Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 77 days, 13 hours, 9 minutes, 29 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 28

    December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    You Are Disabled - Cory Martin - Jam Entry

    We only get one life, and some of us are born into unfortunate circumstances. You Are Disabled is a platformer where you play as a person stricken with a disability. When you play, a disability is randomly selected form a small list.

    I had more disabilities planned, but I couldn't get them working well enough in time.

    ~DISABILITIES~

    Crippled
    Nearly Blind
    Spastic
    Illiterate

    ~CONTROLS~

    Space/Z = Jump
    Arrow Keys/WASD = Move
    Down/S = Talk and Read

    View Cory Martin's journal. | View all entries by Cory Martin

    Ratings

    #23Innovation(Jam)3.78
    #25Mood(Jam)3.94
    #33Graphics(Jam)4.37
    #45Overall(Jam)3.79
    #67Theme(Jam)3.52
    #69Audio(Jam)3.61
    #191Humor(Jam)2.67
    #208Fun(Jam)3.03
    #1571Coolness22%

    Comments

    Colorvade says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:17am

    Great atmosphere and humour from the crippled character's perspective.

    travislucia says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:12am

    Saddest game ever. I was interested for awhile but crawling around got tiring after awhile. Really great use of the theme.

    vikingpotato says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:53pm

    A great game! Very soulful, with a strong message. Great job

    taocayo says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:43pm

    Loved the game. A good message, great graphics, loved the ambient music and the mood. :)

    Raiyumi says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:20am

    Awesome game. great audio and super polished. Although, at times crawling on the ground became tedious. :(

    Shaun Lebron says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:30pm

    Love the yoshi's island type art and the megaman blocks. I like the message communicated by the disabilities. Glad I could actually go through the game being just illiterate!

    Aaants says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:19pm

    The graphics are great but the content was unsettling, at best. Treading a bit of a line with this one I think.

    ittlebit says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:23pm

    The art style was great it. Unfortunately I started off blind so I had no idea how well some of it was. Very compelling concept that starts to push you towards empathy. Something games certainly need more of. Excellent Work!

    Warzone says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:28pm

    This game is great! I love the style and the random disabilities you may get. But the game is kinda sad though

    Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:51pm

    Great Job! First really unique game I have seen so far this compo.

    Unept says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:18pm

    Nice game. Great graphics, and a game mechanic that can prick you to the core. well done.

    Lacutis says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:52pm

    Great world you created. Really dark. I played through it completely crippled and illiterate. Some of the jumping puzzles are really, really hard.
    Third try was on spastic and there is no way with how hard the jump timing is.

    Good game though!

    rnlf says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:28am

    So sad. But it looks super polished and makes platforming fun even in slow motion. Great game!

    Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:48pm

    Well that depressing!

    Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:15pm

    Great mood, great graphics, pretty good audio. Solid controls, except for the obvious gameplay mechanic ..

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:30pm

    There doesn't seem to be any meaningful gameplay to this. You just hold right and talk to every creature. It's like the entire game is a cutscene and the whole time I was just waiting when it actually starts. "Yeah I get it already, I'm a cripple".

    It's got its fair share of mood, and I guess it's trying to make a point, but there's nothing particularly engaging about this interactive way of conveying it.

    euske says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:34pm

    Technically the game is well made. But I found the message repulsive. You're promoting a (popular and comforting) view that disabled people are those who we should pity, which is actually very insulting to them, and you played with people's emotion. I was appalled.

    SamH says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:37pm

    Nice graphics, nice gameplay, challenging level design (especially in illiterate mode).

    But I'm uncomfortable with the message. I think I did not get it. What should I understand? I'm a privileged person. Did the game teach me anything? Compassion? If I was disabled, as several of my friends are, what should I have felt? Resignation? I'm confused.

    Combine that with the sexual slavery humour (crippled mode) and that's enough triggers to prevent me from recommending the game to quite a lot of people.

    anchurong says ...
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:55pm

    I complete all end. In one scene, I can jump to the top platform and run to the end. Is it a bug? Or it is a design?(sorry for my poor english:)And I'd say it is a good game. I like it:)

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:08pm

    Hey, your game is doing incredibly well on Newgrounds! :p

    anchurong says ...
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:41pm

    I thought this ends are all black but I'm wrong! I got an outcome with the background that looks like rainbow~ In spastic condition. And I find in the 11th scene, I can go back and go on to jump to the end of 11th scence. I think it's a bug:)

    atombrot says ...
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:28pm

    creepy atmosphere, well done :) like it

    Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:09pm

    This is definitely one of the best games I've played this LD. Extremely challenging, but good enough to keep me going till the end (playing as illiterate, at least). And then, that ending...


