Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 12 days, 17 hours, 46 minutes, 29 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    MumiaSnowdenManning - Pinktreeleaf - Jam Entry

    A hacking Game and a ode to journalistic intent.

    View Pinktreeleaf's journal. | View all entries by Pinktreeleaf

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #79Humor(Jam)3.41
    #148Mood(Jam)3.29
    #210Audio(Jam)3.06
    #251Innovation(Jam)3.06
    #287Theme(Jam)3.08
    #306Fun(Jam)2.90
    #308Overall(Jam)3.08
    #405Graphics(Jam)2.85

    Comments

    Rave Radbury says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:38am

    The graphics were clean and satisfying. I think one of your math questions might have been a bit off. Aside from the whole maths, I enjoyed the satirical nature of the questions. Edgy and well done for 72 hours. Great job!

    loxo says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:13pm

    Interesting concept, but for some questions the time is a bit too short.

    MuciojadPL says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:15pm

    I like it although some of questions are difficult for me ;D

    SamC says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:00pm

    I like it, really funny

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:23pm

    I enjoy the subjective questions, which I got totally wrong until I thought in double-think. Clever! Extra points for supporting both keyboard and mouse, and having 8-bit sound effects. Good work!

    kebabskal says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:13pm

    Lovely! Nice to see some "serious" games here. Perfect medium to talk about this stuff. Had a good time!

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:19pm

    Moody, tense, amusing, depressing and educational, all at the same time. Looks great, sounds great - though I found the timer jussst a little short, but whatcha gunna do? Nice work!

    BeardoGames says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:26pm

    It's fantastic to play a game that was made for a jam that explores a genre rarely approached during jams. Great work! A disturbing, cleanly-drawn, excellent game!

    Vavassor says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:44pm

    Really enjoyed the satire in the questions. Simultaneously funny and sad how one could finish the sentences without thinking about it, just because of how common they are.

    zn01wr says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:08am

    Great concept and the mood is well built up. I just could not understand why were there math questions :D

    Starspell says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:24pm

    I'm sorry, but an uncaught exception occurred.

    While running game code:
    File "game/script.rpy", line 567, in script
    ScriptError: could not find label 'tq12'.

    -- Full Traceback ------------------------------------------------------------

    Full traceback:
    File "C:\Users\Sarah\Downloads\MumiaSnowdenManning-1.0-all\renpy\bootstrap.py", line 254, in bootstrap
    renpy.main.main()
    File "C:\Users\Sarah\Downloads\MumiaSnowdenManning-1.0-all\renpy\main.py", line 328, in main
    run(restart)
    File "C:\Users\Sarah\Downloads\MumiaSnowdenManning-1.0-all\renpy\main.py", line 90, in run
    renpy.execution.run_context(True)
    File "C:\Users\Sarah\Downloads\MumiaSnowdenManning-1.0-all\renpy\execution.py", line 509, in run_context
    context.run()
    File "C:\Users\Sarah\Downloads\MumiaSnowdenManning-1.0-all\renpy\execution.py", line 316, in run
    node = renpy.game.script.lookup(e.args[0])
    File "C:\Users\Sarah\Downloads\MumiaSnowdenManning-1.0-all\renpy\script.py", line 537, in lookup
    raise ScriptError("could not find label '%s'." % str(label))
    ScriptError: could not find label 'tq12'.

    Windows-7-6.1.7601-SP1
    Ren'Py 6.15.4.320
    MumiaSnowdenManning 1.1

    Starspell says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:26pm

    Apart from the crash I managed to get I was impressed by this game. It was good to see a serious game here and I liked the propaganda questions - they were very sinister. Well done.

    Almax27 says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:52pm

    Really cool. The questions were a bit confusing at first but then figured out the biased context in which to answer.

    TammiLion says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:28pm

    I think the music could have been a bit more moody. The question were good. Didn't like the math questions XD

    Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:57pm

    lol awesome game, i like music, sounds and the test hahaha. America never lost a war hahaha. so much fun GOOD JOB!

    zlowrance says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:12pm

    Interesting concept. It was great to see such a unique idea explored. Graphics were also very nice and clean

    kristof says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:23pm

    Very funny questions. I had an uncaught exception somewhere in the second file.

    ddionisio says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:33pm

    Haha, what a great statement to our modern society, really good. Graphics is nice and clean. I love those questions, though some of them I run out of time as soon as I finish reading the question.

    kibertoad says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:41pm

    great use of minimal art, nicely dark sense of humor.
    math stuff kicked my sorry artist ass.

    Tainted_Code says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:37pm

    The NSA, eh? ;D I enjoyed it, great job for the time given!

    h_double says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:54pm

    This is super creepy, in a good way.

    drkrunk says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:12am

    Very clean responsive interface. I loved the humor behind it too.

    TaleLore says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:13am

    Pretty tough.

    rogueNoodle says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:55am

    Pretty interesting stuff - I always enjoy retro hack style games :)

    rfgpfeiffer says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

    5 stars for black humor!

    Arrow-x says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:16pm

    fun game keep on the edge of your seat ... and keep u with it

    Arcana says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:12pm

    A pretty serious game but a little too politically-charged for my taste though.

    Also, it got really difficult to "progress" to different areas, it wasn't clear when I could click on or access different files.

    namrog84 says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:32pm

    I liked it! Really cool

    Sh1rogane says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:02pm

    Fun game :D
    Some questions was a bit too long to be able to anwser on first try

    Oana says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:08pm

    That is a very nice idea, a great way to make a political statement (to those who get it at least). It does kind of show how a large part of americans, or politicians at least, think. Great humor and mood.

    Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:29am

    Brilliant!! Just the perfect satire...
    Too bad some of the question are too long and there isn't enough time to read them. A level select would be great to not have to start over.
    I'm rating this very high because the satire is just too good!

    GFM says ...
    Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:27pm

    Nice game. But a bug makes any question time-out after 5 seconds, which makes the game quite hard...
    The sounds were great!

    Pinktreeleaf says ...
    Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:00pm

    Fixed the UI timer issues and the tq12 crash

    Lokarunith says ...
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 3:49pm

    Good concept but using a visual novel engine to make the game was not the best idea as it is really easy to cheat.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]