Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 20 hours, 30 minutes, 11 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 20 hours, 30 minutes, 12 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 28

    December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Speck - gman1012 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    An Little Existential Journey

    Move With WASD
    Exit With ESC

    The (Fixed) Version Fix A Minor Bug In The End Of The Game Which Makes The Ending Confusing. If You Want To Rate The Originals Instead, Please Go Ahead.


    Music Made With Sleeping Dragon Radio Forever

    View gman1012's journal. | View all entries by gman1012

    Ratings

    #34Mood3.86
    #85Audio3.50
    #339Overall3.20
    #475Innovation2.95
    #498Theme2.86
    #750Fun2.48
    #789Graphics2.30
    #1305Coolness39%

    Comments

    torcado194 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:29am

    pretty neat! kinda goes against the theme though, in a way. oh well, very atmospheric

    Cezel_ says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:29am

    The music was great and the feeling ehile playing! :)

    Cezel_ says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:30am

    The music was great and the feeling while playing! :)

    jillytot says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:30am

    I like the emptyness of it, and how sparse everything else.

    gman1012 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:34am

    Yeah, I agree torcado94. I started out with the theme more in mind, but it snowballed in a different direction.

    whiteknife says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:35am

    I felt like you did get across a sense of isolation, so if that's what you were going for you definitely succeeded. That said, a game about isolation feels a bit...empty.

    gman1012 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:38am

    I was definitely going for a sense of Isolation, but really I was just trying to get something out at all because this is my first time doing LD.

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:00am

    Tells an interesting story. It felt a little odd when the game ended (it was rather sudden, and after the speck separation I didn't initially realize that's where it ends), but cool none-the-less.

    gman1012 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:18am

    There actually was another message that was meant to play before the explosion. But I accidentally put them in the same event and so it disappears before you can see it.

    loxo says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:31pm

    You made something very interesting, but sadly there is not much of a replay value. The calming atmosphere is great. I like the concept behind it and played both version, because I was curious what's different. I think the original version is better, but maybe it's only because I played it first.

    Microfrog says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:43pm

    Really neat take on the theme. I haven't quite seen anything like this before. For some reason, I was half-expecting some kind of shocking twist where it turns out all the dots are planets or dots, I don't know why. XD

    Kep says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:44am

    I liked it. Simple and compelling.

    Well done.

    dray says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:24am

    I really like how you bend the theme. the experience is interesting, helped with good music and i like to create some kind of organism. if the others cell had personnality it would be cool to have all those thoughts confusing yours. Nice work!

    digihacker says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:26am

    A neat game. Very little resource, very good atmosphere =D

    madflame991 says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:30pm

    It's a very artistic approach of the theme. The atmosphere is mysterious and calming; it makes you keep on playing.

    Gamelabbers says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:21pm

    I like the minigame of making your own shape with the specks :)

    ratboy2713 says ...
    Jan 1, 2014 @ 4:00pm

    Couldn't play, screen too big for my laptop.

    Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:58pm

    Great stuff -- great mood, controls.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]