Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 75 days, 12 hours, 52 minutes, 15 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 28

    December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    0RBITALIS - AlanZucconi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    0RBITALIS is a game about defying gravity. With just one click.

    === FULL VERSION ===
    0RBITALIS is now a full game. Try it on Early Access at http://alanzucconi.itch.io/0rbitalis .

    == CONTROLS ==
    - Move the [MOUSE] to decide in which direction to push your satellite. The dashed line indicates its predicted orbit.

    - [CLICK] to launch it. You only have get one shot: use it wisely.

    - [F] Enters in fullscreen mode. Only available for the Windows version.

    == LINKS ==
    - Web: www.alanzucconi.com/extra/0rbitalis/ld48
    - Windows: www.alanzucconi.com/extra/0rbitalis/win/0RBITALIS.zip
    - Source: www.alanzucconi.com/extra/0rbitalis/source/0RBITALIS.rar
    - TIGSource DevLog: http://forums.tigsource.com/index.php?topic=37774.0

    == TWITTER ==
    If you liked the game and want to know more about its future updates, follow me on Twitter at @AlanZucconi .

    View AlanZucconi's journal. | View all entries by AlanZucconi

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #14Overall4.07
    #34Fun3.81
    #41Innovation3.93
    #60Graphics4.06
    #61Mood3.69
    #231Audio3.04
    #235Theme3.36
    #641Humor1.93

    Comments

    Andrew Adams says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:03am

    I really like the different levels of difficulty, but wish it had more levels. Good job!

    Calahagus says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:07am

    Awesome little game! I'm having plenty of fun just goofing around with this.

    BeardoGames says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:07am

    Beautifully atmospheric! Works just as well as a serious strategy game as it does a casual game. I'd love to see it on mobile someday just so I can play it from anywhere. Fantastic!

    cdgugler says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:08am

    This is pretty cool, really interesting idea.

    SilentBunny says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:08am

    as a fan of numerical methods this game tickled my fancy

    madjackmcmad says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:11am

    Looks and sounds great. Easy to try, fail, and try again, and it feels awesome to get it right. Good show!

    Samsturai22 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:12am

    Loved it! Great idea

    RedPanda says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:12am

    This is simple, genius and amazing!

    tklovert says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:13am

    Beautiful game.

    DavidErosa says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:13am

    I really enjoyed your game! The visuals are great, the mechanics are wonderful and the path prediction is really helpful. It only lacks a nice and dark soundtrack!

    Thanks for your game!

    By the way, you know you have a mobile hit there, don't you?

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:15am

    @ Andrew Adams:
    I with it had more levels as well! :-) Unfortunately I ended up wasting 12 hours on a failed prototype... I wanted to do a procedurally generated thing, but levels were either unsolvable of all the same! :p I'll try to add some in time! :-)

    ittlebit says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16am

    This was really well done!

    sensenmann666 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16am

    very interesting and entertaining

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16am

    @ Calahagus
    @ cdgugler
    @ madjackmcmad
    @ Samsturai22
    @ RedPanda
    @ tklovert

    Hey guys, thank you! *_*

    cbear_wallis says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16am

    Another great game by a great developer!

    DanielVF says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:18am

    Very fun. Now I'm back to playing it some more.

    Moist says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:18am

    Brilliant execution, great atmosphere. It calls for mobile version!

    cbear_wallis says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:18am

    Another great game by a great developer!

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:19am

    @ BeardoGames
    @ DavidErosa

    I am not an expert of mobile *cough cough* I barely have a phone! :p But it seems that you're right! I'll try an AIR port. Even thought... the game will probably be TOO SLOW! :(

    I know. I kinda wanted to have proper music and sound. But you know... there's not sound in space! :p :p :p

    Thein says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:19am

    Interesting concept, great visuals, simple controls. Great job!

    TimKeenan says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21am

    Lovely, very addictive.... just one more go ... :)

    vrld says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:23am

    Wow, this is an awesome game! Graphics are beautiful and the mechanics are fun! Only drawback: How is the game related to the theme?

    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:23am

    I adored this game.
    It feels good and it looks good, couldn't ask for much more.
    Well done!

    EatThePath says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:24am

    Really neat to see this pop up, as it's quite similar to an idea I've been toying with for a non-LD game for quite some time. I recognize some of the star names, but not all, are they all in some way based on real stars?

    It does feel a little like the physics are working in ways that are subtly wrong to me, but that may be me at fault and not the game. Had a lot of fun once I got used to it, and love the sound and visual design.

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:26am

    @ Thein
    @ OhFiddleDiddle

    Thanks! :)

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:27am

    @ SilentBunny
    HAHAHAH MEE TOOOO! :-) My first prototype was about ODEs and how you can affect the long-term evolution of the system making one small change in one single point! :p It failed miserably though! :D

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:29am

    @ vrld

    In the game you can only give to the satellite one push! I have to say that Gravity (the movie!) kinda inspired me on this. There are few scenes in which they have to "launch" themselves and once they're floating... it's all about the gravity. :-) You only get one shot: use it wisely! :D

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:31am

    @ EatThePath

    The equations to calculate the gravimetric gradient are perfectly accurates. Planets usually follow circular orbits, rather then elliptical ones. Unfortunately there are some inaccuracies and frame-rate issues that make the simulation not-perfect. Have you noticed that sometimes the dashed prediction changes? It shouldn't do that, since gravity is completely deterministic! But... meh. :p Damn approximations! :D

    madlee says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:37am

    Just excellent, well done!

    DaanVanYperen says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:45am

    I'm in love with the visuals. Great work!

    arkeus says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:01am

    Very very cool visual style.

    WojWorks says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11am

    Intriguing. Simple to play but it presents a very complex system of movement. good job.

    Chris Mondok says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:20am

    I really like the graphical style, and the simplicity.

    ENDESGA says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:34am

    Wow, awesome art :)
    Very nice!

    adnzzzzZ says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:40am

    Pretty decent idea. Simple to play and understand and nice to look at. Good job!

    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55am

    Very Amusing.

    Dooleus says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55am

    Great concept and visuals. Would have liked some music.

