Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 7 hours, 20 minutes, 0 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) ]


    Ludum Dare 28

    December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Last Chance Supermarket - Sebastian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Last Chance Supermarket is an exhilarating shopping experience, with death lurking around every aisle.

    The game involves madly rushing around the shops late on Christmas Eve, trying to purchase a few special things for the big day. You only get one chance a year to really show your family how much you care, so make sure you get everything on that list! Try not to buy too much extra stuff though as money is tight and your wife is fussy about clutter! Above all, however, please don't get yourself killed by a speeding shopping cart...

    Use your mouse to steer the shopping cart around and sidle up to the things you wish to purchase, whereupon pressing the spacebar will pop them into your trolley.

    I hope you'll forgive my rather 'loose' implementation of the theme this year round, the idea is there, but certainly no definite 'You only get one' mechanic. Unless you want to count the fact that you only get one trolley?!
    Regardless, I hope you have some fun with it - certainly was a blast to make.
    Now excuse me while I tumble into bed, I'll be back in the morning to play your game, if you leave a comment that is :)

    Here's a gameplay video:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XuccZLD_92g

    Here's a behind the scenes video:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0A358Lc2lCk

    View Sebastian's journal. | View all entries by Sebastian

    Ratings

    Fun4.29
    Coolness85%
    #6Overall4.15
    #6Humor4.25
    #22Innovation4.05
    #41Mood3.80
    #59Audio3.58
    #134Graphics3.78
    #478Theme2.92

    Comments

    fullmontis says ...
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:34pm

    Heh nice! It is way more fun than I tought it would be. The music makes the whole thing very dramatic.

    CaptainNakou says ...
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:46pm

    All my team love you. That was really fun to play xD.

    BradleySmith says ...
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:58pm

    This is so much fun and really smooth to play! Good work, will rate this highly! :D

    Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:07pm

    This is great!

    Cryunreal says ...
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:13pm

    it is a really fun!)

    Spacemyname says ...
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:38pm

    This is really fun! I have played it at least 20 times already!

    yugillaume says ...
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:57pm

    Expected this to be less fun than it is! Great work!

    Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:32pm

    this is awesome

    Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:32pm

    Really funny. Also lots of fun! Awesome game.

    Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:37pm

    hahaha VERY FUN. really great nice!

    Robinerd says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:23am

    - Stunning graphics(almost can't believe you did all that in 48h)
    - Dramatic music fits perfectly
    - Funny concept
    - Laughed out loud at the death screen
    What else can I say? You got me!

    MRvanderPants says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:23am

    Graphics, animations en sound are all amazing! And OMG shoppingcard accident?? I lol'd so hard haha

    juaxix says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:10am

    Haha, so fun , didnt have time to check code but looks like people are avoiding each other to not crash but also have a force to keep searching for what they need to buy, this is fantastic :)

    TheCams says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:12am

    Ahah, great idea, great game !

    ossah says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:31am

    Lol. Loved this! Great fun and great humour! I spent so much on stuff I didn't want!
    Loved the music/effects too!
    One of my favourites so far.

    Chompson says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:33am

    The only thing it's lacking is the ability to pick up items from dead people.

    DST says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:06pm

    This is pretty fun! :D

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:25pm

    AWESOME hahahahah! :D
    This reminds me I have to go to Tesco! :D

    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:14pm

    Pretty neat game, and the graphics are awesome, especially considering that you made it within the 48h + gamecode.
    It was very nice to see how you got the music get more dramatic mixing it with a piece of LoTR OST.
    As you pointed out, the theme wasn't really in place. But I had some fun crashing my cart around the supermarket.
    Congratulations.

    qbicfeet says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:48pm

    Oh boy, best game of LD28 so far! I love it, going to bookmark this so I can come back to it later.

    It's just a shame it doesn't have any direct ties to the theme.

    xk says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:58pm

    OH GOD THIS IS AWESOME!

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:32pm

    omfg, this game is so friggin cool

    Jilt says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:43pm

    Oh my god this is so cool, I just spent a perfect time thanks to you ! I played the game almost 15 times before managing to finish it haha
    Definitly love it.

    LatFoued says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:41pm

    Very fun game, it was pretty addictive to make the first full shoplist. Good job.

    Sebastian says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:41pm

    Thanks guys, I'm pleased you're all enjoying it so much ;)

    Lacutis says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:42am

    Great game. It gave me a list a few times that I couldnt complete like needing 10 printers.
    Impressive amount of modeling done for the time frame.
    The crashes are hilarious, as are the dead bodies.

    conormn says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:24am

    Really tight game. Great job!

    Integershift says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:47am

    That was awesome! Some of the music sounds like "Hes a Pirate" from Pirates of the Caribbean though....

    rottenmage says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:16am

    Nice! Seeing the shoppers crash into one another makes me laugh so much XD.

    meek says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:48pm

    I must say this is a fantastic game! The idea and execution is brilliant! It has made me want to try using Unity :)

    udo says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:20pm

    This was amazingly fun, thank you! :)

    ACE says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:21pm

    i like it i ended up bursting out with laughter when i crashed sometimes

    joppiesaus says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:25pm

    I am laughing so hard on this game right now! It's just awesome! Sooooooooooooo fun!

