Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 3 hours, 51 minutes, 57 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 3 hours, 51 minutes, 58 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 28

    December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Rude Bear Resurrection - Alex Rose - Jam Entry

    Prelude: THIS GAME CAN ONLY BE COMPLETED ONCE. ONLY ONE PERSON IN THE WORLD CAN EVER SEE THE END.

    Rude Bear Resurrection is the fourth game in the hit Ludum Dare series of Rude Bear games. It is a pseudo multiplayer game, where everyone in the world has an effect on the game world.

    In this Rude Bear adventure, Rude Bear must enter the Wizard's tower to defeat him. However, he will have to get through lots of difficult areas, facing giant spinning death lasers, floating skulls of doom, giant wind tunnels, and so on.

    As Rude Bear progresses, he has the option to press switches. These switches will permanently open easier routes (and also inform everyone that you were the hero who opened it). However, if you are consistent at a hard area, you might choose /not/ to press switches, so other people can't get ahead.

    Remember, only one person can ever win the game.

    When you die, you leave a corpse with a message. Your corpse will live on after your death. Other players can walk on your corpse and use it as a shield, use it to press buttons, get an idea of what dangers lurk ahead and so on.

    You might choose to leave a helpful message on your corpse. Or you might just choose to leave angry profanities. To read other players' messages, hover over the corpses.

    You can also burn corpses in the way with your fairy companion.

    Hypothetically, if it were possible to turn Super Saiyan in this game, hypothetically of course, you'd be able to double jump in midair. Not that you can do that. Not that there's a transformation sequence at the last boss. Totally not. That totally doesn't happen. Totally. But if it did, double jumps, fyi (and your mega aura would be an indicator of your health).

    There are two sections to the tower, one that requires platforming finesse, and one which requires everyone to band together and drop corpses like it's 1939. Or.. some other analogy.

    You'll be pushed to your limits. Meat Boy style. Except without super tight physics. So, doom essentially. As in, you are doomed. Not Doom.

    Also, since the game didn't fit #NOKILL, the optional theme, #OVERKILL persued instead. Brace yourself for horrible deaths.

    Who will be first to the roof, who will defeat the wizard, and who will find the real secret of the tower?

    Could it be you?

    Brave the tower while you can. You only get one.

    Code/Music/Blah by Alex Rose @Vorpal_Games
    Badass pixel art by Antony Dewar @Panttts

    Also, this is the first Ludum Dare since I released my first game, Rotation Station. It's free on Android and iOS, and I spent over a year on it, so go get it now. /shamelessplug

    View Alex Rose's journal. | View all entries by Alex Rose

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    Innovation(Jam)4.35
    #16Theme(Jam)4.00
    #21Overall(Jam)3.96
    #36Humor(Jam)3.72
    #41Fun(Jam)3.69
    #63Mood(Jam)3.60
    #121Audio(Jam)3.37
    #289Graphics(Jam)3.14

    Comments

    Dmitrix says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:52am

    The controls are a little weird. Reminds me of super meat boy. :)

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:34am

    HOOOOOLEEEEE CRAAAAAAP this is amazing.
    Awesome, awesome, awesome idea with the 'only one can win' and the piles and piles of previous players. I played this for waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too long but had to stop. I'll try again later after some other bodies pile up.

    The music is SOOOOO rad.

    RUDE BEAR LIVES ON
    IN MY HEART
    MY MIND
    MY BUTT
    AND STUFF

    The controls are a bit squishy at first but I learned to master the jumps and wall hugs and could zoom through pretty easily but still got tripped up by the traps and doom and murder.

    I LOVE IT

    BEST LD28 GAME SO FAR!!!

    chardish says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:06am

    Very clever and very well-executed. Wondering when it will get beaten.

    TijmenTio says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:29am

    HOT DAAAAMMN
    This shit blew my GODDAMN MIND
    THis is soooo cooooool
    You guys are the Jam winners for sure.
    This game is next gen gaming wassuuuup
    5 STARS

    headchant says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:30pm

    I did not win.

    Hypnohustla says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:49pm

    Nice game! Seeing other peoples corpses added a great feeling of dread. Hope to see more games from you. :)

    ludotrix says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:10pm

    Great music and concept.

