Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 1 day, 10 hours, 9 minutes, 20 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 1 day, 10 hours, 9 minutes, 21 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 28

    December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    Shine - AdventureIslands - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You only get one source of light!

    Kingdom of Solaris has always been protected by light of holy lighthouse. One day however, the lights disappeared, plunging the kingdom into darkness..

    However, all hope is not lost. One day a young wizard Lucia arrived, and used all her strength to create a ball of light powerful enough to lit the lighthouse again!

    While the orb is very powerful, it's also very unstable. A slightest bump can cause the orb to explode! Lucia needs to use the orb to light her way, while trying to keep the orb intact. Will she be able to end the age of darkness?

    ---

    Controls:
    Use Arrow Keys or WASD to control Lucia. Press down or S to enter doors. R restarts the current room.

    Use mouse to control orb of light. Beware that it explodes if it hits walls, platforms or goes off screen.

    Esc returns you to main menu and skips the intro. M mutes and unmutes music

    View AdventureIslands's journal. | View all entries by AdventureIslands

    Ratings

    Coolness81%
    #6Overall4.15
    #21Audio3.82
    #21Graphics4.33
    #36Innovation3.95
    #36Fun3.80
    #46Mood3.78
    #58Theme3.79
    #409Humor2.45

    Comments

    Nik Sudan says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:17am

    Really well made!

    patricklorio says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:47am

    Great game and use of the theme.

    ObsidianSkin says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:54am

    Very nice game. The light ball mechanic was both entertaining and fascinating. I don't think I've ever played a game much like it.

    aneeslol says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:32am

    Such a neat mechanic, loved it!

    justin35f says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:48am

    Great use of the theme. I'm very impressed at the level of detail and polish that was put into this game. Smooth controls, no bugs (at least that I found), crisp sound effects, nice soundtrack, and of course great pixel art. Job well done.

    Crabman says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:01am

    Wow, this is incrabbable! Amazing work!

    Absurditure says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:02am

    Nice use of theme/mechanics. The light source hitbox felt a bit big at times.

    Sink says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:33am

    Awesome and fun! The graphics and music really add a lot to the mood. Great stuff!

    WojWorks says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:42am

    Great game! The movement of the camera combined with the movement of the mouse can get annoying though.

    GaTechGrad says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:07am

    Controlling the light with the mouse is a neat mechanic.

    mcapraro says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:08am

    wow, what a great entry! this is really polished and well executed. well done! i wished that the orb followed the mouse in real time rather than clicking but overall this was amazing

    Loren says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:22am

    yay! This was so fun, fantastic use of theme. I love the lighting so much

    Xezko says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:19am

    I'm in love with the mechanics of this game.
    Amazing!

    Hypnohustla says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:44am

    You always make the most polished games here... Sweet artwork with a nice and innovative game mechanic. Great job. :)
    I almost got frustrated with some of the later levels, but I managed to pull through. :)

    Stals says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:25am

    Awesome game! Kudos to you.

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:42am

    Well, the gameplay is well made, the art looks nice, it's smooth and polish but damn it's ridiculously hard and frustrating. I got problems with understanding what would kill the light ( everything). It's got a lot of potential, great job :D

    Hemuuuli says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:05am

    This was the most polished game I have played so far in this Ludum Dare. Awesome job!
    This would work really well in handheld consoles with touch capabilities like Vita or 3DS.

    Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:27pm

    Very well done. Quite a complete game for 48 man-hours of work. The music is really catchy. :)
    My only criticism: The orb gameplay isn't really all that fun. Still a cool experience, after all.

    Ongaku says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:51pm

    Awesome game man !

    kulhajs says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:13pm

    Very well put together, great game again!

    rubna says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:15pm

    Loved it! Very slick and very polished!

    NightShadow0 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:19pm

    Brilliant, well done!

    rezoner says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:49pm

    Seriously - one of the coolest idea in platformers.

    Snuti says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:45pm

    Beautiful game!
    Loved controlling the two characters and so much fun, nice job :)

    occash says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:32pm

    I like this game, good graphics and concept!

    Elziniel says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:58pm

    Great game, good thing you don't only get one life \o/

    Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:28pm

    I like the game but i feel game control is hard

    Ted Brown says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:05pm

    Potential "game of the competition." Very strong. =)

    Lokarunith says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:14pm

    realy cool entry! The last level was great.

