Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 30 days, 15 hours, 59 minutes, 43 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 65 days, 16 hours, 47 minutes, 43 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 28

    December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    A Cup of Christmas Fear - Toby Simone - Jam Entry

    You are a happy go lucky little fellow, minding his own business spreading Christmas cheer and delight when suddenly... An arena appears! Fight to the death against blood thirsty zombie elf (things) who will stop at no cost to kill you in an infinite amount of random levels!

    Controls
    --------
    E - Use killing power, only once per level and may not kill all zombies.

    Enter (in game) - Once you collect three coins, hit Enter to gain invincibility for a few seconds! Recharge your health then!

    F11 - Enable/Disable Full screen mode

    The red crosses are health; picking one up restores a random amount of health up to 50 points. You start with 500 points.
    The coins are collectables; collect enough to gain invincibility (three coins) or to win (??? coins).

    Read the Help menu to re-read the above information, just in lower resolution! ;)

    Notes
    ------

    UPDATE!
    One of the major background tracks now works! Woot! Sorry for the huge download!

    Update 2!
    Added Linux And Mac downloads, can anyone test them and tell me if they work?

    Two of the main audio tracks do not work, and it really ruins the atmosphere. I'll investigate. I still need to create Jars for Linux and OSX.

    View Toby Simone's journal. | View all entries by Toby Simone

    Ratings

    Coolness75%
    #363Humor(Jam)2.00
    #389Audio(Jam)2.35
    #444Fun(Jam)2.37
    #445Mood(Jam)2.34
    #495Overall(Jam)2.39
    #510Graphics(Jam)2.03
    #512Theme(Jam)1.92
    #513Innovation(Jam)2.03

    Comments

    joppiesaus says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:50pm

    Nice! It's a bit frustrating if you don't know how it works at the beginning, but it's fun.

    timtipgames says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:54pm

    Pretty short. Pretty simple. Fun sounds :) If somehow possible, try to avoid publishing with an installer.

    jsjwooowooo says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:57pm

    Gets tough pretty quick, as your character doesn't have many powers, just a struggle to survive until the inevitable death. I was a bit unsure if when I pushed E made a difference...

    Toby Simone says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:44pm

    Oops sorry! I should have made it more obvious that zombies are randomly killed when you use your power up :) It was just way too over powered when you could kill all the zombies in one go!

    Toby Simone says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:02pm

    Also, you have a chance of winning the game, you have to get 12 coins to win. I will probably lower that to 8 to make it a little easier to win!

    Croze says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:47am

    Not bad, simple, but fun. Also I suggest making diagonal movement the same as horizantal/vertical, otherwise you outrun the zombies

    atomic_swerve says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:56am

    I had fun, but the transitions between levels inevitably involved some mutilation. If there was a slight pause to let the player get their bearings, that would at least make it feel more fair :)

    stvr says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:59am

    A bit confusing, especially at the beginning. With the countdown, this may have made more sense for the last jam?

    HeroesGrave says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:08am

    Downgrading to the jam to get the audio working was worth it for you!

    Best audio I've heard so far.

    OnlySlightly says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:38am

    Neat simple game. Liked the blood splatter effect

    Fenixin says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:04pm

    Fun, simple, hard.

    Misses some more animations or change in background.

    I love the sounds and music, it really makes the mood!

    Nichii says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:12pm

    The game is a bit addictive, and fun. However, the audio is just eerie and the game is hard to understand at first. On the bright side, I like how the game is simple yet fun.

    Venks says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:23am

    This is the 3rd death filled Christmas themed game I've come across. But anyways good core though its a little buggy.

    johnfn says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:38am

    Sound doesn't seem to work on OSX :(

    Nice and simple concept but fun. Pretty tough though, once there were a certain number of zombies, it becomes really hard to avoid them!

    Toby Simone says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:40am

    @johnfn Thanks for telling me! I'll work on a fix :)

    I wanted to make the game tough so you would come back for more to try to beat your (low) high score ;) I think many games that go on forever where you try to get the high score (Doodle Jump comes to mind) are fun, but after a while they get old because eventually getting that top high score is such a pain! With this game I wanted it to be harder to win so it's much more of an accomplishment when you do get a new high score!

    Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:33am

    Good sounds and visuals. I like the 3 coins = invulnerability powerup mechanic, though running from zombies got repetitive as I ended up kiting them in circles around the edges of the level. Red screen on low health was a nice, chilling touch.

    LD_LAN_Party says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:43am

    It was hard to get away - otherwise decent.

    Toby Simone says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:17am

    Should I decrease the zombie speed?

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:30pm

    It was some fun, Did I only get one life? I wasn't sure but it was fun.

    Toby Simone says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:32am

    @ParaPup Yes, you only get one life! Thanks for the feedback :)

    cappelnord says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:38pm

    The near-death red mode was cool!

    mcapraro says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:31pm

    Interesting a fast game play. it might be nice to have a tutorial or slower monsters in the beginning just to get you used to the mechanics.

    Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:10pm

    interesting game tubbs, gets hard fast but a fun entry. Well done!

    gene-z says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:03pm

    Interesting and hard keepmthe good work

    HuvaaKoodia says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:54pm

    It's not and untitled alpha. Points for that.

    Extra points for the mood. Really freaky non-Xmas vibes going on.

    The mechanics at play need some work. If I can destroy a random amount of the zombies once every turn, what is the best time to do so? The beginning of the turn, always.
    That's when they swarm towards me and using it later has no positive effect as the amount is random no matter what.

    Another weird gameplay conflict is the fact that I need coins to win, but they can also be used for a short invincibility powerup.
    Why would I ever use the power up then? The game is only going to get harder with time. Better collect 8 coins as fast as I can and leave.

    Also the moment to moment gameplay revolves around kiting the zombies and running in circles. Not very exciting after a while.

    Here are a few ideas:

    -Have the amount of zombies destroyed by pressing E grow over time resetting the value when the power is used.
    -Don't reset everything when a new turn starts. Just throw in more zombies from the edges of the screen.
    -Have the amount of used coins increase the duration of invincibility or trigger a more potent power. (e.g. 3 coins -> invincibility, 6 coins -> destroy zombies on touch/make them attack each other/become invisible/etc..)
    -Winning could be tied to survival (20 round to go!) or just scrapped completely (a little bit of winter depression eh!)

    DanielSnd says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:44pm

    Simple, short game.

    Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:16pm

    Simple game, but well done. Its sort of addicting as well :P I included it in my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ncqRBKI10A8

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]