Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo Begins: in 8 days, 14 hours, 25 minutes, 14 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam Begins: in 8 days, 14 hours, 25 minutes, 15 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 28

    December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    TITAN SOULS - Claw - Jam Entry

    Z to roll
    X to charge arrow, release to fire
    X to summon your arrow back to you (hold)
    If running the EXE version, F toggles fullscreen

    Open World.
    Destroy 4 Titans.
    One hit to each Titan's weakness.
    One arrow with which to do it.

    By Mark Foster (@ClawhammerMark)
    David Fenn (@autotwitch)
    Andrew Gleeson (@_andrio)

    View Claw's journal. | View all entries by Claw

    Ratings

    Mood(Jam)4.47
    Audio(Jam)4.67
    Overall(Jam)4.41
    Coolness54%
    #7Graphics(Jam)4.68
    #11Theme(Jam)4.10
    #14Fun(Jam)4.00
    #38Innovation(Jam)3.69
    #225Humor(Jam)2.51

    Comments

    sudorossy says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:20am

    Really, really hard, but great graphics, amazing audio, and is really polished.

    cbear_wallis says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:24am

    I love the art and music! It reminds me of swords and sworcery. Been looking forward to game by you ever since melodisle xD

    phi6 says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:32am

    Man this is so hard! Beat 1 boss but keep coming back for more :)

    Colorvade says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:47am

    Everything's great. Wish I could say more.

    Pixelulsar says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:21am

    Looks really great and it's fun. Seems really polished for a game made just over a weekend.

    Maybe respawning in boss rooms would be nice because it's kind of annoying to have to walk back each time you die.

    Claw says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:26am

    Cheers!

    I like the whole Dark Souls bonfire run, having to trek back to a boss makes you want to not lose even more, and frustration leads to greater rewards when you accomplish something.

    All personal preference of course, I know a lot of people aren't fans of that style.

    mortl8324 says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:34am

    Awesome art. Really carried the game. It was really well done, but way too difficult! Checkpoints to start at the boss fight would be nice instead of having to roll all the way back.

    Juno Nguyen says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:34am

    You guys really should win this round.

    Juno Nguyen says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:46am

    PS: Anyone who didn't finish the game is missing out an incredibly lot.

    d2king10 says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:12am

    Fantastic. Well done, team! =D

    danhett says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:50am

    STUPID GAME TOO HARD 0/10

    I'm kidding, as always you gents have destroyed all comers. You were clearly up all night to build bosses.

    Lyje says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:55am

    The overworld gameplay is a bit maze-heavy, but the titans are great. The graphics, sound and animation are gorgeous!

    Spierek says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:03am

    The hardest fight is the south one. I really, really enjoyed the game. Great job.

    nerial says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:12am

    Really excellent treatment of the theme, with amazing audio and graphics. A little bit hard but, hell, what a great game !

    phi6 says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:28am

    I... think I beat it! This game is pitch perfect, no flaws.

    ziomorti says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:51am

    Simply beautiful. One of the best I've played so far, congrats!

    mr.isaer says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:17pm

    Really hard game, and really cool.
    Amazing graphics.

    Dyn says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:20pm

    Really hard but great game. I like this kind of graphics, and music is awesome!

    Strangelander says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:31pm

    Too old school, I don't have the patience to walk back after dying instantly each time. However, mind-blowingly beautiful graphics, and perfect soundtrack.

    rubna says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:43pm

    Nice atmosphere, and bosses and surroundings looked amazingly detailed! It's just, really really hard xD Nice job!

    Ludipe says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:52pm

    Great game, the best thing I've played so far in this jam. The only thing that I'd add are checkpoints before the bosses, having to walk everytime you die it's painful.

    drludos says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:09pm

    Awesome Game! I spend about 15 minutes here, and still unable to beat all the bosses, but, woaw, that's a fun and polished game. My only complaint would be that we have to walk back to each temple after dying (I know, the game is hardcore, but since we die very often, It's more annoying than fun to walk back to the bosses over and over).

    One of the best games i've played so far!

