Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 24 days, 6 hours, 6 minutes, 57 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Barrier - xrm0 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Run 100 meters in exactly 10 seconds.

    The game is based on the "10-second barrier", which is a term used in track and field athletics, which refers to the physical and psychological barrier of completing 100 metres sprint in under ten seconds.

    View xrm0's journal. | View all entries by xrm0

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #378Theme3.35
    #508Humor2.29
    #647Innovation2.83
    #710Audio2.24
    #815Fun2.62
    #900Graphics2.30
    #934Mood2.19
    #1011Overall2.54

    Comments

    Anton_D says ...
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 6:59pm

    The game seems to be bugged out.. I ran less then 10 seconds but it said I didn't.

    xrm0 says ...
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 7:41pm

    The time used is alien time, thus the difference.

    stepvhen says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:29am

    I like this a lot more than trying to do it in under 10 secs.

    Diogo Muller says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:01pm

    At first, I tought "Is this even possible?". Now I'm addicted to beating my high score.

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:03pm

    An alien is running... wow.. :O

    Rave Radbury says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:04pm

    9.8" 10.2" Just not close enough. It reminds me of QWOP re: absurd athleticism. Good job!

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:06pm

    ARGH. So hard. After many tries, my best is 9.8 seconds. I really want to see that little alien succeed in his weird objective.
    Nice original twist on an otherwise old mechanic!

    Sheep says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:10pm

    Wait so are you supposed to land on the 10 second timer? I'm confused.

    Xera says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:13pm

    Got the 10 seconds on my fourth or fith try. Nice and simple game, interesting interpertation of a running game.

    xrm0 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:41pm

    @Sheep: Yes, less than 10 seconds is really easy to do for the aliens. And more than 10 seconds, well, they could walk!. So they came to the conclusion that the only option left was to get there on exactly 10 secs.

    orangepascal says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:32pm

    this game needs an old-fashioned joystick to wiggle until it breaks ;)

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54pm

    Fun, new take on an old concept :)
    Best I could do was 10.2 though :P

    Beardbotnik says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51pm

    Great game! At first I was confused, but once I actually read the text it all made sense. Very interesting way to use the 10 second rule, reminds me of lot of old NES games. Well done!

    Larzan says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:42am

    Haha, nice, reminded me of the first games for the c64, like the visuals too, complete with parallax scrolling :)

    Jimanzium says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:52am

    Nice take on the theme, more interesting than doing something in under 10 seconds, good job

    Recid says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:54am

    10.0 I did it!

    HunLyxxod says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:55am

    Doing exactly 10 seconds is more luck than skill but that was pretty fun.

    DavidErosa says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:55am

    Haha, beating the world record in more than 4 seconds is always fun, although that's not the target :)

    CustomPhase says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:56am

    Suprisingly fun game, consider such a simple gameplay. 10.4 is my record

    sebb says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:06pm

    Nice little game, i liked it :)

    raver says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:40pm

    9s in second try :)

    Spotline says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:37pm

    Very hard oO My best was 10"3

    OddballDave says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:43pm

    This game is soooo infuriating. I've got 9.9secs eight times, but can't get exactly 10secs. Aargh! Good stuff.

    Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:25pm

    Ha, interesting idea. Thought it was broken at first, but cool.

    canvapps says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:22pm

    wow! after severak tries I haven't done it yet!
    it's a frustrating one xD
    Good job!

    ratalaika says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:01pm

    Nice work.

    Pitzik4 says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:21am

    At first I thought this game would be easy, because I thought myself to be an excellent fast-clicker. Both of those thoughts were proven wrong, and now all I have after about 15 attempts is two hurting index fingers.

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:23pm

    Challenging! My best is 10.2"

    Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:22am

    I did it in exactly 10 second :D

    Yoni says ...
    Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:07pm

    Hard frustrating game, and no real reward at the end (also no real explanation why exactly 10 seconds)... I eventually got it by doing nothing until 6 seconds have passed and then mashing A+S for the remaining 4 seconds.

    xrm0 says ...
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 11:14am

    @Yoni: no real reward? You become a champion athlete for the other aliens!
    As for the explanation for why exactly 10 seconds, in a previous comment I said:

    "...less than 10 seconds is really easy to do for the aliens. And more than 10 seconds, well, they could walk!. So they came to the conclusion that the only option left was to get there on exactly 10 secs."

    I might also be related to the theme of this LD, but it's just a coincidence :D

    dacap says ...
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:42am

    I like the concept to keep sync the distance with the time, it makes the game fun. I think the idea could be used to create something bigger. Great idea!

    nthird says ...
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 5:32pm

    Good use of the theme and graphics. I think it would be more interesting if instead of it being pass/fail you got scored on how close you were to it. Then my 10.1 seconds would count for something. Add a scoring system and some more challenges (not necessarily time based but all exact targets) and you've got the making of a fun quirky game.

    xrm0 says ...
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 10:26pm

    Thanks for the comments!
    @nthird: That's a good idea. The score you get already does this (the closer you get to 10 seconds, the more points you get). Maybe normalizing that to a range 1-10 would do the trick. Thanks!

    Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:54pm

    I did it! Just a casual jog for an alien.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]