    Loren says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55am

    Played through the set, fantastic game! Everything about it was great. Thank you so much for putting this together!

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:01am

    @ madlee
    @ DaanVanYperen
    @ arkeus
    @ Chris Mondok
    @ ENDESGA
    @ adnzzzzZ
    @ PsychedeliCanary
    @ Loren

    Thank you! :p It's 5am here. I better go to bed hehe! :p

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02am

    @ WojWorks

    Well... I take the credit for the coding, even though all the movement is just... ... ...gravity! :p Thank you, Newton!

    haveric says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:32am

    Took a while to get used to, but once I understood what was going on, it became pretty fun.

    conormn says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:37am

    This might be one of my favorate games ever...
    Crazy good idea/job. Really.

    cBit says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46am

    I really liked this game. It's interesting to see how many different ways you can finish each of the levels (if only there were more!). The graphics and the audio are really good and fit the "spacey" theme. My one gripe with it is that if you fly past a planet too fast, you are able to see the "line" estimation of your path. Apart from that, it's the best game I've played so far!

    benedict says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:48am

    This is an absolutely fantastic game. One of the best Ludum Dare entries I've ever played.

    jillytot says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:54am

    Its not loading for me, saaaad face.

    caranha says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:10am

    Oh man, this game is fantastic! I had a ton of fun with it. The feeling when you actually manage to get a stable orbit is awesome. The sounds (even the white background noise) fit perfectly.

    I got as far as the galaxy in the main screenshot :-)

    One thing that I would suggest is a menu where you can pick previous levels to play again in any order.

    Cheers!

    Bogden says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:15am

    Very fun!

    junt74 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:37am

    Great game!

    Piat says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:45am

    Ah, is there ever anything as fun as gravity. Amazing polish and great fun.

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:46am

    It was amazing I spent a few minutes absorbed in the gameplay and just couldn't want anything more then what I got.

    Xezko says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:06am

    This is pretty neat! It took me awhile to understand it at first, but that's probably due to my lack of sleep. A very relaxing game nonetheless.

    Juno Nguyen says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:26am

    Awesome! But a bit too hardcore to be enjoyable and able to get far.

    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:39am

    I like this a lot. It looks nice and the sound are wonderful!

    xk says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:16am

    Looks incredible!

    embero says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:28am

    Got to Beta Crucius, yay. I really like this game mechanic.

    ThatGuy says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:58am

    Very fun journey through the galaxy. The difficulty in some levels makes finally achieving stable orbits feels so satisfying. Great work!

    ApoorvaJ says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:14am

    Blown away by this. Brilliant execution.

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:19pm

    @ haveric
    @ conormn
    @ benedict
    @ Bogden
    @ junt74
    @ Piat
    @ ParaPup
    @ Xezko
    @ Juno Nguyen
    @ xk
    @ embero
    @ ThatGuy
    @ ApoorvaJ

    Thank you! :p It starts to be hard replying to each one individually! XD

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:21pm

    @ cBit

    Ohh, I know! This is also why the game is so slow on old machines! Predicting gravitational gradients is computational expensive! Thus, I am making some approximations. Plus, there are small inaccuracies due to round errors end non-constant frame rate. But I like to see that the red trajectory "changes" a little bit sometimes! :-p

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:22pm

    @ caranha

    I didn't really have time to make a proper start, ending and menu hehe! This is why levels are just... looping! :p But yes, that's something I al definitely going to do in a post-update! :D

    nicotuason says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:40pm

    I don't think I've ever played anything quite like this. I'm in love with the interface, so many beautiful lines. I love the orbit prediction lines and the gravity field lines. So jealous of your maths.

    Hypnohustla says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:50pm

    One of those games that makes me jealous. :) Getting the satellite to perfectly orbit a planet/meteorite feels really satisfying. The sounds could have used a bit more oomph but still the best game here I've played so far. Great job. :)

    Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:07pm

    I'm loving this! The added challenge of timing your launch just right is brilliant.

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:09pm

    @ nicotuason

    Hahah thank you! :p It actually took forever to make the maths working properly! Predicting gravitational gradients is so expensive because I have to simulate two seconds of system evolution. 60 times per second. :p

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:14pm

    @ Hypnohustla
    @ OriginalBigDan

    Thank you! :p I was playing in my mind with this gameplay for such a long time! :p I'm glad I had a chance to implement it! :D

    LatFoued says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:19pm

    Absolutly amazing work, the gameplay and the mood are fantastic.

    Msquirrel says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:32pm

    Really liked this one, good idea mate!

    meek says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:05pm

    Amazingly well made. Can't believe you've made this in 48 hours! Well done.

    feizenbara says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:48pm

    Best game I4ve seen so far, and probably the closest one to the Theme. Graphics are incredible too. Congratz.

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:49pm

    @ LatFoued
    @ Msquirrel
    @ feizenbara

    Thanks! ;p

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:50pm

    @ meek

    Actually... less than 48! I wasted 12 hours on a prototype that didn't led me anywhere! :p

    etabubu says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:15pm

    It looks and feels really good, a lot of fun. Would have loved to seen more innovation with the theme. Overall though, great job!

    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:22pm

    Beautiful! This is a very fun simulation. I think, though, that it doesn't do the theme great justice: any arcade game is a "one-shot" deal by default.

    Still, graphics gameplay and fun: and its web based!

    Katamori says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:43pm

    I've seen a post about this game while creating, so now I'm damn interested in trying it out!

    After first level: HOLY CRAP, IT SERIOUSLY HAS GRAVITY! I CAN ALREADY FEEL WAY TOO MUCH AMOUNT OF FUN IN THE AIR!

    I shouldn't rate graphics in a 48h game that has such precise physics, but I1m gonna do, because it's not even ugly!

    great 5 overall for me! In every aspects! (okay, except Mood, but that still deserves a 4)

    Katamori says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:49pm

    Wait a minute...!

    Your name was familiar for me somehow, and now I just realized that you are the guy who created that "Tower of Pixel" game I spent hours with!

    Goddamn glad you are back! You are great!

