Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 73 days, 16 hours, 39 minutes, 13 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 28

    December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Monocraft - MaTX - Jam Entry

    MonoCraft is just like Minecraft, but you can only place one block per player. No more!


    *IF YOU DO NOT SEE YOUR BLOCK, TRY REFRESHING THE PAGE* (It is a known server bug)

    Check back every day to see the blocks placed by the other players, and see how the world has evolved, one block at a time!

    *If the game is stuck on "Loading from server", please try again a few minutes later*

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    I will track the world's evolution in the description:

    LAST SCREENSHOT (around 900 blocks):
    http://i.imgur.com/OlUFGkp.png

    - 00:35 Day 4 = So many cubes! The tower has never been this high, and we are counting around 500 cubes on the server. Amazing!

    http://goo.gl/5zflWR

    - 17:30 Day 3 = The server was hacked again, resulting in three buildings! (We're cool with that :D) The tower is getting higher and higher! (396 cubes)

    http://goo.gl/b66wIW

    - 14:00 Day 2 (Screenshot 1) = Users found a way to hack the system and placed a floating block. This has generated a second, small structure that is starting to compete with the main tower.

    - 21:00 (Screenshot 2) = As expected, people are building a tower. 40 users online at the same time!

    - 18:00 = a Notch block appeared on top of the tower:

    http://goo.gl/i0xnyE

    -15:00 (Screenshot 3) = People started to explore vertically. Some blocks with the faces of the creators of the game started appearing.

    -14:00 (Screenshot 4 = Finally some rarer blocks have appeared. Among which, the great kitten block.

    -12:00 (Screenshot 5) = Monocraft has just landed. A few users have tried it, placing some basic blocks.

    Monocraft was made in only 10 hours because we had to discard our first (sadly not fun) prototype.

    View MaTX's journal. | View all entries by MaTX

    Ratings

    Coolness87%
    #5Theme(Jam)4.33
    #22Innovation(Jam)3.80
    #87Audio(Jam)3.50
    #136Humor(Jam)2.98
    #281Overall(Jam)3.07
    #300Mood(Jam)2.82
    #309Graphics(Jam)3.06
    #462Fun(Jam)2.30

    Comments

    Zemmi says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:06am

    Cool idea, excited to see what comes out of this. Any chance we could get a download link for the song? It was so damn happy.

    Yugenstudio says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:51am

    Thank you very much!
    Here is the download link:
    https://soundcloud.com/yugenstudio/monoblock-polyjoy-monocraft-1
    enjoy

    eskivor says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:35pm

    Short but interesting, I hope there will have many players on this game to see how the construction will be.

    Alismuffin says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:35pm

    This is a really cool idea! Can't wait until this is massive

    David Colson says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:35pm

    Its a cool idea, but not much of a game unfortunately

    YellowLime says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:37pm

    The contrast between the exciting music (fitting lyrics) and the gameplay is very funny :^y

    Tanser says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:37pm

    All nice but the camera was a bit frustrating. Good job anyways. :)

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:40pm

    Fun idea. It's not really a game though, it's more like a toy. Not that that makes it bad or anything.
    Really curious to see what comes out of this!

    raisedmedia says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:42pm

    Cool concept, I would like to see the ability to interact more, beyond placing the single brick.

    Ditto says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:48pm

    this felt weird, but I like these "do your small part" things, will be cool to see how many blocks there are in a week or so!

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:05pm

    Nice idea, its funny. A lot of people tried it from what I can see ingame. Good job :)

    Avocado says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:09pm

    I was hoping someone would make this game, can't wait to see it in 3 weeks.

    lucasncv says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:11pm

    Haha, fun idea.

    BitDemon says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:18pm

    Nice idea.

    SunShiranui says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:42pm

    Nice idea, it's a bit like Curiosity in reverse :P
    Congratulazioni!

    Hamcha says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:50pm

    Not really a game, but a very cool experiment indeed! Keep posting screenshot on "how it evolves", I'm quite interested!

    Zhrack says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:07pm

    I'm curious about how it'll evolve during votations! Only note, it's a bit short, but hey...nice experiment!

    Oh, awesome music!

    Cbeed says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:12pm

    Maybe add a "choose wisely" message. The normal user, like me, just tries what you can do and clicks randomly. :-D
    Hard to rate, because it's more a tool than a game.

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:37pm

    I like the concept.

    Infin8 says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:43pm

    Interesting use of the concept! The tech was solid too, tried refreshing the game heh. Couldn't actually see the block i had getting placed.

    Fervir says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:28am

    That was pretty sweet.
    A very cool way for everyone to leave their mark.

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:48am

    Really great idea! I searched "minecraft" to see how unimaginative people were being this time, but this is the opposite of what I expected!

    dsoft20 says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:50am

    Nice entry :D I'm looking forward to see what the tower will be :D

    Team-KwaKwa says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:31pm

    Feels like the religion game from Jason Rohrer game, but more minimalist...