    Hypermagical says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:13pm

    Most excellent game.

    I had to set my firewall to let it through before the desktop version worked.

    blay09 says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:19pm

    I love you.

    cappelnord says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:26pm

    Pretty innovative! Will come back l8r to see how things progress.

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:15pm

    The idea is really cool. I really laughed as I saw all the dead bears the first time xD

    Do you plan to make a post-compo version? If yes, I would recommend to improve the graphics. The platforming was solid and the music is okay, too. Some sound effects would be nice. Anyway, good job!

    sockfolder says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:04am

    Awesome game. Enjoyably difficult, though almost all the torches were active for me =p.

    mad_maths_man says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:39am

    It looked to me like you activated most of the ones on route yourself. I think I helped you on the first half though - I didn't realise I'd almost got there when I switched to the other route.

    The crashed my computer once - I think it may have been when it was completed. A great idea though, and addictive enough to keep me out of bed two hours longer than intended.

    mad_maths_man says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:40am

    Also, it is possible to fall of the world - you can get a nice view in doing so.

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:09am

    Guys, the cat's out of the bag. The game can actually be complete more than once, there's a cutscene at the end which sort of explains why.

    Note, Sockfolder won the game, and now that means he is the new endboss of the game. If you get to the end of the tower again, you will fight Sockfolder.

    Also, I've started an open leaderboard and a dead bear count. I changed to a php page instead of html to match.

    Here:
    http://vorpal-games.com/rude-bear-resurrection/web.php

    sockfolder says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:08am

    mad_maths_man, I actually went back after I beat it to see to full game. That is why those torches were lit. There were certainly some challenging parts in there.

    Really fun game =)

    Patacorow says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:24pm

    This game is hard. :( Love the concept! Music is awesome too!

    Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:08pm

    That's just amazing. What a cool idea, seriously! I didn't get very far, but I'll surely come back sooner or later to finish the job. :D

    jimmypaulin says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:09am

    Really loving the networked aspect of this, unique in LD and very welcome - if only more games could leverage a server backend etc the possibilities are really great! The graphics were good, I admit I couldn't' really follow the story but he controls felt pretty good -the wall jumping worked well. I tried to get up those platforms that raise and lower like steps for quite a while but failed to progress further - something I was doing caused them to drop? Sounds effects would have been awesome. I didn't see the death messages of any other players - these are for your amusement?!

    eternalmajin says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:17am

    This is awesome. Love the concept and the implementation of it. Great job.

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:21am

    @jimmypaulin Yeah, someone just beat the game so it's restarted. That's why none of the corpses were around when you saw them. There'll be more now.

    But also, yes, they are totally hilarious to me.

    The platforms raise as soon as you go on the left step and you just have to be really quick.

    peacegiverman says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:31am

    Very well done, mate! Brilliant idea and well implemented.

    The only qualms I have are the waiting time in front of the gate and graphics which simply don't suite my taste. The pig guard's dialogue lines are great, though.

    And by the way, thanks for the awesome feedback you gave me!

    diegocbarboza says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:35am

    The controls aren't very good and the companion fairy is kinda annoying, but the game's concept is really nice! Congrats!

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:38am

    Yeah, the fairy is a parody of Navi from Ocarina of Time - it's intentionally very annoying.

    Switchbreak says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:49am

    Awesome. The controls aren't that great, the jump arc is too fast and oddly shaped, but the game concept and some of the level design is just awesome.

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:54am

    This is absolutely incredible O.O

    I love the coopetition you've got going here and the physical corpses that can either get in the way or help you survive are great. Very well planned out and realized. Also love the characters!

    turnA says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:09am

    Cool idea and great implementation! We really need more collaborative games like this :D

    Ditto says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:03am

    This felt so weird, when seeing all the corpses I realized I wasn't going to get far, and sure enough, 30 seconds later I'm spraying blood all over the place. Controls are weird, but I have a reason that is the point^^ Great job, this game should probably win!

    Bcadren says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:48am

    Yay! I won! What do I get?

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:57am

    Wow, fantastic :)

    The keys and softness kind of didn't feel solid enough, but it doesn't really detract from a great game!

