Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 22 days, 21 hours, 37 minutes, 47 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 28

    December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Concert Crashers - atombrot - Jam Entry

    Imagine you go with friends to a concert of a band you love. You are standing in line for tickets. Finally it's your turn and you can buy a ticket. But you only get one ;) What about your friends?

    This was more or less our idea behind the game.
    Sadly we could not put in all the ideas we have planned for.

    Use the left and right keys to walk around. Switch your player with N (web) or TAB (windows). Interact by using the SPACE key.

    The background music is made by my friend mentex.

    The game itself is made with java and libgdx. You need to have java installed for it to run.

    Update:
    brookman helped us with the webgl/gwt problems. Seems that gwt doesn't like zip compressed tmx files. Thanks very much for the help ! :D

    Update2:
    I updated the webgl version. The TAB key wouldn't work correctly. I also changed the resolution so it is a bit bigger, but otherwise it's the same codebase.

    Update 3:
    We have identified following major issues, that we'd like to address for a post compo version (we will be working on that for some months):
    - Distractions need to be implemented, so the ticket player has something to do besides scouting the area.
    - Add a main menu
    - Add a winning screen ;)
    - Add intro/tutorial levels that explain the game mechanics step by step.
    - Make the players and guards better distinguishable from the rest (we tried to do this with the particles, but in case of a very clear background you nearly can't see the particles).
    - Fix controls in web version ;)
    - Add lighting
    - Add dance animation (at last, you want to go to the dancefloor)
    - More themes (we already had planned some other themes, but didn't have the time to make the backgrounds and props for it)
    - add soundfx
    - 2d Lighting to give it a bit more atmosphere ;)

    View atombrot's journal. | View all entries by atombrot

    Ratings

    Coolness71%
    #121Audio(Jam)3.37
    #227Graphics(Jam)3.37
    #242Humor(Jam)2.45
    #269Innovation(Jam)2.83
    #313Theme(Jam)2.64
    #332Mood(Jam)2.73
    #367Overall(Jam)2.86
    #422Fun(Jam)2.44

    Comments

    ovenchips says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:13am

    Such detail in the pixel art! It was quite hard to see what was going on - but quite hypnotic overall. Music is great.
    I'm finding it hard to figure out what to do actually. I can cycle through the characters, and one can get in (who has the ticket), but the other two get caught. I'm feeling a bit stupid. :) Hint?

    atombrot says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:50am

    Thanks for playing. We planned ways of creating distractions from the guards, but there was no time left ;) currently you have to watch the move patterns of the guards (the guys with the red particles) and find try to net be seen. The guards see you up to a distance of 20 pixels, but only if they look in your direction.

    daredevildave says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:25pm

    I tried to play the web version. It's a really nice style, but pretty small in the browser window. And I think 'tab' to switch characters only works once...

    It's nice idea though I can see with some more time it would be good.

    atombrot says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:20pm

    Ah, finally a computer with internet :D Thanks for the feedback. I noticed the problem with the tab key, but I didn't find time to fix this yet. i hope that I have a fixed version online soon.

    sknoslo says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:01pm

    I really liked the audio and the art. Good work.

    Dhy says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:12am

    Thanks for playing and the nice feedback. It made fun to do the art and I feel happy you like it :)

    Nichii says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:25pm

    Nice graphic and music. I can't get past the guards though :(

    Zhrack says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:13pm

    Very nice entry! I got a bug in second try with 3 characters: The collision map was different then the graphic, so there were invisible stairs and so on.(web version)

    However i love the extra detailed graphics and music! Good job!

    atombrot says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:33pm

    Thanks for the feedback... I also have noticed the bugs in the third level when I played it on my phone... I added this level in the last 30 minutes before the submission deadline, so this might explain why I missed those bugs XD

    LD_LAN_Party says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:21am

    A little short, but nice game.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:13am

    Nice graphic and art, good work.

    Zuige says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:15pm

    The web player didn't work too well on Chrome. Space scrolls the page down so the USE-function was disabled. I really did like the artwork though.

    arcticleaf says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:15am

    i like it, gratz

    Und[0]ne Devs says ...
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:42pm

    Too litle screen

    LukuluK says ...
    Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:28pm

    Good concept, pixel art is beautiful and music too ! But the realization of the gameplay was a bit confusing. It was hard to figure out what to do, but I finally understood !
    Perhaps should I have read the scrolling text, but it was so long that I passed through.

    Dry Tree says ...
    Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:06pm

    Great concept, nice particle effects and really good music :) On level two there was invisible stairs and weird stuff like that, but anyway very impressive work given the time limit

    larb says ...
    Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:44pm

    Same problem as Zuige mentioned with the web version, space bar scrolls the page down, so you have to scroll back up each time. I was able to correct it by zooming out, but that makes the screen smaller. I want to zoom in to make the screen larger!

    Besides that, cool music. Great entry. It's fun to play.

    StMatn says ...
    Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:44pm

    Awesome game!
    There are some broken parts on the second level, but that is not that big of a problem ;)
    I like how you implemented the stealth aspects into the concert setting :)
    The graphics are really nice looking, since I like the old school style ^^
    Great work! Keep that on :)

    MRvanderPants says ...
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:11pm

    I liked the pixel art, but this game could use some audio

    thebrainfuse says ...
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:29am

    with so many colors it is difficult to see all the action... maybe a refined color scheme might do better... great music and art style though!

    atombrot says ...
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:05pm

    Thanks all for playing and for giving feedback. It's really appreciated and the issues you raise are all things we wan't to fix in a post compo version. But currently we just need a break ;) I see if I find time to build and deploy a version with the space key fixed...

    van noctar says ...
    Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:04am

    Yeah! Polished pixel art! :D I like that! The game is fun and innovate!

    thatwhichis says ...
    Dec 31, 2013 @ 7:17pm

    PARTICLES! *bats at the screen like a kitty*

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]