Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 28 days, 16 hours, 1 minute, 33 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Dig Dream - kill0u - Jam Entry

    Level 1: Fear
    The skull king will come after you when you collect your third leaf. Defeat him to beat your deepest fears!

    But you quest isn't over yet.. Your anger is taking control!

    Level 2: Anger
    The angry bird couldn't make it to this version T_T Collect all shields to complete the game, and come back later for the post-jam version, including the angry bird and much more!

    =====================
    There are no life bar in Dig Dream. Your health is represented by the game itself: the lower your health is, the more the game will be distorted.
    =====================

    Controls:
    [M] Toggle sound ON/OFF
    [SPACE] Rewind 10 seconds (if ready)
    [RIGHT ARROW] Run
    [UP ARROW] Jump / Double jump
    [CTRL] Fire

    =====================
    Code & Music: kill0u -- Art: Gnux

    View kill0u's journal. | View all entries by kill0u

    Ratings

    Coolness89%
    #73Graphics(Jam)4.15
    #131Mood(Jam)3.37
    #217Audio(Jam)3.04
    #227Overall(Jam)3.25
    #317Theme(Jam)3.02
    #333Fun(Jam)2.83
    #354Innovation(Jam)2.81
    #399Humor(Jam)1.96

    Comments

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:52am

    Really nice visuals! I like the concept but in its current form it's a little easy to just take the top route and run forever. Also, sound effects (even some rudimentary ones) would have been nice to have too. But overall it's pretty nice, good job!

    Colapsydo says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:54am

    Nice work on the gfx (life indicator, time rewinding) it gives the game a great mood.

    Sometimes I could go through the platforms by performing a double jump. I don't think it was intentional since it's not always happening.

    01101101 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:03am

    Love the art and effects, looks really good!
    The first level is really looooong though, maybe my computer was running slow. Good job!

    MvdLaar says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:41pm

    Great presentation. Wasn't really clear to me what I had to do, but still, enjoyable to look at. :)

    crazyrems says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:42pm

    Great visuals, but your character is too tall, I can't stop hit my head on the ceilling D:
    Good job

    deepnight says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:09pm

    Pretty solid game with nice art. However, the platformer physics are really annoying and would really require some polish (stronger gravity, allow to go to the left)

    kill0u says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:44pm

    I agree about the gravity and some other physics parameters. As for allowing the player to go to the left, I don't really want to :P

    Tipyx says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:00pm

    TOO MANY FILTERS :p

    Seriously, I love it ! But I think there is a lacks of fun :/

    kill0u says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:05pm

    Yeah.. Hopefully that'll be fixed on the post-jam version (new boss, more traps, more level design patterns, more filters o/).

    GaTechGrad says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:56am

    That guy is a running fool. Nice use of time rewind. Only complaint is that the level seemed to be drawn out and repetitive. I never would have known there were more levels if it wasn't for the screenshots.

    Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:08pm

    Lovely runner!

    nSun says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:39pm

    Good job!

    kill0u says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:52pm

    I added a level 2 only version: http://klabz.org/ld27/wrath

    Supercannon says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:26pm

    Nice looking graphics, and a cool application of the theme. Nice work for 72 hours!

    TravisChen says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:41pm

    Cool dreamy effect!

    KeithE. says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:46pm

    Love that art! The first level is so long I originally thought it was endless. It was also a little annoying getting caught in dead ends and having no idea when they were coming. Still really well presented runner. Great Job!

    zillix says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:26am

    really pretty, great atmospheric effects! the game itself was pretty tricky

    Spotline says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:51pm

    Visuals and use of shaders are great :)

    Atridas says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:54am

    Histeric music, nice graphics. Keep on!

    Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:01pm

    Fantastic art style on this. Gameplay is good but has a couple of issues - some of the holes on the bottom level are a bit hard to spot, and there are dead ends that you can't even predict. Other than that, great.

    uwap says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:07pm

    Wow. I'm impressed. The graphics are great, the gameplay is nice and I have the feeling that for this game everything fits. It plays awesome. It feels awesome. Good job.

    kill0u says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:07pm

    Dead ends are normal: you have to go back (with space) when you encounter one :)

    awppy says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:55pm

    It ran a little slow for me and jumps felt too floaty (not being able to hop) but the reverse time mechanic was well-implemented for the most part. It was fun seeing it actually rewind, but if you were in the middle of a platforming section it was hard to recover, since there's no prompt, it just immediately jumps back in

    XaiZil says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:56pm

    Nice visuals and cool story but reallly hard!

    Antidote says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:20pm

    Loved the graphics :3 looking good

    proc says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:41pm

    Great mood, the graphics are good and the music was alright. I think it needed more fleshing out but otherwise a good germ of a game. The whole rewind because of hitting a wall is a bit annoying for me. I have a decent machine and it managed to feel a little bogged down!

    DiscoFish says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:38am

    Nice art!

    Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:29am

    Nice game and concept, but the controls are sometimes a bit "loose". The art was great though, and the first level was pretty well balanced. The second one was too hard for me to complete. The music was also fitting. Very well made all in all!

    ratalaika says ...
    Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:57am

    Nice game, quite funny to play!!

    Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:22am

    Made my old Win XP computer chug pretty bad, but really nice art and atmosphere.

    Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:35pm

    Hey nice line running game. so easy to screw yourself over and lots of replay. Also I like the graphics.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]