Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 25 days, 4 hours, 29 minutes, 0 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Return to Diamond Castle - reostra - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Navigate the twisted maze that is diamond castle, but beware: Every 10 seconds, a ghost will appear to try to drive you away!
    Only the holy candles, placed at the four corners of the maze, can protect you against them.

    Controls: W/A/S/D moves, Space jumps, q/e rotates

    View reostra's journal. | View all entries by reostra

    Ratings

    #407Mood2.92
    #529Graphics2.93
    #582Humor2.19
    #654Audio2.36
    #685Fun2.77
    #688Overall2.94
    #787Innovation2.67
    #902Theme2.74
    #1196Coolness47%

    Comments

    atgaubatz says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:27am

    Loved the use of lighting to further the gameplay. Started out feeling like a pac-man clone, but ended up taking on a really cool survival horror feel.

    KunoNoOni says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:28am

    Nice! A First Person Pac-Man game! That was really cool. Nice use of theme.

    TheThirdOne says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:28am

    I don't see how this pertains to the theme, sensitivity felt too high, and I didn't really know what to do.

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:30am

    Interesting. Kind of reminded me of a 3D Pacman.

    ChrisGaudino says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34am

    Mouse was way to sensitive for me. Would definitely benefit from a sensitivity setting.

    Jeff Melton says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34am

    A little hard to control. I did not really understand the mechanics.

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:39am

    When I first started playing I thought "hmmm... feels... familiar", after the first 10 seconds, "Could it really... could it be..." and then I got my first invincibility power-up, I nearly screamed "3D PACMAN!!"

    Lovely idea, and well executed.

    tigerj says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:55am

    Man did it take me a long time to find that last gem I missed.

    At first I thought it was a maze until I died..

    then I thought it was a survival game until I found a candle..

    really nice concept. good play and good game.

    Zephyr89 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:26am

    There was an original diamond castle?

    Anachron says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:29am

    I got 99 problems but a diamond ain't one. Are the ghosts invisible?

    ravine says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:52pm

    Fun Pacman type game. Being able to jump did feel a bit useless. I did press jump a few times when I turned around and was startled by a ghost, though.

    Nick Weihs says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:55am

    I really dig it man! First person pacman coolness but it was only one level : ( Jumping didn't seem to do anything or am I missing somethin? Nice!

    loxo says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:17pm

    Nice idea! I like the simple graphics. A minimap and easier controls would be nice . I don't know why, but I was startled by the candle sound effects.

    g_o says ...
    Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:56pm

    Pretty nice game

    Jedi says ...
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:46pm

    It made me smile when I realized I was playing Pac-Man from a first person perspective! :D

    I would have like some music and sound effects for picking up diamonds.

    Like atgaubatz said, the colored lighting for the ghosts was a brilliant touch! It took me forever to find the last 6 diamonds but when I did, the ending made me laugh out loud. :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]