    NiklasRiewald says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:09pm

    I love it! The boss in the north seemed a little bit weird though. But it's probably my favourite entry so far!

    chamberlainpi says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:45pm

    Great game, but also very difficult. The brain boss in the iceblock is way too hard. I was able to beat the robot/stone giant, but was curious what would happened if I revisited its temple (yes, I was crazy enough to go through that long maze multiple times!) and he was still alive. Thankfully it didn't reset my progress when he killed me again.
    But yeh, that brain boss... I got the idea I should attract him to the fire and roll-out the way before it crushes me but it bounces right back and doesn't give time to charge an arrow shot at it. Ah well.
    Otherwise, great audio, graphics, character controls / mechanics. Performance could be better but wasn't that bad.
    One of my favorites :)

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:01pm

    Very atmospheric and frustrating as hell.
    Are you joke? Should I run many-many times unbelievable distance to trying beat another boss. I can beat only left one. I suppose it just the luck. Can't understand how beat brains. Tried twenty times and haven't any idea. And what about robot? He is damn speedy. I must be hawkeye to shoot him when he change hands and synchronously don't fall under the stone. And run again on him through maze? Is it some sort of thin joke? Shoot me at this way.

    DBRalir says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:21pm

    Fantastic game, definitely my favorite so far.

    Coblynau says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:31pm

    Audio and graphics are spot on, well done!

    ResonantCraft says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:49pm

    Managed to complete the game. Absolutely stunning. The brain was very hard. I kept retrying to beat him until I read there were more bosses. So in the end after beating him the others were definitely easier. I liked the ending a lot, but I was also a bit disappointed because of it (if you reached it you will know why). So very well done game, congrats.

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:25pm

    Holy moly this is a classy game! Amazing work for the time period, great audio and atmosphere!

    MrTedders says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:27pm

    Holy crap this game reminds me of one of my favorite games, shadow of the colossus. Well done buddy. This is definitely a top contender in my books.

    CNIAngel says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:06pm

    Fun, beautiful game. Not that hard (tho everyone seems to think so) but still an excellent challenge. Solid work you three.

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:33pm

    I love it so much but it doesn't want me loving it.

    spx says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:58pm

    Gameplay could be a bit faster for my taste but I like it nevertheless.

    kalth.streil says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:07am

    Really awesome. The pixel-art is beautiful yet functional, the music is very well placed. The game fits the theme perfectly with the 'only one' arrow to use, and even though it's really hard, it's also very fun to play!

    NuSan says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:09am

    Excellent, graphic, sounds and gameplay are perfect. I especialy like the rolling system, and each boss seem undoable at first, but is somewhat easy when you understand his patern, making a feeling of progressing. I didnt realy understood the ending, having launched it by accident. Keep up the good work !

    Todd Luke says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:19am

    i don't have the patience to walk back as much as is required, but what a super solid game for being made in a weekend. great job.

    stvr says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:45am

    The game is awesome, but the brain was creepy.

    Absurditure says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:25am

    Stuck on the Brain at the moment, but loving it so far.

    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:39am

    YES, I finally won it!
    What an amazing ending, you guys! this is awesome!

    Cory Martin says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:41am

    This is legitimately one of the best Ludum Dare games I've ever played. It's incredibly focused and executed brilliantly. The graphics are nice and the audio is outrageously good.

    I don't mind having to walk back to the bosses; I honestly think the game would lose something without that aspect.

    Yet another excellent jam entry.

    Raiyumi says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:52am

    5/5 - Best LD game I've played so far. :)

    Andrio says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:45am

    Thank you all for the wonderful comments!

    igoramendola says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:46am

    very nice! I like games that require skill and perseverance. and the ending is somewhat different... I was like -> :O

    Photon says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:57am

    Epic. Sheer epicness.

    Not quite sure I got the ending, but just about everything else was spot on. SPOT ON. I especially liked what appears to be some kind of... ambient mechanized world?

    Just... brilliant.

    nka says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:08am

    Adorable game, quite hard to beat though. Briliant work on sound.

    nicotuason says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:20am

    Goddammit... don't join LD next time if you're just gonna kick everyone's ass. YOU WIN. ok?

    The art is great, but I think it's the music and audio design that really put this game over the top. That and the dramatic camera movement.

    Andrew Brophy says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:29pm

    yessssss

    Team-KwaKwa says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:08pm

    I really loved the mood. Then the dark souls concept appears and I gave up. But beautiful graphics and super soundtrack!

    Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:42pm

    Guys, the is really awesome. Loved playing it.

    Tyu says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:45pm

    Really love the sound and art! It's too hard for me though.

    Zemmi says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:12pm

    Ah man, only beat two bosses but I feel the need to win so I'll be back for more punishment later. Art and audio is extremely well done and so far the brain boss is my favourite.

    Shaun Lebron says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:03pm

    Music, graphics, mechanic, and mood were all pretty much perfect. Really enjoyed this one.

    I will say that I am a little vexed at the difficulty of the brain, even after finding out how to beat it. I suppose if you're drawing inspiration from Dark Souls, that frustration would be the nod.

    To word this carefully, I just wish I could see the full game without burning so much time that I could spend checking out all the other great games here.