    _Rilem says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:20pm

    I love this. :) The idea is so simple yet so strong! Sweet graphics also. Very impressive!

    chamberlainpi says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:26pm

    Winner! :)

    It's almost unbelievable how you could of made such an awesome game with great mechanic, art, story idea, all in 48hrs! Nice choice of SFX and music too!

    The level that took me the most time to figure out was the first platforms-on-wheels that moves under spikes. I thought I missed a control or something (like ducking) but sure enough, the light revealed there was a way underneath!
    Well done :)

    Zekyon says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:06am

    Very innovating the idea of control two character!, maybe I lacked some checkpoints, is too frustrating when you are in the end of the level and you fall off or you die.

    However, very funny game, I loved it.

    bitserum says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:58am

    Really well done, i love the use of theme here. The game plays great, and it looks and sounds quite lovely too!

    Colorvade says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:26am

    The 'light in the dark' mechanic used very well. Nice job!

    Sean Noonan says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:58am

    Solid execution of a good idea. Music is great :)

    Ozeotropo says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:35am

    Great game!! I love your pixel art.
    I saw your comment in my game "The Last Rock" about it not having and ending. It has one! Please read my answer there and re-review it. Thanks!

    5elephants says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:01am

    At the beginning I thought this game was not that impressive or original... But then I noticed the level design, which is great! Great job!

    Ozeotropo says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:41am

    About your reply to my last post: It has exactly that: a congratulation text and some other words, but thanks for replaying anyway :)

    PaperBlurt says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:04pm

    Once again you amaze me on what can be done in just a few hours!!

    d__adee says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:30pm

    Nice game! :D
    I like the idea and it's really pretty polished!

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:15pm

    A game in the pure tradition of the Adventure Islands games.
    The orb is a clever use of the theme.
    The autoscrolling levels are a bit nightmarish.

    drludos says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:43pm

    A nice idea and an absolutely outstanding execution! I can't believe you made such a polished, balanced, and fun to play game is two days. Did you actually sleep or eat during the compo? :)

    The level design is awesome, with very good idea (I loved the chariot and spikes level - and the autoscrolling ones are nice too but very very hard). I bet this game will end up in the top game of the compo (and it 100% deserves it)!

    loggs2 says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:19pm

    I thought your mechanic was very unique and interesting. It was really polished and really fun - I enjoyed playing a lot!

    kalth.streil says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:12pm

    Loved it :)

    The sprites blend amazingly and the ball gameplay fits the theme perfectly, while being very original. However, the music is a bit annoying, and sorta makes you want to rush, which is the opposite of what you actually have to do!

    At first it's a bit hard to get used to the ball not being affected by gravity (I was afraid to stop clicking haha), but then it's nice :D

    On the fun side I'd say it's a bit slow-paced for my taste, but still good :)

    Xaychru04 says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:13pm

    Wow, lovely game! The artstyle is awesome, and the mechanic is really original. I didn't managed to finish it yet, but I'm still trying! ^^

    nicso says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:18pm

    As usual -> awesome ^^

    Aaants says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:23pm

    Another great piece of work :)

    Congrats!

    joekinglake says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:45pm

    This is fantastic! Everything is so smooth! I love the audio & graphics and the mechanic is pretty interesting. Fantastic job here!!

    soy_yuma says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:10pm

    This is my favourite so far. You made a great job! Congrats! :-) BTW, the final stage is haaard...

    JaJ says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:17pm

    Amazing concept this time, this is probably the most creative concept you've come up with so far, and with the same or higher quality in the other areas too.

    Great, great, great!

    Markavian says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:32pm

    That was pretty amazing as a game, I really struggled on the final level, but only because the additional skill of moving and controlling the orb at the same time overwhelmed me. Maybe a slower moving wall level earlier on to introduce that mechanic might have helper prepare me, but overall a really fun and well polished game.

    JohnnySix says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:48pm

    Wow, awesome. It was addictive as hell, keep going for one more try, especially the later levels that rely on timing. Great stuff!

