Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 24 days, 8 hours, 8 minutes, 59 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    RopeSwing - odeckers - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is my first LD enty. The Web link is a java webstart. Just download the small jnlp file and open it, this will load and start the game.

    Story:
    You are a lightbulb that will start to dim in 10 seconds, and you have to rope-swing to the green light to get to the next level. (If a level is too hard, you can press enter to skip it.)

    Controls:
    left click to attach rope
    right click to detach rope
    scrollwheel/arrows to modify rope length
    enter to skip level

    Credit:
    Many thanks to @mzechner and the rest of the libgdx team for this awesome framework, as well as referring to the excellent box2dlights project.

    View odeckers's journal. | View all entries by odeckers

    Ratings

    #54Innovation3.91
    #256Overall3.39
    #266Fun3.30
    #268Graphics3.39
    #306Theme3.43
    #351Mood3.00
    #1422Coolness39%

    Comments

    Zerkruemler says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:51pm

    Quite interesting concept and graphics, but quite hard to master.

    brodavi says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:02pm

    Wow, great mechanic! I love the simple moody lighting. The controls were a little wonky, I thought. When trying to grapple, I found I just wanted to click in the direction of where I thought a wall might be, not actually click on the wall. And at one point, I fell down a bottomless pit and the game didn't restart for me :( But otherwise fantastic game :)

    Mironix says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:17pm

    Splendid game, makes you use Your imagination! lightning is perfect, player knows what to do without reading the instructions, keep me posted if this evolve i want to play! i would kill for a mobile version :)

    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:22pm

    Strangely, the mood is there in spite of the minimalism. Promising entry!
    The scroll wheel is pretty tough depending on how much it scrolls, and it depends on the player's settings so it might not be such a good idea to rely on that too much.

    Anyway, good entry!

    Urfoex says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:24pm

    Wow.
    I like it.
    Simple. Smooth. Effective.

    Thermite says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

    Lovely lighting effects, very atmospheric. . Good job!

    jammy12789 says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

    Good game but quite hard... I really liked it accually Great game!

    ChronusZ says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:47pm

    The soft shadows are fantastic! Some way to restart levels would be nice, though :)

    RoseNinja says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:01pm

    like the idea it kept me playing good game

    Spiridios says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:02pm

    Quite hard, but very nice game. Might want to speed up the physics a little with the 10second time limit on light. It sometimes took most of the 10 seconds just to get the first swing going.

    Spotline says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:06pm

    Fantastic concept :)

    Optimus6128 says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:06pm

    Great concept, nicely executed. I found the collision a bit unfair though.

    imef says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:11pm

    Great game! Simple yet effective!

    senseidav says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:19pm

    Funny game. I must confess it costed a little to understand the concept, but when I got it, i founded very enjoying..

    Im agree with other users, the graphic engine does the blur very attractive.

    RadJor says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:19am

    One of the few games that I had legitimate fun with and wanted to keep playing. I felt like the rope length controls were mostly broken though. I could continuously extend, but only retract in spurts by mashing the up button. Even so, the extend was never a constant rate for me. And the scroll wheel was too slow to even use for me. All that being said, this is a genuinely enjoyable concept that could eat my time if I didn't get frustrated by the controls.

    evilentity says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:57am

    Very cool

    rincewind_cz says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:40pm

    Controls make this a bit hard. Android version would be great though :-)

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:49pm

    I can't play because I'm on a network that blocks dropbox. :( Shout out to a fellow libGDX developer though!

    Shameless self-promotion: I offer free Java hosting at http://StaticVoidGames.com if you're interested.

    Diogo Muller says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:37am

    The controls made it kinda hard, but it's a very nice game after you get used to it.

    Nice effects!

    Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:22am

    I had to run it from the command line =s
    Nice graphics, but wish the physics and controls could be better!

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]