    JoeManaco says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:37pm

    Awesome game. I love the music.

    Lipedal says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:02pm

    That game is as beautiful and engaging as tough!
    Congratulations!

    bsowers says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:23pm

    Fantastic game, even though I couldn't beat any of the bosses. :-/

    GarethIW says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:47pm

    Extremely difficult, but the controls feel great, it's really atmospheric and the visuals are excellent. Would be less frustrating if you respawned outside the dungeon you died in.

    pkenney says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:34pm

    What an entry. Really amazing. But way too difficult and punishing for my personal taste, so I didn't play that much of it. 95% of my experience was commuting, which is not something I am prepared to tolerate, even for a game this nice. I respect the design decision, though.

    Andrio says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:28pm

    TITAN SOULS: Prepare To Die Edition
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/23830618/titansoulsyoudied.gif

    Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:33pm

    Just great.

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:51pm

    The instant death wouldn't be that problem, if you don't have to walk this path again and again and again. Like all the others said: great atmosphere and mood, fantastic music and graphics!

    JohnnySix says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:03am

    Love the art style and music, as mentioned it's really ball busting to start from the beginning again after getting killed by a boss, especially the first maze boss. A respawn/checkpoint at least half way would be good.

    Zemmi says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:00am

    Came back to this and beat it. Waaay easier the second time around and when I'm feeling more patient haha. The ending was well done although I must admit I was hoping for more resistance. All around great entry.

    KunoNoOni says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:43am

    So I guess I should have started with the south boss :). I never did beat it, but that is ok. This game is AMAZING! If you added 12 more bosses you could market it as a pixel rogue-like version of Shadow of the Colossus :)

    The art is very detailed, the music really sets the mood and its just so damn fun and addictive! BRAVO!

    Alex Higgins says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:43am

    Holy shit! This is fab!
    It wasn't as hard as I expected - most boss fights only took me two tries - the western boss was the hardest for me. Aesthetically, this is the best game from the jam I've played yet. I would love to see this game developed into a more serious, more developed narrative.

    chardish says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:19am

    Really, really fun. I just wish the penalty for death weren't so severe.

    tchem says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:36am

    This magnific!!!,, i loved it, graphics, atmosphere,,,,,great game!!!

    Aske says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:39pm

    Really big fan of you and this game. So hard, but so good :)

    Jgpicatoste says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:16pm

    The mood, and therefore the experience, is exceptional. I like the simplicity and difficulty, the mechanics and the sound. A clear winner for me.

    soy_yuma says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:24pm

    Nice graphics/audio. The idea is pretty good. I didn't like the difficulty. It's too hard for my clumsiness...

    Aaants says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:28pm

    Fantastic work

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:20am

    Very hard, very rewarding, a lot of walking though. Can't you add a run and jump next time? Or did I miss some keys?

    Anyway, small nitpick, I managed to fire the arrow off the top of the screen and it didn't come back. But I was just a restart away from having another go anyway.

    drnick says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:17am

    This is ridiculously hard. Beat the left one, kinda figured how to beat the brain but couldn't do it. Didn't finish. Grrrrr. Still voted generously

    Ditto says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:31am

    So stunningly beautiful, both graphics and audio, controls are perfect also. Dying is satisfyingly frustrating, maybe a bit too punishing for a Ludum Dare game, but I'll come back to this to try and kill all the titans, just got one on my 10 tries right now :( Great game, 5/5!

    GBolt says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:16pm

    Very neat game, love the graphics!

    Djoron says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:01pm

    I absolutely LOVE this game.
    The gameplay is really fun, the artstyle looks amazing and the music is great too.
    The ending is very fitting as well and the Shadow of the Colossus/Zelda-esque nature of the game and the fights is really cool.
    Especially the Brain encounter, to me the only really challenging one to be frank, is a lot of fun to battle. <3

    Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:31pm

    Wow! Great game! Too hard, but the world, the atmosphere, the controls and movement are perfect. It's a bit frustrating though, to walk great distances to get to the place where you do the action. If the world was filled with enemies in your way to the bosses, so you could spring to immediate action, it would be perfect!

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:22pm

    I am in awe at this wonder. The graphics, the music, the gameplay, the story... the feeling. Everything here is perfect. PERFECT.

    I cannot stress it enough: This is the best Ludum Dare game I've played since I started with Ludum Dare 16. I'll be messaging you individually and will probably write something about this on my site.

    Simply outstanding.

    badlydrawnrod says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:22pm

    Very atmospheric indeed.

    jdpalmer says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:21pm

    Amazing work. This is the best looking and sounding Jam entry I have played.

