Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Compo (Solo+Scratch+Src) Ends: in 1 day, 17 hours, 29 minutes, 42 seconds
  • Jam (Solo and Teams+Relaxed) Ends: in 2 days, 17 hours, 29 minutes, 42 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Submit/Edit Game | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 28

    December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    You Only Get One - laaph - Jam Entry

    Pachinko! It's not actually pachinko, it's much closer to Peggle, but no one corrected me until after I was done making the game.

    - I think I did a good job sticking to the theme. :p
    - Justin Beiber is included.
    - So is Batman.
    - There is no killing in this game. I hadn't meant to meet this goal; I thought the goal was "no violence"; there is one bit of violence inspired by a video game that was so violent it caused politicians to discuss banning video games.
    - This was all done in 48 hours
    - This is being submitted to the Jam; I may have "bent some rules"
    - All programming done by me.
    - Most art was done by me, except the backgrounds. And Beiber. And Batman. But I made those nice pegs! And all the old man sprites.
    - Sound was created by cxfr and Audacity, except the voice that was cribbed from the aforementioned well known video game.
    - Don't trust the man behind the curtain.
    - The web version requires the Unity Web Player.
    - There is a bug, that lets you continue before all balls are released. I don't know why. It shouldn't affect game play much.
    - Sometimes it releases double balls, as well. In that case, enjoy!
    - I haven't tested the Linux version. Let me know if it works in the comments.


    It's pachinko! Want something else? NO! You only get one!

    View laaph's journal. | View all entries by laaph

    Ratings

    #74Humor(Jam)3.34
    #402Audio(Jam)2.25
    #436Mood(Jam)2.37
    #439Fun(Jam)2.38
    #447Theme(Jam)2.23
    #459Overall(Jam)2.56
    #504Graphics(Jam)2.08
    #508Innovation(Jam)2.05
    #998Coolness48%

    Comments

    Bogden says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:00am

    Silly use of theme!

    Garrick says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:02am

    Very loosely based on the theme. Game play is okay, could with more pegs and areas where the balls come out. The goal of the game to collect as many of a certain color wasn't very clear to me at first.

    ehtd says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:10am

    Interesting! good job

    jillytot says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:10am

    Truly, the game of a generation.

    mungoman1 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:31am

    QUite fun! I had a lot of fun finding the easter eggy things.

    Elforama says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:32am

    I loved how I'm forced to play the game. It made me laugh.

    OnlySlightly says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:33am

    I liked the pachinko noises and how each peg wriggled

    stromchin says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:29pm

    I loved the use of the theme. Sincerely I don't like it much!
    I mean, more than a guideline of how to base your game, it feels like a limitation.
    Anyways, good job and it made me laugh

    glovecat says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:57am

    Funny, specially the Justin Bieber face when you uppercut the guy xD

    sekaru says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:31pm

    Pretty clever use of the theme however the gameplay was somewhat... lacking.

    Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:01pm

    I love Peggle. This too I like, although that sounds is annoying! nice little touches too like the wiggle of the pegs and Beiber obv

    fullmontis says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:40pm

    The game wasn't as interesting and fun as I thought it would be, unfortunately.

    JohnnySix says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:31pm

    It does what it says on the tin. The dude's expression at the end when he has to pick only one is hilarious. :)

    mmickyman says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:09pm

    I missed some of the easter eggs, but I think I'll play it again because I only get to play Pachinko now...

    iiechapman says ...
    Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:01am

    For one person you did well.

    jacklehamster says ...
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:36pm

    Read your post-mortem. ...geez I was wondering where all your strange ideas came from!
    Nice idea to turn the layout of a simple game into an adventure game itself.

    laaph says ...
    Dec 31, 2013 @ 6:15am

    @jackiehamster if you think I have strange ideas in this one you should try the text adventure I wrote for the Charity Game Jam. Stole so many incongruous ideas from so many obscure games I had to write a credits page to document them all.
    http://laaph.com/?p=26

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]