Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 79 days, 5 hours, 21 minutes, 16 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 28

    December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    SHIFTER - Atmospherium - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A game of squares, music, and heartbreak. And ice sculptures.

    You only get one chance to determine which direction you go, and the music will take you there.

    View Atmospherium's journal. | View all entries by Atmospherium

    Ratings

    Audio4.42
    Coolness90%
    #19Innovation4.06
    #22Overall3.99
    #25Mood3.91
    #63Fun3.67
    #106Graphics3.87
    #142Humor3.25
    #649Theme2.60

    Comments

    dbro says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34am

    A WINRAR IS YOU!

    dcolgan says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34am

    Wow that was a full multimedia experience! You had it all. Loved the humor and the audio in general. 5 stars overall.

    lightsoda says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:36am

    Good job overall, nice game.

    JayProg says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02am

    Awesome game. Loved reading the little stories.

    Bogden says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:53am

    Amazing game! Everything was great! Definite 5 star, although I couldn't see the theme. You really get to redo directional choices as many times as you want.

    phi6 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:18pm

    Amazing beats, I love it. Good job not putting perma death into this - I like the exploration aspect!

    PapaGrimbles says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:19pm

    Great work, was a fun and sensory filled experience.

    timtipgames says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:20pm

    A fantastic audio visual experience. The only thing that, in my opinion, the game would benefit from would be if less try and error was involved.

    d_0o_d says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:21pm

    A really cool atmosphere. I had hoped for a little more intense puzzle, but the music and the story were great!

    occash says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:28pm

    Very nice... good graphics!

    edrache says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:22pm

    I really LOVE this. Why Audio rate has only 5 stars??!

    pighead10 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:08pm

    Really fun, great music, great atmosphere, and funny storyline. Nice how you synced the audio with the graphics.

    Nick Weihs says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:10pm

    Awesome! Music was baller and the story was really fun to read as you were going through

    Anachron says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:23am

    Nice graphics and music, like an interactive piece of audio-visual art.

    TaleLore says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:24am

    Very cool graphics!

    Bloated Hippo says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:22am

    I loved it!

    runsintowalls says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:14am

    Groovy

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:44pm

    Our guy loved the music with the system of drive, the only thing I would change would be the option of keeping the prescionada key and move straight to the investment of having to confirm my direction after reaching a base.
    Great game

    megaelliott says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:55pm

    I really like this game :D Soothing and fun at the same time! Reminds me of Thomas Was Alone! Stellar graphics and audio!

    Team Techno says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:57pm

    The game was very good, I really like the idea. A bit difficult and I think it may need a bit more instruction to help someone get playing. Overall, a good game.

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:25pm

    AMAZING game! I really loved the audio and the "story"! Also, congrats for the programming! Very cool, congratulations!

    johnfn says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:23pm

    At first I was confused with the controls, but I got over it and enjoyed the game a lot. The graphical work you did here is really awesome, makes me want to switch to Unity ;-) Very solid work overall.

    Jellycakes says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:37pm

    Pretty fun, I liked the story as well. The music made it all the more enjoyable too. Really good job!

    zkenshin says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:22am

    A really solid entry, great job!

    veiadoida says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:27am

    i had so much fun with this one. really nice concept and really nice game. good job! :)

    loggs2 says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:19am

    Really fun and interesting game. The music was awesome and I really liked the flavor text.

    CNIAngel says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:21am

    Great game. Really love the music and how it tried into the gameplay.

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:41am

    Cool story mechanic and tie in with the music makes it a really nice experience.

    AtomicVikings says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:37pm

    Great game, the audio really compliments the gameplay and graphics. :D

    TheMaster99 says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:42pm

    Very fun experience, and great story! Going to play the post-compo now, in hopes of more of SHIFTER's life story! Well done!

    ChuiGum says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:56am

    I absolutely loved it! Love the music, the graphics, and the game itself! Job well done

    ian_snyder says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:08am

    Very nice entry, I like the mechanic and going with the audio always works wonders :) Good job!

    Diptoman says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:08am

    Couldn't find the use of theme, but it was otherwise one of the best experiences this LD so far. The beats were sick!

    ThatGuy says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:47am

    Great presentation of the story, made flowing between the blocks mean something, while also giving direction when you hit a dead end. Great work!

    Pomb says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:04am

    Cool :) I didn't get the theme integration, great story stuff happening, I couldn't tell if the story was tied into the direction i was going, so negative things were said when I went towards a dead end? Pretty awesome stuff :)

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:30pm

    Not much variety in this one, at least there was the story to read. Extra graphics point for having indications for the path.

    Patacorow says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:30pm

    Neat game ! I loved the sound and the effects,
    But to short :)

    tobbez says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:59pm

    Liked the story, the music is nice, graphics are nice the gameplay is lacking a bit. I think you should try focusing more on your strong points as it is gameplay take too much focus while pushing the other things to the background.

    Nelien says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:47pm

    Shifter didn't like this game. Of course he wasn't jealous or insecure about his entry. Do you doubt his story?

    Loved the whole thing, watched Jellycakes play it so the story was a bit spoiled, but was still enjoyable :)

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:22pm

    Looks gorgeous :) Could use a few more levels and a power ups and all kinds of building on top of it. Very nice.

    DanielSnd says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:43am

    My first impressions on your game :D
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4JoFvC2Rj3k

    ViliX says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:02pm

    Great music and innovation!

    Managore says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:43am

    Really interesting idea! I like it.

    local minimum says ...
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:10pm

    Nice work with audio and mechanics. Sometimes one had to wait a little for the square to get its queue to send the player away. A small comment on that note. While waiting it didn't seem like there was a chance to regret/override a direction given. I think that would have been nice. Maybe also some indication about the proximity of the target circle. Some examples could be visually pulsing out a light every other beat, or auditory by letting it be the audio source for one of the sounds. Just a thought. Anyhow a really nice little game.

    f7f5 says ...
    Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:54pm

    I loved the idea, the visuals and the music! With some more work on the gameplay, you're in the right direction. Good job!

    sahoskins1 says ...
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:50am

    very impressive entry. My only real issue with it is that it could do with a bit more guidance at the start but trial and error still gets you there. Well done on a very well presented effort.

    SoumyaXeored says ...
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:23pm

    Great game!

    aviktorov says ...
    Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:45pm

    Nice visuals and story. I also like its vibe and rhytm. Well done!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]