    BNeutral says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:30pm

    One of the best LD games I've ever played.

    sealfin says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:25am

    Outstanding!

    (I beat it... I think? )

    zkenshin says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:35am

    A bit too difficult, but great game. :)

    Djoron says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:10am

    @Denis Chakarov
    I don't think the way are overly long. E.g. to get to the brain you need like...20 seconds? That's shorter than some games take to get you back into the game to begin with.
    And if your character had more than 1 health, fighting stuff on the way would surely be fun, but as it stands, it could easily end but making the game rather frustrating, possibly dieing a couple times on the way back, before finally trying the boss again.

    Also....maybe I'm just super awesome, but I don't think so, so.....how is the game hard?
    At least the Golem isn't really deadly, as long as you use the roll a lot you can dodge his rocks with ease, and the Boulder....I mean, come on. That's really free loot.

    The brain is pretty tricky to A) figure out and B) then execute, I'll give you that, but to me that was the only one, though therefore also the most fun boss to fight.

    Welp, might just be me. ^.^

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:37am

    This should win.

    It's just fucking awesome. Visually, audio, the sheer scale of it, perfectly fits the theme, beautiful mood.

    Like.. this game has it all. It's also super hard too. Which I like.

    It's really late here now but I'm definitely coming back to play more of this tomorrow. Nice one guys.

    WojWorks says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:16am

    Incredible...

    angelk says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:20am

    Finally beat it! I kept doing the north one first, which you should really do last. Outstanding work all around, congratulations!

    bitslap_ says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:14pm

    I would pay $5-10 on steam. nuff said.

    GFM says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:12pm

    I have only one thing to say:

    This was the goddamn best jam game I've ever played! Anything else would be meaningless to say...

    Still... can't just stop there. xD

    WOW! Each battle was unique, tense and totally beatable! There's nothing impossible and you guys used the "activation" clearly to show the weak point.
    This felling of awe after battle those titans will take some time to go away.

    The audio completed the atmosphere shown by your amazing graphics.

    And that last temple... wow... just, WOW!

    I didn't feel like I was playing a jam game. Something simple, experimental and/or that should be expanded further (really loose definition, sorry). This game is complete by itself. I don't think there's anything to add or take from it.

    Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:37pm

    Great animations and music!

    rxi says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:36pm

    Incredibly difficult but really excellent work all round. The sound and the music are really polished and the graphics are fresh. Everything feels tight; the use of the theme works well for the game and doesn't at all seem forced or out of place.

    kotax says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:10pm

    Awesome game in every respect. It's beautiful, challenging and fun. Also I really liked the ending :)

    Dikkop says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:19pm

    Keep on rolling!

    jimmypaulin says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:47pm

    WOW, quite simply this is an incredible, professional quality experience. The colour palette alone is superb, the smooth and detail animations, the music is scintillating. Congratulations!

    porglezomp says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:42am

    Amazing and beautiful, I loved the music and the art and animation and everything. But having to walk back to the bosses every single time I died was nothing except HORRIBLY FRUSTRATING. Having to walk through a maze 15 times to fight a boss who is insanely difficult simply makes it less fun, but I really don't know how you could have handled it without making death meaningless.

    Frustrating, but one of the best so far.

    Pomb says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:48am

    Amazing game! I wish it was a little more interesting getting to the titans, just walking for those 20-30seconds after death seems like a high cost when you still learning the titans weakness, maybe you can get 1 spawn point you can manage. Also lesser monsters outside or critters to make the world feel more alive.
    The only thing lacking for full vote is humor, maybe a quick dialogue piece before each Titan.
    Amazing job, I enjoyed this game the most so far!

    fluffypillow says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:11am

    This is the best entry I've played so far! Reminded me to Shadow of the Colossus.

    Maple says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:07pm

    Really solid game, though I thought the bosses didn't give you much time to hit them at all. I really wanted to give you guys 5/5 but I was let down after seeing the lack-of-climax when I opened the 4th place and beat the game. Everything was pretty much perfect otherwise. Amazing graphics, amazing music. Great Job!

    Moosefly says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:10pm

    Neat little game with compelling gameplay and a polished exterior, good job guys! The graphics were neat and the audio complemented the gameplay pretty nicely. I did get bored of the rolling SFX though, maybe a sprint (or atleast a jog) button would've been nice so I didn't have to move by rolling 100% of the time.

    The controls were simple enough, but I couldn't quite get used to using Z and X. I kept mixing them up atleast once per boss :P.