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:59pm

    @ Katamori

    Hahah thank you very much! :-) To be honest, I felt quite bad for the way "Tower of Pixel" ended... :p ...some people spent HOURS to reach for the sky and then... :p ...nothing! XD I promised myself I would have made a proper ending... but then I never did that! XD

    I'm glad you didn't mention AUDIO! :D I had to push everything together very quickly so I didn't have time to put anything more than a simple white noise! But there's not sound in space... let's use this excuse! :p

    Oh, you can follow me on Twitter at @AlanZucconi if you want! :) I am working on another title! :p

    TobiasNL says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07pm

    You deserve this long list of comments, it's a great, solid game.

    Terry says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:12pm

    This is really solid :)

    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:13pm

    Love it, very addicting!

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30pm

    @ etabubu
    @ arrogant.gamer
    @ TobiasNL
    @ Terry
    @ TwitchSeventeen

    Thank you! :p

    rubna says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35pm

    Really great stuff! Especially like the atmosphere and graphics!

    Daniel Debert says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:56pm

    It has something! I really enjoyed playing it.

    Katamori says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:57pm

    @AlanZucconi: I think, rating those categories which are bad either for purpose (Humour) or because of the lack of time (mostly Audio) in not ethical. So I don't rate them.

    Also, I thought endings were good in that game, my only problem was the lack of reset.

    nerial says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:55pm

    Really good work, reminiscent of Osmos.

    anvoz says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:56pm

    Love it. Cool gameplay idea.

    mobyvb says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:09pm

    Awesome! Definitely checking out the source for this game later.

    Masadow says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:59pm

    Newsground is forbidden in Ireland (with three). If you can upload it on Kongregate or else :)

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:02pm

    @ Masadow

    Seriously? I didn't know that! :o

    Anyway, you can check it THIS version on my website! :)

    www.alanzucconi.com/extra/0rbitalis/ld48

    Masadow says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:10pm

    Very nice ! I loved it :)

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:24pm

    @ anvoz
    @ Masadow

    Thank you! :p

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:25pm

    @ mobyvb

    NUOOO! :D DON'T REAAAD IT! :D It's sooo dirty it will drive you crazyyyy! :D

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:26pm

    @ nerial

    I didn't know Osmos! And that's kinda strange, considering that was in the IGF!

    phi6 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:41pm

    This game is awesome! The screenshots don't really do it justice, because the art direction is fantastic in motion. Gravity slingshot games are often boring but this is a fresh new twist!

    CaptainKraft says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:43pm

    Outstanding and clever game. You did an excellent job and I love it.

    Kyle Mac says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:59pm

    Very cool idea. It gets a bit difficult after a few levels.

    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:29pm

    You can create an infinite orbital path on Alpha Centauri, haha. Loved the game, fantastic work!

    joekinglake says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:57pm

    Love this, really great atmosphere, sound and everything. Top notch!

    01010111 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:22pm

    Amazing game, really enjoyed myself. The aesthetic is mesmerizing!

    Pixelulsar says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:38pm

    Really loved it, is a fun and an interesting idea.

    Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:56pm

    Non sei l'unico, ma mi sa che sei uno dei più tosti! :)

    Anachron says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:06pm

    Great concept and cool use of physics!

    rezoner says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:44pm

    Hello winning content

    YsenGrimm says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:55pm

    Great mechanics and neat look, keep up the good work.

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:31pm

    @ CaptainKraft
    @ Kyle Mac
    @ joekinglake
    @ 01010111
    @ Pixelulsar
    @ Anachron
    @ YsenGrimm

    Thank you guys! :) All this support means really a lot to me! *_*

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:31pm

    @ Giovanni Cappellotto

    Haha grazie Giovanni! :) Se hai Twitter... aggiungimi li! :p

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:33pm

    @ thedeadlybutter

    You can theoretically create a stable orbit in *almost* every level. Alpha Centauri, Canis Majoris and Sagittarius A* have such a gravitational pull that it gets closer to a real solar system. :p And of course, orbits are almost perfect there! :) Anyway, you can always click to go to the next level! :p

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:33pm

    @ rezoner

    Haha thank you! :p Now I'm blushing! XD
    I had a go with your game and it seems quite deep! ;p

    KunoNoOni says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:10am

    WOW! Best game I've played so far! Awesome job!

    zconnelly13 says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:22am

    Wow, this was seriously great. It was a bit unintuitive at first, but after I took the time to start to figure stuff out it was very enjoyable :) certainly one of my favorites so far XD

    Sean Noonan says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:53am

    Not really my cup of tea, but I appreciated how well made it was and it's consistent aesthetic.

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:30am

    Amazing!

    angelk says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:42am

    Oh man this is awesome! Extremely well executed. I like the gameplay and the atmosphere. Well done!

    chiguireitor says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:51am

    Nice game, keep up the good work

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:37am

    Wow.

    Just wow.

    Such an innovative and well programmed game. I had a blast with this. The only thing missing is better audio.

    Would love to see this expanded.

    GREAT GREAT JOB

    Vladp995 says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:25am

    Very nice gravity simulator, I'm curious how you made the prediction path, since I noticed that I't changes on the fly, maybe the further the prediction the less accurate it is?

    finefin says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:16am

    sticks to the theme, looks and feels awesome and is a great game overall. congrats!

    bitserum says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:46am

    Nice little puzzler. Easy to make a mistake and sometimes hard to figure out the right course of action, but since every action is quite short it doesn't get boring or annoying. I like it

    strong99 says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:40am

    I'm Always a fan of orbiting things. Nice and challenging!

    xrm0 says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:00pm

    Great game

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:15pm

    @ KunoNoOni
    @ zconnelly13
    @ Sean Noonan
    @ KWL_TW
    @ angelk
    @ chiguireitor
    @ finefin
    @ bitserum
    @ strong99
    @ xrm0

    Thank you! :-) I am working now on new content, so hopefully there will be new levels and mechanics soon! :D

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:21pm

    @ Vladp995
    @ bitserum

    You can have a look at the source code if you are curious! Even though I must warn you: IT'S SO DIRTY! O_o

    I have a function that evaluates where an orbiting planet should be at any given time (it's fully deterministic, no simulation is done here). At every frame I evaluate positions of all celestial bodies from now to two seconds ahead. Then, at fixed time intervals, I calculate gravitational vectors and predict orbitalis' acceleration accordingly.

