Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 29 days, 2 hours, 1 minute, 19 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    BECOME A GREAT ARTIST IN JUST 10 SECONDS - mcc - Jam Entry

    By Michael Brough and Andi McClure

    Have you ever dreamed of being an Artist? Although this was not possible before, now it is because we have made a computer program. Let your imagination soar in Sketch mode, or take a 10-second Exam in which your imagination is subjected to the brutal and arbitrary standards of an unfeeling public under unreasonable time pressures.

    Be an artist, it is fun

    Andi's website: http://runhello.com
    Michael's website: http://smestorp.com
    Incorporating music by Devon Baumgarten

    UPDATE 8/28: Please note above VERSION 1.1, completed the night after Ludum Dare ended. You may prefer this version as all modes and tools are fully functional, including the screenshot button (return key).

    View mcc's journal. | View all entries by mcc

    Ratings

    Innovation(Jam)4.69
    Graphics(Jam)4.82
    #5Overall(Jam)4.16
    #13Fun(Jam)3.91
    #21Mood(Jam)4.00
    #106Audio(Jam)3.44
    #114Humor(Jam)3.16
    #418Theme(Jam)2.83
    #1773Coolness20%

    Comments

    mcc says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:04am

    PS: Please share your art with us here in the comments! You can take screenshots like this:
    http://www.take-a-screenshot.org/
    And upload them here:
    http://imgur.com

    There is a screenshot feature in the program but it does not seem to work right right now. We plan to upload a post-compo version with some of the broken features fixed.

    Cinkero says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:30am

    I like this.

    CNIAngel says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:34am

    I love everything about this.
    http://i.imgur.com/rFMGP5I.png
    http://i.imgur.com/HGkdgm4.png
    http://i.imgur.com/5ev6qbU.png
    http://i.imgur.com/y5kHVAD.png

    Lissar says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:35am

    This is a game I'm going to keep going back to, I love it. Though I may have to do so with the sound turned down, the noises made me a bit ill.

    Alexander says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:43am

    GLITCH ART RULES

    Vavassor says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:44am

    I had a lot of fun with this! I was frequently surprised by how often it would go in a direction that was way cooler and different than what I was intending.

    Overkill says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:58am

    I just played around with the practice mode, but I had a lot of fun toying around with different buttons on the keyboard and messing with things. I never managed to make a blank page, only 99.3% or something, and I managed to break the image similarity detector at some point, but it was a lot of fun still! I love the weird sound effects. This honestly reminds me of like... kidpix or something. I might go back and take some screens later, but cool job!

    lalanl says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:19am

    I'm only stopping playing this because I don't have any sick days left.

    rylgh says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:38am

    Definitely gonna keep this around, think it could be useful as an art/palette inspirational thing, besides just being fun to mess with.

    Couldn't find the screenshot featue.

    Anoarith says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42am

    As a Brough and mcc fan, I'm not disappoint :D

    gritfish says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:21pm

    http://imgur.com/BHvL429
    Who needs math when you have art?

    Seeing the screenshots on twitter, I had no idea what to expect, and I wasn't sure at first how "gamey" the ten second limit would make this, but I mostly end up mashing keys in a panic by the end of those 10 seconds trying to get that number up.

    Seeing that number get just slightly higher is pretty damn satisfying.

    As an art tool I'd love to just let this thing play on its own and save pictures. The stuff it seems to produce from next to nothing are pretty interesting.

    NiallM says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:30am

    Ooh, I love this. Was terrible at the exams, so spent most of my time in sketch mode:
    http://i.imgur.com/Ar1LKCl.png
    http://i.imgur.com/vxQikeX.png
    http://i.imgur.com/pm1Fh9s.png
    http://i.imgur.com/NtylAMn.png

    mcc says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:27pm

    We just uploaded a post-compo version; it's linked at the top of the page. Gallery mode, Tutorial mode, progress saving, screenshots (return key) and several other neat things that weren't working in the 72-hour version are working in this one. I recommend it highly.