    SPOILER

    Until the ending, I didn't think this game had anything more to say about disability than "being disabled is hard, yo". (Sure, some people may still need to learn that lesson.) Then I got to the cowled figure telling me that maybe I could read if only I tried hard enough, and the theme hit me right in the gut.

    You take no prisoners with this game. Excellent work.

    local minimum says ...
    Jan 1, 2014 @ 11:53pm

    I've never played a game so slow, nor a platformer without being able to jump. However this is one of few games I've played to the end here. Intriguing to have so much unused level design. Very well made game.

    drludos says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 12:38am

    An very disturbing and original game! 5/5 on "mood", this game is so saddening (I played with crippled and nearly blind)

    FrederickK says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 1:10am

    Cruel and very clever, I loved!

    Tom 7 says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:30am

    Man, that was frustrating, but I'm pretty sure that's the point. I would sure hate to have the movement disorder I had in a world where there are spikes on the ceiling, and it was especially bad when I'd spontaneously go back to the previous room and kill myself. I won, though I think I (unintentionally?) bypassed the last few rooms by going above the level starting on the one with "they are made from the devil". I think this one will stick with me.

    mcapraro says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 6:45am

    really great concept for a game, great job!

    Diptoman says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:32am

    This was really awesome. I played with crippled, illiterate and spastic. The different ways in which the game can be played is interesting, though frustrating. I could almost feel the spasms when the screen shook. I think it conveyed you message well. Plus, the sound effects are really cool. Great entry.

    Raphy says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 11:05am

    Very interesting concept and great approach of the theme! Gameplay is a bit frustrating, but I can understand that it is by design. However, I didn't really like the underlying message of it all.

    Beavl says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:37pm

    Interesting take on the theme. Some mechanics are clever. Solid entry overall.

    mmickyman says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:49pm

    Played it nearly blind for a bunch of time, so it gives me not much to enjoy the art style ahah.

    GFM says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 8:19pm

    Man... this is a hard game!
    The "nearly blind" could be a lot less hard if sfx's volume were based on distance... Then, perhaps, it would be easier to notice when a fire ball jumped near you.

    Great job!

    Xanjos says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:28pm

    Interesting and thought provoking game. I liked how some disabilities can really make things very difficult.

    psychonull says ...
    Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:45am

    One of the best entries I played. It's like a new game every time you start again. But all of them fit together perfectly. You handle very well the atmosphere and make an inmersive experience. How you handle the dialogs and repetitions.
    Though the reception for the message was mixed, I think this game always accomplish the objective of being thought provoking.

    ehtd says ...
    Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:50am

    Interesting game, a dark theme and humour

    patrickgh3 says ...
    Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:21am

    Great atmosphere and theme. Loved it.

    Jan 3, 2014 @ 9:51am

    Great graphics, sound, mood and message.

    goerp says ...
    Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:33pm

    A good mood in this game. And the music fitted the mood.
    I really liked the graphics and it played very smooth.
    Some disabbilities were harder than others. Playing half blind was just hit and miss and was too frustrating for me. Being illterate was so much easier.
    A good amount of content.

    anvoz says ...
    Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:43pm

    Great game, good idea and messages but it's really sad. The graphics was really good too.

    My character was nearly blind at the first try, but I managed to got him as far as the spastic one. I haven't finished the game yet but I think the crippled one may be the only one who can complete this game fully with his patient.

    Jeremias says ...
    Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:42pm

    Fantastic game (one of my favorite entries). You really transformed your message to gameplay (although I don't agree with it). The atmosphere you created with the help of graphics and sound effects make one really discomforting and therefore, your game is not "fun" to play (which is meant in a positive way). Very good work!

    lowcade says ...
    Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:34am

    Great job! I like the style and atmosphere of the game. You work on a good message too. Congratulations.

    yosh says ...
    Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:30pm

    5 stars!

    rincewind_cz says ...
    Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:58pm

    Whoa. Nice concept here.. I like almost everything in this game :-)

    Ludipe says ...
    Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:44pm

    I didn't like the messages in the game and gameplay as a man with no legs is pretty boring.

    I like the artwork, it reminded me to yoshi island.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]