Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 30 days, 13 hours, 52 minutes, 16 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 65 days, 14 hours, 40 minutes, 16 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 28

    December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    One Chance - Huskitch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    One chance sees you pilot your ship throughout the solar system in an attempt to foil a nemesis's plot.

    P = warp
    K = drop bomb (only when near asteroid or it won't explode!)
    L = explode bomb
    Space = launch tether at asteroid
    C = tug asteroid when close and tether is attached

    I wanted this game to be a fast-paced space shooter at first, but it turned out to be more atmospheric.

    WASDQE = move ship

    Left click = rotate camera
    Scroll wheel = zoom

    May the green square guide you on your travels, soldier.

    Oh and, don't get too close to the planet, because I haven't had time to repair your shields!

    View Huskitch's journal. | View all entries by Huskitch

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #93Audio3.47
    #122Graphics3.82
    #124Mood3.45
    #580Theme2.72
    #632Innovation2.71
    #633Overall2.83
    #719Humor1.74
    #892Fun2.19

    Comments

    Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:34am

    Haha we both picked same game name :p apart from iv copyrighted mine :P

    Moist says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:17am

    I love the spaceship model and the music.

    MRvanderPants says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:20am

    wow this game looks cool, soundtrack fits the game very well too! Very nice!

    Darkcoder says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:21am

    Cool game, it's very serene! With a bit more polish and a less abrupt ending it could be even better. Nice looking planet btw ;)

    adnzzzzZ says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:21am

    I really couldn't figure out what to do other than moving around. The ship model looks really nice though.

    ThatGuy says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:23am

    Though the game is a little buggy (warp drive gets stuck on sometimes, and the tether doesn't always seem to launch, also what's up with the red flare things?), it has some potential for expanding into a larger game. Not many towing large asteroid games out there, could be a cool mechanic to explore further. Anyways, nice work,

    cjacobwade says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:25am

    I couldn't get it to play out as the instructions say. There's tons of potential here, but it looks like you bit off a lot for a 48 hour jam :/

    Robinerd says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:26am

    Really nice music and atmosphere! Not very intuitive controls, would prefer an easier way to throttle and a camera fixed behind the ship at all times. Otherwise good job ;)

    crockid5 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:34am

    I loved the the music, it fit the game so well

    stephan_h says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:40am

    Gameplay was a bit confusing and could use more work / explanation. But i really liked the atmosphere the music and the colours created.

    Huskitch says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:41am

    A few things didn't end up working as I'd hoped, such as the collision on the asteroid and the enemies actually shooting you.. but eh, I did what I could!

    mortl8324 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:45am

    Nice graphics. Difficult game to figure out even with the instructons.

    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:54am

    Tricky game. Amazing atmosphere though! Music fits great, and just floating around in space feels great too. 5/5 in mood.

    Arowx says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:50pm

    Looks and sounds great but why use a side view, sorry didn't get the flight mechanic, possibly due to the camera angle.

    SilentBunny says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:42pm

    I was lost. But space is big and I forgive that. The mood was definitely set with this game

    Huskitch says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58pm

    Arowx, you can rotate the view using left mouse and zoom using scroll wheel!

    phi6 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:24pm

    Saw this game after searching for other space games (I made one too!). Great graphics and atmosphere.

    To fix the green marker bug, I assume you are using worldtoscreenpoint? Hide the marker if the screenpoint.z <= 0 (behind you)

    Anyway, great concept but I was initially confused about the controls. A fixed camera would have been more ideal I think!

    Dynad says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:27pm

    Love the music, atmosphere, art.. controls are not very easy to use. Im trying to fly towards that green box.. But with warp enabled it doesnt seem to get any closer or is it a bug?

    Capitals says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:49pm

    Intresting Game, I like the ship art. But the description was a bit vague and it is never really clear where your headed.

    Capitals says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:50pm

    Interesting Game, I like the ship art. But the description was a bit vague and it is never really clear where your headed.

    Huskitch says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:52pm

    Thank you phi6! That's perfect! Uploaded fixed version.

