Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 22 days, 5 hours, 25 minutes, 3 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 28

    December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Str1ngle - Zanzlanz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Hi!

    Hope you enjoy Str1ngle!
    Feel free to skim the sections below if you're interested :D

    ===== Game stats =====
    - 977 lines of code
    - 4 sweet powerups
    - 3 ball upgrades
    - 3 enemies
    - 10 levels

    It's *really* difficult! Good luck!
    Play it a few times, because over time you'll definitely get better. :)

    ===== The name =====
    Single + string + 1 = Str1ngle!

    Best name I could come up with, haha ;)

    ===== Concept =====
    So the concept is very abstract! You're a tethered wrecking ball, whose rope is being attacked by ninja stars in space! You must defend your one and only rope, for whatever it takes.

    ===== Post Compo =====
    Fixed a dozen bugs, tweaked a couple small things, and added medals for Newgrounds.

    ===== Music =====
    - http://zanzlanz.bandcamp.com/album/str1ngle-soundtrack

    ===== Source Code =====
    - Flash CS5.5 file: .fla
    - 818 kB (Music is commented out, erased ad)

    ===== Beginning =====
    When I heard the theme, I had no idea what to make (as did many of you)! So I started off with 'Just One' rotating box in the middle of the screen. After I attached a string to it, I realized what my game would be.

    ===== Timelapse and Live stream =====
    I live streamed whenever I was awake, on http://twitch.tv/zanzlanz.
    Timelapse: https://youtu.be/19MqTBOCpUE

    I need to thank every one of you who watched my stream, even for a minute. It was quite a party, with over 50 people on at one point!! So thanks so much. And a special thanks to Starry (@StarrylLeaf) for finding a game-breaking bug in the last hour. And also that to Boodog, who also found one (he's the first comment)!

    ===== What the game lacks =====
    - Replayability is low, I didn't have time to add a scoreboard, or even save high scores.
    - Easier tutorial. Would help for people who can't grasp the random concept I came up with.
    - Points-until-next-level meter. I wanted to add it, but never had the time.
    - A lot of other, smaller stuff! xD

    ===== Overall =====
    I'm so happy with this game! I had my doubts at first, but now I love it! It's so trippy and fun! :)

    I could expand upon it in the future, but for now I just want to sleep...

    O_O
    ZZZZZzzzzzzZZzzz

    View Zanzlanz's journal. | View all entries by Zanzlanz

    Ratings

    Coolness73%
    #9Audio4.03
    #12Fun3.95
    #18Innovation4.07
    #23Overall3.98
    #194Mood3.29
    #254Humor2.90
    #309Graphics3.29
    #364Theme3.13

    Comments

    Boodog says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:34am

    Beautiful game, by a beautiful sun balloon!

    Brunodev says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:41am

    Awesome!

    olafsworld98 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:47am

    1 loved it but if i got more time my own would have been better as well. Anyway, this is my first ludum dare game, so others will be much more better(if that's proper English)

    Bogden says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:17am

    A lot of fun! A bit slow paced with level progression though. Would be cool to see when the next level is coming up

    Inso says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:44pm

    Awesome game ! Well done ! Very nice idea :)

    d__adee says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:53pm

    Fun! Screen gets pretty crazy after a while. Pressing two buttons made me to level 3 though, xD

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:30pm

    Thank you, guys! :D

    Good job on your first LD, Olafsworld98!

    I also thought of the next level meter, Bogden, but I ran out of time before it came into priority. A fast-paced game with slow-progression is pretty bad design. I should have changed that!

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:38pm

    d__adee! The screen shaking is too random, I should have put a cap on it. So much to do, so little time! xD Thanks!

    BradleySmith says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:51pm

    Oh man, this is so much fun! xD Rated highly!

    gmfk07 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52pm

    An overall interesting game. It's good that you caught the fact that you could cheat the system by doing nothing. Also, it lags a LOT whenever you get the powerup for me.

    ocmu says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52pm

    This. Game. Is. Great.

    FrozenCow says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:57pm

    Dude, the music, those powerups, the screenshakes and the slowdowns... It makes this game so enjoyable! I have no idea why there is a basketball with a string and stars, knifes and other weird sharp things flying around, but I'm amazed how well this plays. Nice job.

    desmarkie says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:04pm

    This is good fun. Love the feeling of inertia and just enough control to make it all feel right.

    Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:42pm

    Really nice work. Good production value, good playability. Keeps you motivated to keep playing. Excellent job.

    Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:46pm

    Great work! Although one or two stars aimed directly at the centre of the screen making them impossible to dodge. Really fun

    Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:46pm

    Great fun for a bit of a play. I made level 3.

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:12am

    Thanks *everyone* for playing, rating, and commenting! Went off to check out some awesome games and came back surprised to see a flow of comments <3!

    gmfk07, I was contemplating for a few hours on how to make that not an issue! Thanks to some Skype buds for helping me brainstorm! Sorry about the lag. I realized this when I played at school (shh!). The slow-down effect doesn't help in that case, haha! Hope it didn't ruin the game for you!

    FrozenCow! Thank you!! Once I got the idea for it, I knew it had to be very powerful and trippy. I don't know where the idea game from either, and it's kinda awkward to explain to people, haha :)

    Desmarkie, that's exactly what I was hoping for! Thanks!

    SerialVelocity - :D! I did test that before, and you can definitely hit everything that comes at you if you plan a bit ahead :)

    Michcioperz says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:36am

    Cool music, man!

    Alink says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:48am

    Great idea and a lot of good vibes from the execution.

    mrjohnson22 says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:04am

    Sweet game! It has the perfect blend of simplicity and flair to make it really enjoyable to play. Got to level 4, and I'll definitely be coming back for more.

    Adam Tea says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:57am

    Cool idea! Quite fun!

    xaedes says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:37pm

    Amazing example of really fun game with nice physics! The music was really cool. I enjoyed the blurry moving background, I wanna know you made it.

    antila says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:55pm

    Plays well and is addictive! Great music as well.

    ChuiGum says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:57pm

    Very very nice! Awesome for 48 hours, simple but fun! Great Job!

    HeyChinaski says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:00pm

    Nice work! I like the concept. I loved the music, it was fantastic and the power ups were very satisfying. I'd like to know how you generated the (procedural?) trippy background.

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:08pm

    Thanks again, everyone! Your comments are too kind! :D

    Xaedes and HeyChinaski, the background is actually pretty easy! I used Flash's Perlin noise function. Feel free to download the source if you want. But this site has a really cool code generator that makes it much easier to set up:

    http://houseofthead.com/blog/flash-as3-perlin-noise-explained-and-demonstrated-part-1/

    :D

    HeyChinaski says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:35pm

    Thanks Zanzlanz! Will check it out

    Symmeteer says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:50am

    Look!!
    http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/107314069/screenshots/str1ngle.png

    It took me two times to win - first time, I made it to level 8. Had lots of fun.
    I did notice that the game started getting really slow around levels 6-7 when there were more things flying around. It was especially slow when I had the torch + projectile powerups at the same time - I suspect that the high number of particles was the culprit.

    All in all, great job!

    olafsworld98 says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:23pm

    i rated 5 stars for everything- overall and all

    xk says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:50pm

    Trippy!

    zkenshin says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:50pm

    Simple but fun, good job!

    Pixelulsar says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:40pm

    Excellent idea, it was really fun.

    adamwfindlay says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:55pm

    Very fun and re-playable!

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:17am

    Oh boy, more insanely kind comments! You guys rock <3!

    Thanks Symmeteer, and great job beating it in only 2 tries! :)
    You're right about the lag. I wish Flash was just a tad bit faster, haha, because I loooove particles a lot!

    Gosh, that's a very generous rating olafsworld98! Thanks so much :D

    xk - that's exactly my intentions! :3

    nka says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:14pm

    Very impressive! I love this psychedelic background. Awesome particles and slow-mo. Music is just perfect as always in your games. I kinda want this game ported on ios.

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:04pm

    nka, thank you! I do want to make a sequel, improving the overall game play and adding much more content.
    Maybe if I can set it up just right, it'll work well on iOS! :D

    olafsworld98 says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:16am

    three words :awesome, awesome, awesome!

    Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:50am

    This game is beautiful! Radial-controlled games are normally AWFUL because of the springy nature of controls being really difficult to use, but you did a great job countering that with very responsive "overriding" of the ball's momentum.

    I love it. It was really fun. For 48 hours, absolutely amazing.

    nyrrrr says ...
    Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:44am

    good job with this one
    music and easy mechanics and power ups in combination make it quite addictive :)

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:02pm

    Haha I really appreciate you kind comment, TheAdventMaster :)

    And thank you Nyrrrr! I was hoping for that ;D

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]