Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 77 days, 17 hours, 8 minutes, 55 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    pastiche punk. - tigers - Jam Entry

    WASD & space to play, esc to bring up the menu, enter or space to fuck death.
    Glitch. = infinite mode








    ~~POTENTIAL SPOILERS~~

    Attributions:
    font rm_typerighter by Ray Meadows http://www.dafont.com/rm-typerighter.font

    ~default~
    music by 3uhox http://opengameart.org/content/mild-action-track
    spike trap by genetica http://www.spiralgraphics.biz/packs/door_medieval/index.htm?17#anchor

    ~inverted~
    music by 3uhox http://opengameart.org/content/mild-action-track
    spike trap by genetica http://www.spiralgraphics.biz/packs/door_medieval/index.htm?17#anchor

    ~elephant level~
    elephant inspired by Achievement Unlocked
    elephant theme Fun Times (2A03 MMC5) by tonythai
    spike trap by genetica http://www.spiralgraphics.biz/packs/door_medieval/index.htm?17#anchor

    ~cyberpunk~
    music by SouljahdeShiva http://opengameart.org/content/upbeat-techno-spacenomad-2

    ~outline~
    music The Deepest depths by Cimba http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/533655

    ~castle~
    music by Bspendlove - Modern War http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/545924
    tile from http://www.spiralgraphics.biz/packs/brick_block/index.htm?3#anchor
    decal base from http://www.spiralgraphics.biz/packs/door_medieval/index.htm?15#anchor

    ~old timey~
    http://opengameart.org/content/monocle-and-a-moustache by rahazan
    old timey cactus from http://openclipart.org/detail/87007/cactus2-by-stevepetmonkey
    music by shalpin http://opengameart.org/content/western
    trap from http://www.spiralgraphics.biz/packs/door_medieval/index.htm?1#anchor

    ~space theme~
    music by Static Pulsar - Shamil Elvenheim http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Shamil_Elvenheim/Wormhole/
    helmet by Magnesus http://openclipart.org/detail/176334/space-helmet-by-magnesus-176334
    tile from http://www.spiralgraphics.biz/packs/metal_robust/index.htm?12#anchor
    earth from http://www.spiralgraphics.biz/packs/planet/index.htm?8#anchor
    moon courtesy of NASA


    remix sound
    http://www.freesound.org/people/the.dude/sounds/124395/



    ~a C&S destruction~

    View tigers's journal. | View all entries by tigers

    Ratings

    #62Theme(Jam)3.66
    #84Humor(Jam)3.38
    #89Innovation(Jam)3.52
    #128Audio(Jam)3.34
    #138Fun(Jam)3.31
    #158Overall(Jam)3.41
    #176Mood(Jam)3.23
    #276Graphics(Jam)3.31
    #1156Coolness48%

    Comments

    @TeddyNashor says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:16pm

    I often died right as I hit a controll switch point, but other then that the game was rather fun!

    Vico says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:16pm

    Very nice and addictive game! Congrats for the result achieved!

    Feysoura says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:17pm

    5/5 loved it.

    Split82 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:17pm

    Fuck death! :D I selected easy and it was quite hard for me :)

    Thepattybeast says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:20pm

    Good game except it was very hard from the start maybe make the beginning easier and have it get harder? also didnt like that the jump key is also the respawn key.
    oh and windowed doesnt work, but the game was fun.

    esayitch says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21pm

    Arrghgh! Frustrating as hell! Great concept and the different variation on the player ability (like moving backwards in level 2) was very well done... maybe I didn't get far enough, but... why no checkpoints? Why do I have to start over when I die? A baddie like me will never finish this :P

    Great entry, good luck!

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:33pm

    Ha, loved the ending!

    fdevant says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:23pm

    Tried using it on OSX, it says that the application is damaged or incomplete. :s

    markengley says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29pm

    I think my coordination is too rubbish to be good at this. Really stylish art here, although I doubt I saw half of it as I found the platforming (even on easy) to be really hard :(

    Like the idea tho and a nice execution.

    tigers says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29pm

    Oh no fdevant, we're so sorry! It was kind of a hail mary, we've only been able to test the web and the Windows versions, because those are the platforms we have.
    We put out the client to the others just in case it worked, again, so sorry!

    sittaman says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:44am

    Damn 10 seconds, now I'm addicted to this! Great game! Loved the twisted controls mechanic.

    Diptoman says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:01pm

    Love the "Fuck death" option :P
    Neat concept! But I found Easy mode to be quite tough. Often lost at the point of switching. But that must be awful co-ordination skills! :P

    Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:54am

    Wow, surprising how difficult that flip of controls can be :0) Innovative for sure. Great job!

    dook says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

    Not bad. I liked the style, but the game was hard! (Not that that's necessarily a bad thing)

    panurge says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:37pm

    The control switch really threw me, which was a good thing! Kept me on my toes and was very enjoyable. Great aesthetic and the audio in particular was very effective.

    5ants team says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:43pm

    Addictingly hard and well designed. Congratulations!

    dudsen says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:39pm

    HARD AS FUCK. And twice as good. Congratulation, you guyskick ass.

    canvapps says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:32pm

    hahahahaha great end!
    Congratulations!

    Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:31am

    Love the switch in the middle. And the attitude of this game :D Also nice work with the level-generation!

    djbriandamage says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:41pm

    A very fun game. I love the variety of settings, music, and mechanics. The levels are just the right length to take advantage of the 10-second theme. You did a really excellent job.

    nikkesen says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:43pm

    Dead. Jump, walk...walk..dead. Yep, I suck at this game. Oh well, it's still an interesting interpretation. Nice that each area is a little different. I also appreciate that your little guy changes. :)

    GrooveMan says ...
    Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:41pm

    Despite being awful at this I got far enough to flip the controls a few times, which is a really REALLY snazzy idea.

    More games need to run the sentiment of 'fuck death' so openly.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]