Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 22 days, 21 hours, 38 minutes, 57 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Biform - Reevezy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A "2D" platformer that lets you build your own platforms!

    I hope you enjoy it! I had a lot of fun making it.

    It requires .NET 4 which most of you should have received from Windows updates ages ago, unless you turned them off for some reason(don't do that).

    If you haven't got .NET 4 you can download it here.
    http://www.microsoft.com/en-au/download/details.aspx?id=17851

    EDIT: Now with random map generation!

    View Reevezy's journal. | View all entries by Reevezy

    Ratings

    #136Innovation3.65
    #206Theme3.55
    #231Fun3.35
    #435Overall3.17
    #506Audio2.63
    #584Graphics2.83
    #630Mood2.63
    #1229Coolness46%

    Comments

    Macecraft says ...
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 3:44am

    Great entry! I just suck at gaming...

    skywing says ...
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 1:22pm

    This can get surprisingly intense, I like the effect having ten second breaks to adjust your position has, sort of like a sprint and rest kind of thing. I only made it to 11k though.

    disease says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:58am

    Couldn't get it started in Windows 8 64bit. I have .net 4.0.

    Steve says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05am

    I like it. Movement though feels a little too imprecise.
    Worked for me on 64-bit Windows 8.

    Reevezy says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:06am

    I have 64 Bit Windows 8 with .Net 4 I Wonder what went wrong, it's worked for everyone else. :c

    Make sure you extract it all before running the .exe

    Ravetcofx says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

    Darn there is no Linux version

    zzForrest says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:12am

    4/5 great entry! I loved the smiley face! This game was very innovative and really fun! I just really enjoyed it, there isn't much else to say!

    Reevezy says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23am

    I'm attempting to build a Linux version but there are a few issues :c

    dcolgan says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34am

    Very cool. The drawing your own platforms is a nice take on the endless runner sort of game. You might consider adding a distance meter to the UI during the game. I don't feel like the game is really lacking anything as far as major features. Awesome job for 48 hours!

    gravyhands says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:51am

    It seemed cool, but sadly I couldn't ever get the guy to jump in clutch scenarios, so I just ended up stuck in walls, here and there. haha

    Symmeteer says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:55am

    I also can't get it to run on Windows 64 bit, with .NET 4 installed. It looks like a neat concept though.

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:06am

    I'm running it on Windows 64 bit and it worked for me. The simple graphics are nice and the gimmick behind building your own platforms is neat.

    Xaychru04 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:18pm

    I like this concept, it's pretty fun! Maybe the level generation could be improved to don't be totally random, but you did a great job. ;)

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:20am

    Also couldnt get it to work, and I was running it on windows 64 bit with .NET 4 as well.

    Reevezy says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:58am

    Argh! I thought I had fixed it. I may use a different framework or a fork for the next LD.

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:31am

    Great game. I like physics and the game concept. When running it's hard to see where are you going.
    Anyway I really like it, and I want to improve my score. :)

    doonay21 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:52pm

    Kind of innovate. Me liky liky ;)

    KhaoTom says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:05pm

    Awesome innovation on platforming, good fit with theme.

    Typedeaf says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:52am

    Fun little game! The energy/box drawing mechanics took a bit of getting used to, could benefit from a bit more polish. But was fun for what it was :)

    Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:06am

    It didn't work for me sorry. It just wouldn't open. I'm starting to get frustrated with downloading games that don't work. Just use javascript and stick it on a webpage next time!

    Reevezy says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:23am

    Yes I made a mistake using a less mature framework, you live and you learn. I won't be using JavaScript for the next one because I don't like it's class implementation. I do LD to learn and have fun not to please people by using a framework I don't enjoy.

    GreyShock says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:30pm

    Really fun :)

    Norgg says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:32pm

    Interesting idea and smooth implementation, but found the difficulty ramp to be a bit too slow, it's interesting once you need to start carefully planning where you place platforms, but that only starts to happen slightly around the 20k mark or so. I got to around 40k, but the pre-placed platforms were still frequent enough that I didn't really need to worry much if I went slowly.

    The music is okay, but starts to get annoying after a little while.

    dylanigan says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:57pm

    Didn't run on Windows 64 bit. :(

    Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:46am

    Very very innovative!
    I found the camera to be too easy to outrun, though. If I run at full speed I can't see anything in front. In mid game it's not a problem since we can't run that fast anyway.
    Really cool! Great job!!

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]