Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 29 days, 17 hours, 44 minutes, 25 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 64 days, 18 hours, 32 minutes, 25 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Multitaskor - munchor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Chromium or Chrome is heavily recommend over Firefox or any other browser for the game. On my laptop, I can't get it to run fluidly (stable 60 FPS) on Firefox. There are reports that it works just fine on Firefox, but to be safe, if you can you should use Chromium/Chrome.

    ---------
    About
    ---------
    Multitaskor is a simple game made in 48 hours for the Ludum Dare 27. The theme for this edition of Ludum Dare was "10 Seconds". As so, Multitaskor features several mini arcade games and the player will play each stage for 10 seconds only. Further on, a stage will consist of two games at the very time using a split-screen feature.

    ----------------
    How to play
    ----------------
    The controls for Multitaskor are very simple and are mostly just the right/left and up/down arrow keys. Besides these, the "space bar" is also used in one of the mini games. However, the controls should be fairly attainable from the game itself which displays the keys to use in each mini game.

    --------------
    Technology
    --------------
    To play the game, you'll need a modern browser. Multitaskor is a HTML5 game written in Javascript using the Pentagine framework.

    Made with care, by @Munchor!

    View munchor's journal. | View all entries by munchor

    Ratings

    Coolness64%
    #88Fun3.61
    #94Theme3.76
    #112Overall3.63
    #231Innovation3.46
    #333Mood3.04
    #477Humor2.38
    #721Graphics2.61
    #729Audio2.22

    Comments

    proc says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:34pm

    I officially cannot multitask. I didn't look at the game title and started playing thinking "real original" but once that split screen came I was pleasantly surprised. Nice game!

    Spotline says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:24pm

    Classic but efficient and well made ! Congrats

    Zelosfan says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:26pm

    Really neat concept combined with simple graphics and a solid theme integration. Good work!

    Loyalty says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:26pm

    I wasn't able to beat the multitask-levels, but I think it becomes even better if you can multitask ... I can't
    However, good idea and implementation.

    Friday says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:26pm

    Nice idea! I didn't get to play much of the splitscreen though as i had to restart from the beginning each time i lost.

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:27pm

    Ahh... I can not multitask! :O

    Very nice game! :D

    Loerden says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:27pm

    Awesome! But Im not that good...

    Jimanzium says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:27pm

    Neat idea, however I'd rather of not started with just one screen after losing as it was more of a tutorial. Never the less, good job.

    autlos says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34pm

    Hey, nice game. I like the way it changes from one mini-game to another and the idea in general.

    Two things I would improve/fix:
    1º It's a bit easy. More difficult = more fun.
    2º By intuition, I used W and S to move up and down, and it worked. Next minigame, I wanted to use D and A to move right and left, but oh! It didn't. And then I moved my hands to the arrow keys.

    Cheers.

    sam1373 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:42pm

    Very interesting idea.

    kunzbe says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02pm

    I love this game :) Multitasking is so hard to master. It's like a psychology test or something

    munchor says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:45pm

    I implemented and pushed A and D to move right and left (this is the kind of thing I can do post-submission).

    I agree with you guys that you shouldn't have to repeat the beginning levels, they should only be played once, but it's too late now I guess, thank you all for the great feedback so far.

    GrimGary says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:53pm

    Brain no work after a few games of this! Must get further, must break space-time barrier! Very well made =)

    tombsar says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:30pm

    A nice and simple game with a consistent graphical style. I was not a fan of the repetitive beeping sound, and found the game rather repetitive -- more puzzles would help with this. Also, I wasn't sure why the single-puzzle levels kept coming back after the multi-tasking levels had started. The jumping puzzle was slightly buggy; was double-jumping meant to be a mechanic?.

    mutuware says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:50pm

    Well executed concept!

    dekart says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:22pm

    The game doesn't load.

    munchor says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:07pm

    @dekart, which is your browser?

    davidwparker says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:57pm

    Cool concept. I wish I could continue from the split-screen mode. Well done.

    dumasflo says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:41pm

    Interesting idea but some bugs makes me frustrated :p (hit boxes of the first level's ennemy for example). Btw you should have let a time at the beginning of each level.

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:42pm

    Awesome! nice little game with games xD... i like when you play 2 games at the same time!

    Nizan says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:48pm

    I am so bad at multitasking... so this completely screwed me over. Not that that's your fault of course! by all accounts, a nice and well put together game. Good job :)

    bisk8s says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:24pm

    Very nice! Well done!

    bisk8s says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:24pm

    Very nice! Well done! I loved it!

    Delca says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:34pm

    A nice little game, which could be even more interesting with more mini-games inside.
    Suprisingly, multitasking in this game is not that hard. The only game I had a problem with when multitasking was the jumping one. It took me some time to figure it out, but I think this is because unlike all others obstacles, the spikes are not dark but gray-ish, meaning that when I focus my sight on another game, they do not appear as well as, for example, rectangles in the side-scroller.
    That being said, I managed to survive two rounds of these, so I guess I am just kind of bad at your game.
    Anyway, good job!

    udo says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:01am

    Hey, another Hacker News person! You should post your entry in the Show HN thread!

    Will Edwards says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:35am

    Eh I think the answer is a resounding "No"! Awesome and sweetly implemented :)

    SneManden says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:09am

    Wow, this is a real hard game! Very well made, in that it runs smoothly and the transitions are great; good use of the ticking sound.

    grayhaze says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:28am

    Some fun mini games, with the difficulty ramping up quickly once you start multitasking. The sound as the timer ticks toward zero doesn't appear to actually relate to the current time... sometimes it started at eight seconds remaining, sometimes at four.

    teamenschede says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:51pm

    This game has been made several times before with almost identical gameplay. For example: http://armorgames.com/play/11152/multitask-2

    mrspeaker says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:04pm

    Just watched this on the stream... so cool!

    udo says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:04pm

    Overall I liked this very much. However, since failing at the multitasks brings you right back to the beginning, I eventually gave up... Great concept, however.

    munchor says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:25pm

    @teamenschede, yeah after releasing a friend sent me that game, I had never heard about it though, looks pretty neat.

    GagaPete says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:45pm

    Stage 5, I'm proud. Pretty hardcore though.

    manuq says ...
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 3:14am

    I like these minimal minigames, specially after the screen split!

    motty says ...
    Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:14am

    Cute idea, solid implementation, nthing the 'wish I could go straight back to the multi-tasking levels after dying' thing - look forward to playing a version that does that.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]