    Considering the amount of titans in the game, I would've liked for them to be a little bit harder and more varied. Maybe you could've achieved that trough different phases and such that were easier individually but harder as a whole. Even though the deaths themselves didn't feel unfair or cheap (expect for some of the deaths on the brain-thingy, I swear his hitbox is bugged), the run (roll) back to the titans was pretty pointless since there weren't any other enemies. Loved learning the titans' weaknesses and then perfecting the execution.

    I do undestand that the time limit also limits the amount of content a whole lot, so good job nonetheless. This could really be something with more varied gameplay, light RPG elements and more content.

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:11pm

    I appreciate some difficulty but to have to do the road each time one die in a temple, that's a killer.
    Otherwise graphics and music are awesome, I may retry some other time because I'm curious to see what's next.

    mcapraro says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:32pm

    awesome graphics and mood! great job

    loxo says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:41pm

    An overall great game! I tried to beat it, but failed. It seems you had planed for more, because the world looks so empty at the moment. The collision detection seems to be not 100%, I played the web version and could walk into a wall at one time. And the controls (x,z) aren't much fun for non qwerty-keyboards.

    jacklehamster says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:24pm

    Nice level design of the world and variety of each boss. It sucks you have to start from the beginning when you die, because it takes so long to walk to a boss.
    The scrolling of the world is a bit jerky at times.

    ENDESGA says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:57am

    Very very cool game :)

    nyrrrr says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:18am

    You guys made an incredibly great job!
    The art, sound, bgm,... everything...
    Looking forward to seeing more from you guys.

    y2bd says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:51am

    Everything about this is great. Do you guys plan on releasing the music anywhere?

    Diptoman says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:58am

    Epic game. Really,I got to engrossed in this. A bit hard and requires a lot of retries, but worth it! Awesome gfx, awesome sfx, awesome gameplay, awesome everything!

    runvs says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:47am

    This is awesome! I really dig the graphic style and the gameplay feels so right.

    TijmenTio says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:45pm

    Ahaaa the last titan ;) This is an amazing game. A winner in my book! It is as enjoyable as it is admirable.

    TheSheep says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:19pm

    Walk, walk, walk, walk, shoot, die. Repeat.
    All this walking gets boring very fast.
    But amazing sound and great graphics.

    jsjwooowooo says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:51pm

    Really awesome game!

    bitowl says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:10pm

    This is soo polished. I can't beat anything, but the rolling feature reminds me of the minish cap :3

    metaphist says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:34pm

    Simple and challenging, just how I likes em! Great music, great graphics, great game.

    Avichal says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:29pm

    good game :)

    NeonMusashi says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:27pm

    Very good, audio and art come really well together.
    Simple, efficient, challenging gameplay.
    Awesome work!

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:44pm

    A fairly moody and difficult game that's still intuitive. Probably the best audio design I've come across so far.

    The tileset bugs out regularly, you can go inside walls at several places. I guess I should like the risks involved in just having one life, but in practice, the controls feel somewhat clumsy since you have to stop to fire an arrow. It makes deaths feel frustrating rather than justified.

    Clavus says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:54pm

    Just excellent.

    Terry says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:58am

    Really incredible work guys - I think this might be the best Ludum Dare entry I've played, ever.

    anvoz says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:42am

    Nice mechanic graphics and sound. I could not finish the game but had tried 3 Titans, was able to kill 1 of them. The character got killed in 1 hit and having to walk through a large map to try a again was a bit frustrating.

    gre says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:05pm

    Awesome, 5 stars for the graphics, the music and the take on the theme.
    Very arty, congrats!

    recursor says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:12pm

    This is really hard and REALLY good. The game has great artwork, music, and a very good feel to the controls. My one gripe would be having to walk all the way back to a boss when you die, but otherwise, well done!

    SunShiranui says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:42pm

    Nice music, but the difficulty is mad. Quite frustrating.

    fullmontis says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:52pm

    This is the best entry I've played so far from any ludum dare, I'm not even joking. Differently from others, I really like the fact that you have to walk back to the boss, it gives time for some thinking about strategy and gives more importance to the boss fight.

    Graphics and audio are just superb. Love the overall atmosphere, reminded me of shadow of the colossus, which you were inspired by I guess.

    I found a few glitches but anything relevant, for example I can walk through the statues before the northern boss like they are flat on the floor, probably some collision box missing.

    The titans themselves are amazing, I love how you have to think out of the box to fight them. I found them a little too agreesive, so timing has to be very precise, so it can become frustrating to find that sweet spot.

    Overall, amazing game. Really enjoyed it.

    sekaru says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:17pm

    Wow, the graphics and music are fantastic. I love that rolling animation too and the mechanic is pretty spot on. Great game.

