Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Compo (Solo+Scratch+Src) Ends: in 1 day, 6 hours, 10 minutes, 46 seconds
  • Jam (Solo and Teams+Relaxed) Ends: in 2 days, 6 hours, 10 minutes, 46 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Submit/Edit Game | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    10 Seconds in Hell - AmyDee - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    10 SECONDS IN HELL: May be upsetting to some players for themes of domestic violence and creepy computer-generated voice acting.

    - Multiple actions
    - Multiple endings

    CONTROLS:
    WASD - Move
    E/left mouse - Use item
    Q/right mouse - Move item (hold and drag)

    TIP for players using the web version: Since I didn't get mouselock to work for the web version in time, it's a lot easier if you use Q + E instead of the mouse buttons.

    View AmyDee's journal. | View all entries by AmyDee

    Ratings

    #14Mood4.05
    #35Theme4.00
    #136Innovation3.65
    #141Audio3.33
    #142Overall3.57
    #474Graphics3.02
    #477Humor2.38
    #777Fun2.67
    #1359Coolness42%

    Comments

    Fritzendugan says ...
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:14pm

    little rough around the edges, I'll note a couple of the little things. mouse-look was kinda buggy in the browser, and right-clicking when not in full-screen mode causes a context menu to pop-up. I know you have the option to skip the intro, but would've been nice if I could click or hit a key to skip any of the dialogue, and a dedicated button to reset at any point.

    I like the themes being explored here, and very good use of the LD theme itself. Only got to experience 3 endings, as I couldn't figure out any others, but the stories told were very good. I understand you don't want to hold the player's hand, which would defeat the purpose of exploration and figuring things out on your own, but some additional direction to give me some clues on things that are possible to do would probably have helped me (and other players) discover more of the endings. Subtle things like using lighting cleverly to nudge players in a certain direction, or audio clues, things like that. Granted, it's not always easy to do this during a game jam like this. Those things take time, something people are always short on in a game jam :)

    overall, pretty cool entry

    AmyDee says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:36am

    Thanks for the input! There are audio cues that hint at several possibilities, but they don't play during the intro dialog. They only play afterward, when the cursor shows the item name text, which is a bit unclear.

    AmyDee says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39am

    Oh and one tip for players using the web version: Since I didn't get mouselock to work for the web version in time, it's a lot easier if you use Q + E instead of the mouse buttons.

    ratalaika says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:36am

    I really like it... It's a good way to explore the theme, it has good narrative and the multiple endings makes the player wants to explore more

    Porpentine says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:57am

    this is good!

    her voice is actually pretty poignant in a way...i think the subject matter transcends all.

    the graphic for the abusive dude being a lozenge with EVIL written on it is perfect/funny/chilling.

    tylorlilley says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:11am

    Very creepy You had e on the edge of my seat, so that's something... a very good atmosphere. Crazy enough, both of our entries have the same name, but they're nothing alike at all! I'm sure that won't get confusing at all. haha. Very cool game though, I love it. :)

    angrygeometry says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:09pm

    this is wonderful, really intense. really appreciate this game, a dark but great interpretation of the theme.

    Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:02am

    This is chilling. It's very powerful, considering how abstract the presentation is. Great work!

    AmyDee says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:26am

    Thank you everyone for the feedback, I'm glad people got a lot out of it and that the mood I was going for came across!

    flarb says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:55pm

    Did you record the synthesized voices? Or is there some way in Unity to dynamically produce synthesized voice?!

    AmyDee says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:36am

    I recorded them by using OSX's text-to-speech feature. I originally planned to use them as placeholders and replace them with real voice acting, but I ran out of time and the synth voices worked strangely well anyway.

    Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:21pm

    Well done, and good use of the LD theme. Very nice touch how the endings can be "stacked," I found four unique endings and combined three of them together for my last playthrough.

    Excellent job!

    Sebastian says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:37pm

    Interesting, I tried to drop junk on evil's head, but I couldn't get it to work :(
    The synthesised voices do work in a way, but proper voice acting would have been a lot better I think (I realise you were pressed for time). Nonetheless, good job!

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:59pm

    This feels really creepy, threatening. The low production values just add to the whole feeling of things not being right. A memorable entry.

    panurge says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:31pm

    It might have come about through necessity but the use of simple labelled boxes for all the game's elements (including the antagonist) actually has the effect of reducing them to their essential functions, making the situation seem archetypal and timeless. It made for a powerful and thought-provoking experience.

    If you expand this any more, I'd suggest adding an ending for people who pile things up against the door, which was my first instinct.

    Great work.

    bitserum says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:15pm

    Great direction you went with this, hope it gets polished more outside of LD

    Capro says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:35pm

    Interesting game. I like it. :)

    darkshadow says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:45pm

    Horrifying, seemed powerless. couldn't get Q and E to do anything helpful. Only found two endings doing nothing or leaving the room the only way possible.

    Purplescape says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:52am

    This game is intense... the footsteps made me panic. Found 3 endings so far. Great work

    zkenshin says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:13pm

    Nice entry, very good Mood. :)

    N427 says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:14pm

    Really cool interpretation of the theme, great work!

    sP0CkEr2 says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:34am

    great game -- the mood far outweighed the fill in artwork.

    kraj0t says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:28pm

    Dude, this is awesome. I've enjoyed every replay until I eventually beat the game :-D

    Congratulations on achieving such mood, with such odd ingredients (audio and graphics are hilariously unfitting)

    Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:38pm

    Great game, I also read your essay about it on your blog. What you said about building up emotions in a game is right. You don't need a lot of fancy stuff to do that. I also try to do it with simple things... :)

    kibertoad says ...
    Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:25am

    interesting concept. is there a way to block or barricade the door with junk? never worked for me.
    discovered about 4 endings in total. you seem to have a weird fixation on porn and broken legs.

    Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:43pm

    Found this game interesting, couldnt figure out how to get a different ending however. I featured it in my LD27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GXNOecUq9c

    Sep 12, 2013 @ 7:49pm

    Great work on mood, visuals and audio (and dang is it creepy). It's a bit short and slight for a game (there's plenty of stuff you can interact with, but most of it doesn't do anything), but judged as a story, it's very good. I found one happy ending (though "happy" seems like the wrong word to use about this game) and finished. Not sure whether there are more.

    Thanks for giving me nightmares!

    Sep 20, 2013 @ 5:16am

    The compo is over, I wish I would have seen this game earlier. It's really interesting, I love the concept and the mood. The visual is really nice ! I played a lot until I finally win and escaped !

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]