Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 30 days, 5 hours, 54 minutes, 2 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 65 days, 6 hours, 42 minutes, 2 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Justify - ChrisPugh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    An experiment in the democratic process. A multiplayer text adventure written in JavaScript.

    View ChrisPugh's journal. | View all entries by ChrisPugh

    Ratings

    #30Innovation4.00
    #76Theme3.82
    #244Humor2.87
    #246Mood3.18
    #562Overall3.05
    #609Fun2.86
    #1500Coolness35%

    Comments

    robashton says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:50am

    Need a link to the actual game dude :)

    ChrisPugh says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:42pm

    Thanks! It's a web game so I only filled in the "web" link, which caused nothing to show up. Fixed now.

    mtrc says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:17pm

    Superb idea! Loved the twist at the end.

    reostra says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:53am

    Interesting - I like the use of the subreddit

    Darien says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:32am

    Mutant raccoon virus? Oh noes!

    jammy12789 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:40am

    I found it Hilarious and Awesome Idea with the speech. I submitted "What do i Do?" and it Made me ROFL. Then the Idea of looking at other peoples was Genius!

    brogrammers says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:54am

    looooved the concept! I wanted to do a text game too, but I didn't know how to make it coherent with the theme - you totally did it right.

    Shmarah says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:52pm

    Perhaps a longer pause before the 10 seconds starts just for the slower readers? I didn't finish reading so I refreshed the page, which kind of changed the effect on me, but man do I LOVE this!

    ChrisPugh says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:18am

    @Shmarah, Thanks for the feedback. Done! And thanks to everyone else who's played the game so far.

    doonay21 says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:30pm

    Nice idea. I do not like text games, but I can say this one is good :)

    Pinktreeleaf says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:47pm

    short but unique. nice reddit integration.

    KunoNoOni says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:16pm

    Interesting idea and concept. :)

    Merudo says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:04pm

    Interesting concept. It makes sense to only have 10 seconds to write our plea.

    What doesn't make sense, however, is that we have no time at all to prepare our speech before stepping on the podium. Aren't we supposed to have waited nervously in line for four hours? Why not use that time to prepare an excellent speech?

    parrotlord says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:49pm

    Brilliant!

    Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:13pm

    Wow, such a great and well thought-out experiment! Hopefully you'll get quite some votes in the subreddit, and will be able to offer interesting conclusions. Stressful in any case :D

    Crowbeak says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:47pm

    Your source code link isn't really a source code link if the files can't be downloaded. I was going to try to play this offline. :(

    X-0r says ...
    Sep 5, 2013 @ 11:35am

    This game definitely serves for a dark mood - seeing as it is text-only, it's quite something. Most of the categories can't really be rated... Graphics and Audio aren't really existing.
    Awesome idea to collect all the entries ^_^
    10 seconds to think and type was a bit too short for me, I didn't really get I what was expecting me (which I probably would have, if I've *really* been in that situation)
    But hey, I'd go for the mutant racoon virus rather than immediate death :D

    SnoringFrog says ...
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:07am

    Wow. Kinda figured out what was coming and I completely biffed it. Nicely done.

    Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:54pm

    Not really a game, but a pretty great experience nonetheless.

    By far the best part was


    SPOILER

    reading the other players' justifications afterwards.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]