    Husky says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:24pm

    WOW!!
    It's really amazing! I like the audio and gameplay,
    It got a good polished, I am still trying to go through.
    Good job! :D

    tobbez says ...
    Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:20am

    First of all, I did not manage to get past the final door after beating three bosses and got an ending screen without fighting any other boss.

    The game in general is too easy. In a normal game these bosses would be fine but in this game they are the only content so they need to be much harder.

    None of the attackpatterns are any interesting or hard to avoid and the only thing left after that is finding the right timingwindow to attack. Finding this window is not hard enough.

    There is much that could be done with the bosses to make them harder, for example:
    You could require the rolling eye to be hit while rolling if you made his landing and direction a bit more predictable.

    The stone thrower seem a bit odd as he is since there is no reason at all for him to switch what hand he uses to throw rocks. Make him move and use much larger rocks that require him to use both hands or enable the player to somehow trap him under a rock that require both his hands to remove.

    You could also move away from the one hit one kill idea and make the bosses more like normal hard bossfights.

    Also sometimes I managed to walk into walls that should be fixed. The graphics and audio is nice. The ending that I got was just odd and I don't think it fit with the game.

    The walking back was fine but it works better if there is some content inbetween or something that you can improve at while trying the boss.

    adamwfindlay says ...
    Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:00pm

    Loved it!

    OneDee says ...
    Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:17pm

    Yes seems really polished. Feels like have to walk forever with little happening until the titans. Great overall piece!

    Fenixin says ...
    Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:44pm

    Yeah, too hard, but amazing game. A winner.

    f7f5 says ...
    Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:30pm

    The graphics, the visual effects - when summoning the arrow, the screen shaking, - and audio design are just top quality.

    But it's too hard for me (well, for an LD game). I gave up after killing 2 titans (east and west). I wanted to give up earlier, but the overall quality of the game made me think it deserved another try... it's just that the boss fights are not *that* much fun to keep me going - and that's the core of the game. Or maybe it's just not my type of game, I don't know.

    Anyway, one of the best efforts I played in any LD!

    gupta_shvm says ...
    Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:05pm

    Best game I've played this Ludum Dare.

    vallde says ...
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:28am

    That's probably the best LD game I've seen. Good job! The hard difficulty make me feel like it was a long game, which I think is a great accomplishment for a LD entry, too bad many people won't finish it for the same reason >_<

    Arkrothe says ...
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:48pm

    High iteration times make the game extremely frustrating >_<. Other than that it's pretty great, although i was only able to beat the East boss.

    The west one i beat through a fluke, which i still don't know how it happened. South one is too painful to try after 10 times.

    Dry Tree says ...
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:00pm

    Great graphics and audio!

    I think difficult games fall into two categories... 1) games with fluid controls and predictable scenarios/events where if you fail at a challenge it feels entirely your own fault and you're really compelled to play again because you're sure you can do better with 'just one more go'; or 2) games with either sluggish controls or sudden unexpected 'insta-death' traps etc. where, despite the knowledge that if you'd acted differently then you might have lived, you feel like defeat was the game's fault.

    Because it takes soooo verrrry loooong to charge the arrow I unfortunately found your game fits into the second category - even after 15+ attempts, defeat always occurred during this sluggish bit of the game and then I was just not interested in playing on :( Sorry!

    I spent a fair while trying to find out if there was a more enjoyable way to shoot the arrow - Perhaps you can shoot it instantly with just a tap, or a double-tap?... no. Perhaps you can charge it up and then strafe around before releasing it?... no. Perhaps you can maintain the charge during a roll?... no.

    From me: very high marks for Graphics, very high marks for Audio, very high marks for Mood, but not-so-high marks for Fun I'm afraid.

    P.S. Congratulations on getting a mention in RPS :D

    Striwx says ...
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:04pm

    Love it !

    MatrixBai says ...
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:52am

    Masterpiece.

    Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:07am

    The music is really outstanding. I love the opening ambient piece the most. I am very fond of the camera work as well it really compliments the atmosphere and heightens the drama. Bravo.

    Knighty says ...
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:20am

    Very nice! It would be a lot better if I didn't have to walk to the boss every time I die. I was disappointed that there was no 4th boss, but then I realized what the 4th titan was (I think?).

    Phyyl says ...
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:35am

    Awesome game, could play it a whole lot more! Make me moar levels! more!! also the music is just way too good.

    Agram says ...
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:50am

    Excellent game. My favorite.

