Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 7 days, 9 hours, 18 minutes, 38 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 7 days, 9 hours, 18 minutes, 39 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 28

    December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Weird Egg & Crushing Finger - Mase - Jam Entry

    Control with mouse. Press to crush things. Hold mouse down to push things.

    Collect souls (the round glowing things) by pushing the sorcerers (identifiable by their blue robes) into them.
    When you collect 13 souls the humanoids will do a dance. (This is the de-facto victory condition)
    I had intended for this to be repeatable but there were, like, bugs.

    Try not to let the ostensibly evil skulls overrun the island.

    Press R to reset (Not fully implemented; some, uh, variables might not reset. Sort of cool looking though!)

    Press D to show collision boxes (just for fun/knowledge).

    Mason Lindroth 2013

    View Mase's journal. | View all entries by Mase

    Ratings

    Coolness56%
    #29Mood(Jam)3.88
    #39Graphics(Jam)4.34
    #74Overall(Jam)3.65
    #77Innovation(Jam)3.45
    #107Humor(Jam)3.12
    #118Fun(Jam)3.31
    #170Audio(Jam)3.19
    #363Theme(Jam)2.47

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:27am

    Not quite sure what this has to do with You Only Get One, though I liked it. The wizards are pretty interesting that they return all of the humanoid creatures to those wormy states. I wish there were a way to kill those skull creatures (wouldn't have to be pointing at them). Otherwise, that was a fun short game!

    Zemmi says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:57am

    That was awesome. Visually I really liked the mix of pixels, clay and photos. First play I was a terrible god, crushed every living thing that came across my path and was left with a barren island haha. Favourite thing was definitely the star-struck party.

    finefin says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:10am

    "You only got one"... finger - hah! I love the art style!

    bodsey says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:22pm

    I love it !

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:24pm

    Awesome art and animation! Reminded me of Terry Gilliam's work.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:14pm

    Excellent old style graphics ! It makes me think about Monty Python :) Very moody. Funny to push aside monsters, even if i'm not sure of the interest ^^

    drkrunk says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:04pm

    This was strangely enjoyable. I spent quite a bit of time on it. Good job!

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:05pm

    Love the Terry Gilliam art style.

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:08pm

    Awesome! Nice art style, animations and music too!

    ponk says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:10pm

    Beautiful !
    Very nice art style

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:02pm

    Weird game indeed, although I collected 13 stars and didn't get a thing I really enjoyed the game. I like their dances though XD

    Mase says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:10pm

    @WiseGamer Yeah, the dancing was the "moderately special thing." I've changed the description to avoid confusion. . .

    psychomonster says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:51pm

    Monty Python style ^^ Cool game...

    postmodestie says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:56pm

    This sir, is genius! it would profit, in my humble opinion, from a better title! With more content/goals this would be awesome!

    Kyatric says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:19am

    Nice experience :) Very Monthy Python indeed as notified in other comments.
    Congratulations on making a game !

    tnerb says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:36am

    Really love the art of this game.

    hadesfury says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:11pm

    I made them dance .. great game

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:53pm

    I always look forward to your entries each LD. You always take us to a wierd and wonderful world! :D

    Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:57pm

    haha this is SO artistic! Well-done!!! Must have taken you ages to make it!

    Moosefly says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:00pm

    Really liked the visuals and the gameplay was very relaxing. Nice change of pace from the other entries.

    greytram says ...
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:11pm

    Very distinctive artistic design, funny retro graphics (looks like old-school DOS/CGA), music fits well with the atmosphere.
    A simple but very funny god game!

    occash says ...
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:45pm

    good idea, but it was hard to collect souls..)

    samooJAM says ...
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:46pm

    Very good

    HakitoCZ says ...
    Dec 31, 2013 @ 9:20am

    Reminds me Monty Python's graphics. Very good, indeed. Also the background music.

    Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:13pm

    Cool game with great graphics (Monthy Python vibe as mentioned by others), those wormy monsters - what are their purpose? Good luck!

    TeamFlare says ...
    Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:15pm

    The art style is really cool.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]