    Is quite expensive because it's a simulation within the simulation. Orbits are not calculate perfectly because I assume a constant framerate during the prediction (values are interpolated). Plus, there are inaccuracies due to value approximations.

    However, I like sooo much the "uncertainty" that you can see when steering around a star... approximations are worse with high speed, and this gives to the game a feeling of "we don't know yet". :p

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:45pm

    @ SonnyBone

    Unfortunately I didn't have time during the competition to make some proper music! I decided to go with the "no-sound-in-space" excuse! :-) I hope to put proper assets soon though! :D

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:24pm

    Nice work!
    This game really awesome and break my mind =)
    Simple and genius!

    nka says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:29pm

    Very fun and aqtmospheric. Awesome details. Just perfect game.

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:40pm

    love the gfx but had no idea what i was doing.. i either crashed into something constantly or went out of the screen.. could find a way of not doing either ..good job tho :)

    GBolt says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:45pm

    Hard, but interesting. Has a bit of an unpredictability factor, though.

    daredevildave says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:46pm

    Alan, this is ace!

    Great work, so simple in principle, but brilliantly executed and beautifully presented.

    OddballDave says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:51pm

    Wow, this my kinda game. Every aspect is well implemented, and I especially like the graphical style you went for. Good work.

    reecpj says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:23pm

    Very nice work

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:45pm

    Very nicely made game good art style and interesting gameplay. Only thing I would say is it would be good to have the instructions in game but other than that, a great game! Well done.

    BradleySmith says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:59pm

    Really well designed, definitely the best game I've played so far. :)

    alcorrius says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:19pm

    Nice game. Good job!

    Kayelgee says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:26pm

    Hte gravity proportion between the different bodies feels awkward.

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:00pm

    @ SaintHeiser
    @ nka
    @ howieV (binarygirl)
    @ OddballDave
    @ reecpj
    @ BradleySmith
    @ alcorrius
    @ Kayelgee

    Thanks! :p
    I hope you'll enjoy the new contents, when the next update will be released! :D

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:03pm

    @ GBolt
    @ Kayelgee

    The simulation is not perfect and the prediction is affected by the current framerate! However, I like the consequence: the faster you go, the less accurate you are! In a way, is quite closer to the reality and keeps players "attached" till the end! :D

    Bodies are out of scale. Totally out of scale! :p Of course such systems would collapse if planets were so big! :D

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:04pm

    @ daredevildave

    Thank you! :D Don't make me feel guilty for not having used Play Canvas! :p

    JaJ says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:24pm

    Great concept! Fun to play and original. Really liked it. Some atmospheric music would have been nice.

    Zhrack says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:27pm

    Epic game! Good concept and levels!

    daredevildave says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:41pm

    Next time Alan, next time...

    Nisshoku says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:33pm

    Cool graphics with nice attention to detail. The silent background (with some noise, I think?) was really fitting.

    van noctar says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:32pm

    I like the path of objects and the shoot movement, the gravity is really excellent!! I like it!

    Nikteddy92 says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:37pm

    EPIC.

    xhunterko says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:03pm

    Very cool!

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:30pm

    Really great game. Love the aesthetics.

    It took me some time to understand how it worked, but instead of being frustrating it was a rewarding process.

    Only, the game seems to freeze once in a while, I am not sure if it's intended or if it's flash or my PC. Kinda annoying.

    Great game overall!

    omaha says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:37pm

    Nice use of 'fuzz' in the backing audio, gives it a really nice atmosphere that fits with the whole vibe. I found the audio "smash" noises that happen after you've won the level annoying - maybe have a different sound once it no longer matters if you've hit the target? But nice one, would love to see more levels!

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:02pm

    Very pretty graphics, and a fun game mechanic. Took me a while to get the hang of it, but really rewarding. Congrats!!

    Coblynau says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:11pm

    Great concept, and great use of audio to reinforce the concept!

    Kimau says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:23pm

    Played it for almost a solid hour great fun.

    Though it doesn't feel like it fits the theme and I'm almost certain I've played this exact game multiple times in the LD gravity theme.

    recursor says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:53pm

    What a wonderful little game! Great atmosphere and a lovely idea well executed.

    Keith Evans says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:34pm

    beautiful art and really atmospheric sound. good use of the theme. Even with the prediction dash I had a little trouble planning my path.

    AaronGordon says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:16pm

    Love it! Simple mechanic but engaging and challenging. Awesome use of minimal graphics which really supports the space theme.

    glovecat says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:00am

    Very fun and original concept

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:09am

    @ JaJ
    @ Zhrack
    @ Nisshoku
    @ van noctar
    @ Nikteddy92
    @ xhunterko
    @ omaha
    @ BrothersT
    @ Coblynau
    @ Kimau
    @ recursor
    @ Keith Evans
    @ AaronGordon
    @ glovecat

    Thank you! :p
    I really appreciate all those feedbacks hehe! :)

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:10am

    @ MaTX

    Yes, there is actually a nasty bug that freezes the game sometimes. Is very unlikely to happen and... is related to the library that draws the dashed line. It ended up in a loop, but I haven't had the time to dig properly into it! XD

    raisedmedia says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:39am

    Awesome game.

    Colorvade says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:06am

    Quite fun and a fresh idea to boot. Great job.

    Chaoseiro says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:17am

    Playing with gravity/physics is always fun, at least for me :P
    nice graphics and nice set of levels!

    MrTedders says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:54am

    Amazingly well done game, gratz on a job well done. Only thing is maybe a slightly better representation of power? That might just be me though

    Nelien says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:25am

    Finished it -- really well executed. Particularly impressed with the predicted paths. Are you using RK4 for integration, or just good ol' fashion Euler?

    Ghost Pixels says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:31am

    Excellent entry and true to the jam theme!