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:39pm

    hey hey good lookin'

    Atmospherium says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:26pm

    Great mood, great lighting, great sound... The presentation on this is perfect, but I wish there was more depth to the gameplay (but for a 48 hour entry, I can't complain too much). I would love to see what you could do with this without the 48-hour restriction. Great work!

    jillytot says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:56pm

    Feels good man.

    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:30pm

    Great ambient...The space and the music is very nice.

    Cheshyr says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:10pm

    navigation is rather difficult, so I couldn't really complete the mission. graphics and sound track are excellent, and it creates a great mood. well done.

    Nikteddy92 says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:44pm

    Model and music great!
    I've got some problems with the camera...

    Jellycakes says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:46pm

    Was really cool, I liked the flight simulator like mechanics and the space theme in general. Really nice work on the warping and the shockwave. The music was a nice match too, made it more eerie. Good job!

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:54pm

    looks/sounds nice.. i couldn't really get what i was supposed to be doing.. i read the instructions tho..maybe im just daft :)

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:26pm

    Liked the atmosphere, but had a very hard time figuring out exactly what I was supposed to do.

    Toureiro says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:01pm

    Liked the look but loved the feel of the game. Well done.

    MrTedders says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:06am

    Interesting atmosphere you have going, however, it was hard to stay engaged at the beginning.

    ENDESGA says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:33am

    Soundtrack is brilliant, graphics are beautiful! Very nice!

    aviktorov says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:56pm

    Nice music! Your game has very cool vibe, I like that. :)

    Idovoodoo says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:26am

    Love the mood created with this, well done :)

    Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:11am

    Graphics, audio and mood are very nice. I didn't really understand the gameplay, however. I flew to a couple of asteroids, tried to tether, and launch and blew up a bomb and the game ended. I think there's a lot here to work with, just need more polish time. Very nice effort for 48hrs. Continue with it!

    javifugitivo says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:57am

    Grat spaceship!

    funselektor says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:56am

    Cool graphics, haven't played a space game for ages. There were a lot of buttons and it was a little confusing. Very good work on the ship model.

    Diptoman says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:48am

    The controls are painstakingly hard! x.x
    The game needed some more explanation, took some time to get used to. But visuals and overall atmosphere is very nice!

    DJLad97 says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:18pm

    Cool game; loved the WIND coming of the ships wings :)

    Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:12am

    Entirely confused. Possibly worth keeping the controls on-screen for a while - especially worth pointing out the mouse controls. Perhaps you could let the players get used to how to get around - and maaan, that ship could be easier to turn about...!

    Very, very pretty though. Lots of lovely lensflare and the music is suitably atmospheric.

    Venks says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:12am

    I absolutely enjoy the models for the space chips in this game. Fantastic stuff!

    van noctar says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:14pm

    Good sounds and graphics!

    Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:45pm

    Great work, I love space sim ! Nice soundtrack :)

    gnargle says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:20pm

    Wow! Great graphics and atmosphere, incredible that this was made in just 48 hours.

    Tom 7 says ...
    Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:24pm

    I was confused for a while about how to move at all (spoiler: shift turns up the throttle) and then I had a hell of a time finding the asteroid (the green dotted square is very useful but I thought you were talking about the large green rectangle on the screen always!). But then I found it and blew it up with a few seconds to spare. :) Nice graphics and music!

    Skoggy says ...
    Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:12pm

    Very hard to understand what to do really.

    Techblogogy says ...
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:05pm

    Nice visuals, great music. Cool game

    xhunterko says ...
    Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:28pm

    Okay, I tried several times and could not for any amount attach the tow cable to the asteroid. Also I tried to look in it's direction and ow my eyes! This also has one of the most difficult control schemes of any ludum dare game I have yet to play. Very pretty, but fairly buggy.

    burlapjack says ...
    Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:16am

    No wait, I have the copyright on that name! I'm calling my lawyer!


    lol

    Great game, It got better when I found out that you can use the mouse wheel.

    LatFoued says ...
    Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:42pm

    The mood is very good i love it, but i was a bit confused at first with the bomb because i didn't know if it landed on the astroid or not. Good job

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]