Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 20 hours, 36 minutes, 2 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    10corp - vittorioromeo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is my first Ludum Dare competition.

    The game is written in C++11, using only SFML2.1 and JsonCpp as external dependencies.
    It is written using my personal "SSV framework", written from scratch, which is free, open-source and available on GitHub.

    I couldn't manage to polish the game as much as I wanted to. There only are 7 playable levels, no gfx options, no key rebinding, et cetera.

    Still, being my first Ludum Dare, it was a very interesting and learning experience and I'm glad (and surprised) I managed to create something (in my opinion) worth playing that could become a fun little game with additional polish.

    Hope you enjoy my entry,
    Vittorio Romeo

    ---

    Linux users: native build is available, built on Ubuntu 12.04. Also, the Windows version works flawlessly on Wine.

    ---

    Some people are having issues with OpenAL errors on Windows - replacing the existing `openal32.dll` file with the one from the OpenAL website may fix the issue.

    ---

    Controls:
    `ARROW KEYS`: move around
    `X`: jump
    `Z`: hold/release to grab/drop blocks
    'R': restart current level
    `ESCAPE`: go back to menu
    `W/S/A/D`: pan camera
    `Q/E`: zoom camera in/out

    How to play:
    Bring all the crates to the receivers to enable the teleporter. Walk on the teleporter to finish the level.
    Numbered crates can only be received by numbered receivers.
    Non-numbered crates can only be received by non-numbered receivers.
    Non-numbered receivers can receive any kind of crate.
    Grab the crates by keeping 'Z' pressed. Quickly turn and release `Z` to throw the crate. Jump right before releasing `Z` to give altitude to your throw.
    Stack crates to reach high places.
    When the first crate is grabbed, you have 10 seconds to bring any crate to a receiver, or you will be terminated.
    When a crate is received, the 10 seconds timer is reset.
    After all crates have been received, the timer stops and you can safely walk to the teleporter.

    ---

    Tools used:
    `sfxr`, `Pinta`, `Gimp`, `LMMS`, `QT Creator`, `Sublime Text 3`

    ---

    http://vittorioromeo.info

    ---

    Youtube videos:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SW7uB-v8pXQ
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zjQCVzKrnqA

    ---

    P.S.

    Level 6 is hard, but not impossible
    Level 5, though, has a coding error (forgot a receiver at the bottom).
    I assure you level 5 is possible though, even if INSANELY HARD.
    I've come close to beating it a few times but failed. If you manage to beat it, big kudos to you!

    View vittorioromeo's journal. | View all entries by vittorioromeo

    Ratings

    Coolness52%
    #156Theme3.66
    #160Mood3.36
    #322Overall3.30
    #367Humor2.61
    #391Graphics3.17
    #394Audio2.82
    #476Fun3.00
    #574Innovation2.93

    Comments

    vittorioromeo says ...
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:19pm

    Stream highlights available on: http://www.twitch.tv/superv1234

    vittorioromeo says ...
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:55pm

    Some people are having issues with OpenAL errors on Windows - I've heard that replacing the existing `openal32.dll` file with the one from the OpenAL website may fix the issue.

    vittorioromeo says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:48am

    Level number 5 is doable, but insane. I forgot a receiver at the bottom. Feel free to skip it!

    flamecow says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:48am

    I like this concept, it's sorta neat. The graphics are simple but pleasant to look at, and I like the way the main character is animated!

    zakato says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10am

    Great Game!!!

    Capro says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:16am

    Hardcore :)

    Szedouu says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:22am

    Great game for hardcore players!

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:26am

    Very nice. Art is great, nicely polished. Can see this being pretty popular. :)

    Jhelle says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29am

    Overall enjoyable game. Good job on finishing your first LD, love to see more in the future :)

    Morgawr says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29am

    Nice game, great mood and pacing. The controls were a bit iffy with jumping while holding an arrow key while also holding a crate. Certainly not a game for the faint of heart, it's not really easy but it's really well done.

    Good job!

    Thinkofdeath says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40am

    It crashes on startup for me: http://i.imgur.com/vxw1feU.png

    Anoarith says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:44am

    Very Hardcore Game but I like the thowing mechanic so much *-*

    vittorioromeo says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:49am

    Everyone, thanks for the feedback! I greatly appreciate it :)

    @Thinkofdeath: deeply sorry about that! Have you got the latest video card drivers? Have you tried replacing the openal32.dll as indicated in the original post?

    Thinkofdeath says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:59am

    @vittorioromeo Yep graphics drivers are up to date and I have replaced the dll as well, still crashes.

    Thinkofdeath says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05am

    @vittorioromeo Found out that my laptop wasn't using my nvidia card for your game, after forcing it to use it the game worked (Still crashed on closing :) )

    Clavus says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:24am

    Pretty fun game. I can't seem to get the throwing mechanic down though.

    Delca says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:41am

    Done ! Even if I did not managed to do the 5th level, it only took me 4 tries to do the last level ; that was the one I enjoyed the most, because it felt good to "see the ending".
    Although I had problems with throwing storagecrates at first, it became easier with time. Nice game !

    Idovoodoo says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:46am

    I really like your player animation and I thought the tutorial was cool too. Well done :)

    vittorioromeo says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:46am

    @Thinkofdeath: great! Hope you enjoy the game :)
    @Clavus: Thanks for the feedback. To throw, quickly turn in the opposite direction and immediately release 'Z'. If you want altitude in your throw, jump right before releasing `Z`.
    @Delca: Glad you liked the game! I assure you 5th level can be done, but it's not good for mind sanity :D You have to use three "1" blocks in the stack (and the "2" block), and get rid of the "0" blocks as soon as possible. After that, you can throw the "1" blocks in the receivers from ground level by making them bounce on a 45° trajectory. It's very hard, but I've come close to beat it a few times! :)

    Lo-X says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:05pm

    Hi
    I didn't managed to pass some levels, but the game is really really nice with a good concept, humor and nice pixels graphics. The 10 seconds are short and stressful, just what we do need =)
    Very nice job, especially for a first one !

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46pm

    Thought it was impossible to beat at first, but then noticed that your time gets returned to 10 as soon as you drop the crate correctly :) Good job, man.

    vittorioromeo says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50pm

    Thanks again everyone for the feedback.

    I wrote a postmortem about 10corp, check it out! :)
    http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/26/postmortem-10corp/

    rujo says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:21am

    nice game with a very peculiar style.

    Tanser says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:32pm

    Very dynamic and interesting. :)

    N0_Named_Guy says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:42pm

    Will post video review soon.

    Jod says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:15pm

    10corp will not tolerate slowness! Loved the mood and the setting! Couldn't quite get how to 'throw' boxes, which stopped me from progressing too far. All in all, a well-polished result!

    N0_Named_Guy says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:24am

    Video review: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2835551

    Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:15pm

    i like graphics, sounds, and the concept, and difficult i like it :D Good job!

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:57pm

    I really like thowing mechanic and the animation of the main character. :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]