    Halfire says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:37am

    Loved the use of real star systems, very interesting game to play! However, the orbital mechanics feel a little .. incorrect. They seem to almost ignore velocity and mass relative to one another, but it's all excusable as artistic license, this game is glorious :)

    Diptoman says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:52am

    Dig the graphics and the atmosphere! Otherwise wonderful as well! Do continue working on this!

    Aaants says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:49am

    Really great entry. Possibly my favourite so far!

    Sylence says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:02pm

    I love games based on gravity. And yours is one of the best I ever played in this category! Really great work

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:21pm

    @ raisedmedia
    @ Colorvade
    @ Chaoseiro
    @ Ghost Pixels
    @ Diptoman
    @ Aaants
    @ Sylence

    Thank you! :-)

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:25pm

    @ Nelien
    @ Halfire

    Weeeell.... :p I am using neither of them! My prediction is actually a FOR LOOP to simulate future trajectory in advance. I know, I know, is crazy. But is very accurate also because I might use in the future planets with slightly different type of gravities. So it helps A LOT! :-)

    Gravity is dealt in two ways. The way planets orbit around stars is completely fake. At the moment they are just doing circles. And I put them where I liked them. They ignore mass, gravity etc. The REAL gravity kicks in when you lunch an orbitalis, and then you can actually see it's moving according to planet masses. Usually planets have a mass equal to 2 times their radius, and 4 for stars.

    Enneract says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:44pm

    I think this my favorite game the Ludum Dare so far :D

    Jhelle says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:03pm

    Amazing presentation, feels very polished!

    Tyu says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:23pm

    The atmosphere, the gameplay, the sound, everything works very nice!

    scoobyben says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:19pm

    Nice one! I like how you get to see the first part of the orbit before you launch, stops it being ridiculously hard

    Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:22pm

    Count me as another gravity/orbit game fan. This is the second one I've tried from this Ludum Dare. It feels great. I managed to get a pretty stable orbit around Sagittarius B which turned into something pretty after a while:

    http://imgur.com/oXvBalX

    You did a nice job on the orbit prediction visualization. It was the right length to make sure you wouldn't hit anything out of the gate and it gave you the "oh no oh no OH NO" moment when your perfect path became a perfect collision course.

    The antigravity sources were a nifty addition. I'm not sure I've seen those before. They were a little less fun to play with because they usually added a lot of unpredictability. Flying over to an antigravity body usually made your trip shorter, not longer. But they extended the possibilities for level design, which is good.

    It would've been cool to see an overview of all the stars at the end of the game.

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:36pm

    @ Enneract
    @ Jhelle
    @ Tyu
    @ scoobyben

    Thank you! :)

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:38pm

    @ mize_VS_mildmojo

    Whoa! :D That's a nice orbit! :D I'm wondering how long will it be stable... :p ...the evolution of these systems is very unpredictable in the long run, often because there are inaccuracies and approximation errors that sum up until they break everything. :P

    I am working on lot of new things for the next version of 0RBITALIS. There are asteroid clouds, comets, elliptical orbits... :p ...and some other things that will REALLY make the difference in terms of gameplay! :D But I can't spoil anything yet hehe! :D

    Nazariglez says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:47pm

    Lol nice game, i love this physics!

    JoeManaco says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:51pm

    Great concept and execution.

    Jgpicatoste says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:17pm

    What a relaxing experience. Congratulations.

    aviktorov says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:20pm

    Super! Gimme more!

    Jishenaz says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:37pm

    Best gravity game and simulator! Sometimes it hard to aim when your mouse is outside the game's screen, but that's a minor problem.

    Lipedal says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:42pm

    Really entertaining. I played it a lot, even being kinda laggy in my computer.

    GarethIW says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:53pm

    At first I thought I was too dumb... but then I made my first orbit and after that the game just pulls you in. Great job!

    Carduus says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:34pm

    Very nice entry really !
    Totally fan of it, the game i have play the most at the moment !
    I need to know how you draw those elliptic arch with the physics, it's awesome (and i need it for my game :D )

    severus says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:18pm

    This game is AWESOME! I really love that simple graphics and move paths (btw, how did you do that?)

    Pol says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:23pm

    These graphics are simply gorgeous holy shit D:

    MaxguN says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:32pm

    I liked this game, kind of mesmerizing. Good job.

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:24pm

    @ Nazariglez
    @ JoeManaco
    @ Jgpicatoste
    @ aviktorov
    @ Jishenaz
    @ Lipedal
    @ GarethIW
    @ Carduus
    @ severus
    @ Pol
    @ MaxguN

    Thank you! :p

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:25pm

    @ Carduus

    I draw the orbits by calculating where planets are going to be in the future. To do this, I'm just using Newton's law! :p

    somepx says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:04am

    Beautiful gameplay & graphics, an excellent entry!

    Idovoodoo says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:11am

    Oh wow, this is one my faves so far. Really clever idea. Well done :)

    javifugitivo says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:17am

    Really nice concept!

    _zulli says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:59pm

    Great job! I've loved it. Really addictive, spent a good amout of time playing it! Really cool! :)

    If you have time, please consider rating my game! I would really appreciate it!

    Flyinpig5 says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:03pm

    Nice mechanics but it got boring after a while

    squibbons says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:12pm

    One of the best entries I've played so far.

    Threef says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:22pm

    There is no way to end movement after finishing level?

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:24pm

    @ somepx
    @ Idovoodoo
    @ javifugitivo
    @ Flyinpig5
    @ squibbons

    Thank you! :-)

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:24pm

    @ _zulli

    Done! :p

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:25pm

    @ Threef

    If you ended up in a looping orbit, just click when the red cursor appears and you can skip to the next level! :-)

    ocmu says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:33pm

    Absolutely perfect. Usually when I play one of these really great LD games, I want to give a little bit of feedback on how it could be even better. For this one.. maybe some background music..? that you can turn off... that i'd probably keep off while I played.. Great game, good work!

    Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:54pm

    Simple, beautiful, satisfying and calming. This is amazing. Great work!