    Espyo says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:29am

    Just to point out that I fixed the link on my game.
    Say, yours looks pretty nice as well. I want to play it too, but first, I need to finish waking up entirely...

    zequack says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:23pm

    This game is AWESOME !
    Seriously, I loved it !

    Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:09pm

    The permanence in this is great, wasn't sure what was going on at first as I just dived in and then did a big grin when I realised the corpses all around were of other players! Great idea.

    Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:19pm

    I love the idea, and the execution is quite good, though I had a few gripes that are worth mentioning. I HATE the wait at the entrance for him to lift the gate. It makes dying annoying. I wouldn't mind dying if I didn't have that pause. I know it's not much, but it's very frustrating.
    There was also some wonkyness with dead players (occasionally one wouldn't be where it was last time, forcing me to sacrifice myself, only for that corpse to return the next run).

    Really, though, these are pretty minor gripes. All in all, excellent entry!

    Espyo says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:21pm

    The hitboxes could use some work... I've died from touching literally nothing, just walljumping, three times. And at other times, I died from touching the first laser, that clearly didn't hit me.
    Also the guard could zip it after a while and just open the gate already. Maybe make it so your fairy companion could burn down the gate if you click on it, for those who are in a hurry to try again.
    Other than that, I really liked the entire thing.

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:01am

    @"Remove the guard waiting time" - I can't really do that; it's intentional. If the game ever has a large number of people playing at once, it needs this culling to stop people from e.g. solving the basement extremely quickly alone. There's a 30 second grace period between all deaths.

    With regards to "I didn't get hit by the laser" - it probably happened so quick you didn't notice.

    One thing that could've made you think it missed you is that the laser machine rotates by a fixed amount that isn't a factor of pi every unit time. What this means is that if you are in a "safe spot", you are not necessarily in a safe spot. The laser might go round once and miss you, but hit you next time. That's a problem with the game, and something I could've improved, but I didn't notice it within the time limit.

    However, this aside, it uses Unity's raycasting system. If there is an object in the way, it will be stopped. If you were killed and you truly didn't get hit by the laser, it's a major bug in the foundation of Unity's new 2D tools.

    Dying from touching nothing.. were you very close to a spike? That's really the only thing I can think of in the game that could kill you without touching it (due to me not setting the polygon colliders very well).

    Thanks for the feedback!

    henrykun says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:00am

    Very interesting concept, really. Good gameplay, good soundtrack as well and I like the graphics too. Great work.

    H-Bomb says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:32pm

    The concept is just too freaking cool, I'll play it this week and give it some time before rating it. But wow, this looks crazy.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:38pm

    Nice network game, really difficult to win it.

    van noctar says ...
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:21pm

    Great!

    GarethIW says ...
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:57pm

    Fantastic concept, could definitely benefit from some improved physics, but I can only imagine how tight for time you were on this!

    michail says ...
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:57pm

    At first I was thinking it is just another platformer with quite ugly graphics, but then I realized what it really is.
    The idea and the puzzles design are amazing, I also liked the sounds very much. Great job!

    SnoringFrog says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:40am

    I managed to reach the wizard, but can't beat the section with the rising purple goo. Regardless, I still very much enjoyed it. Awesome concept.

    Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:07pm

    Awesome idea that i hope will be developed more after the jam! The beginnings are a bit too slow after the first time

    Poxymyr says ...
    Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:14pm

    THIS IS THE BEST GAME I COULD EVER IMAGINE IN THIS LD! I Really enjoyed the game, it would be better if you could prevent someone to play it again and again (ban ip him maybe?)

    Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:29pm

    Awesome awesome awesome! Such a cool concept and great that you could implement it. My only suggestion would be to add spawning points, it gets annoying that you need to do the first part again and again, especially since you have to wait for the guard. As you said this is intentional, but I think it would be better to limit the player's lives and replenish them over time (one life every 3 mins or so, 10 lives max). I guess this would be hard to do within the LD time limit though...

    Would have rated this very highly as well if I had seen it earlier ;-)

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Jan 7, 2014 @ 7:45pm

    Yeah this is pretty clever, one of those ideas I should've seen before but haven't for some reason. Gotta love social experiments like this.

    jacklehamster says ...
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 12:38pm

    Hey I just found out about this little gem. Very interesting idea, I like the social aspect. I hope more people play this game some we can pile up bodies and try to finish the game.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]