    Cawrtz says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:09pm

    Excellent game. The levels are well designed, the art is beautiful, the music is very cool. Nicely done !

    cesisco says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:26pm

    Awesome game mechanic!It would work like a charm with a xbox controller pad.

    kookoon says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:37pm

    Loved the mechanic to coordinate the orb and Lucia.
    Really nice idea, lot of fun, pretty graphics and music!

    Keith Evans says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:54pm

    really good, best game I've played so far. Great job! Really impressive Jam game.

    ResonantCraft says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:22pm

    Solid entry made in only 48 hours. The learning curve is very well handled for a fantastic final level. Kept me entertained until the end. Only one little thing: I didn't expect the orb to break on wood but it is nitpicking. Good job overall.

    Jezzamon says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:30pm

    Amazing that you could make all that in 48 hours!

    But it's pretty rude to show ads to people who are rating your game, see as we're doing you a favour by voting. It'd be better to have a non-ad version for Ludum Dare and then versions with ads elsewhere.

    ninjacharlie says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:41pm

    I liked the mechanic with the light, and how it was limited to the bounds of the world. Nice job.

    dinos says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:42pm

    Very nice game, really polished, smooth controls and great graphics!

    sadiquo says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:51pm

    I spend lot of time on the last level but I win \0/ It was Awesome!

    ambi says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:04pm

    Great game. A little bit too hard for me to finish. The chasing spike block was the one I got stuck at.

    Nick Weihs says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:30pm

    The camera would move the orb unpredictably some times which lead to a lot of frustrating deaths. Really nice art, and good production value. Great job!

    spx says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:24am

    Neat, very "finished" feeling. Also the last level has just the right amount of difficulty.

    goyal says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:08am

    Awesome man. Neat concept! Fun and challenging. Seems quite polished too.
    Great work!!

    stvr says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:31am

    My son and I played this as a two-player game. He did not like the wall of death!

    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:44am

    Great game!

    torcado194 says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:32am

    great as always! loved it

    dznemotion says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:50am

    The best at a moment for me!

    johnfn says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:01am

    Great use of the theme and great concept. Really enjoyable... but really hard D: (is it just me?)

    vikingpotato says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:03am

    An awesome game! Great pixel art, and polished controls! This game would be awesome with dual stick controller too

    Unept says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:09am

    Beautiful game. Love the theme implementation.

    nicotr014 says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:34am

    Really well done. Good job

    Lissar says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:14am

    Great game! Lots of fun to play, and I love the light ball mechanic.

    zebi24 says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:09pm

    Very innovational. Nice use of a theme. All in all a great game!

    zkenshin says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:20pm

    Neat story and simple, yet fun game, good job!

    Christian S. says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:22pm

    Great pixel art, interesting, new mechanics ... awesome!

    Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:27pm

    Awesome entry! Love the idea you got to in the end. Graphics are lovely as usual and this controls really nicely too. Really shows what you can achieve with Stencyl :D

    rogueNoodle says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:20pm

    Really original entry! Hard to find the time to play LD games through to the end, but I had to with this one (although that last level drove me nuts!) Amazing work,seriously.

    Alex Higgins says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:16am

    Freakin' stellar!
    I love how you do so much with such a simple mechanic.
    Only complaint is that the frantic music - as good as it is - doesn't really suit the deliberative gameplay. Otherwise, one of the best entries I've played.

    Adam Tea says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:02am

    Aw this is awesome. I had a lot of fun. Charming graphics and the main mechanic is clever!
    I originally had a one light source game idea myself! Only it changed to be a projectile that is also a light source. My submission is a little rough and buggy but check it out, it's a first person puzzler ala Portal.

    GarethIW says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:27am

    Great use of the theme, good platforming physics and lovely graphics.

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:57pm

    Fantastic game, nice concept, very polished. Was really fun to play and especially the last level was a challenge. But I finished the game. Good job!

    GFM says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:34pm

    Amazing game! It's really fun! :)

    This was really novel! Though I associated it with those analog games of passing a ring through a wire maze, it was really interesting how you made that into a game! =D

    dylanwolf says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:22am

    Neat concept, and the first several levels are very well paced. It's a very polished game. I love the pixel art graphics style.

    Venks says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:19am

    Really like everything about this game. The platforming, the music, the art, the design. It's all top notch. Great stuff!