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:55pm

    I played through all the levels. Very nice and addictive game. One of my favorite games so far. The visuals fit very well, like the sound effects. Very good job - I have nothing else to say!

    OtherAlexy says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:05pm

    Really entertaining and cool.

    soy_yuma says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:35pm

    Excellent game! I'm a physicist and this game deserves all my love <3 <3 Good job!

    Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:37pm

    This. This is my favorite so far. Beautiful, cleanly executed expression of orbital and launch mechanics as puzzle game. So cool. Splendid work!

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:09am

    @ tripleVisionGames
    @ Jeremias
    @ OtherAlexy
    @ Reverend Speed

    Thank you! :D

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:10am

    @ ocmu

    Hehe unfortunately I didn't have time to make any music! But I am working on a new post-compo version... :-)

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:11am

    @ soy_yuma

    Thank you! :-) Have you ever seen Star Trek Generations? I *LOVE* the scene when they are in Stellar Cartography and shows how they can trace the movements of the Nexus ribbon according to gravity. I guess that inspired me a lot! :-)

    tomc says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:11am

    Wow this was really fun!

    huhwhozat says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:45am

    Damn you 7472 Kumakiri! I must have made swiss cheese out of all your planets by now! I felt the audio was a bit too crunchy for the rest of the aesthetic.

    erebusman says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:17am

    Really great game play ; it has a bit of the addictive quality of Angry Birds in being simple to start but difficult to master. I definitely think I 'lost' rounds sometimes but it sent me to the next galaxy ; allowing the player to repeat lost galaxies would probably feel better for a real game (although I imagine you made it the way you did due to the ludum dare ' you only get one')

    Venks says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:04am

    Not exactly my kind of game, but definitely one full of innovation with great use of theme.

    yosh says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:43am

    Nice entry! Even though the concept has been seen before, you still managed to make the game look pretty and fun. Good job ;)

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:35pm

    @ tomc
    @ huhwhozat
    @ Venks
    @ yosh

    Thank you guys! :D

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:37pm

    @ erebusman

    Aaargh! :D I knew someone would have mentioned Angry Bird at a certain point haha! :-)
    Yep I am trying to think of a menu that is not invasive and is well integrated with the game. Maybe menues will be level as well! :p

    cappelnord says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:00pm

    Challenging and beautifully executed game. I predict a good placement for this :)

    Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:36pm

    Now this was really cool! I love the concept of keeping your probe in orbit, I did pretty well too... all that Kerbal Space Program practice I think! :)

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:26pm

    @ unusualcadence

    Haha thank you! :D You're the second one from the Kerbal Space Prorgam! XD

    koe415 says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:38pm

    Wow. Simple game play complemented by great visuals! I have to agree with others here: this game is made for mobile!

    Techblogogy says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:27pm

    Nice visuals. Good game.

    DanielSnd says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:50pm

    Nice game.

    Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:01pm

    I really suck at this type of game but I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/0DcB_uEEmYE

    runvs says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:36pm

    Whow, for me as a physics student this was really fun!
    I did not like the sounds very much. Some Background music would also have been nice (instead of this ac hum thing).
    Despite these things, you manage to create some mood. The graphics are appropriate and have their own style, which i really like!

    errorage says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:22pm

    Wow, this is definitely one of the best games I've seen so far.

    Bruno Massa says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:27pm

    nice levels. i liked the game, the general mood is nice

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:55am

    @ koe415
    @ Techblogogy
    @ DanielSnd
    @ runvs
    @ errorage
    @ Bruno Massa

    Thank you! :D

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:56am

    @ Jupiter_Hadley

    Ohhh thank you! *_*
    I really appreciate that! :-)

    Gungnir says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:18am

    I wasn't always sure what I was doing, but I was sure I really liked doing it. And looking at it. Excellent!

    Atmospherium says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:27am

    I really like this type of game, and your execution of it was really strong. You found some good ways to make the puzzles challenging yet solvable. Good work!

    nSun says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:24pm

    Highly interesting. Personaly, i'd like to have some side informations on each system (gravity, periods, velocity, apoapsis...). Some data to try to find stable orbits after finishing the game.

    PEBKAC says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:35pm

    Enough content, concept worked nicely.

    Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:08pm

    hard, fun, great mechanics and great look!

    SiENcE says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:44pm

    Great to make a newton based game! On the first student-semester we had to code this too. Great work!

    gre says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:50pm

    What a concept! Awesome graphics too! congrats!

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:37pm

    @ Gungnir
    @ Atmospherium
    @ PEBKAC
    @ kristoffer zetterberg
    @ SiENcE
    @ gre

    Thank you! :D

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:40pm

    @ nSun

    All the planetary orbits you can see in the LD48 version of 0RBITALIS are made out of... perfect circles. The main problem is that those systems are not in scale, so generally they are too unstable to support stable orbits for a long period of time. Plus, there are inaccuracies and approximations and the simulation makes some changes to the way gravity works that I am sure will make it almost impossible to use already developed techniques to achieve stable orbits. :p

    Some systems however, like Canis Majoris, are made "in scale" and you can see how easy it is to achieve stable orbits with them! :p

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:47pm

    I am a physicist and I approve this game.

    NightShadow0 says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:57pm

    This is brilliantly done, i like just watching it orbit about even after completing the level. One of my favorite entries so far, great job!

    Shaun Lebron says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:54pm

    Very neat use of gravity. I think the range of trajectory certainty conveyed by the fading paths.

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:29am

    @ Jiggawatt
    @ NightShadow0
    @ Shaun Lebron

    Thank you! :D

    lightsoda says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:20am

    Nice little puzzle game, it's more fun as a toy I guess, since you don't have that much influence over the outcome. Simple audio, good graphics.

    Kvisle says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:16pm

    Interesting mechanic and a nice entry. A little bit hard to master the mechanic, but it's not because there's anything wrong with the design.

    A great job on the graphics, too.

