Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 80 days, 13 hours, 31 minutes, 43 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Jump Drive - smotko - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Jump Drive is a new kind of warp drive. It allows spaceships to travel vast distances at the blink of an eye. Jumping between planets in your solar system has never been so easy. Do note that after each jump the drive needs to cool down for 10 SECONDS before it can be reused.

    Using the Jump Drive is not a walk in the park. A highly trained professional navigator is required or else you'll end up in the middle of an asteroid field... or worse.

    // move the ship with your mouse
    // unlock the hardcore mode by finishing the game
    // if you manage to beat the hardcore mode you'll get a small reward :)

    Thank you for playing!

    View smotko's journal. | View all entries by smotko

    Ratings

    Coolness56%
    #193Mood3.29
    #214Audio3.17
    #272Humor2.79
    #366Theme3.36
    #428Overall3.18
    #521Graphics2.94
    #572Fun2.91
    #633Innovation2.85

    Comments

    ericdpitts says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38am

    Neat little mechanic, nice, simple graphics too. I liked your music track, as well!

    Lars Faust says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:41am

    Surprisingly cool looking, with really neat level design for a 48h competition.
    Liked it.

    Nitrodeus says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:11am

    Nice game, well done !
    like the music.

    smotko says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:15pm

    @ericdpitts: thanks!
    @lars: thanks, I wanted to add more levels but ran out of time :(
    @nitrodeus: thanks!

    BenWhi says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:00pm

    Fun! It's a like a 3d version of Asteroids without a gun. The narrator + story were nice touches!

    Sergey Mohov says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:41pm

    I really like the music, reminded me of Osmos! I had a hard time controlling the ship and telling its current state of health, but that can be solved with a few new feedbacks, I suppose.

    netguy204 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:17am

    "Rimmer, you dolt!" Nice work and way to finish. I think your game design suffers from a similar problem to mine: lack of player agency. By that, I mean, it doesn't feel like there's much a player can do to influence the outcome of the game. I love games that, even if they kill me all the time, always leave me realizing how I could have escaped the situation. Your game kills me all the time and leaves me thinking "Friggin Rimmer."

    fullmontis says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:27am

    I love the music, and the gameplay is surprisingly fun for such a simple mechanic.

    N0_Named_Guy says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:52pm

    Will post video review later.

    N0_Named_Guy says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:32am

    Video here: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2831188

    Oxygamer says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:34pm

    Simple graphics....good concept, but messed up with game controller. I wish you to fix that

    udo says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:23pm

    Very nice concept, I liked the gameplay style overall. More detailed 3d models would have made this even better. Overall, very nice!

    RARoadkill says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:59am

    Always a fan of space games, would love to see this with more detail added and more levels. Great job

    fferro234 says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:08pm

    Nice graphics and game. I like the dialogue from the captain.

    Supercannon says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:10pm

    Cool game, maybe could have had some feedback when you take damage, but a solid entry for 48 hours!

    canvapps says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:14am

    the idea is original, I just would speed up the time between stages.
    Great work!

    zconnelly13 says ...
    Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:07pm

    well done, I enjoyed it :)

    Gonzo says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:35pm

    One of my favourites so far. Brilliant mood.

    dj_pale says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:15pm

    Nice mood, idea and fun dialog. BTW: It says that the music is from Soundcloud, is this your own? If not it would be a JAM entry :/

    smotko says ...
    Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:59am

    Yes the music is not my own. I've misread the rules a bit and I'm not sure what to do now :/

    g_o says ...
    Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:03am

    Haha nice game!
    It was well done, and the officer is funny :D
    Great job!

    g_o says ...
    Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:04am

    What libs did u use?

    smotko says ...
    Sep 9, 2013 @ 4:53pm

    I've used threejs for the graphics and cannonjs for the physics.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]