Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 14 days, 13 hours, 39 minutes, 0 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Cyanocide - nicotuason - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Cyanocide is an intense dogfighting game set in an abstract neon world. Shoot down enemies and collect powerups to extend your time.

    Controls:
    - move mouse away from ship to speed up
    - move mouse close to ship to slow down and tighten turn radius
    - left mouse button to fire

    I STRONGLY recommend listening to electro dance breakbeat dubstep music while playing this. Music like this: http://jessevalentinemusic.bandcamp.com/album/free-mega-album-30-tracks

    View nicotuason's journal. | View all entries by nicotuason

    Ratings

    Coolness80%
    #15Graphics4.38
    #99Fun3.58
    #195Overall3.47
    #220Mood3.24
    #573Audio2.52
    #830Innovation2.60
    #912Humor1.58
    #1157Theme1.88

    Comments

    @TeddyNashor says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:18am

    graphically stunning and fun. not sure I see the theme, also the sound effects dont mesh with the mood of the art. maybe make them softer?

    LittleThor says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21am

    Classic game but very nice graphics and controls!

    Budda says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21am

    Cool little game, I like the way you control the speed/turning. Has a nice trade-off that the faster you go the more accurate you are, but slower lets you turn faster to catch up to nearby enemies.

    Spotline says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:22am

    Great great graphics and gamefeel, but I don't see the theme there

    Blue Steel says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:24am

    Finaly a a game of this nature that i can play with my mouse.. ;) I only have one Arm ;)

    mitkus says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:32am

    Very very cool! I like that you kept game scope minimal and managed to polish it. Visuals are very nice, but most of all I liked the flight manuevers. Got a bit boring after a while, but still a great game.

    Sergey Mohov says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:43am

    Really nice and polished. Feels great, looks great, plays great. Has a great dogfight feel to it. Amazing job!

    doonay21 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:01am

    No theme at all. I like how smooth the movement is.

    nitrocrime says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05am

    Graphics are awesome! Gameplay is a bit easy it feels..

    Armix says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:07am

    Visually awesome and (personally) inspiring, however like many others here, I don't really see the theme in this, despite it looking and feeling hectic. :)

    Jimanzium says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:08am

    Insane graphics for two days! Great smooth gameplay, good job!

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:04pm

    Very nice graphics, i really like the classic look but with a bit 3D in it. The controls are also very nice.

    alwaysinbeta says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:15pm

    Very playable, controls feel good. I like the whole look of it with the colors and the trails.

    proc says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:42pm

    Great controls and graphically lovely. Shame you didn't make the music you recommended but listening to it felt like a fit for the game so thanks for the suggestion. I too don't see the theme but would like to know where it is.

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:56pm

    Cool! It's a lot of fun when you're chasing targets and then fly through their explosion. Great music choice!

    cwkx says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:27pm

    Beautiful little game, very fun to play too.

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:06pm

    Cool looking and smooth playing! I don't see what it has to do with 10 seconds though.

    bytegrove says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:56pm

    Oh glob it's pretty! The controls are really smooth and they work really well! I'd love to see this game on a touchscreen device.
    Some extrapolation from the theme, but nothing major imo.
    Pretty sneaky of you to recommend a playlist though, hehe, ah whatever. :P
    Cool game, nice work!

    avh4 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19am

    Sweet simplicity! The controls felt really nice. I especially liked the simplicity of the menu system--your thrown right into the game, and it restarts automatically (after a nicely-timed pause in the action). I'd love to see harder enemies appear over time.

    rxi says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:15am

    Unfortunately didn't run for me initially. I ended up having to download the page and the swf file, and modify a line in the page's javascript so that it would run. I believe this is because linux's flash player doesn't go up to version 11.7, but the javascript specified a required version of 11.7 -- though the applet itself seems to run fine on the older player.

    I suggest you set the following line in the HTML file:

    var swfVersionStr = "11.7.0";

    to:

    var swfVersionStr = "0.0.0";

    This will assure anyone encountering my issue will be able to play the game.


    Visuals are great (as others have mentioned!). A very stark and unique style which is very appealing. Simple game play, but it felt as if the controls gave it depth, they took some getting used to, but that wasn't at all a bad thing. It's a shame some of that electro music you mention couldn't have been implemented into the game!

    dom2d says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:33am

    NICO! You're alive! ^_^ So glad to see you here and to play another one of your epic games!
    This is amazing. Such a good control scheme, with super clever UI to go with it. Congrats man!!

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:42pm

    I liked the graphics and the controls system. I love the fact you have a link to some music. What a great loop hole to get sound in your game that wasn't made by yourself in 48 hours. The music went very well with the game.

    I thought there was no real use of the theme. Sorry but just having a timer doesn't really count in my opinion. You could have just had "You have 10 seconds to make a kill" and a count down. and that would have been fine, plus it would have given the game a sense of urgency.

    Kohijin says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:18pm

    Love the very sleek designs and the controls feel smooth. But I really don't feel the theme here... Still a great bit of fun!

    4xisblack says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:33pm

    Super pretty. The thruster trails are an excellent touch, especially given how the ship flips around when you bank.

    BlackBulletIV says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:49am

    Man, that was really fun, and the graphics are so aesthetically pleasing.

    I know you have a timer-based life system, but from I observed it's based more around 60 seconds than 10 seconds. Therefore I don't think it really fits the theme at all.

    Aside from that, great game.

    PhiL Blunt says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:03am

    Very nice indeed.

    TeamFlare says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:18pm

    Awesome colorscheme and smooth controlls. Stylish and fun :)!

    designatius says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:30pm

    Really fun to play! Very polished and smooth, brilliant job :)

    kazukishida says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:02am

    Very polished and unique, but very intuitive controls, nice minimal and tight UI! I especially like how you can maneuver to the general direction of an enemy ship, fly to it while firing, and eventually intersect paths with the ship --- it felt like a top-down dogfight! The way the enemy ships also waver when it's critically damaged really looked extremely good. Very well done!

    I couldn't give you top score for audio, though, because for me, essentially, your game only had sfx. I listened to your recommended song while playing it, and it was really cool, but since it wasn't technically part of your game, I can't rate it with the soundtrack in mind, sorry. :(

    Also, I'm not sure what relation it had to the theme. :O

    psychomonster says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:52pm

    smooth gameplay, fantastic game art... cool scoring... survived for 209s and killed 21 enemy... nice !

    Richard Matey says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:34pm

    Fantastic work, really love the style of the art and the feel of the controls

    ratalaika says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:16pm

    good job

    Diogo Muller says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:11pm

    Nice graphics, good controls. I don't get where the theme was used, but overall it's a good game.

    goyal says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:00pm

    so pretty!!

    The aircrafts moves kinda fast, it was hard to aim and shoot.

    Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:47am

    Excellent 3d game :D

    Raiyumi says ...
    Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:34pm

    Nice! Has slick controls and graphics, and played really smooth.

    xrm0 says ...
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 7:40pm

    Great game, but where is anything related to the theme?

    ghRibacki says ...
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 11:18pm

    Very cool atmosphere! The suggested sound track fits very well, too bad you couldn't make your own music to put into the game.
    I like the controls a lot! I don't think I have seen this type of control in a game before.
    Graphics are amazing and the sound effects are ok.

    Good game! =D

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]