying and having to start over from the beginning. :P :D

    Cosine says ...
    May 9, 2014 @ 7:54pm

    Really really fun adventure game! Loved the in-depth storyline. Liked the turn-based D&D-like warfare. When I died after coming all the way down the tunnel, hunting all the skeletons (which I found gave me less energy than they lost me health) and faced the king skeleton guy, and then died, I was extraordinarily frustrated to find that you did not checkpoint when you switched levels.

    HeroesGrave says ...
    May 9, 2014 @ 10:28pm

    I thought I had it balanced so that the skeletons would make you more powerful than losing you health, but it seems I was wrong.

    Now that I think about it, checkpoints would've been a good idea, regardless.

    I did realise the gameplay was very simplistic. I just didn't have enough time to make it more complex.

    Jiddo says ...
    May 18, 2014 @ 4:41pm

    Of course. The first time I've bothered booting into Windows to rate LD entries I come across one of these very rare proper Linux entries. Oh well, the Windows build works great. :)

    Graphics looks really nice and I'm very happy to see a game that feels as complete as this one. Much respect for that!

    Gameplay wise the game is very nice, but I also ran out of health/energy once I had cleared out all the regular skeletons and started to attack the skeleton king. Perhaps I let myself be attacked by multiple enemies at once too much?

    Anyways, great job!

    You must sign in to comment.

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]