    I like it, and I feel it's complete as it is. Thumbs up.

    pele says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:57pm

    This game is good. The physics are awesome, but somehow I didn't actually find it all that fun. It's very well made and I can praise heaps for it, especially being 1-man in 48 hours, that is really impressive. But the fun factor, for me at least, is a bit lacking. I know that's a bit subjective though. Overall this is awesome, congratulations on your awesome entry! =)

    x70x says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:17pm

    I kinda wish that the planets didn't start moving until after you launch. It would be more puzzle-like in that regard, but I suppose this has it's own challenge as well. Very cool.

    tompudding says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:34am

    Wow. Stunning visuals, perfect audio, and an utterly mesmerising mechanic. Amazing

    y2bd says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:41am

    This game is absolutely amazing, everything is integrated so well. The presentation has just the right amount of minimalism as well.

    OneDee says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:24am

    Wow such a simple yet complex game. Elegant.

    Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:50am

    Addictive, simple concept. Good job!

    xerysherry says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:27am

    Great Idea! I love it!!

    Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:23am

    Man your game is a jewel! It kept me hooked until I've beaten it.
    Sometimes it generated strange results, or it felt like it did (probably I didn't understand all the rules, but then they should be told in a tutorial). For example I thought my satellite would crash into the central star, but instead of that it went trough the star and got it's trajectory strangely twisted. I am not sure if the pulsation of the star has some effect over the trajectories? More feedback about the types of the planets, attract/repel, would be nice too.
    Making looped orbit, ellipsis or 8-like was a great pleasure! If you add some kind of score or achievement for it will be a great bonus to the warm feeling! :)
    Also, some Solaris soundtrack-like music would fit perfectly.
    Anyway - a perfect game! Respect!

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:55pm

    @ lightsoda
    @ Kvisle
    @ pele
    @ x70x
    @ tompudding
    @ y2bd
    @ OneDee
    @ auto_suggestion
    @ xerysherry

    Thank you! :p

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:59pm

    @ Denis Chakarov

    Thank you so much Denis hehe! :-) The solar systems in 0RBITALIS are waaayyy out of scale. Planet sizes, for instance, is ENORMOUS. In a scaled system, The sun would be as big as the screen and planets would be like 1 or 2 pixels. In order for the gravity to work properly, orbitalises cannot collide with planets. However, they collide if they enter within 10 pixels from the centre of mass/gravity. This happens as well with stars so you can "enter" inside them as long as you don't touch the 10-pixel-area-of-death. In a way it is as if you were going "3D" OVER the star. In a way, is just a feature-bug. :p

    The other problem you are referring to is called... TUNNELING! If the velocity of an object is higher than 10 pixel, it might "skip" the deadly area. This is what happens close to the centre of a star! :p There are fixes, but in a way I kinda like the unpredictable outcome! XD

    jsjwooowooo says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:44am

    Very fun game, though a bit laggy calculating trajectory on my machine.

    mcapraro says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:57am

    really awesome graphics and mood and i love the mechanic! lovely work

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:07am

    Game completed. This is elegant. Well done.

    nicotr014 says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:58am

    Great job

    DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:08am

    Seen it done before, but still very welcome to see this concept done well :) The field lines were a great touch.

    jimmypaulin says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:11pm

    I loved this game! Setting up a crazy trajectory that turned out to be stable was really rewarding. This brings to life just how hardcore NASA/ESA etc are when sending probes to distant planets - by literally playing this game to work out how to transition using the right amount of fuel etc (Orbitalis V2?!) The serene mood and peaceful sound effects work well. I liked the stability of the integration as well - was standard first order Euler enough btw? Great entry!

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:41pm

    @ jsjwooowooo
    @ mcapraro
    @ lekochen
    @ nicotr014
    @ DDRKirby(ISQ)

    Thank you! :D

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:42pm

    @ jimmypaulin

    Haha thank you! :D Even though I seriously hope NASA/ESA won't use 0RBITALIS to send stuff in space. Or it won't reach space. EVER! XD

    LTyrosine says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:14pm

    Amazing game

    timothyolt says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:07pm

    While many games come out of LD, this game needs to go further. This game has the perfect trajectory to shoot to the top. Would love to see this game with more levels, elements, etc. A mobile port might be tricky, but I would love to see it done. So much yes in such a little game.

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:28pm

    @ timothyolt

    Thank you! Yes, I am working on a very big update for 0RBITALIS! The version I am working on has a proper galaxy to explore with 100 star systems with asteroids, comets, pulsars and nebulae. I am also working on new mechanics, for instance probing missions, landing missions and... well, I can't spoil what's next! XD

    kevinmylo says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:08pm

    Very Cool! Had fun with this game, I think I got pretty far!

    Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:05pm

    Heh, nice game.
    I actually made similar game for LD when theme was exploration, doing solo run back then(now in Jam team)

    http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-16/?action=preview&uid=232

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:59pm

    @ LTyrosine
    @ kevinmylo

    Thank you! :D

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:00pm

    @ teamMightyFingers

    Oh yes, I can definitely see some similarities here hehe! :-) I like the "expand" thing hehe! It took me a while though to understand how it worked! :p But is a nice idea! :D There are probing missions also in the new version of 0RBITALIS... :p

    pLaw says ...
    Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:14pm

    This is a really awsome game. Nice work!

    Tom 7 says ...
    Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:54pm

    This is cool, though it runs pretty slowly on my laptop, which makes it really hard. I got past a few levels with extra patience!!

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:25am

    @ Tom 7

    Sorry to hear that Tom! 0RBITALIS is quite computational expensive, I know! Simulation gravitational gradients for two seconds in the future EVERY frame *is* quite a task! :(
    As you probably notices, trajectories are not always accurate and this is also due to this... I tried to optimise it to get some speed. Unfortunately on old machine it just doesn't run smooth, I know! :(

    jomomomo says ...
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:26am

    Wow that was fun! What a great toy!

    Husky says ...
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:06am

    This is really fun!
    I like your idea :D

    Muciojad says ...
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:27pm

    Cool game, it's challenging. Good job!

    Faust says ...
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:28pm

    Simple but beautiful idea, great job.