    01010111 says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:49pm

    The game is tough, I wish there was a mode with just one screen (although allowing the computer to paint would be great), and I also wish it were fullscreen. Amazing job!

    mcc says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:26pm

    01010111, the single screen mode is named "Sketchpad" and the computer does do the drawing in "Tutorial" mode (post-compo version only). Thank you for playing

    smestorp says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:06pm

    the Tutorial AI is really really slow: if you leave it for a few hours it might start to approximate the source image. not ten seconds at all, sadly. maybe i can do better sometime!

    andwhatnot says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:31pm

    Holy whoa this is awesome.

    I have negotiated with your machine regarding the notion of beauty and we have come to an agreement.

    http://imgur.com/fibRQGL
    http://imgur.com/BpaxSj6
    http://imgur.com/4Lbkguw

    LegacyCrono says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:15am

    Haha damn, this is crazy. Most of the time I had no idea what I was doing. Actually, I'm not sure I know now either...
    Here's some art (?) I made:
    http://i.imgur.com/QNBdJog.png
    http://i.imgur.com/6t2QxNU.png
    http://i.imgur.com/Bt80siG.png

    epiplon says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:06am

    Seems well crafted, but I didn't liked it. The sounds were annoying, which demotivated to discover the controls any further. Sorry.
    But I must say that's innovative and generate pretty colors, and people seemed to like it.

    Capro says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:00pm

    This is fantastic. Great game even if not so much related with the theme.

    BNeutral says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:36am

    Whoa

    manofdoom says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:03am

    The art this thing produces is brilliant, and the contradiction between the impossible tests and the serious exam tones are great. Also the sound is really good for an art program.

    paulmcgg says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:32pm

    <3 http://i.imgur.com/nskyHWv.png

    (If this had an undo button it would be supremely useful but I can understand why you wouldn't. Very cool.)

    Diogo Muller says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:26pm

    Whoa, some great effects here. Really love some of the pictures I made with this.

    cafeine says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:47am

    Very very cool. Also, I would love to hear some of the effects applied to the soundtrack.

    What is the sound of Perlin Noise?

    mcc says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:34am

    Paulmcg: As described on the title screen, the undo button is the "delete" key. (See also: Equals)

    LegacyCrono: Oh, I *really* like QNBdJog.png.

    Lokarunith says ...
    Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:51pm

    Hypnotizing graphics.

    kibertoad says ...
    Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:35am

    nice and trippy.

    Sascha says ...
    Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:41pm

    Something completely different, love to play around with new concepts! Nice effects, and the sounds really helped set a creative weird/awesome mood. Great work!

    mortus says ...
    Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:50pm

    @NiallM:
    I'll be damned, you managed to draw the Predator! (pm1Fh9s.png)

    Great 'game', I'm in love with it! Too bad it's not treating the theme too good.

    alts says ...
    Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:54am

    This is awesome (in the sense of inspiring awe). Thanks.

    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/160744984/art.png

    Pierrec says ...
    Sep 9, 2013 @ 11:17am

    Woaaaah...
    This is amazing! I need to come back later and take more time to make art!

    GrooveMan says ...
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:06pm

    I love the way that even though everything is overwhelmingly confusing at first blush, you eventually figure out what the keys do and maybe even come close to making something as intended... but making crazy messes is much more fun.

    Cosr says ...
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:41pm

    so cool

    Love all the glitchiness. Am going to need to remember to come back to the post compo version sometime.

    angrygeometry says ...
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:43am

    this is wonderful, really really.

    Lianne Booton says ...
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 3:02am

    I am in love with every part of this entry. I really hope you get placed high in the ranking, cos even though this isn't a traditional game it's absolutely wonderful. I can't mimic the computer worth a damn, but I feel like I'm creating a dark and fucked up world compared the computer's pretty pastel weirdness

    SnoringFrog says ...
    Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:08pm

    Woah.

    sirhotalot says ...
    Oct 18, 2013 @ 3:07pm

    Awesome mcc, I've always loved your work!

    NathanW says ...
    Nov 24, 2013 @ 12:49am

    Awesome! I love this.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]