    ThatGuy says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:21pm

    Really cool idea, it'll be interesting to see how it evolves!

    AmmoreChicks says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:28pm

    Very original, it's a kind of social experiment. Good music!

    dudsen says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:25pm

    Ok first thing I did was reloading the game, for being sure the music doesn't com from one of my other open tabs :D

    I like these kind of things. Exciting to see how the world will evolve.

    But here is a question for people saying the game is too short: Is it really that short, or even extra-ever-lasting long? ;)

    Lipedal says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:10pm

    Fantastic! I wish more games like this came out :D I'm the first pink kitten in the third tower ^^

    Sestren says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:12am

    A very simple, but very cool idea. Loved the song!

    Zemmi says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:46am

    Thanks for the soundcloud link. I'm sure to listen to all the Yugenstudio stuff, pretty sweet so far.

    ashen says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:33am

    Very interesting idea, a bit like that "10 second" turn rpg in the last LD. I was assigned a dark water block but I could not place it anywhere. Tried placing on existing blocks, separated by itself but no luck. Has the game been locked or something?

    hjeldin says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:33pm

    Hey guys, i'm the bad programmer who made the network communications, sorry to hear that you're having problems!
    If you place the block and hear the sound but can't actually see it, try refreshing the page.
    We still have some bugs on the server side, unfortunately!

    michail says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:28pm

    Wow, this is really creative :) The music also fits very well. I'll come back from time to time to see how it goes.

    Donutttt says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:28pm

    Great effort. A really cool play on the idea, and I like the collaborative feel.

    JoeProgram says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:31pm

    Very fun! I like the purity of the idea, but I'd definitely play it a few times if it was one block per day!

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:03pm

    Little Secret: It actually IS one block a day. But I was not sure what was more powerful, one block a day or only one block ever? So we never revealed it :)

    stvr says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:43am

    This is a great take on the theme, but it would be REALLY nice if you could see your block after you place it!

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:38am

    @stvr You can. If you can't, that is a server bug I fear. Try refreshing!

    GarethIW says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:47pm

    Interesting experiment. Only thing I'd say is to allow the vertical mouselook to go a full 180 degrees.

    TeamFlare says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:32pm

    Very good concept :) Congratulations. Also dig the music ;)

    psychomonster says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:56pm

    Nice experimental gameplay. Not really a game but it fits perfect to the theme... It must be seens as art not as a game. Cool like it!

    Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:42am

    Solid controls, awesome music, fun concept!

    MrBlade says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:45am

    Awesome! Great game, awesome music. I was a bit annoyed that you couldn't look straight up to go to the top, but as I far as I understand, that is a limitation of Unity. I got the Notch block and put it on the top! Nice game!

    Lacutis says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:23am

    Interesting concept, kind of wish there was more gameplay involved some how. I think its interesting seeing what everyone built.

    Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:44am

    Strega:
    This really reminds me of the game We the Giants, but with less of a message and more about just creating emergent art.

    (This is a team account)

    Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:23am

    amazing! i love this. every jam there's a couple of these kind of games, but this one stands out, as it makes me so happy, much thanks to the graphics, the sky and that fantastic song!

    Xavier says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:20pm

    I like the idea but seems that todat I can't put my one block with the rest :?

    Alex Higgins says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:49pm

    Really cool idea. That music is boss.

    porglezomp says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:54pm

    Really nice idea! It's too bad that there's not enough input for people to coordinate on much more than the simplest structures, but it's an interesting concept.

    Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:51am

    Good job, but please use a better first person controller next time... :)

    rubna says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:51am

    Very interesting social experiment! Interested to see how big this is going to get :D

    zzzev says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:16pm

    Fun experiment; curious how people made the disconnected pieces?

    zkenshin says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:40am

    Very innovative idea that fit the theme well. Great music as well. :)

    samooJAM says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:44am

    5/5 MUSIC! Very cool concept but sadly people select quite randomly block placements.

    postmodestie says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:31pm

    Placed a block, naturally .. :)

    mmickyman says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:55am

    I like the concept, hopes it'll got crazy and more and more people add their cube. Nice crazy music !

    f7f5 says ...
    Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:40pm

    Is it possible to export a Linux version? There's no Web player for Linux...

    Dec 30, 2013 @ 7:20am

    awesome SONG, NAILED the theme. not much else. Colors look bright brilliant and beautful!! nice!

    diegocbarboza says ...
    Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:22pm

    Interesting collaborative idea! It would be nice with navigation was easier. Maybe you could use Q/E for direct vertical movement.

    Conflei says ...
    Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:58am

    Mono mono mono (8)

    BradleySmith says ...
    Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:55pm

    Cool idea, I lost where I placed my block though. D: Music is awesome too! Rated highly. :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]