Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 1 day, 22 hours, 35 minutes, 49 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    SuperSleepTime - sjk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You take the role of a super hero who overslept and only has 10 seconds to get ready for work and save the day!
    Try and collect as many items as possible!

    Controls:
    Space = Use/PickUp/Punch
    A/D = left/right
    W = Jump
    S = PowerSlam (works only while jumping)

    Requires OpenGL 3.2 to run.

    View sjk's journal. | View all entries by sjk

    Ratings

    #43Humor3.82
    #97Graphics3.88
    #136Fun3.52
    #145Mood3.40
    #217Overall3.44
    #348Innovation3.26
    #440Theme3.29
    #465Audio2.71
    #1156Coolness48%

    Comments

    sjk says ...
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:07pm

    I have no way of testing it on OS/X and Linux. If anyone could let me know if it works. That would be sweet!

    Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:21pm

    Crashes before any windows show up, OSX 10.8.4 :(

    agmcleod says ...
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:44pm

    I love the look of the game, but yeah i cannot run it on osx. Opening the app file, and running the jar directly, I get:


    xception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: chris/hertwig/LD27/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:631)
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:615)
    at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
    at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
    at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
    at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
    at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
    at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
    at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)

    EdoMiyamoto says ...
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:00pm

    Windows version didn't work at all, but .jar worked, and the game was cool

    xaby says ...
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:45pm

    I think S doesn't work if I have also Frozenpunsh, nice graphics

    sjk says ...
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:56pm

    You need the pants and the boots for the PowerSlam. Should work with the freeze punch, too.

    I made a new jar file with a lower java version hopefully this will work now on mac. Otherwise I will try to come up with a solution tomorrow.

    Thanks!

    Tegu says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:06am

    Seems to require OpenGL 3.0 so I can't test it. :(

    gikdew says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:21pm

    I've test it and it works for me, so fun and enjoyable, the pixel art is really awesome!

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:24pm

    Immediately crashes on OS X, with the following error:
    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.RuntimeException: Error creating shader.
    at chris.hertwig.LD27.ShaderHelper.compileShader(ShaderHelper.java:110)

    Cardanis says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:29pm

    I love how what you pick up determines your success in the combat, good call!

    tomsik68 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:30pm

    Runs well on Xubuntu 12.04 x64.
    Good game! It's pretty funny what bonuses you get from the items :D

    HELLO23 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32pm

    The pixel art is incredible. I liked the gameplay and the idea. Very fun.

    nintendoeats says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:33pm

    I enjoyed that! Couldn't finish it, because I apparently lack basic beat-em-up skills. It would have been nice if there were more places to check than you could reasonably look for in the given time, or if there were different items for the same body slot.

    I also quite like the graphics.

    jordans says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:33pm

    Great! So funny and polished!

    Parappa says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34pm

    Fun mini-brawler, great job on the sprite art, love the overall concept too.

    loxo says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:37pm

    I'm on OS X and get the same error as zedutchgandalf.

    Latcarf says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09pm

    On ArchLinux, I get the following error:

    org.lwjgl.LWJGLException: X Error - disp: 0x7fe81c21c500 serial: 89 error: GLXBadFBConfig request_code: 154 minor_code: 34
    at org.lwjgl.opengl.LinuxDisplay.globalErrorHandler(LinuxDisplay.java:318)
    at org.lwjgl.opengl.LinuxContextImplementation.nCreate(Native Method)
    at org.lwjgl.opengl.LinuxContextImplementation.create(LinuxContextImplementation.java:51)
    at org.lwjgl.opengl.ContextGL.<init>(ContextGL.java:132)
    at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:850)
    at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:797)
    at chris.hertwig.LD27.Game.initGL(Game.java:67)
    at chris.hertwig.LD27.Game.start(Game.java:42)
    at chris.hertwig.LD27.Main.main(Main.java:7)

    Not sure whether it's a bug or a problem with my computer.

    kayupla says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:11pm

    Just great ! You well use the theme less falling into easy way. I'am a fan !

    Jhelle says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:13pm

    Enjoyed the graphics, somehow I got really far by just spamming space :P.

    3ndo says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:13pm

    Nice concept. Pretty difficult. PowerSlam doesn't seem to work.

    andreyin says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:15pm

    Enjoyed it!

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:21pm

    Got a chance to play it on a windows machine. Good stuff! It was fun to go through a few cycles of losing and realizing that there were more things hidden in the apartment.

    KevinZuhn says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:55am

    That fight sequence got pretty tedious for me, at least when I wasn't properly equipped the first few times. It seems like any time I approach enemies, I wind up inside their punch range and lose hearts, so my safest bet is to stand in place and let them trundle at me. Maybe the fight should be overwhelming and quick when you don't have the right stuff.
    I managed to sweep through them once I had the mask, gloves, and boots, and it was a lot more fun that way! Could use an instruction on how to use the slam attack, it took me a bit to find out that it was air-only!

    Kragnir says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:46am

    Interesting idea. The fighting needs some work.

    Kramin42 says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:43am

    It's working fine on Ubuntu Linux with Java 1.7.0_25

    gritfish says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:06pm

    Great graphics, but the fight sequence is a bit fiddly - With the freeze, you often punch enemies outside the walkable area.

    Lokarunith says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:58pm

    Nice entry, it would be cool if there were more items.

    hbocao says ...
    Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:12am

    Great art, man! I liked the concept and the subtle use of the theme. Also very funny. Nice entry!

    Koltiman says ...
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 7:42pm

    A really nice game. Like the way you implemented "10 seconds".

    DreamTeam says ...
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:59am

    FREEZE PUNCH!!!!

    I won. I killed like 90 Blutos. :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]