    The Evil Cult says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:10am

    Been following your games since Tiny Island and this one again didn't disappoint :) Fantastic art, good music, loved the way you put the story into it, and a very unique and cool gameplay concept! Challenge level was pretty spot on also, last level took me about 5-6 tries maybe, and almost got to the point of platformer rage as it was hard to concentrate on controlling the orb and the avatar at once but it wasn't too frustrating either. If I had to make any suggestions I'd say make the light colliding with stuff a bit more forgiving, maybe have it take a couple of hits to die or make the hitbox a bit smaller, but it was pretty good as it was anyway.

    Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:30pm

    Always enjoy playing your games, they're polished, nice to look at and always have a fun take on the platformer genre!

    koe415 says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:23pm

    Great game play! Use of both WASD and mouse worked really well in your puzzles. Art was very polished as were your puzzles. Great job!

    barkergames says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:01am

    I love it!

    lightsoda says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:19am

    Still torn about what I think about this style of gameplay, it might be too much for me to consider it fun, it's quite challenging, I'll give you that.

    I like the idea, and you had some clever level design that got progressively harder, while keeping them pretty short, which was great.

    Very nice graphics, and the chiptune style music was a nice fit.

    JD557 says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:13pm

    Awesome game. Everyting was very polished and the gameplay was really fun.

    The only thing I missed was a small intro to each level (for example, just a text floating saying "Level 1"). Otherwise that last level gets a little bit frustrating (It lacks that small break at the start)

    loxo says ...
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:17pm

    Overall a great game! Very polished and good level design. But I couldn't get past the moving wall with spikes.

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:32pm

    Nice graphics, neat concept, good execution! All in all, a really great game! On the second level I managed to stand on the block below the pillar way to the right. Not sure if that's intentional. Also, I didn't much enjoy the last level, but that's probably cause I sucked at it. :P

    henrykun says ...
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 12:03am

    This is one of my favorite games so far. I really doubted it was made in 48 hours, it's really polished. The only thing I found a bit difficult, was to play with the touchpad but it's not your fault of couse.Very well done.

    Husky says ...
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:54am

    It's a good idea! :D
    Very challenging stages.

    Jan Marcano says ...
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:07pm

    As always I love your art-style!

    The main mechanic reminds me of a prototype of a game I made, it felt warm inside <3

    Great job! Very polished as usual from your entries. It was really fun :) My only complaint is that the difficulty was maybe a bit too low on the first levels. It escalated well towards the end though!

    P.D.: Why the hell does a Lighthouse have traps and spikes in it?!

    DangerPenguin says ...
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:03pm

    Now THIS is an entry! Good music & sfx, great use of the theme, FUN, unique, and it all culminates into a great game.

    Holy cow, great job!

    ZYXer says ...
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:16pm

    Great platformer, well thought-through and challenging

    Erkberg says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 12:49am

    Great game overall, really nice graphics and audio. The gameplay was very good too, I enjoyed this a lot.

    Cake&Code says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:40am

    Amazing game!!! I know you always make great ones, but I think this is especially really interesting in game mechanic. I loved juggling the light orb and the character and how these are controlled. Of course the graphics are great, and the music/mood work really well together. :) Great work!

    Diptoman says ...
    Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:16pm

    This was really good! Great pixel art, dat reaction when the orb goes out xD
    The levels were really cool, since the paths for the orb and Lucia are sometimes different. And it even has a back story! Love that.

    Tomski says ...
    Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:25am

    Neat entry, impressive stuff

    cappelnord says ...
    Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:27am

    Awesome entry as usual, especially graphics and level design.

    Raphy says ...
    Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:36am

    Awesome entry, great work ! Kindda frustrating at times to synchronize both the player and orb (orb is kindda big or fragile imo) but it's really a detail. Congrats, I think you'll be very well placed :)

    nyrrrr says ...
    Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:05pm

    Really well made game. Nice graphics. Innovative gameplay.
    And I liked how hard the last level was.
    good job!

    Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:56pm

    Cool game. I liked the orb's moving mechanic.

    Anoarith says ...
    Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:57pm

    That's genius ! I loved it !

    The Evil Cult says ...
    Jan 7, 2014 @ 2:58am

    Congrats!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]