    Joao Kucera says ...
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:51pm

    Amazing

    Ras Lyon says ...
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:15pm

    Neat, but yeah too hard. I wish the design were a little tighter, for such sparse graphics maybe less scale would be appropriate. It's all so well made, with great sound and controls. But, it's somehow lacking in the fun factor. Having to stop and be delayed for both shooting and summoning is little weak. Sorry to be so harsh, it's just that this really is a great project! Thanks for the game!

    local minimum says ...
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:36pm

    Way too hard for me. It could be eased by giving the player the customary 3 hearts and taking half for each hit. I would have liked to play it and see what you've built, but I kept dying.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:16pm

    Well polished action game, excellent graphic and audio.

    Kayelgee says ...
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:07pm

    I really struggled with the brain titan but the game was fun, had a nice atmosphere and the final titan was a nice surprise but a sad ending.

    Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:33pm

    Amazing art and world. Very immersive and cohesive. Engine was solid, of course.

    madmaw says ...
    Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:21am

    A clean sweep from me, 5 stars all the way, great work guys. I thought the difficulty was perfect

    SnoringFrog says ...
    Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:26am

    Amazing game. Feels like a shrunken/retro version of Shadow of the Colossus--which is a very good thing. Music was great, and the game was sufficiently challenging but not impossible (although the box with the bullseye had me VERY frustrated initially). I feel like there should have been a bit more to the ending, but it wouldn't take much to overdo it so how it is is probably good.

    Broxxar says ...
    Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:36pm

    THE ENDING... I dare say this is a perfect game. Incredible controls and feel, awesome music and art. This is really an amazing end product for a 72 hour jam. Great work you guys!

    OrangeeZ says ...
    Dec 28, 2013 @ 8:54pm

    Amazing entry, captures DS and SotC spirit perfectly.

    ijustincabral says ...
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:38am

    For 72 hours, this is nothing short of greatness.

    usputni_boem says ...
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:14pm

    I've beaten the three bosses, walked into the northern temple and now I'm stuck. Both doors are closed. What should I do?

    BluShine says ...
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:34pm

    WOW. Amazing music, beautiful art, and great gameplay. Reminds me a lot of Shadow of the Colossus, with a bit of Sword & Sworcery in the graphics department. The boss battles were very cool and unique, each one felt very different, a mix of puzzle and action. I loved that each boss battle seemed easy to just dodge, but became really hard once you tried to start attacking with your bow. The ending was... interesting, I'm not sure I really understood the meaning of it. But overall, it was one of the best games this jam. And a very cool implementation of the "one arrow" idea that a lot of people seem to have used.

    usputni_boem says ...
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:23pm

    Nevermind, I got it. Cool twist.

    edibletoaster says ...
    Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:23am

    Fantastic

    Orangy Tang says ...
    Jan 1, 2014 @ 7:28pm

    Awesome mood and really interesting style, and a cool overworld to explore.

    Camera movement is a bit jarring, and far, far too hard for me. I didn't even manage to kill one boss - also totally not fun to have to navigate the maze just to retry a boss. Probably needs bosses that telegraph their attacks much more obviously if you're going to insta-kill the player like that.

    One of the most impressive LD entries this time around, but too hard for me to actually have fun with. :(

    torcado194 says ...
    Jan 1, 2014 @ 7:49pm

    This is by far my favorite LD28 game. I absolutely loved everything about it. maybe a little too short, BUt there was nothing reused, no "grinding" design elements where you just do the same thing for even a few levels. the art was fantastic, music fantastic. I thought the ending IDEA was a great idea, but it felt too blunt and unrewarding.
    very nice job

    Grafter says ...
    Jan 1, 2014 @ 11:34pm

    Awesome work!!

    michail says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 1:10pm

    Wow, the ending is really sad...
    The graphics and music make really excellent atmosphere.
    I enjoyed all the boss fights, maybe except the brain - I spent half an hour figuring how to beat him, and still find it quite illogical - landing on fireplace doesn't make the ice melt, but a little burning arrow does?

    Anyway, amazing entry.

    Gabriel says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 8:38pm

    Congratulations, this is surely one of the best entries I have played in any LD! I didn't find the controls sluggish, as I understand the game balancing is made for you to shoot only when you're almost sure to find your target, and you usually die if you go for it before the exact right time. I know that action balancing is very difficult to make in such a small timeframe, and your game surely is remarkably well balanced. Basically, if you know what you're doing and have a decent amount of skill, you can keep dodging and manipulating the boss position until the opportunity to a killing blow arises. Wonderful! As for the backtrack, I did hope I would reappear at the temple's doors when I died, but I do understand the approach of forcing the player to lose time in order to raise the stakes. I don't know, It just *started* to bother me after a couple times in each boss, which I think is a reasonable amount of backtrack, but since it didn't take me more than 3 attempts at any boss, I found it ok! To other commenters here who have complained about backtracking, here's an opinion: people here do play a game every 10 minutes, but if we start developing our games to such a short attention spam just for the sake of Ludum Dare's quick evaluation mindset (to which I don't necessarily agree), we lose one of the most valuable aspects of participating altogether, which is learning the craft through feedback. A 15 seconds backtrack may *sound* like a huge one if you expect to rate a game every 10 minutes, but many designs simply don't work in that 'instant gratification / skip everything but the main challenge' frame. A 15 seconds backtrack is TOTALLY OK as a punishment for losing a boss battle IMO, and I find it unfair to penalize the ratings due to this LD quick evaluation mindset.