    Atmospherium says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:50pm

    Awesome game. It's easily the best shopping cart simulator I've ever played.

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:52pm

    Bro u did this!! I had the same idea for the previous LD, but I failed. You rock!

    explosivose says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:00pm

    Great game!

    dudsen says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:33pm

    I literally played a gazillion times until i managed to get all items. Somewehere inbetween i freaked out, because this $'*! grabbed the last printer available in front of my eyes. At this point, i tackled the others on purpose :D
    But i managed to check out once, it only cost me about 8000 quid. Best buy ever.

    You really managed to nail down this chaotic feeling of christmas mayhem.

    5 stars from me.

    BTW: Thumbs up for the music and sfx as well ;)

    Jellycakes says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:42pm

    That was a really fun interesting idea. The constant death around me was pretty hilarious. Really enjoyed playing this, nice work!

    eternalmajin says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:43pm

    Absolutely amazing. I hoped for a way to take out other shoppers to recover items that they were out of on the shelves. Those jerks took all my planes!

    mcgraw says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:06am

    Super well done! Great work!

    allinlabs says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:45am

    Impressive game and clever response to the theme

    Anshul Goyal says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:48am

    haha. this is funny. running over dead shoppers ... lol

    stvr says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:09pm

    Yes. This is amazing. A roguelike shopping sim? I love it. There's so much strategy that emerges as you learn what's in which isle, keep an eye on your list while watching out for other shoppers, etc. And then there's the thrill of narrowly avoiding a crash at the last minute! My only problem was that items were getting garbage collected that I needed to buy :( Also, it seems like it would be possible to crash into a cart that spawns right in front of you, but I didn't experience that. This is definitely in my top 10 for the compo!

    recursor says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:21pm

    Very well done game. I enjoyed this very much. Great job on all the blender models!

    drkrunk says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:22am

    This was a ton of fun to play! I really liked the chaos, actually feels that way while Christmas shopping, honestly. Great job!

    jsspiegel says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:01am

    Super fun and unique, although a bit hard :(

    cesisco says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:05pm

    This is very funny, and in the top of that, is really well made.

    ehtd says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:54am

    Really cool game. Make a PvP!

    mcapraro says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:39am

    really fun and funny concept, great job executing it too!

    LTyrosine says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:31am

    Amazing idea, amazing game! A lot of detail for 48 hours of work.

    Zerkruemler says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:18pm

    I like it, I like it, I like it!
    Hey this is cool. All these ridicilous details are fantastic. Also the dramatic music is fantastic.
    I didn't make it to buy everything needed, but hey: Better alive and spent a lot of money on unneeded stuff than died in a shopping cart accident.

    mmickyman says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:30pm

    Funny and enraging in the same time. It's one the best I played here.

    mmickyman says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:34pm

    One more thing : that final screen slow-mo animation is amazing.

    Zephyr89 says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:47pm

    This game is too funny. However I did find find that some of the text didn't fit the screen on my MBP.

    zkenshin says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:03pm

    Really well done entry, very enjoyable. :)

    Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:49pm

    Really nice game ! The graphics are amazing, animations too. The gameplay is smooth, funny idea. I had a great time playing your game. Wonderful work !

    michail says ...
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:07am

    Great game! Very hard to beat, but the final satisfaction was absolutely worth it. Sometimes there are less items on shelves than on my to-buy list, but that adds even more drama to it :)

    Sebastian says ...
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:30am

    Thanks everyone!
    @michail, the game ensures at the start that there are enough items to complete your list, but then it's up to you to rush and get them before the bots do ;)
    I wanted to have some way to fight the bots for items they had pinched, trolley jousting or whatever!

    local minimum says ...
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:45pm

    I had absolutely no chance completing that list, but I'm also one of those who don't celebrate Christmas (in part because of exactly this insanity you show here)... Superb little satire.

    ViliX says ...
    Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:28pm

    This was so fun to play. Just can't see the theme connection :(

    UltraRat says ...
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:47pm

    The serious ragdoll on crashes makes me laugh.

    Clavus says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 8:22pm

    Lovely game. Hilarious idea and good execution :)

    van noctar says ...
    Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:52pm

    Yeah! Very amazing! I'm fan!

    grumpypixel says ...
    Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:51am

    This game is fantastic, good work Sebastian

    BradleySmith says ...
    Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:01pm

    This was soo much fun! One of the best entries I've played so far, rated very highly. :)

    xhunterko says ...
    Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:14am

    After a few play throughs of dying and randomly running into other customers, I'm done. Moves too quickly and leaves much to be desired.

    Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:39pm

    Absolutely incredible <3 Rated highly and such great graphics! Incredible for 48h!

    Rother Games says ...
    Jan 7, 2014 @ 6:24pm

    My favorite game!

    SK16Games says ...
    Jan 8, 2014 @ 4:44pm

    Amazing game :D It was so fun, and had a very nice concept :) The graphics were very good too, and overall it was a fantastic game 10/10 ;D

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]