Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 29 days, 11 hours, 41 minutes, 45 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 64 days, 12 hours, 29 minutes, 45 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    10 Seconds of Thrust - Kramin42 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A simple game in which you must get a spacecraft to the moon and back with 10 seconds of thrust. See how efficient you can be!

    Here's a video showing how to do it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7GLWTiEUxWY

    It might be a little hard to see exactly when I'm clicking, but we wouldn't want to make it too easy now, would we? Rocket science is meant to be hard.

    Also see this wikipedia page: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hohmann_transfer_orbit

    And finally some general hints:

    - Don't try to travel in a straight line to the moon, think with orbits.
    - fire forwards and tangent to your orbit to travel further out, backwards to go further in.
    - when approaching the moon, try to match its speed.

    View Kramin42's journal. | View all entries by Kramin42

    Ratings

    #377Innovation3.21
    #620Theme3.11
    #708Fun2.74
    #848Mood2.33
    #906Overall2.68
    #1179Graphics1.50
    #1563Coolness32%

    Comments

    yetatore says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:16am

    A game dont need to be complex for being fun! Good work, and happy Ludum Dare.

    oajfh says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:22am

    Hmm... The game is really hard, haven't been able to complete it yet.
    It's a shame it isn't slightly more zoomed in.
    You must have spent quite a fair bit of time on the physics, impressive, anyway.

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:55am

    Nice use of the theme, and very cool minimalistic idea. I do agree that it is very hard though, and I have not been able to get very far from Earth yet. Maybe a video or some tips could help making the game more approachable for clumsy guys like myself? Good job in any case!

    Twistedsnail says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:06am

    This is actually the best I've played so far, out of like, 50.
    Its just so fun.

    Kramin42 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:48am

    Ok, I've added a video.

    Thanks for the comments :) I know it's hard, but there wasn't really any way to make it easier (at least without sacrificing realism).

    I wanted to make this game to scale but low earth orbit would have been only 0.6 of a pixel above the earth and the earth and moon would have been a third of the size they are, so you're lucky I made them bigger at all! :P

    GNecro1 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:41pm

    Really good game i love it but graphics and sound would be nice :D overall great :D :D

    devi ever says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:50am

    Interesting idea, but the unforgiving nature of the gameplay really kills the fun. Would be a lot more interesting if it was a little bit more forgiving, was a little slower, and you could actually see the distance you were traveling away from the earth right off the bat. It's hard to tell how to gauge distance and velocity at first.

    Supercannon says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:49pm

    Good application of the theme, the speed of the game makes for a challenge.

    Latcarf says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:53pm

    That's quite hard but very interesting (I haven't finished it, but I will try again)

    Oxygamer says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:19pm

    Java ((

    Gazok says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:44pm

    Reaallly hard to control, not how I would have done it at all. But once you get used to it it's as fun as orbiting always is.

    manuq says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:59pm

    Can you put the JAR to download? I tried running the one at http://kramin42.github.io/10_seconds_of_thrust/10_seconds_of_thrust.jar but gives "no main manifest attribute, in 10_seconds_of_thrust.jar"

    Kramin42 says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:21pm

    Ok, I've put a download there now. The reason you can't run the jar directly is because it is an applet.

    Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:18pm

    I found this game really difficult, but I liked it! I could not record it however for my LD27 compilation video...

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]