Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 14 days, 1 hour, 27 minutes, 38 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 28

    December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Save the Keg - LordHellMaX - Jam Entry

    Save the Keg
    by
    Jean-Philippe Cote @_jpcote_ (http://www.onegameamonth.com/_jpcote_) : Code, Model, Level
    Francois Bilodeau (https://soundcloud.com/fran-ois-bilodeau) : Music
    Olivier Sauvageau : Code, Model
    Steve Filion-Leroux : Code, GUI

    Story:
    There's a riot in the town!

    You only got one beer keg left, you need to save it!
    Bring the keg to the drakkar before it gets destroyed by the catapults!

    Hint: You can deactivate the catapults by throwing axes at them, but the axe color must match the catapult's! You can carry only one axe at a time!

    Controls:
    W : Walk forward
    A : Strafe left
    D : Strafe right
    S : Walk backward

    G : Grab/release the cart with the keg!
    R : Reset cart location (when not grabbed)
    F : Pick up an axe from the ground
    C : Drop axe
    SPACE: Throw axe
    ESC: Menu

    Use the mouse to look around

    Note: GameAnalytics is used to get some stats on how you play.

    Credit for 3d models:
    Viking model : Unity Technologies on Unity Asset Store
    Barrel : yughues on opengameart.org
    Cart : cemkalyoncu on opengameart.org
    Drakkar : Viking ship, v2.1 by Bob on Trimble 3D Warehouse
    Catapult: catapult by warfighter on Trimble 3D Warehouse

    Special thanks for brainstorm help and support:
    Pascal Desaulniers
    Maxime Lacroix

    View LordHellMaX's journal. | View all entries by LordHellMaX

    Ratings

    Coolness62%
    #148Humor(Jam)2.89
    #160Theme(Jam)3.13
    #220Mood(Jam)3.00
    #232Graphics(Jam)3.33
    #243Audio(Jam)2.97
    #316Innovation(Jam)2.72
    #324Fun(Jam)2.72
    #360Overall(Jam)2.88

    Comments

    popogames says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:35am

    Cool game, fun YOGO mechanic and nice visuals.

    LordHellMaX says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:26pm

    Thanks! :)

    Coblynau says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:23pm

    It's a good idea :)

    yatan says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:31am

    Nice game,maybe need a more movement speed in some sections and please add a ladder on ship to get out xD

    Lacutis says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:59am

    Good use of the theme, sometimes it was hard to tell when you where going to get hit. Still fun dragging a giant beer keg and dodging cannonballs!

    pkenney says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:56pm

    Good production skills on this, but man those invisible walls really messed me up. I could sometimes walk into the forest, other times not. I'd throw an axe, and not being an expert I would miss, but then the axe would be lost behind invisible walls. Once I got trapped in the woods and struggled against invisible walls to get back to the path.

    Also it would be nice if disabling the catapult had some feedback, sometimes I wasn't sure.

    But great graphical style, nice song, cool idea.

    Nut says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:11pm

    Moving around was very difficult. I managed to get the red axe, get close to the red catapult, and try to throw the axe, but I kept missing I guess.

    The music is great though!

    _zulli says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:11pm

    Cool game! Pretty fun idea! But for me it was really hard to dodge all cannonballs. :P Challenging.

    Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:23pm

    I love the idea, very funny! I'd have to agree, though, that the invisible walls caused a world of trouble (especially since I could not retrieve axes after a poor throw). I also sometimes couldn't tell if I hit the catapult or not, and the only way to find out was to put the keg in danger.
    I think with a few small fixes, it'd be much more fun :)

    jarnik says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:31pm

    Damn, I got so close to the end! :D
    The A/D turning was pretty handy while dragging the cart, but very clumsy during free running (might be better to switch to A/D sideway running + mouse look).
    It felt quite difficult to focus on pressing multiple keys to handling the axes while being shot at by catapults. As the axes were distributed quite far enough from one another, it could be easier to just use SPACE to pickup and throw or drop (if there was another nearby) an axe.
    Therefore a skipped the axes and just kept on running like crazy, avoiding the shots, which got me quite close to the drakar. Fun! :D

    mmickyman says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:46pm

    Funny, even if it's hard to tell when you got an axe with you or when a catapult is down.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]