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:30pm

    @ jomomomo
    @ Husky
    @ Muciojad
    @ Faust

    Thank you! :D

    BNeutral says ...
    Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:51pm

    Simple and lovely. The simulation could use some tweaking on the numerical analysis part, although I'm not sure how much AS3 can keep up for real time.

    Skoggy says ...
    Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:04pm

    Pretty, neat idea, fitting to the theme.

    joppiesaus says ...
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:10pm

    Awesome game! Very innovative, and fun! :D

    ViliX says ...
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:12pm

    I think you might win this ludum dare :)

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:00pm

    @ Skoggy
    @ joppiesaus

    Thank you! :D

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:02pm

    @ BNeutral

    The way I am using to calculate the gravitational gradients is... a little bit floppy. I tried few approximations to predict trajectories, but they were based on the *real* gravity, not on 0RBITALIS one! XD So, the most accurate way so far is just to... simulate gravity. :\ Is heavy, I know!

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:04pm

    @ ViliX

    Hehe thank you very much! *_*
    So far 0RBITALIS is both the most commented and the most voted entry in the 48 hours competition! ...so my fingers are crossed! :-) I'd love to make a full game out of it and I'm already working for it... so winning would be an amazing push also to find a publisher, get on Steam, etc! :-)

    Anyway, it seems your game is doing pretty well too hehe! :p

    Tex Killer says ...
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:58pm

    Very interesting and addictive!

    stvr says ...
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:38am

    Like a tiny Kerbal Space Program! :)

    afterisk says ...
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:33pm

    A masterpiece!

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:37pm

    @ Tex Killer
    @ stvr
    @ afterisk

    Thank you! :p

    SoundGuy says ...
    Dec 31, 2013 @ 9:30am

    Really cool game and fun mechanics even though very short

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 31, 2013 @ 11:20am

    Excellent entry ! Very innovative and polished ! Bravo :)

    isaacmarco says ...
    Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:32pm

    very cool

    oxysoft says ...
    Dec 31, 2013 @ 6:00pm

    Astounding game, loved the minimalist graphics

    Yoni says ...
    Jan 1, 2014 @ 11:10pm

    I am a mathematician and I loved this game. Great job!

    Tom 7 says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 12:05am

    Played this one again on a faster computer and it is much more fun that way. Ultimately I found it to be kinda random trial and error, and not enough variety in the levels, but it was actually quite fun trial and error. Nicely done! :)

    local minimum says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 12:23am

    The difficulty progression was really good. Played until Beta Cruicus (Or something like that). Really good type of puzzle, simple but very effective graphics. Could of course had a little more sound/music to it. But in all really impressive entry.

    mmickyman says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 10:00am

    Very good job, it's fun even to crash ahah.

    havana24 says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 10:32am

    Cool gameplay! :)

    ashen says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 12:02pm

    Nice game. The mechanic was well done although I felt that it was a little too "launch and hope" sometimes. Maybe a bit more control over the satellite would be be good. Your use of the theme is original and well done.

    Beavl says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 1:48pm

    Solid gameplay, nice graphics, great fitting to the theme. Congrats, Alan! Orbitalis is awesome!

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:29pm

    @ SoundGuy
    @ lotusgame
    @ isaacmarco
    @ oxysoft
    @ Yoni
    @ Tom 7
    @ local minimum
    @ mmickyman
    @ havana24
    @ ashen
    @ Beavl

    Thank you guys! *_*

    Xanjos says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:12pm

    Pretty addictive game with a really awesome concept. Loved the visual style and the difficulty curve as you progressed was just perfect.

    Grafter says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:27pm

    Cool little game! Well done!

    crockid5 says ...
    Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:44am

    Very well made physics engine and it's very clever the way it predicts the movement of the projectile thingy, nice game! it's a cheap representation of the theme however.

    patrickgh3 says ...
    Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:09am

    Great fun to play around with. Sometimes it felt luck-based that some of my launches worked and some didn't, but maybe I was just doing it wrong. Great graphical effects too!

    Sebastian says ...
    Jan 3, 2014 @ 9:56am

    Wow, what a beautiful atmosphere you've created here! Inspiring aesthetic too.

    Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:06am

    Fun game that looks cool, quite a gem that still have simple mechanics.

    goerp says ...
    Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:13pm

    That's weird. I wouldn't think this was an obvious idea, but this is the second orbital simulator I've seen this Ludum Dare.
    Still very original. Ah! if only orbits in Kerbal Space program were so easy to change.
    It looks very polished (very nice graphics!), simple but good sounds (I would like to have music, but it's hard to have music for a game that you play for a long time, like this one so it's better not to have music than annoying music).
    The different constelations make it also more fun.
    This was fun to do.

    henrykun says ...
    Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:29pm

    Very nice graphics, simple idea and interesting. Great!.

    loxo says ...
    Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:35am

    Nice game, I enjoyed playing it. It took me some time to beat all the levels, but in the end it seems there is not really a progression in difficulty. The graphics are awesome, except the jagged font. And I didn't like the waiting between failed attempts. But nevertheless it's an addictive game.

    Lukasinho says ...
    Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:21pm

    Very interesting and original idea. Great game :-)

    Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:39pm

    Fantastic, I played through every level.

    supremefist says ...
    Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:24am

    Amazing job!

    rincewind_cz says ...
    Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:47am

    Wow, this is really cool. Good job!

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:31pm

    @ Xanjos
    @ Grafter says
    @ crockid5
    @ patrickgh3
    @ Sebastian
    @ oskardevelopment
    @ goerp
    @ henrykun
    @ loxo
    @ ukasinho
    @ themachinestarts
    @ supremefist
    @ rincewind_cz

    Thank you! :D
    Fingers crossed for tonight guys! XD

    Elforama says ...
    Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:02pm

    Great game, I had a lot of fun. I even got into a perfect orbit!

    taocayo says ...
    Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:13am

    Normally these type of games are not my thing but this one is very good. The color scheme, retro sounds and beautiful and tasteful animations won me over. Definitively one of the best overall.

    Would have liked to try a bit slower and trickier levels where the goal is more about attempting to predict the path. The current gravity system makes me feel is simply unpredictable.

    Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:48am

    Beautiful and challenging. Exceptional work for a compo.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]