    Anyway, back to a last piece of compliment, graphics and music (and the mood, almost as a consequence) are absolutely fantastic. The music was particularly awesome for me. This game is amazingly polished and well rounded, with no obvious flaws IMO. I will surely keep an eye on your entries in next events! :)

    BTW, I have probably run into a bug at the end, cause from what I read on comments, apparently I got the wrong ending (or maybe I didn't understand it?). Basically, the north temple was empty and I couldn't find any way of summoning a boss there. Eventually I gave up a puzzle approach and started shooting arrows in all props to see if something worked, and finally got something when I was in the brown strip close to the door, between the two skulls. When my arrow hit the left skull, the screen went totally black and, after a while, the game credits appeared. Maybe I accidentally insta-killed the last boss on the very moment I summoned it? Or was it supposed to show a little cutscene or text instead of the final black screen?

    Anyway, I'm ignoring that problem, I bet it is something on my end. You are getting a ridiculously high rating from me! :D

    Congratulations, man!

    dudsen says ...
    Jan 3, 2014 @ 7:04pm

    Being not the biggest fan of pixel art, this one blew me away instantly. The sound design is out of this world and even if the concept is well known its even more unbelievable doing something like this within 3 days. There is no doubt about it, you'll be in the top 3. 5/5!

    huhwhozat says ...
    Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:02pm

    Agreed that this is challenging, but the audio (music especially) and the atmosphere is excellent. The final sacrifice could be more explicit; I was confused at first.

    yosh says ...
    Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:20pm

    This game brought to me two great memories: Shadow of the colossus and Dark Souls.
    The musics were just incredible (this guy needs to become a pro).
    Graphics simple but efficient.
    Boss battles epic and interesting.

    And the gameplay mechanic just perfect. (love the visual effect when you aim).

    One thing I didn't like though... the ending :(

    Fantastic work guys.

    Waynetron says ...
    Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:39pm

    Big fan of the pixel art. The open world / choice of boss order brings me back to the original Zelda, in a good way.

    But I felt the game way too hard (I feel like a bit of a hypocrite saying this as this was also the main criticism towards my entry). Had I not had to walk back to the dungeon every time I died it may not have been so punishing. Having 3 hearts could have made it a little more forgiving. Just my 2c.

    savethejets1 says ...
    Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:23pm

    So good! as always!

    FrederickK says ...
    Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:12am

    Remembered me of Shadow of Colossus, which is good! It is a great game!
    A better "retry" in this game would be very nice, it's ver frustrating have to go all the way back to the boss when you was near to kill it.
    Besides that, wonderful game!

    Harsay says ...
    Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:03pm

    Best game of Ludum Dare 28.
    I played it twice to check why there wasn't the 4th titan. I shoot one of the walls and I just saw credits.
    It's a very fun game to play and hard. I love the graphics and music. Are you planning the future versions?

    lasergans says ...
    Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:02pm

    My very favorite game! So polished, so hard, so much fun!

    Ashedragon says ...
    Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:46pm

    This is really, really enjoyable.

    Ted Brown says ...
    Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:51pm

    Doubling the player's speed would have probably seen me finish the game. Respawning at the boss room would have probably seen me finish the game. But, alas, it earned more frowns that smiles.

    However, I won't -- and can't -- discount the amazing work put into the game. Beautiful mood and a wonderful idea.

    rincewind_cz says ...
    Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:05am

    Nice and hard as hell. Good job :-)

    Patacorow says ...
    Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:16pm

    Congratulations on the first place!!!
    GOOD JOB :)

    Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:59pm

    Breathtaking! Especially the overworld music and the stone golem's, which reminded me of Tarantino. Having played enough Zelda, it was quite easy to figure out how to beat the bosses but still fun. Too long and uninteresting walks there though.

    Congratulations on #1!

    wtfislove says ...
    Jan 9, 2014 @ 4:12am

    This was an incredibly fun game to play! The mechanics were simple and straight forward, and although I had my own difficulties throughout my play through, it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]