Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 15 days, 14 hours, 44 minutes, 43 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    10 Seconds Minigames - FrozenCow - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is a multiplayer game where you play a couple of minigames randomly and try to win or make sure others lose. At the moment I've implemented 4 of them, so it has some variety, but most variety comes from playing with/against friends.

    The server is hosted in The Netherlands, so that might have an effect on latency for some people. Hopefully the game is still playable with a high-ish ping.

    Playing this game on your own is kindof boring, so I suggest to invite a few friends if you can.

    Controls:
    * Arrows to move
    * X to jump

    View FrozenCow's journal. | View all entries by FrozenCow

    Ratings

    Coolness59%
    #32Fun3.88
    #146Humor3.21
    #184Overall3.49
    #207Innovation3.50
    #378Theme3.35
    #458Mood2.85
    #1023Graphics2.09

    Comments

    Supercannon says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:41pm

    Cool concept, I just wish someone were there to play it with me.

    DaanVanYperen says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:58pm

    Cute game, wasn't anyone on to play so had to hug myself :(

    manabreak says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:00pm

    Awesome. I played this for a while with FrozenCow and a few others, and in its simplicity, this is great!

    TijmenTio says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:06pm

    Had so much fun, played with 8 people I think.

    OddballDave says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:58pm

    This was fun. It started to lag really badly after a while, but that could have been at my end. Good stuff.

    BenWhi says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:26pm

    Great multiplayer game! Once I figured out how to play it was SO much fun! Really liked this one.

    Fififox says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:31pm

    It was really fun, played with five to ten people! :D

    Linusson says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:33pm

    It was fun with the different mini games, some was harder than others, lots of people playing while I played. :D

    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:40pm

    This is the most fun I've had with any of the games in this Ludum Dare. I was laughing so hard at it.

    Played as "Hannibal" with FrozenCow and some others, and it was actually fun with anything from 5 players to 10. Even beat FrozenCow in that race when we reset scores! :D

    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:42pm

    Incredible game! We had such a good laugh over Skype. Some of the best fun we've had so far, especially when the room get's quite chaotic :) I way to identify your own ball easier would be great!

    FrozenCow says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:47pm

    Hey thanks for playing all! Had a good time. The amount of players was due to me doing a burst of votes for other games (so this game would show up higher in the Play and Rate list). If I don't do that people will trickle in one-by-one and there would be no-one online.
    This might sound kind-of lame, but best way to circumvent this is inviting some friends or posting on a livestream.
    I hope to still add a bunch of minigames later and see if it can catch on.

    doonay21 says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:46pm

    Holly hell I love this! Good job, the concept is sensational, I wish you could extend the game a little bit more :) Good luck with ratings!

    XaiZil says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:50pm

    Very addictive, awesome online multiplayer!

    fluffypillow says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:52pm

    This is great!

    sergilazaro says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:55pm

    This was surprisingly really fun! I guess the trouble is getting enough people at the same time. Just bribe a few friends with beers to keep a couple of people in at all times :D

    immanuela says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:03pm

    This was so fun! This is the longest game I played of them all. The hug idea was so funny too! :D

    gravyhands says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:05pm

    This was incredibly enjoyable! There were 4 players, including myself which was a good number I thought. Really simple minigames, but the fact that you can push people really added some depth.
    I wasn't expecting much from the screenshot, but you impressed me

    Mandraw says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:11pm

    really cool game , i'l play again and that what count in making games ^^

    Mironix says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:15pm

    For me the weblink stopped working.

    proc says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:16pm

    Cool game :) Have the feeling I was just playing with the dev. for something so simple, with a few of us in there it was challenging and fun. Give FrozenCow a hug.

    Almax27 says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:16pm

    Tried to connect, been online for half a second (the time to type my nickname) then Chrome couldn't connect anymore to the website.

    Almax27 says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:29pm

    Really funny game when there is people on the server :D

    FrozenCow says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:41pm

    First crash of the server after almost a full week running. The server doesn't cope well with low pings it seems, something to put on the todo for postcompo.

    blay09 says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:45pm

    Awesome, another multiplayer entry! I had lots of fun with my new friend FrozenCow (oh hey, that's you! Hi, it's me, Anonymous8!). I found it a bit easy first, until I thought I'd get evil and try to prevent the others from getting points, then it suddenly got very fun and kept me playing till I got 30 points. Well done! Loved the hugging game.

    Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:48pm

    Awesome idea! Love the fact that you have your own server you are hosting it on! I featured it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ksgU2Iicu2g

    tigerj says ...
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:16am

    nice concept and nice job with multiplayer. really great effort at pushing the technical bar higher.

    leo_gri says ...
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 9:28am

    I would definitely like to play a post-compo version!

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]